Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offers Available

Doorbuster Offer $8.87 off OWC Cyber Week Specials on everyone's favorite Mac Accessories! Save up to $64! (Limit 2) Act fast! Limited quantity available with this offer.
$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle
Includes: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2258
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity 1
120GB useable capacity
Formatted Capacity2
112GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
RAID Support
Yes: RAID 0/1/10/ 0+1/SPAN
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCY3SSD6E120 UPC#: 812437027198

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LosGranos Location: New York, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My New 2007 Mac Pro November 8, 2016 This drive basically turned my old Mac Pro into a BRAND new Mac Pro, the difference is night and day, it used to take over 5 min to start, now its almost instant - maybe 30 secs. If you looking for a nice upgrade to your old mac, i def recommend on of these drives!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MightAsWellBeNewMacbook Location: Salt Lake City, UT Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best money ever spent, like, actually, ever. November 8, 2016 My mid-2012 2.9Ghz Intel Core i7 was no slouchy computer by any means. Upgraded the Ram from 8 to 16 which helped quite a bit, but I had just begun to accept that it takes 2 minutes to open applications.... and now that the machine is running on the SSD - it is ABSOLUTELY like night and day. Startup to login screen is now like 28 seconds, and have a FULLY loaded and functional machine by 45 seconds. Apps are opening in 1 second flat, and GoPro Editing is a whole new world. I had no idea. This couple hundred breathed new life of at least 2 more years into this workhorse! Stop contemplating. Buy it. The end.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BowdenData Location: Orlando, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent SSD kit - Easy to install November 1, 2016 I had no problems swapping out my MacBook spindle drive for the new SSD thanks to the excellent instruction videos and installation kit provided. So far, the SSD has been fantastic in speed. The external drive case that is part of the kit is made of plastic and is not the most durable feeling piece of equipment I have seen, but it does the job. In my case, the drive won't be beat around to where this might be an issue. In contrast, the included USB3 cable seems to be of very high quality. Even with the slow OEM spindle drive, the USB3 connection feels quite speedy with the enclosure.

All in all, I have been very pleased with the SSD drive kit. We'll see how the drive performs over time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MisterWizard Location: California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC provides the best products and service of anyone October 18, 2016 I have purchased OWC products for many years and have been satisfied - delighted - with everything from OWC. There web site is helpful and easy to use, the products are delivered on time, and the prices are reasonable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iangr Location: Athens, Greece Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very-very good SSD September 27, 2016 Installed in a mac mini mid 2011, this disc is clearly faster than previous SSD. Looks reliable and robust, and although I bought it just last month, I am convinced that it will serve me for a long time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Nicole Location: Long Beach, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 First time - worked great! September 25, 2016 I replaced the hard drive in my macbook because it was running really slow. Took a chance on this product which I ordered with the install kit. A little nervous, but the videos were really clear and the installation went perfectly. Really happy with purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Eldento Location: Puerto Rico Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Drive September 25, 2016 If you haven't change to an SSD drive you are missing the greatest change in computer history since the floppy disk. The performance change in my computers have been from heaven to earth. Even old computers perform better with an SSD. Not even thinking of going back to regular HD. I only use them for backup or for portable memory only.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Wobert89 Location: Blacksburg, VA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality product and great value September 22, 2016 This product has worked wonderfully and came with the tools I needed to easily install it. The installation videos on their website were also very helpful and let me complete this project without a hitch.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ramaynard Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super Happy, 5 year old Mac now like new! September 4, 2016 My 2011 PowerBook Pro was showing it's age.... the battery lasted 2 hours MAX and the computer was getting painfully slow at routine tasks. I got this battery and an SD drive... and WOW! It really is like a new machine. I was hesitant to spend close to $400 for these two items - when I could get a new MacBook for around a grand... but, in the end, $400 is a lot less than a $1,000! And, my 5 year old MacBook Pro now rivals my wife's new MacBook Air in terms of speed... so, I am VERY happy with my decision. Oh - and I get about 4 to 5 hours out of the new battery under heavy use.... not bad.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gilly Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Great! August 20, 2016 I installed the SSHD on my granddaughter's MacBook Pro And it gave her more than enough storage for college. No problems, just followed the instructions. Install took about 20 minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Larr Location: Near Denver, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Much faster than I imagined August 19, 2016 I ordered this SSD because everything on my Macbook Pro was Sloooww. I could not believe how quickly it boots even though I had viewed the comparison videos. The many delays in opening apps and files have dwindled fantastically.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Richie2016 Location: Chicago, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow! (Again) August 16, 2016 This is the second HD replacement I have done in the past week. Please see my other review for the 1TB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. I was so happy with that product that I ordered this SSD (and 16GB new memory) for a mid-2012 13inch MacBook Pro with 4GB and 2.5GHz Intel Core i5. As before, I used Carbon Copy Cloner before replacing the old and slow HDD with the new and amazingly fast 1TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. I followed all the instructions in the installation video. This has breathed new life into what was a laptop about to be discarded or given away. I am very happy with this product! I hope I can keep on using the MacBook for another four years, or more. The speed of the SSD is just wonderful.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Charliec69 Location: Berkeley, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD Is the Way To Go! August 8, 2016 I replaced the hard drive in my late model 2012 Mac Mini and it!s performance improvement was like getting a new computer. The SSD works as advertised there was a measured 6.5 fold boot up speed improvement and launching applications is a pleasure.

Installation isn't for the faint of heart: tiny parts, tiny push connectors, etc. however. It's all doable and worth the effort. It's possible to get cheaper drives on Amazon, but then there's the question of support and here I think OWC shines.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Superior Customer Service August 4, 2016 Sincere thanks to Randy G and Anthony for helping me upgrade my MBPro. I have never had a better experience with CS/tech support, EVER. My laptop runs so much faster, beach balls are gone!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect July 29, 2016 Used for mac book pro, late 2011. Easy to install. Now the macbook works fast without fan noise. The old HD works fine for backup. I would absolutely recommend this product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami,FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great experience! June 20, 2016 I rarely review anything, but this one needs to be shared. This is my second hard drive purchase from OWC and both have been perfect. I recently replaced a 4 y/o 750GB hd with a 1TB SSD and all I can say is WOW! What a difference. My MBP has 8GB of RAM (Max allowable) which runs at max capacity all the time. When I changed to the SSD, the performance increase was amazing. I used Carbon Copy Cloner 2 which worked flawlessly. I cloned the hd overnight and swapped the hd's the next morning. It has worked flawlessly since. I wish all computer upgrades were this simple. Thanks to all involved!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD Upgrade to MacBook Pro June 16, 2016 This was an upgrade of the original HHD in my wife's notebook. Installation was a breeze using the included enclosure which I highly recommend as it makes both the upgrade much simplier and allow use of the HHD as an external USB drive. Great on-line support videos at OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for production* June 10, 2016 this was the first time I upgraded my macbook pro. and doing so gave me an additional 5 years to the life of it. super speed in comparison to the factory HD that was inside the macbook at first. also the customer service is great. A1***

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Top-notch and easy upgrade! May 12, 2016 OWC has excellent video instructions for installing this upgrade, and it took under 15 minutes to have the new (wicked-fast) drive in my MBP. The external case now houses the old internal drive (which seems as slow as molasses in February now) Recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 Not easy, but worth it May 4, 2016 Bought this unit for a hot, sluggish Mac Mini to replace 2x1 TB Apple (Hitachi) hard drives configured as RAID 1 (mirrored). The installation video warned that the installation would be challenging - and it was! I must have disassembled/assembled the Mini 3 or 4 times until everything was seated properly and making a good contact. I also installed a 1 TB 7200 HD and 16 GB RAM at the same time. When I booted it up ,rather than showing two drives (SSD and HD), it only showed one drive (Macintosh HD default name). I thought that it was still reflecting the original RAID configuration, but after some Internet searches, I discovered that Apple had anticipated such a hybrid setup and merges the SSD and the HD into a "fusion drive". During the Restore, once the SSD gets filled up, the remaining files get written to the HD. I ran the Restore from my backup and everything is working fine now.

Runs faster and much cooler - warm now, rather than hot.

Recommended upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD DRIVE April 28, 2016 I use the SSD mainly for recording Audio on my Mac Mini and the upgrade to 1TB SSD Drive was nothing short of miraculous!! It boots Apps almost as fast as you can click the button, and rendering Audio is almost instantaneous. Not to mention how much cooler my Mac Mini is running.Good job OWC once again!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indiana Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! April 28, 2016 Easy to install and now my MacBook Pro boots up in less than 20 seconds!

This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Waynesboro, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Drive. Easy Install March 17, 2016 I replaced a smaller SSD in my Mac Mini because I needed more room and did not want to fool with teaching my wife how to use two drives. This works flawlessly and is fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2010 MacBook Pro No Longer Vintage March 4, 2016 Installation was a cinch and my computer is now running remarkably well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richland MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like getting a new laptop... March 3, 2016 I had no idea how much time my MacBook Pro spent accessing the standard hard drive until I installed this SSD. Swapping out the drive made every application much much faster, especially boot up, that lasted for, well forever, and now is not 15 seconds. Installation was a breeze especially after I contacted a very helpful tech support team. I'm extremely pleased and happy that for about $350 I dramatically extended the life of my Mac and doubled the HD (1 TB vs 1/2)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: OWCY3SSD6E120 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6E120 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclosure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Ships: Same Day Only $122.99Bundle Priced for $34.88 After Special Offers (Limit 2)Add to CartOther World Computing OWCY3SSD6E120 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.99
    • Cyber Saver $48.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.99
    • Cyber Saver $80.75
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $345.99
    • Cyber Saver $118.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $715.99
    • Cyber Saver $248.88
    • After Instant Rebates