Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle
Includes: 500GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 500GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 500GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Pry Tool (Spudger)
    • Phillips #00
    • Slot head 1.8 mm driver
    • Torx T8 driver
    • Torx T6 driver
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

500GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity 1
500GB useable capacity
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Reads
(Compressible Data)
up to 529MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Compressible Data)
up to 483MB/s
Sequential Reads
(Incompressible Data)
up to 521MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Incompressible Data)
up to 444MB/s
Random 4K Read
up to 90,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
up to 60,000 IOPS

Power

Active
2.1 W
Idle
0.9 W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n Y3SSD6E500 UPC#: 812437027310

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DickM Location: Butte, Montana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy way to enhance performance. January 3, 2018 Installed this SSD in my wife's MacBook Pro. The performance of this laptop is now better than new, absolutely superb. It seems to be as fast as the new MacBook Pros.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: countingportals Location: Baltimore, MD Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Made my 2011 MacBook Pro almost like new again! January 2, 2018 I was waiting relatively 5 mins for my computer to reboot, and a lot longer to reboot after running out of battery. Restarting is now reasonably fast, and I can use my MacBook as soon as I login whereas before I had to wait for it to go through the login processes several minutes.

The kit was simple, had a nice online guide, though I'd recommend using the Carbon Copy Cloner software my boss recommended to me, rather than the backup method suggested.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 250GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Goat88
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade! December 31, 2017 I have a 2010 Macbook Pro 15" that was crashing when more than two programs were open. I swapped out the hard drive with the new SSD and it works great. No crashing and speeds are greatly improved. Beats spending $2700 on a new computer. Also, I know nothing about computers and was able to install the new drive pretty easily.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MACNOVICE Location: NEW HAVEN, CT Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 great product from a great company December 18, 2017 this came timely and with everything it said was included. the instructions were great and had no trouble installing this SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mario Location: Ottawa, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super easy to install December 17, 2017 This package came with everything needed to replace my MacBook Pro hard drive. Tools, instructions, even a caddy to house my old drive which serves nicely as a backup drive. It could not have been easier. Videos on the web site take any guess work out the task. Super easy. Performance improvement is mind-boggling! Should have done this much earlier. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: DougB Location: AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Value and Works Well December 8, 2017 This kit is especially handy when you want to swap the SSD drive into your laptop and save the older, smaller one in the OWC enclosure. Handy, easily packed, and fast. OWC's info and links of how to do this without losing data worked well. I like that no separate power supply is needed for the enclosure as long as an SSD or 5400 RPM HDD are inside.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bobbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb Location: US Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding ! December 7, 2017 Installation was a breeze after watching the how to video. The longest part was downloading the OS installation package, but once that was done my macbook pro was working better than it ever has before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TnTexas Location: Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD harddrive November 28, 2017 Very easy to install in Mac Mini, format was easy , used a backup to install my data and I was up and running. I would highly recommend buying one of these SSD's and if I very need another hard drive for any reason I will purchase another one as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Wango Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good service and great product October 29, 2017 When i needed to swop out my old drive for a flash drive I was hesitant and unsure about how difficult it may be - but once i got the hardware from the store which itself was a simple process and it arrived in a few days I got on the line with the support team and they guided me through the whole process of mirroring my hard drive to the new Flash drive and boy was it easier than I thought - so thanks guys wonderful job and I will be back for more upgrades

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: milkman Location: NY
Rating: 5/5 brought a Mac mini back to life October 27, 2017 this ram paired with the SSD I purchased made a slow 2011 Mac mini into a speed demon run-in the latest and greatest software

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bennie Location: Michigan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 FAST!!!! October 12, 2017 Received my new drive tonight and when I came home from work started installing this drive, so I had t do a speed test just to see how this thing works and now my MacBook booted in just 15 seconds from power off to enter password... Wowzers that is fast I am super Impressed over my original hard drive..I also installed 16 Gig of Ram also not sure how much difference that is making but now I can use my computer much faster than before..

Amazing

LOVE IT.

Bennie

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mdilling Location: Oak Hills, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Upgrade September 25, 2017 This was a very simple upgrade. I completed the whole upgrade in about an hour, including transferring my old disk to the new SSD. My MacBook Pro is now much faster. I completely boots up and is ready to work in less than 30 seconds. I would most definitely recommend this upgrade to anyone with a MacBook Pro. Next step is to max out the memory.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OUComputerGuy Location: Norman, OK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast...Simple...Affordable September 19, 2017 The drive was crazy easy to install. If you did have any questions, the step-by-step videos provided will definitely clear things up. It performs great...not a single complaint. If you're in the market I don't know why you wouldn't choose this SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Refdude2 Location: Bakersfield, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice Speed Upgrade from SSD September 11, 2017 Originally purchased for my daughters computer, but as it turned out ... her issue was due to a bad cable. Great news for me, because I am the beneficiary of a very fast, new SSD for my MacBook Pro ! The installation was straight forward, the formatting and data transfer was accomplished with a little assistance of a very efficient support staff. --- Thanks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SteveD Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy way to do a "brain transplant" August 19, 2017 The kit is complet, and when coupled with the excellent on-line "how-to" video, makes it easy to replace a pokey HDD with a spacious SDD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mziwg Location: Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, MASSIVE Speedup August 18, 2017 I have 25yrs experience supporting Macs, so YMMV, but I was able to complete the installation of the SSD in my 2012 13" MacBook in 10min; OS install and data migration took a few hours, but mostly hands-off and wizard-driven. Resulting speed up was huge. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Clay Location: Ohio Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly and installed easily! August 11, 2017 My second kit with OWC, and like the first one, it works perfectly and installed easily. This was my first repair on a MacBook Pro, and it went great. I had used OWC on my old iMac, so I thought I'd try my hand at fixing my wife's old laptop. I'm so glad I did! Both my iMac and the MacBook Pro run like new computers. Thanks, OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChurchIT Location: Arlington, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect: Just what I expected! August 10, 2017 We have a Mac mini that is used to run the multimedia system during worship. I'd suggested a couple of times previously that an SSD would take care of the performance problems that we were having, to no avail.

And then the HDD started throwing S.M.A.R.T. errors warning of impending failure.

So I came here to OWC, ordered a 1 TB SSD with the installation kit, and paid for fast shipping. It arrived on time, I followed the video instructions on OWC's website (note that I've been in IT for decades and I'm not unfamiliar with computer hardware) and swapped in the new drive. That all seemed to go ok, and so I told the Mac to reload the OS over the internet. That failed! As far as I could tell, that wasn't the SSD. I poked around on the internet and that confirmed what I thought--we'd alread maxed out the RAM with OWC memory. In the case of this Mac mini, that meant twice as much as Apple said it maxed out at. So I took out one stick and tried the OS reinstall over the internet again and it worked. Once that was finished and I'd gotten the latest OS on there, I put the RAM back in. Our director of worship is so pleased that he wants to buy a SECOND SSD to be a spare!.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Autoxer Location: Fairfax Station, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade August 8, 2017 Really woke up my 2011 Powerbook, app startup is much better, even browser page loads are faster.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ottofueler Location: Nashville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow! July 25, 2017 Installing this SSD, replacing the original hard drive in a 5-year old Mac Mini made a tremendous improvement in speed and reliability. Went from having to wait for the computer to think, to almost instant response. I made this change before the hard drive had the chance to fail.

The instructions and video made the replacement easy, and my only call to the friendly fellow at customer support resolved an issue. I liked that he checked back to see if all was ok.

Now I have a speedy Mac Mini with 16G of memory and 1T of storage, with very fast performance. This was an excellent upgrade and I feel I made a good choice to use OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rjmccor Location: Woolwich, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Performance July 17, 2017 This upgrade to my MacBook Pro mad a huge difference. Absolutely worth it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: majahack Location: Watsonville, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy and major impact May 29, 2017 Mid-2012 MacBook Pro I replaced my HDD (5400RPM) with this SSD. What a huge difference. Honestly, it's as if it is a brand new computer. The instructions were very clear and the work was easy to do. Would recommend that you buy the kit as it included all the tools you need as well as an enclosure for your HDD. That was a nice bonus. Step-by-step instructions were on the website and the whole process was easy to do. Time to swap drive (and install old one in enclosure): 20 minutes

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Quintus Location: Ontario
Rating: 5/5 Wow! May 11, 2017 I am incredibly impressed by this company, its website and its product. I would have never thought of myself as a computer techie capable of upgrading my own Apple computers. I happened upon this site by link from a forum discussion where people were sharing ideas on how to speed up a slowing Mac. My children are the primary users of the Mac Mini but stopped using it, preferring their iPads, as the Mac Mini was getting incredibly slow. So I looked for ways to speed it up and was directed to OWC. The videos are incredibly well done, the tech support is excellent and very quick to respond and the end product brings incredible speed to the Mac Mini. This is how the Mac Mini should have shipped brand new. It was never this fast and this responsive. Thanks OWC for making computer techs out of ordinary people. I was so impressed that I have now purchased a RAM and SSD upgrade for my 2012 iMac. Can't wait to see how that performs!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SSDfan Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has revived my mac May 7, 2017 My MacBook continually lagged to the point of me considering a purchase of a new laptop. Following the upgrade to SSD, my laptop works just like new. I would recommend this upgrade to anyone who would like to significantly increase their MacBook's speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iLearn Location: Aruba, DWI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Significant improvement in my Mac´s performance! May 1, 2017 I am very pleased with my new SSD drive. The installation was easy thanks to the terrific instructional videos on OWC! Excellent product and significant improvement in my Mac´s performance!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle: 500GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: Y3SSD6E500 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6E500 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclosure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Ships: Same Day Only $225.99Cyber Saver $86.75
Add to CartOther World Computing Y3SSD6E500 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $122.99
    • Bundle Priced for $43.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.99
    • Cyber Saver $54.75
  • 500GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 2 Days
    • Only $345.99
    • Cyber Saver $149.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $715.99
    • Cyber Saver $334.75