Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

Includes: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
1000GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 1024GB
24GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
931 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
532MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
467MB/s

Power

Read Mode (Max)
2.1W
Write Mode (Max)
2.1W
Seek Mode (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n Y3SSD6E1TB UPC#: 812437027822

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 nice upgrade January 13, 2016 My 2012 Mini was filling up so I decided it was time for a boost in storage. Since SSDs have come down a lot in price, I decided to add a 1 TB Mercury. The Mini was originally ordered with a Fusion drive (combination of 128GB SSD + 1 TB HDD) and I decided to replace both.

The upgrade effort is non-trivial but you do need the right tools, and patience. OWC's videos are essential if you haven't done this before. Other places also have info with still photos - these are helpful too to locate some of the screws.

I originally set mine up as a new Fusion drive but a day later decided to change that plan. About 60% of my storage is music so I undid the "Fusion" (i.e. reformat and reinstall) and then placed music on the HDD, and everything else on SSD. Fast. Very fast

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ashcroft, BC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Back in business January 13, 2016 My wife's macbook had been getting slower and slower. The frustration was becoming a concern so I decided to get her a SSD for Christmas. The install was easy although the data transfer took most of a day. The macbook is now instantly fast and my wife is happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greater New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Essential, easy upgrade to new iMac January 12, 2016 A new iMac was long overdue since the bulk of my work is in high end graphics and CAD programs. I waited for the newest version to come out because it had been over two years since iMacs had been updated. I was really surprised that the standard iMacs were outfitted with 5400 rpm drives, a very old technology that slowed things down considerably. An upgrade by Apple to a SSD drive would add several hundred dollars to the price.

This OWC drive has done the job of increasing speed and reliability for about one third the price of Apple's upgrade. Assembly is quick and easy. If you can stack Legos you can put this together. I didn't want to fiddle with taking apart a brand new computer and risk voiding the warrantee so I chose the external drive which I may install internally at a later time.

This was a no brainer. Tech support was most helpful when I called to determine which of the many options would work best for my needs. I have been doing business with OWC for years and have never had anything less than excellent products and services and saved a great deal of money in the process.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Willow Street PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Addition January 9, 2016 Very easy to install, all the benefits expected of a large SSD!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pescara, Italia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Changed my Computer's life January 8, 2016 I bought two of these SSD disk. One for my older Macbook Pro 2008 (3g sata) and one for a newer Macbook Pro 2011 (6g sata). The revolution that these disks brought to my computers is incredible. Longer battery life, less weight, less heat, less noise and (of course) an incredible speed. In addition to that, OWC is fast (really fast) and super reliable with the shippings. (I live in Italy)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Made My Laptop Superspeed December 31, 2015 I found the installation video and included tool kit made this drive very easy to install, even though I never opened up my Macbook Pro before. Once you format the drive and data transfer, the speed is just astonishing. And the best part, you get to continue using your old laptop which in my case, a 2011 Macbook Pro, means I get to keep using my internal DVD Write/Read drive and this older keyboard (more comfortable than the new ones). Yea!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria, BC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD December 22, 2015 Unbelievable product- went from a standard Toshiba hard drive to a 480GB and holy smokes what a difference. Installation videos were easy to follow and transferring data was a breeze after install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MDCrabber Location: Maryland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It Just Works December 21, 2015 Every time I open the Disk Utility I have this fear that I am about to embark on a day's-long disaster and data recover nightmare. With care this has not happened in a really long time. The OWC SSD's make my system useable, it still impresses me the difference between spinning disk and SSD. Booting up quickly and getting to files fast is the way to go! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 compact and high quality December 14, 2015 Second of these I have purchased. Very usable case and good selection of tools.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SE PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice SSD for the money December 12, 2015 This SSD kit was easy to install and has dramatically improved performance of my Mid-2010 iMac over the original 1TB hard drive which is now configured for pure storage functions. The online video instructions for installation were easy to follow, although having a second computer available to display them is essential.

This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Liberty, KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed December 8, 2015 I was looking for speed and extra storage space. This did the trick.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milwaukee WI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great Upgrade December 1, 2015 The only issue I had was removing the small surface mount fan plug. The Video told us to be careful but better photos or something to tell us how it came apart would be helpful. This is surface mount and it is easily damaged. The replacement part is a $500 mother board. Other than the video I have no problems. I have upgraded three systems now. A Macbook, iMac and Mac Mini to SSD and added memory. All three are working fine. Makes the Macs boot faster and run faster. Less expensive than a new Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mid-2011 iMac runs like new November 30, 2015 I purchased this to replace the Seagate 7200 RPM 1TB drive that I had i my iMac since I purchased it. I could tell that the computer was disk bound and was getting a lot of beach balls. Rather than spend the money for an new machine, I decided to try the upgrade route to an SSD. I'm glad I did.

I've attached the before and after Black Magic speed tests. Usability has increased dramatically. Launch times have dropped significantly. Boot times have increased substantially. Overall, the only complaint is that I purchased a 1TB drive, but the drive was clearly labeled as NOT 1TB, but a 960GB. It's a small amount, but I feel it's a little misleading, especially if you're short on space.

The videos on the site appear to be incorrect, as when you are looking at the video for replacing a HDD with SDD it shows the video for the storage doubler instead. I had enough experience that i could infer what I needed to get the job done. The anti-static foam you transfer does not touch the case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my early 2011 17" MacBook Pro November 28, 2015 If you are considering upgrading to one of these SSD solutions stop reading these reviews and order it already! I got the 1.0TB to replace the 750 GB regular drive in my MacBook Pro 8,3 model. It was as easy to install as ram and has made a huge difference in my laptop's performance. The time from when I hit the power button to when I can sign in is under 20 seconds and fully loaded in much less than a minute. I did go full boat and did a clean install of OS X and reinstalled all software manually which probably helped as well, but i promise you will not be disappointed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco
Rating: 4/5 This added years to my mac! October 26, 2015 Easy to to install, although someone at the mac store helped me. It has given my 2011 macbook pro new life, making it better than when I got it quite frankly since I had a spinning disk. Start up is so freaking fast.

If I have one complaint, it's that the drive only had 960 Gigs when it's supposed to be 1TB and the drive wasn't partitioned or had any software on it. So somehow I'm missing gigs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eagan, MN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Remarkable and Painless improvement! October 19, 2015 The process was simple and painless. Not to mention, it has made my MacBook Pro perform like it should! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this upgrade! It's an easy swap, due to OWC's foresight in SSD behavior. That's why I picked this one over any of the others.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pachuca, Hidalgo, M{exico
Rating: 5/5 This product is excellent October 9, 2015 Fast delivery and great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Aging MacBook Pro with new life October 9, 2015 Installing this SSD in my 2009 MacBook Pro breathed new life into it. The install instructions were clear and easy to understand and any apprehensions I may have had were dispelled as it went along. I now have an external drive which I doubt I will ever use but I did test it out by booting from it and albeit much slower than the new SSD it does work! So I am secure knowing there is a bootable backup if I need it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Venice, Italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 DIY KIT: 60GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 Enclosure+Transfer Kit October 6, 2015 This kit is really a hit. Luke

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 60GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hood River, OR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Night and day change for my MBP September 19, 2015 The all inclusive kit is perfect. Easily moved all my info from the original drive to the SSD. Amazing difference in boot up and overall computing speed. Makes the computer new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good as advertized September 11, 2015 Easily purchased, all needed tools present, good instructions on how to implement.

As easy as one - two - three.

Updated two machines because it made so much difference.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Another Excelent OWC Product September 6, 2015 I work with a lot of large data files. This SS drive has greatly improved processing time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Big Improvement; new RAM and SSD September 5, 2015 Apple MBP 17, late 2011, my stock 750 GB HDD was failing and I upgraded this laptop, which I love to the 960 GB (1 TB) SSD. At the same time, I upgraded stock RAM (4 GB) to 16 GB. The MBP is noticeably faster and snappy; I hope to get at least 2 more years out of it. I order the OWC tools and studied their installation videos and found the process rather straightforward. I changed out the RAM first, restarted the computer then installed the SSD second. I backed up my HDD with Time Machine and re-downloaded OS X from the Apple servers and was off and running. When you re-download OS X, your laptop will download the OS X version that your MBP originally came with and NOT the OS X version you were last using. Factor that fact into your strategy. I was using Mountain Lion but my MBP originally came with Lion, which is what was re-downloaded. I then went straight to Yosemite for free. Overall, I am very happy, OWC's support was great and I would definitely do this again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Queensland, Australia
Rating: 5/5 A new life for my laptop September 3, 2015 I bought this SSD to replace the original HDD in my MacBook Pro 2010. The shipping to Australia was very fast. Installing it in my laptop was very easy. And now my computer is working better than ever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product - easy to install September 3, 2015 The SSD from OWC greatly improved the performance of my early 2011 MacBook Pro and their instruction on how to install and set it up were clear and easy to follow. Very happy with my purchase. Thank you OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: Y3SSD6E1TB OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6E1TB USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclosure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Ships: Same Day Only $345.99Cyber Saver $147.75
Add to CartOther World Computing Y3SSD6E1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $122.99
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.99
    • Cyber Saver $59.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.99
    • Cyber Saver $92.75
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $715.99
    • Cyber Saver $308.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $724.98
    • Cyber Saver $712.00