Home » Docks, Docking Stations & Hubs » USB-C Docks » OWC USB-C Dock

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Docks, Docking Stations & Hubs » USB-C Docks items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

OWC

USB-C Dock
Rose Gold

Used | OWC Tested

One Cable to Power & Connect
Reconnect your devices to your USB-C equipped computer with the OWC USB-C Dock. The full-featured connectivity companion you've been waiting for. Add ten ports with just one USB-C cable. Reconnect to your workflow, to your business, to your desktop and to your life.
Ports For Every Piece of the Puzzle
Featuring 10 ports, USB-C Dock brings the connectivity you need back into your day-to-day. Complete with five USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports - including two high-power charging ports and one USB-C port - you can reconnect and charge your current and future devices. The USB-C Dock also features Gigabit Ethernet, a newly added Mini DisplayPort for the professional / pro-sumer wanting a diversity of display options, and combo audio ports along with an SD card reader for even more connectivity.
Pure Power Completes the Picture
Connectivity is only part of the solution. Of course, the OWC USB-C dock provides ample power alongside connectivity, delivering 80W of power to your connected devices, including up to 60W to charge your computer. You'll never have to worry about juggling between connectivity and a dead battery again.
Designed Better From Inspiration to Implementation
OWC USB-C Dock was designed to deliver the ultimate connectivity companion in both function and form. And with a choice of colors, USB-C Dock matches your style. An aluminum chassis completes the design story, so your dock is robust enough to handle your life, wherever it takes you.
Reliability You Can Count On
Like all OWC products, USB-C Dock is designed and built from the ground up to the highest standards of quality, reliability and performance.
Disconnect in One Click
OWC Dock Ejector software safely disconnects drives in a single click. Designed by OWC hardware and software engineers, Dock Ejector ensures all data is written before disconnection, saving time and protecting against data loss. Use it to move quickly between workstations and get the most out of your OWC Dock. Learn More and Download the OWC Dock Ejector Now.

USB-C Dock Specifications:

RoHS Compliant

  • Yes

Mac OS Compatibility

  • OS X 10.10 Yosemite or later

PC OS Compatibility

  • Windows 10 or later

Host Port Requirements

  • USB-C Port

Power Supply

  • UL-listed universal auto-switching power supply

AC Input

  • 100-240V, 50-60Hz

DC Output

  • +20V, 4A

Ports

  • (2) USB 3.1 5Gb/s Type-C ports (with 60W power delivery on primary port)
  • (4) USB 3.1 5Gb/s Type-A ports
  • (1) Mini DisplayPort
  • (1) Gigabit Ethernet (GbE) RJ-45 Port
  • (1) 3.5mm Stereo Audio Input/Output Combo Port
  • (1) Secure Digital (SD)

Housing Color

  • Rose Gold / Black

Housing Material

  • Aluminum / Polycarbonate

Ambient Temperature

  • Operating: 32°F to 104°F (0°C to 40°C)
  • Non-Operating: −4°F to 158°F (−20°C to 70°C)

Dimensions

  • Height: 2.8 cm (1.1 in)
  • Length: 9.0 cm (3.5 in)
  • Width: 20.0 cm (7.9 in)

Weight

  • 400.0 g (0.88 lbs)


Notes:

  • The Apple SuperDrive is not currently supported through the USB-C Dock.
  • A built-in USB-C connection is required to use the Mini DisplayPort interface on the dock. The Mini DisplayPort interface will not function if the USB-C connection on the computer is provided by a PCIe card.
  • Two (2) High power USB ports for charging mobile devices are compliant with the USB-IF Battery Charging 1.2 specification, delivering up to 1.5 A or 1500 mA.
  • The USB 3.1 Gen 1 Type-C port does not support video signals or video adapters. Only the Mini DisplayPort interface can be used to add a display, by connecting a compatible screen.
  • Up to 60W of power available for device charging through the USB Type-C Computer Link port. Devices that require more than 60W may charge slowly or not at all.
  • Not compatible with the 27" Apple LED Cinema Display. There are no known issues with the 24" Apple LED Cinema Display.
  • Replacement Power Supply Warranty: 1 Year.
  • Occasionally, when waking from Sleep in macOS a warning may appear that one or more USB devices were ejected incorrectly. This is not caused by the dock. Your devices are still connected and you can simply dismiss the warning.
  • Boot Camp is supported
  • Mini DisplayPort Support: Up to 4K/30Hz, DP++ (dual-mode). Does not support display-chains via MST (Multi-Stream Transport)
  • SD Card Support: SD, SDHC, and SDXC cards up to 2TB. Support for UHS-1 up to 70 MB/s
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TCDK10PMDRG UPC#: 812437024081

Gallery

Video

Important: as of 6-15-20 docks purchased from MacSales.com are compatible with the following host models: MacPro7,1 / Macmini8,1 / MacBook8,1 / iMacPro1,1 / iMac18,x / iMac19,x. Note that if you purchase this product from one of our reseller partners this compatibility update may not have been applied yet. If you need assistance with one of these host computers, please contact our Support Team..
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac mini 2018
Mac mini (Late 2018)
(November, 2018)
Model ID: Macmini8,1
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac Pro
(27-inch Late 2017)
(December 2017)
Model ID: iMacPro1,1
3.2GHz 8-core, 3.0GHz 10-core, 2.3GHz 14-core, 2.5GHz 18-core
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2020)
(August 2020)
Model ID: iMac20,1; iMac20,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.8GHz i7, 3.6GHz i9
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID:iMac19,2
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2020)
(March 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir9,1
1.1GHz i3, 1.1GHz i5, 1.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2019)
(July 2019)
Model ID: MacBookAir8,2
1.6GHz i5
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2018)
(November 2018)
Model ID: MacBookAir8.1
1.6GHz i5
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,3
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,2
2.0GHz i5, 2.3GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (16-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(November, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,1
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1; MacBookPro15,3
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(July, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,4
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.4GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1
2.2GHz i7, 2.6GHz i7, 2.9GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.3GHz i5, 2.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,3
2.8GHz i7, 2.9GHz i7, 3.1GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,1
2.3GHz i5, 2.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,3
2.6GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,2
2.9GHz, 3.1GHz, 3.3GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook USB-C 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBook10,1
1.2GHz Core m3, 1.3GHz i5, 1.4GHz i7
MacBook USB-C 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2016)
(April, 2016)
Model ID: MacBook9,1
1.1GHz Core m3, 1.2GHz Core m5, 1.3GHz Core m7
MacBook SG 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2015)
(April, 2015)
Model ID: MacBook8,1
1.1GHz Core M, 1.2GHz Core M, 1.3GHz Core M
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi only)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,1; iPad8,2
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,3; iPad8,4
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi only)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,5; iPad8,6
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,7; iPad8,8
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Windows/Chrome OS/Linux based PCs with USB Type-C ports. Will ONLY charge laptops which require up to 60W of power. All other functionality is still available even if the computer requires more than 60W and doesn't charge via the USB-C Dock.
MacBook SG 12-inch Unibody
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2015)
(April, 2015)
Model ID: MacBook8,1
1.1GHz, 1.2GHz, 1.3GHz
Android Smartphones and Tablets
NOT COMPATIBLE
Android Tablets

Includes

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.3 / 5 26 out of 28 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: paul7285 Location: Chicago Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Dock is great. Be aware of the cable. January 17, 2017 The dock is great. It has all the ports a MacBook is missing: HDMI, ethernet, audio out, SD card, USB-C, and 4 USBs. It is fairly small. It runs cool. I give it five stars as a dock. The cable included with the dock, however, is a problem. I bought two of these docks, and with both, the included cable that connects the MacBook to the dock was flakey. ("Flakey" means the dock connected and disconnected every minute and that means the external monitor did the same.)

The Support people at MacSales were great and sent me two new cables (one for each dock). As soon as I swapped cables, the docks were rock solid, and have been for a couple months.

My advice is to buy the dock but to have an extra USB-C to USB-C cable on hand in case your experience is the same as mine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Silver. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: paul7285 Location: Chicago Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Great dock; bad cable December 26, 2016 The dock has all the ports you would want and is a great addition to a MacBook. I leave it on my desk with all the cables connected to it (HDMI, ethernet, audio, iPhone, etc.) and simply plug it in each morning.

I purchased two of these, and the USB-C to Dock cable for both of them is flakey and had to be replaced with a third party cable. One of the cables didn't really work at all, and the other would work for a few minutes at a time. Once replaced with a different cable, each dock has worked great!

So, buy the dock. Buy a separate cable (you probably want a little longer one anyway) And enjoy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DrDuck Location: Sioux Falls, SD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product December 15, 2016 For those who have to have the newest and greatest (my wife says that describes me) this is an absolute necessity. With the advent of the USB-C all of the other methods of adding functionality to the Mac Pro have been discarded. That means that if one wants to use external drive or a DVD drive you have to have the interface and this does that very well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kkiks Location: Paris - France Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product for MacBoo Pro 13 Touch Bar December 15, 2016 Very good USB-C Dock, all features needed for use with my new MacBook Pro. I highly recommend this product

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: StuFL Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product December 7, 2016 I love this dock and wish that I had ordered it sooner! I was a bit hesitant to purchase for a while due to the price, but it is worth every penny. It should be included with the purchase of any MacBook 12" due to it only having one USB-C port. It is great to be able to sit down, plug the dock in, and no longer have to constantly fuss with plugging and unplugging adaptors.

I wish that OWC sold a matching carrying case for it.

I do not leave many reviews for products, but this one stands out enough that I felt it justified.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Joanthan Location: Boca Raton, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Awesome product with 1 flaw November 8, 2016 This is an awesome product for the MacBook. The only flaw that I have in it is that they give you a 12" cable... why not include a 36" cable and allow some room for the desktop.

FYI - The MacBook does not like to be in sleep mode and then opened with this dock connected.. you will have to unplug and replug to sync monitor.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Gold. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macstein23 Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Must Have for Retina Macbook October 23, 2016 This is my first review on OWC. I am not usually a big review person, but I had to leave one for this product. Being in the IT industry I own many types of laptops. One of them happens to be a 12" Retina Macbook. I can describe how great this dock is in one word, AWESOME! This completely changes the way I can work with my Retina 12" Macbook. I have a faster ethernet connection, I have a sd card reader, more USB-C connections as well as so many more USB 3 ports. Its like having a mini Macbook Pro. It works right out of the box and can't recommend it enough!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Stealth57 Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features August 7, 2016 All you need for your MacBook or any computer with a USB-C connection

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Pretty good July 28, 2016 I use it with a 2015 macbook. Here is the benefits. Its a docking station. I plug the laptop into via the supplied usbc to usbc connection. It charges and communicates to the base station.

on the base station I plug in a logitech usb wirelsss mouse dongle (unifying reciever) so I get a wireless mouse. I also connect a monitor via hdmi. I was surprised that I now have two displays. One desktop on the mac laptop screen and a second extension desktop on the external monitor. I had read it would only be mirrored but on my docking station its a seperate display.

i charge/connect my ipod/ipad also via the docking station.

So why not five stars? Well, the docking station will not charge attached ipods/ipads if the laptop is not connected. Also sometimes I attach the docking station to the laptop and I find later it did not charge the laptop. I thought at first it was the cable not properly connected, but sometimes it is definitely connected but since the laptop is not powered on it does not charge.

I have a refurb unit so maybe that is the reason for the charging problem. Not sure if a brand new one would work better.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Gold.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wellington, MD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great hub for Macbook July 19, 2016 Honestly with two powered USB ports, it's a dang good hub all on its own.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Solid device, exactly what I've been waiting for May 3, 2016 Like most, I've found the lack of built-in I/O on the 12" MacBook disappointing. I've gone through 3 different adapters but neither had all of the functionality I wanted and the ones that did were from manufacturers I wasn't familiar with. I bought this knowing OWCs reputation and, so far, haven't been disappointed.

The biggest pro for me (outside of finally having Ethernet, more than 3 USB ports and power) is I was able to consolidate the clutter above and below my desk. The two high powered USB ports do charging duty instead of having separate power adapters for my MacBook, phone and tablet. The built-in headphone jack, while audio quality is not the best, means I only have to disconnect the USB C cable if I need to get going in a hurry. Sure, that's not a huge selling point, but have one less cable to unplug is still having one less cable to unplug.

Overall, I am very please with this dock. Fit and finish is great and it delivers on functionality. I just wish this had come out sooner instead of having to hunt and waste money on adapters that didn't do everything I wanted.

This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boulder, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 3/5 Test before buy. April 4, 2016 OWC Doc review

I preordered this dock back in July of 2015 because I immediately recognized that I was going to want ways of connecting my 2015 Macbook to a variety of devices. Over the next few months, I got emails reporting that it would be out soon, and it arrived in January. I was forgiving of the delay, because by then I had enough experience with Type-C to suspect that the electrical engineering might have been tricky.

My specific wishes were to be able to bring the Macbook home and plug it into a dock that added to it the following components: 1. a backup drive for Time Machine to use 2. a large-screen monitor 3. an Apple Superdrive for reading and writing DVDs 4. some spare USB ports for trying out alternative pointing devices.

The OWC Dock handled wishes 1 and 4 with no sweat.

Wish 2 was a different story. My monitor, a bit long in the tooth, accepts VGA or DVI input. Since the large screen was a requirement from the get-go, back when I bought the laptop, I also bought the Apple format converter that plugs into the Type-C socket on the computer and provides a USB socket, a DVI socket, and a Type-C socket for power input. Back when I preordered the dock, I had no reason to believe I would not be able to combine this converter with the dock by plugging the computer connection of the converter into the Type-C output socket on the dock. But when the dock arrived, the documentation with it warned that such a connection would not work, and sure enough, it didn't.

Of course, if I just had an up-to-date (i.e. HDMI) monitor, this problem would not have arisen, but a new monitor was not in my budget, so I embarked on a number of experiments. Conclusion: If you take a dongle that was designed to plug into the Type-C socket on the Macbook 2015, and instead plug it into the Type-C output socket on the dock, the results are unlikely to be what you had hoped.

Note: Most Type-C dongles have a Type-C plug to go to the computer (thus consuming the Macbook 2015's connection to line power), but do not provide a Type-C socket to restore the ability to connect to line power, as does the Apple converter that I bought with the laptop. The dongles therefore can only be used when the laptop is running on battery power.

There was a solution, however, in a converter that plugs into the DVI socket on the monitor, and converts it to an HDMI socket. Then add a plain old HDMI cable running from the HDMI socket on the dock, and you are in business. Yet there remains a small, intermittent annoyance that is probably not the fault of the dock. The last few OS Xs have had trouble recognizing an external monitor, and have often needed to be burped when connecting by making a hot plug-in.

Whew! That leaves wish 3. The dock provides regular USB ports plus two "high-power" ones for charging devices. I had already learned that the Superdrive is something of a power hog because the laptop won't run it when running on battery. So I plugged it into a high power port on the dock. Still no luck, I got a diagnostic message indicating not enough power. Tech support informs me that for the Superdrive you need a Y-cable, one that plugs into TWO USB ports and provides a socket on the other end supplying signal from one and power from BOTH. OK, I get on Amazon and order one. It takes a few days for it to get from the manufacturer to Beijing and another week or so to get to me. And that did not work either. The only combination of my gear that runs the Superdrive is to use the USB port on the Apple converter that I bought along with the laptop.

So I got three of my four wishes, and I can get the Superdrive by temporarily replacing the dock with the Apple converter. Looks like I got a bit close to the bleeding edge this time. The OWC dock looks great, provides a package of services that a lot of Macbook 2015 owners are going to need, and helps control the tangle of cables. If possible, borrow one and test it on the configuration of devices you had in mind!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C 10-Port Dock with 80 Watt Power Supply - Gold.