Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

OWC

Drive Dock USB
Dual Drive Bay Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.1 Gen 1
For Bare 2.5" and 3.5" SATA Drives
You Need the OWC Drive Dock
The Workhorse Drive Dock
Drive Dock is the ultimate, high-performance bare drive access tool. For creative workflows, backup, or other tasks requiring constant access to multiple drives, Drive Dock delivers a compact, easy solution with the performance of a USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface.
An Essential Workflow Solution
OWC Drive Dock is the easiest way to access bare SATA drives. Hot swap, read multiple drives simultaneously, or boot from bare drives, all at the speed of the USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface.

For video and audio content pros working with multiple bare drives on big projects, Drive Dock delivers amazing flexibility and convenience, making it an indispensable drive tool.
Designed to Accommodate Your Life
Drive Dock's unique design makes hot-swapping a breeze. Two drive bays accommodate both 2.5" and 3.5" drives and can access a drive in each simultaneously.

Each bay features its own independent power switch and LED activity monitor. Drive Dock uses a USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface for versatile compatibility and an auto-switching internal power supply compatible with standard dual-prong power cables.
Customized Flexibility
Drive Dock is flexible enough to use on almost any system. It works perfectly as an on-location backup solution, or for creative professionals using multiple bare drives.
Featuring rugged aluminum construction, quiet, fanless operation, and complete with a USB 3.1 Gen 1 cable, the OWC Drive Dock is an essential component to any high-demand workflow.
Reliability and Support You Can Count On.
Like all OWC products, Drive Dock is built to the highest standards of reliability and performance. Because our goal is always 100% reliability, it's rigorously quality tested, and backed by our 2 year warranty and 24/7 Customer Support.

Product Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • OS
    • OS X 10.6 or later
    • Windows 7 SP1 or later
  • Driver
    • Driver not required for OS X
    • Driver not required for Windows

Hardware Requirements

  • Minimum
    • Mac or PC featuring USB 2.0 interface
  • Recommended (Best Performance
    • Mac or PC featuring USB 3.1 Gen 1 interface

Bootability

  • USB: Any Mac that supports booting via USB

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Interface (Chipset)

  • (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (ASMedia ASM1153E)
  • (2) USB to SATA 6Gb/s Bridge: ASMedia ASM1153E

Drives Supported

  • (2) 3.5" SATA 6Gb/s drives
  • or (2) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drives

Performance1

  • Compressible Data
    • 434 MB/s Sequential Read
    • 406 MB/s Sequential Write
  • Note(s)
    • Speeds will vary based on drives used, setup, and other factors.

Power

  • Power Supply
    • Internal UL-listed universal auto-switching
    • AC input: 100 ~ 240V, 50/60Hz
    • DC output: 12V, 4A
    • Adapter plugs for international use sold separately.

Operating Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) 41° – 95°
    • Temperature (°C) 5° – 35°
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) −4° – 122°
    • Temperature (°C) −20 – 50°
  • Relative Humidity (Operating)
    • 8 – 90% (non-condensing)
  • Relative Humidity (Non-Operating)
    • 5 – 95% (non-condensing)

Dimensions

  • Height: 85 mm (3.3 in)
  • Width: 160 mm (6.3 in)
  • Length: 150 mm (5.9 in)

Weight (Without Drives)

  • 2.15 lb (0.975 kg)
  1. Benchmark testing performed by OWC in May 2016 using a 2.4GHz Intel dual-core i5 13-inch MacBook Pro Retina with 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD. Tests conducted with a 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Tested using QuickBenchTM 5.0 Extended Test (20-100 MB) over 10 cycles, cache disabled. Results represent the extended test average.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n U3DRVDCK2 UPC#: 812437023527

Gallery

Includes

  • OWC Drive Dock Dual Bay Solution
  • 0.6 meter (24") USB 3.1 Gen 1 cable (Standard-A to Standard-B)
  • Internal power supply and power cable
  • User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

2 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.5 / 5 20 out of 29 (69%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: b407driver Location: Front Range, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great product December 28, 2016 Does exactly what is says it will do. If you frequently shuffle bare 3.5" drives for backup tasks, this product is super-convenient. A bit expensive for a USB 3.1 interface (thus losing a star).

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: yellowtiger Location: ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great item quick delivery good price December 22, 2016 Great item quick delivery good price - as described!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Meven Location: Lake in the hills Illinois Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product December 19, 2016 Makes it easy to use multiple hard drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnD Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works well! December 14, 2016 Setup was as easy as plugging in the drive to the electric outlet and the computer. Either drive works fine as a startup drive for my iMac. Dock design makes for easy switching of hard drives. OWC description of the product was accurate and shipping was fast and on time.

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TG05 Location: Kansas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just right for the job November 22, 2016 I purchased this when my 9 1/2 year old Mac Pro died, but I had recently replaced the drives in it. I bought a new iMac and never rely on a single drive. The dock now has an OWC Electra 3G SSD and a Seagate hard drive from the old Mac connected to the new iMac. It will also boot the iMac from a backup SSD with the Mac OS on it. Operation is smooth and seamless, my only knock is the SSD is slow to appear on my desktop after waking from sleep.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dennyh Location: Appleton, WI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Love this Dock November 21, 2016 The Dock is great. Love that it has 2 separate drives bays and can select each drive bay has it's own on off switch. Great Product.

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SuperBeard Location: Southwest Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast & Friendly November 18, 2016 For years I had a kit that I used to connect hard drives to a USB port. It was a ball of cables and power cords. it was not easy to use.

This device is great. It is easy to setup and easy to use. If you ever need to check hard drives this device is for you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: daveInTexas Location: Austin, TX
Rating: 5/5 A convenient and affordable solution for back-ups November 15, 2016 I no longer have a convenient excuse not to back-up my data and take these back-ups off-site. The OWC Drive Dock makes it really easy to run a back-up, eject the drive and put 1 copy in a safe and another in a safety deposit box.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TravellingMac Location: Karasjok, Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 A flexible solution! October 24, 2016 A fast, affordable and flexible solution to connect external drives. Perfect for backups, media production - or simply to increase the capacity of your machine. …oh, and it is QUIET!

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney - Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Finally found a hard to get SSD Thunderbolt adapter. Great product. June 10, 2016 An excellent SSD Thunderbolt adapter. Much better design and usability than the Seagate SSD Thunderbolt adapter I already use. (the only one available as far as I'm aware) Impressed with the delivery speed and service. Ordered on 6 June, Delivered to my door in Sydney on 10 June. An Australian power plug would have been helpful,saving me having to source one locally.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 25-34 Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Good dock, easy swap but annoying quirk May 18, 2016 It's a good dock, I've been using it for my audio production drives with my iMac, swapping the drives is fast, you have the ability to daisy chain but the only thing I'd complain about is that it will sometimes eject your disks after you wake up your computer. You'll get the "disks we're improperly ejected" message and you'll have to restart the computer or ejecting everything on the daisy chain in order to unplug it then re-plug it. Mounting the drives doesn't work. I took the dock in to get repaired but MacSales says the device was perfectly fine, meanwhile my machine is a brand new iMac 27..Knowing this, I personally wouldn't get it again, but when it's not ejecting the disks it's a good dock.

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan, US Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt Dock May 7, 2016 Already had one. It works so well I bought this second one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mill Valley, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic. May 1, 2016 This drive dock is sweet. Better built and better looking on my desk than expected and the performance is remarkable. I am finally able to take advantage of Thunderbolt on my drives that came in slower enclosures.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Thunderbolt 2+USB 3 Dual Drive Dock: Two drive bays for 2.5" or 3.5" drives, Internal Power..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for easy access to non-installed drives March 9, 2016 I got this for use with some drives which had been replaced but still worked fine. In my opinion it is better than the Voyager model because it includes thunderbolt.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SE TEXAS Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good Start March 6, 2016 Apple os 10.11.3. Purchased because my Mac mini has thunderbolt x 2. Looking forward to a daisy chain of another unit. Raid, maybe but, our records are 100% electronic storage. Heading toward Cloud and SSD in the home along with our NAS.

All the promises of placing a HD into the receiver and working right out of the box is true. Access speed on a SPINNING drive is good.

One BIG problem about drive which I learned the hard way. I removed a HD from an enclosure, placed it in the TB slot. It mounted BUT, the System said the Disk was NOT readable. Needed to be reformatted. (!) DiskWarrior said the drive could NOT be recovered. oops.

Second. an overnight sleep. In the morning, System said one disk was not ejected properly. Seen this once. If there is a second time, I'll look at the cable and perform a first aid, again.

The method of powering is great. Can power up the entire unit and select individuals to power up/down (mount/unmount). All are accessible from the finder. No problem except as noted as to the improperly ejected volume.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NE PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 1/5 Very poor quality control March 4, 2016 Bought the hub and didn't even last a month. I called OWC and they sent me a replacement which arrived dead. I don't know if it is a bad batch or the quality is so poor. I was offered another replacement over night but at his point I don't trust at all this device. Anyway big thanks to OWC for the excellent customer service.

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 easy to use, very convenient February 25, 2016 This is extremely user-friendly. Plugging in a 2.5" drive is a little tricky because you have to insert it at exactly 90 degrees or it misses the connection, but that's not a big issue. The Thunderbolt 2 connection combined with a SSD is incredibly fast. The unit is totally quiet and unobtrusive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NM Age: 35-44 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Just What I needed January 29, 2016 The first one I ordered had a power defect, but the quick replacement is working great! I use it for video editing with a 4TB, 128 MB Cache, 7200 RPM Hard Drive. It's pretty fast for not being a RAID.

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt at Last! January 13, 2016 Drive Dock with Thunderbolt is amazingly fast. If you have a drive to format or clone or anything, get this product. Don't forget to connect it to your Mac or you will not see the Drive Dock power up. You need the connection. Having the power brick built in makes it perfect. Also it comes with a USB 3 cable and a Thunderbolt cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Stuart, Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! January 9, 2016 This is the Voyager all grown up! Handsome, well-built and stable. SSD's in it fly!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Shreveport, LA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The best of its class for Thunderbolt docks January 9, 2016 I was glad to finally see a thunderbolt drive dock with more than one thunderbolt port! I am using it to house two SSDs. There are no issues that come to mind. It's a bit large on the desktop - even larger than the RocketStor it replaced. I may add another in the future and increase my SSD capacity to four drives.

This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TexMacs Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 1TB backup in under 4 hours December 18, 2015 Large drives require improved ways to backup/restore and external drive support during boot using thunderbolt technology is critical. The Drive Dock does just that in a very simple way and without the need of screw drivers or tools the Drive Dock is setup in seconds. Just received the Drive Dock yesterday and with recovery system and disk utility created a mirror of my 2011MBP15 main hard drive a 2TB Samsung EVO PRO SSD to a spinning disk Seagate ST2000DM001. The best part -- It took less than 4 hours! Using FireWire800 this used to be a 24 hour operation... Thank you OWC for yet another great product innovation!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Drive Dock: Thunderbolt 2 + USB3 Dual Drive Bay Solution.

OWC Drive Dock USB Dual Drive Bay Solution Mfr P/N: U3DRVDCK2 OWC SKU: OWCU3DRVDCK2 High-performance, swappable, bare drive access tool for reading multiple 3.5" and/or 2.5" drives simultaneously 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Options: