Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

DIY Bundle
Includes: 60GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 60GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 60GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

60GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Asynchronous MLC NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
60GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 64GB
4GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
55GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDEX6G060
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.28″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
556MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
523MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
268MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
208MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
235MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCY3SSD6E060 UPC#: 812437028386

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 installation easy / no probs June 28, 2015 This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Night & Day Difference with 5400 rpm SATA June 21, 2015 Installed the SSD in less than 8 minutes on daughter's MacBook Pro/2012...used CCC to clone the old drive (this took the longest time of everything) and it's super fast

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Everything worked as advertised June 18, 2015 The DIY kit is an excellent set of tools and hardware for upgrading an ageing mac. I found it to be really easy to get everything set up, and with the help of the video tutorial on the site, was able to upgrade my hard drive and memory like a pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SE Pennsylvania Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Sped up PC June 1, 2015 The SSD drive is great and eliminated fighting with needing more disk space. I saved a couple steps by having an Apple Time Machine with the drive always backed up. Extra lucky since I didn't realize that my hard drive was failing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West Vancouver Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like a new computer June 1, 2015 I purchased this SSD for a 2010 17 inch MacBook Pro that was becoming sluggish. I decided to give adding an SSD in a last-ditch effort to keep going with the 17 inch Mac that I love. I was shocked at what a huge impact changing to this drive made. Everything is so fast, from starting-up to opening apps. Installing the drive myself was a snap with the very clear instructions and included tools. Will change all my other hardware to SSD. Excellent phone support confirming I had the right drive for my laptop. Arrived in less than 24 hrs after placing order.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great improvement on the performance of my laptop. May 29, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Near Toronto Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very pleased May 28, 2015 After about a month so far: no problems. My mid-2010 MacBook Pro is so much faster booting up & opening software & files that it almost feels like a brand new Mac. Online & phone support from OWC was excellent. Installation with this complete kit is a snap, and it's great not having had to search for an enclosure for the old internal hard drive.

BTW I chose the DSL delivery option & the SSD arrived at my door in Canada about 19.5 hours after placing the order online. Impressive!

Can't comment on Durability yet (see list below) -it's too soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hilo, HI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what the doctor ordered! May 20, 2015 I am so thoroughly impressed with the efficiency and ease with which I was able to access the right hard drive upgrade but most importantly the video training outlining how to install it. Great experience and I will be back again and will highly recommend you guys to anyone!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Barcelona, Spain Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Simply excellent May 18, 2015 Easy installation, great performance,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD 6g 240G May 16, 2015 Easy instructions, 5 minutes to install , good price, makes the MacBook Pro run 10 times faster on Office Mac 2011. Thanks, dh

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bahamas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works May 14, 2015 Replaced my dying HD with this drive using OWC easy-to-follow video. It just works!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lachute , Qc Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow! May 11, 2015 It speeded up my MacBook Pro so much , it' a new machine !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia
Rating: 5/5 Performance improved markedly May 3, 2015 Having already upgraded my Macbook with 16GB of RAM, this latest upgrade of Newertech battery upgrade and the 1.0TB (960GB actually!) Mercury Electra 6G Solid State Drive, has given it a new lease of life. OWC has made choosing the right hardware so easy. OWC Promptly processed my order. Ordered on 28th April (Sydney time) and received all ordered products on 1st May from halfway around the world!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great service Fast SSD April 24, 2015 Just ordered my third SSD drive and kit for my Mac Power Books. 2* 2010 and one 2012 model. What a difference is boot and operational times. Shipping and service was great, easy install so far so good. Always impressed with OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Petaluma, California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install and greatly increased the speed of my MacBook Pro April 21, 2015 This SSd was easy to install. It came with ALL necessary tools and parts. The online videos also helped things go smoothly. The speed increase in processing my photos made it well worth the time, effort and money

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Puerto rico Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome item April 13, 2015 Very pleased with purchase. Extremely fast shipping and courtesy service agents. Product was exactly as discribed, very fast compared to factory HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: OldAppleAce Location: Colorado Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive & Enclosure April 13, 2015 I got this kit to build a SSD External Drive to backup my Macbook Air. This works great, and it is small and easy to carry on longer trips to keep the backup up to date. I have encrypted this drive and it works great. Backups are accomplished in just a few minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great quality, high capacity April 3, 2015 SSDs still have a price premium over hard drives, but sometimes it's worth it. OWC SSDs work great in my Mac Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Great on-the-go product March 20, 2015 A little plastic-y in the looks department, but the speed you're getting from the product is about the same as their Mercury On-The-Go. To me, that rocks! Impressed by their SSD line.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Marco Island, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 HUGE performance boost March 16, 2015 My MacBook Pro used to struggle along with a 5400 RPM drive. With this SSD, booting up has gone from 10 minutes to just seconds. The performance of the machine has improved dramatically! Thanks to OWC's installation videos, installing the drive and turning the old drive into an external USB device was simple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Louisville, ky Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome March 15, 2015 Performs as advertised.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic March 13, 2015 So, I have had a Mac Pro since 2011. Never ever worked to my satisfaction. Always got the "spinning wheel of death. As soon as my warranty lapsed,replaced my disk drive with a SSD. Frankly, Apple should be ashamed of itself for not putting these in as OEM given the premium they charge. It has made my laptop finally work the way I always expected it to. Quick boot up of the computer and any applications, and even when using application, they seem to work better. Best money I have spent on an apple product...period. Finally, OWC was terrific. There was one hitch in the installation and their tech resolved it for me immediately.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tinley Park, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 AWESOME!! March 6, 2015 My Mac mini Server was acting very slow. I knew that a new 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD would change things up for my business computer. I already had put a 240GB Mercury SSD in my home computer 2 yrs. ago, and it made that computer into a NEW MACHINE. This SSD did the same thing for my business computer. It's a GREAT improvement! Highly recommended!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Minneapolis Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It took about 10 minutes and it's like I have a new computer. February 26, 2015 It only took about 10 minutes to install the drive and it works great. The screwdrivers that come with the kit are more than adequate - and it was nice to have everything I need in one kit. There are only 2 real tricks: (1) make sure you know which screw came out of what hole in the unibody (some of the lengths are different) and (2) make sure that you include the recovery partition when you clone your existing drive - I think it's necessary to run FileVault. Just watch the videos and you'll be fine.

As for the technical specifications of the drive, that's not really my area of expertise. A lot faster than the drive it replaced. No moving parts. I'm happy.

This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My MacBook Pro feels like a new machine! February 23, 2015 Great kit! Comes with everything you need to swap to an SSD. I'm trying to prolong the life of a 17" MacBook Pro as I hate the smaller screens - this is like I have a new machine!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 60GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: OWCY3SSD6E060 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6E060 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclosure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $122.99
    • Bundle Priced for $43.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.99
    • Cyber Saver $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.99
    • Cyber Saver $85.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $345.99
    • Cyber Saver $141.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $715.99
    • Cyber Saver $313.75