Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD (Mfr P/N: Y3SSD6E1TB) from Other World Computing for $141.75 as a suitable alternative.

DIY Bundle

Includes: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Asynchronous MLC NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 9.5mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
1.0TB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
930GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7E6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
556MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
523MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
268MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
208MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
235MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n Y3SSD6E960 UPC#: 812437027167

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mid-2011 iMac runs like new November 30, 2015 I purchased this to replace the Seagate 7200 RPM 1TB drive that I had i my iMac since I purchased it. I could tell that the computer was disk bound and was getting a lot of beach balls. Rather than spend the money for an new machine, I decided to try the upgrade route to an SSD. I'm glad I did.

I've attached the before and after Black Magic speed tests. Usability has increased dramatically. Launch times have dropped significantly. Boot times have increased substantially. Overall, the only complaint is that I purchased a 1TB drive, but the drive was clearly labeled as NOT 1TB, but a 960GB. It's a small amount, but I feel it's a little misleading, especially if you're short on space.

The videos on the site appear to be incorrect, as when you are looking at the video for replacing a HDD with SDD it shows the video for the storage doubler instead. I had enough experience that i could infer what I needed to get the job done. The anti-static foam you transfer does not touch the case.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my early 2011 17" MacBook Pro November 28, 2015 If you are considering upgrading to one of these SSD solutions stop reading these reviews and order it already! I got the 1.0TB to replace the 750 GB regular drive in my MacBook Pro 8,3 model. It was as easy to install as ram and has made a huge difference in my laptop's performance. The time from when I hit the power button to when I can sign in is under 20 seconds and fully loaded in much less than a minute. I did go full boat and did a clean install of OS X and reinstalled all software manually which probably helped as well, but i promise you will not be disappointed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco
Rating: 4/5 This added years to my mac! October 26, 2015 Easy to to install, although someone at the mac store helped me. It has given my 2011 macbook pro new life, making it better than when I got it quite frankly since I had a spinning disk. Start up is so freaking fast.

If I have one complaint, it's that the drive only had 960 Gigs when it's supposed to be 1TB and the drive wasn't partitioned or had any software on it. So somehow I'm missing gigs.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eagan, MN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Remarkable and Painless improvement! October 19, 2015 The process was simple and painless. Not to mention, it has made my MacBook Pro perform like it should! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this upgrade! It's an easy swap, due to OWC's foresight in SSD behavior. That's why I picked this one over any of the others.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pachuca, Hidalgo, M{exico
Rating: 5/5 This product is excellent October 9, 2015 Fast delivery and great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Aging MacBook Pro with new life October 9, 2015 Installing this SSD in my 2009 MacBook Pro breathed new life into it. The install instructions were clear and easy to understand and any apprehensions I may have had were dispelled as it went along. I now have an external drive which I doubt I will ever use but I did test it out by booting from it and albeit much slower than the new SSD it does work! So I am secure knowing there is a bootable backup if I need it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Venice, Italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 DIY KIT: 60GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 Enclosure+Transfer Kit October 6, 2015 This kit is really a hit. Luke

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 60GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hood River, OR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Night and day change for my MBP September 19, 2015 The all inclusive kit is perfect. Easily moved all my info from the original drive to the SSD. Amazing difference in boot up and overall computing speed. Makes the computer new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good as advertized September 11, 2015 Easily purchased, all needed tools present, good instructions on how to implement.

As easy as one - two - three.

Updated two machines because it made so much difference.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Another Excelent OWC Product September 6, 2015 I work with a lot of large data files. This SS drive has greatly improved processing time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Big Improvement; new RAM and SSD September 5, 2015 Apple MBP 17, late 2011, my stock 750 GB HDD was failing and I upgraded this laptop, which I love to the 960 GB (1 TB) SSD. At the same time, I upgraded stock RAM (4 GB) to 16 GB. The MBP is noticeably faster and snappy; I hope to get at least 2 more years out of it. I order the OWC tools and studied their installation videos and found the process rather straightforward. I changed out the RAM first, restarted the computer then installed the SSD second. I backed up my HDD with Time Machine and re-downloaded OS X from the Apple servers and was off and running. When you re-download OS X, your laptop will download the OS X version that your MBP originally came with and NOT the OS X version you were last using. Factor that fact into your strategy. I was using Mountain Lion but my MBP originally came with Lion, which is what was re-downloaded. I then went straight to Yosemite for free. Overall, I am very happy, OWC's support was great and I would definitely do this again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Queensland, Australia
Rating: 5/5 A new life for my laptop September 3, 2015 I bought this SSD to replace the original HDD in my MacBook Pro 2010. The shipping to Australia was very fast. Installing it in my laptop was very easy. And now my computer is working better than ever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product - easy to install September 3, 2015 The SSD from OWC greatly improved the performance of my early 2011 MacBook Pro and their instruction on how to install and set it up were clear and easy to follow. Very happy with my purchase. Thank you OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic upgrade August 16, 2015 An SSD is a fantastic upgrade over a spinning-platter HDD--incredible boost in performance. OWC's drives offer a very competitive price-capacity ratio. Quick shipping, highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple, plug and play August 13, 2015 I wanted to reduce the lag my mac has while booting up or opening programs. This SSD eliminated it and has been used since 1/2015 with no problem. I will be buying another soon for an older MBP.

The kit was helpful as I didn't have any of these smaller tools, and the external hard drive case is perfect for the hard drive I took out considering it was still good. I used ifixit for help in the install procedure, but I believe there is also a video on this website.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic! August 8, 2015 Great, and quick delivery! Everything came in good time, and packaged well. The instructions online were great - I was able to install my new drive in less than 24 hours, doing the 'backing up' process overnight as I slept..I do think however that if I hadn't owned a second device, such as a tablet, it'd have been hard for me to follow the instructions since they were online and well, I had to turn off the machine to install the drive etcetera..so maybe a printed instruction manual, etcetera would have been awesome-er!

But great, great..enjoying my much faster machine..no more spinning wheel..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Osaka, Japan Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Had never had a computer so fast! August 6, 2015 After upgrading my RAM on my 2012 MacBook Pro from 8 to 16 GB, I decided to switch out my 1 TB factory installed HD with an OWC 1 TB Solid State Drive.

Following the installation video on the OWC website was easy and after about 15 minutes my new SSD was ready to be formatted ( takes about 3 to 4 hours for that. )

Now, everyday when I start up my MacPro I am always amazed how fast my MacBook Pro has become. It starts up incredibly fast and never slows down. I am a believer in big SSDs.

I was so impressed with how well the performance on my MacBook Pro had become, I decided to I needed to do the same to my 2013 MacBook Air.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Easy August 2, 2015 Extremely happy with the SSD drive and enclosure and even happier with the service I get from OWC your guys are always helpful and the service is A1 I will always keep coming back!!

Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: LA
Rating: 5/5 It just works July 11, 2015 Easy to put together. Good documentation.Great tech assitance on the phone. You plug it in and it works. To do what OWC does, takes real commitment and at this point in my 30+ years of Apple, mac, computer usage, this is what I want to happen. I find all the products I have purchased from OWC funtion this way, so they have become my"go to" source for all my upgrade needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Memphis,TN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing upgrade July 11, 2015 It seemed to take forever to decide which SSD upgrade too. I read hundreds of reviews and articles with tons of videos. Everything pointed to Samsung, but decided on OWC based on decent price point, space, and previous memory upgrade that worked out well.

I have a 2013 MBP and replaced the standard HDD with a Mercury Electra 6G SSD. The difference has blown my mind. I knew moving up to an SSD would be a huge change but holy cow! Boot times from dead are hitting around 15 seconds......15 SECONDS!!!!!! Apps that used to draaaaaaaag while opening now pop open immediately after click.

The Electra may not be the "fastest" SSD on the market but think the service, DIY kit, flawless installation, and outstanding build quality should get you to purchase an OWC drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Janesville, WI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW, now that is fast July 7, 2015 This replaced my standard drive on a 15" MacBook Pro w/ i7. It starts up faster now than when it was new. In 12 seconds, from the time I hit the power button to login. For a 5 year old computer, that is the biggest improvement I have ever had. Not even maxing RAM did that much. Everything is much faster. If you have a standard hard drive and looking to speed your computer up, I recommend this.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW! Like going from SD TV to HD! July 6, 2015 Upgraded my MacBook with SSD drive. The improvement in speed and performance is out of this world. Boot up time is 10 times better. Opening programs has no delay. Best investment ever.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Incredible upgrade for an older MacBook Pro! July 2, 2015 I just installed this in an early 2011 MBP and what a difference. Startup time, app opening time, even email search time have all been drastically reduced. I do digital audio work in Logic Pro X and the disk handles it like a breeze. The instructions (both printed and video) that OWC provides are super helpful and I had the drive swapped out in about 15 minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The land of cheese! Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New Drive June 30, 2015 Installed this drive to replace the failing OEM drive in my mid-2010 MacBook Pro. The transfer kit make it easy to transfer all the data from the old drive onto the new one. Increase in performance in incredible. Couldn't be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A totally new MacBook Pro using OWC SSD!! June 29, 2015 Fantastic performance improvement. Easy installation using the OWC tools and videos. Why buy new when you can get such a performance improvement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: Y3SSD6E960 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6E960 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $122.99
    • Bundle Priced for $34.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.99
    • Cyber Saver $48.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.99
    • Cyber Saver $80.75
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $345.99
    • Cyber Saver $118.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $715.99
    • Cyber Saver $248.88
    • After Instant Rebates