OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle
Includes: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2258
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity 1
120GB useable capacity
Formatted Capacity2
112GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
RAID Support
Yes: RAID 0/1/10/ 0+1/SPAN
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCY3SSD6E120 UPC#: 812437027198

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cheyenne, Wyo. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Choice! February 20, 2016 This Mercury Electa SSD is amazing. My "platter" hard drive was starting to show it's age and becoming very slow. I clones my OS and files to the new SSD, and Presto! My Mac Book Pro with an i5 is lightning fast at startup and indexing is blazing fast. Read and write times are much improved when I transfer batch files. This was a fantastic upgrade. I highly recommiend this product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ann Arbor, MI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Upgrade February 19, 2016 I wanted to try what I had read about, swapping the standard hard drive of my Early 2011 MacBook Pro 13" , with a solid state drive. I did that, and added the 16 GB of RAM upgrade, and it's like I have a brand new Mac.

Easy to install, especially with being able to use my old hard drive as a new external.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works surprisingly well! February 18, 2016 I was skeptical that it would speed up my computer as much as advertised. I'm very very pleasantly surprised that startup is so quick and programs launch much quicker too! For not being handy, transferring data was easy too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: R. North Carolina Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised! February 15, 2016 A great improvement over factory installed hard drive. My Macbook Pro is extremely fast after the installation of this SSD. So far so good. Installation was a breeze. Great product OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 easy to replace hard drive February 12, 2016 I had some trepidation when replacing macbook pro hard drive with new sad fromOWC. The instructions were great and easy to follow and finished in about 10 minutes. I did manage to lose one case screw but replaced entire lot of screws for MBP from amazon for $4 and tools with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sioux Falls, SD Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I wanted! February 8, 2016 Great product and terrific service. Easy install and tutorials were great. Thanks so much!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Believe the hype February 7, 2016 First time upgrading from a standard drive to a SSD. Super happy with the upgrade and the performance boost is everything I had hoped it would be. Boot time is insanely fast and I will likely be updating most of my machines to SSD in the near future! The instructions on the site are perfect for install as well!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD drive and install kit February 4, 2016 Now my MacBook Pro loads faster and programs that consult the hard drive do so quickly, just what I wanted. So now my mid 2010 MacBook should last another 3 to 5 years, I hope. :) The cloning / data transfer instructions confused me a little (to many different ways to do the transfer) but every thing worked out as advertised. I loaded the SSD into the enclosure then cloned to it. Took every thing apart and swapped drives so the portable enclosure has the previous OS X on it. Then up dated the SSD drive in the MacBook to El Capitan.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome drive January 31, 2016 The ssd and the enclosure were easy to install with the videos and instructions. My MacBook works like never before. Extremely fast to boot and lightning fast while using it. A excellent upgrade!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dumfries, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy To Install....OS Update Slowed Things Down January 31, 2016 This was easy to install. I have put in two of them. The first time went smoothly with the OS installation; however, the second one did not. The website to get the OS did not work. Ended up having to do a lot of research and use another MAC we own to download the OS onto a thumb drive and then do the installation from there. Should not have been this difficult. If you run into this problem...don't send the drive back. Just take the time to figure it out. Good luck.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Langley, BC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So worth it! January 28, 2016 I installed this in my wife's 8-year old MacBook (2,1), and combined with max-ing out the RAM, it's like a brand new machine - maybe faster than it was when it was new! What used to be sluggish and constantly beach balling is now responsive and quick...more than enough for what she needs, and much more economical than buying a new laptop.

The installation was easy, and having the external case for the old drive is a great way to resolve the "What do I do with this, now?" question.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 When is 1TB not 1TB? January 26, 2016 I find it curious that the 60GB, 120GB, 240GB and 480GB SSD's are marketed as such, but the 960GB is marketed as 1TB. it's not a mistake - the drive itself is clearly labeled as 960GB. So why is it marketed as 1TB? Other than that, this is a great product - easy to install, fast, makes the computer seem about 3-5x faster due to the speed of the SSD. Just irks me that they use such deceptive advertising.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arkansas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow!! January 21, 2016 Unreal the difference the 480 SSD made for my MBP. Blazing fast now. I coupled this drive with 4 more GB of RAM and the mid-2012 MBP 13 is screaming fast. The install videos and instruction sheet on the web page about "cloning" your old HDD are super helpful. The only thing I missed was the LONG TIME it takes to reload the operating system on the new drive. Your dependent on wifi speeds. Basically it took me all night to rebuild the new drive. Its not hard though it just takes time for the massive OS to travel through the air:) Once installed physically and the OS was in place --- WOW! WOW! WOW! Love love love the solid state technology and speed! A good investment of time and money to get a lot more machine for less than $300.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 nice upgrade January 13, 2016 My 2012 Mini was filling up so I decided it was time for a boost in storage. Since SSDs have come down a lot in price, I decided to add a 1 TB Mercury. The Mini was originally ordered with a Fusion drive (combination of 128GB SSD + 1 TB HDD) and I decided to replace both.

The upgrade effort is non-trivial but you do need the right tools, and patience. OWC's videos are essential if you haven't done this before. Other places also have info with still photos - these are helpful too to locate some of the screws.

I originally set mine up as a new Fusion drive but a day later decided to change that plan. About 60% of my storage is music so I undid the "Fusion" (i.e. reformat and reinstall) and then placed music on the HDD, and everything else on SSD. Fast. Very fast

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ashcroft, BC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Back in business January 13, 2016 My wife's macbook had been getting slower and slower. The frustration was becoming a concern so I decided to get her a SSD for Christmas. The install was easy although the data transfer took most of a day. The macbook is now instantly fast and my wife is happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greater New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Essential, easy upgrade to new iMac January 12, 2016 A new iMac was long overdue since the bulk of my work is in high end graphics and CAD programs. I waited for the newest version to come out because it had been over two years since iMacs had been updated. I was really surprised that the standard iMacs were outfitted with 5400 rpm drives, a very old technology that slowed things down considerably. An upgrade by Apple to a SSD drive would add several hundred dollars to the price.

This OWC drive has done the job of increasing speed and reliability for about one third the price of Apple's upgrade. Assembly is quick and easy. If you can stack Legos you can put this together. I didn't want to fiddle with taking apart a brand new computer and risk voiding the warrantee so I chose the external drive which I may install internally at a later time.

This was a no brainer. Tech support was most helpful when I called to determine which of the many options would work best for my needs. I have been doing business with OWC for years and have never had anything less than excellent products and services and saved a great deal of money in the process.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Willow Street PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Addition January 9, 2016 Very easy to install, all the benefits expected of a large SSD!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pescara, Italia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Changed my Computer's life January 8, 2016 I bought two of these SSD disk. One for my older Macbook Pro 2008 (3g sata) and one for a newer Macbook Pro 2011 (6g sata). The revolution that these disks brought to my computers is incredible. Longer battery life, less weight, less heat, less noise and (of course) an incredible speed. In addition to that, OWC is fast (really fast) and super reliable with the shippings. (I live in Italy)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Made My Laptop Superspeed December 31, 2015 I found the installation video and included tool kit made this drive very easy to install, even though I never opened up my Macbook Pro before. Once you format the drive and data transfer, the speed is just astonishing. And the best part, you get to continue using your old laptop which in my case, a 2011 Macbook Pro, means I get to keep using my internal DVD Write/Read drive and this older keyboard (more comfortable than the new ones). Yea!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria, BC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD December 22, 2015 Unbelievable product- went from a standard Toshiba hard drive to a 480GB and holy smokes what a difference. Installation videos were easy to follow and transferring data was a breeze after install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MDCrabber Location: Maryland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It Just Works December 21, 2015 Every time I open the Disk Utility I have this fear that I am about to embark on a day's-long disaster and data recover nightmare. With care this has not happened in a really long time. The OWC SSD's make my system useable, it still impresses me the difference between spinning disk and SSD. Booting up quickly and getting to files fast is the way to go! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 compact and high quality December 14, 2015 Second of these I have purchased. Very usable case and good selection of tools.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SE PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice SSD for the money December 12, 2015 This SSD kit was easy to install and has dramatically improved performance of my Mid-2010 iMac over the original 1TB hard drive which is now configured for pure storage functions. The online video instructions for installation were easy to follow, although having a second computer available to display them is essential.

This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Liberty, KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed December 8, 2015 I was looking for speed and extra storage space. This did the trick.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milwaukee WI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great Upgrade December 1, 2015 The only issue I had was removing the small surface mount fan plug. The Video told us to be careful but better photos or something to tell us how it came apart would be helpful. This is surface mount and it is easily damaged. The replacement part is a $500 mother board. Other than the video I have no problems. I have upgraded three systems now. A Macbook, iMac and Mac Mini to SSD and added memory. All three are working fine. Makes the Macs boot faster and run faster. Less expensive than a new Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: OWCY3SSD6E120 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6E120 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclosure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Ships: Same Day Only $122.99Bundle Priced for $43.75
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCY3SSD6E120 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.99
    • Cyber Saver $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.99
    • Cyber Saver $85.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $345.99
    • Cyber Saver $141.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $715.99
    • Cyber Saver $313.75