Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

DIY Bundle
Includes: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Extreme® 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

war

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
559MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
527MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
266MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
479MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
282MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCY3SSD6X120 UPC#: 812437027839

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 96 out of 102 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeteKV Location: BC, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as advertised August 15, 2020 Shipping was quick. Upgrade worked really well, worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Blane Location: Idaho Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent quality SSD August 10, 2020 After watching the install video the installation was a easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JayBird01 Location: Louisiana Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD for Mid 2012 MacBook Pro July 6, 2020 My Mid 2012 MacBook Pro was slowing down to a point where it would take a good 5-10 minutes to boot up and I was getting really aggravated and I did some research and found out that I could probably benefit from a hard drive upgrade. I found this 1TB SSD from OWC and they had an option to buy an upgrade kit and the SSD was formatted for a Mac so I went for it. The instructions were detailed and the installation went smoothly. I did have to do some research to see how to download and install MacOS to the hard drive and Apple surprisingly made it very easy. The Mac has a built in internet recovery tool that has an option to reinstall the operating system. You click on that and a few hours laster you have yourself a Mac that’s like brand new without having to spend over $1,000. Now my startup time is cut in half it now only takes about 5 seconds to boot and the SSD comes with a 5 year warranty so you have piece of mind. Thank you OWC for such a great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Vinny Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything you need to replace memory July 5, 2020 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacMusicMan Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic July 4, 2020 East to install, economical, really speeds up my 2012 MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AlphaCentauri Location: Benin City, Nigeria Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I wish I've done it sooner November 22, 2019 I purchased the 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD with DIY KIT. I was excited when it arrived. I have been watching videos of how to install the SSD and migrate data from my HDD. Unfortunately, the SSD was defective. I wasn't able to format it. I immediately contacted the customer service department of OWC and within 5 minutes they sales unit issued an RMA for replacement. To cut the long story short, the replacement came very fast and I was able to install the new SSD. My 17'' MBP is a brand new machine and super fast. I wish I had done this upgrade sooner.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AndrewM Location: London, Ontario,CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 WOW October 10, 2019 2011 Mac Mini install and I am blown away...it is like a new computer! I did damage the IR cable like many people do so please pay attention when you do this...Fortunately it does not stop the Mac from running. I am now running High Sierra with a memory upgrade from OWC i installed a couple of years ago and it is FAST!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: centva Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Quality Upgrade, Very Happy December 18, 2018 I ordered this hard drive to upgrade my 2012 Mac mini (I had previously used OWC to upgrade a MacBook Pro). I hit a snag in upgrading because my mini had the original hard drive in the upper bay ('lower' when flipped over). So I needed to remove the power supply and logic board (with a simple if special tool ordered later) to install this item (I used OWC's videos about installing a dual hard drive to guide me). It was thus more complicated than anticipated, but ultimately easy enough. The drive is in, my old Mac mini is super-fast and 'feels' like new. I am very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ntripp Location: Littleton, CO Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade October 9, 2018 Extremely happy with this product. Easy to install and gave my 2012 MacBook Pro a new life. The boot up time is much faster, as well as the overall performance in accessing and using applications. This was a cheap and easy way to extend the life of my laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Len1947 Location: Mississippi Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Ordering was easy, delivery prompt August 22, 2018 I upgraded my 2012 MacBook Pro with this SSD and a memory upgrade. Installation was easy with OWC directions and videos. My computer runs better now than it did out of the box. Thanks OWC!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JamesG Location: Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow!!!!!!! This is the best experience. August 10, 2018 Thank you OWC... This worked perfectly. Your videos sold me. I was able to do this because of your videos and the quality tools and equipment. OWC is GROOVY!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ColoradoDuck Location: Loveland, Colorado Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product July 5, 2018 On-line ordering: easy Installation: a snap! The online video made it simple and quick. I used Time Machine to restore the new drive, and used the enclosure I bought with the drive to make use of the old drive. Dead simple! Speed: OUTSTANDING! Boot times are a tenth of what they were before. Applications open in a heartbeat. I am extremely pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mathe Location: Juba, South Sudan Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Service May 28, 2018 I ordered it online and I got the kit, really quick here in Africa. Had only a few days delay at customs. Once released, I immediately watched the instructions in the Video Tutorial on your website, et voila! It is now running perfectly. Performance after restoration is just awesome compared to my old HDD: 30 seconds booting vs 2-4 minutes before, programs launch faster on a click. Even my Bootcamp has the same performance. Excellent stuff. This is exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks for your wonderful service. Keep it up!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Grumpa Location: Cheektowaga, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Love SSDs May 21, 2018 This is my second one. The first brought life back to my mid 2012 Macbook Pro. I clone my drives with CCCloner and swap them with each other. Running OSX Sierra with no problems

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BrahyanCastaneda Location: Clifton, New Jersey Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My Mac Mini is running 5 times faster than before April 6, 2018 I upgrade the mac mini from 500 GB HHD to 120 SSD and the difference is first the computer started before around two minutes and after the upgrade it takes less than 15 seconds. the programs that I have are running 3 times faster. I would definitely recommend this upgrade

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Greg0704 Location: DFW Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great! March 21, 2018 The drive arrived timely, had all the required materials. Installation was simple. I was back up and running quickly. The drive is fast, as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: Geocali Location: Georgia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Better than new! January 7, 2018 Wow what can I say 240 gig Mercury Electra 6G with 16 gig's of ram in my 9,2 MBP it's like a night and day difference.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Melonhead Location: NZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy setup, simple installation December 14, 2017 So simple and convenient, it was easy to remove the old spinning drive from my MacBook Pro and install it in this case. Equally easy to install the SSD in the Macbook Pro, giving it a new life. I rely heavily on the Macsales' DIY videos to guide me through the process of upgrading my machines. Having said that, you can't watch them too often.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ShamSham
Rating: 5/5 Boosted Performance - Happy Wife! October 11, 2017 Wife was complaining that her mac was taking forever to do anything. I have a newer Mac Book Pro with SSD vs her older model without SSD and the difference was staggering. Would take about 3 mins to boot and be ready to use.

Changed out the drive and upped the RAM.

MBP now boots in about 20 seconds, and is noticeably faster and better in every way. Wife could not be happier - essentially has a brand new machine to work with.

I've included Black Magic Read/Write test results from before and after. The difference is night and day.

This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FCPR Location: San Juan, PR Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It's a new Mac Mini! October 1, 2017 After upgrading my 2011 Mac Mini with 8GB of RAM and a solid state hard disk, it's like having a new Mac Mini. It runs as smooth as my 2016 MacBook Pro. It just incredible how performance improved.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: talmy Location: Oregon Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade September 26, 2017 As a retired electrical engineer, this was an easy upgrade for my Mac mini I use as a server. Video made it simple. I do wish the took kit included the hex driver, but since I already had one I was fine. Case for the old drive was nice. It's an improvement over my old self-powered external drive I had hanging around.

The drive itself has operated flawlessly in the fewf weeks I've had it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: pstaeubs Location: Dayton, OH Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Night and Day difference September 19, 2017 I was using the original drive that came with my mid-2012 Mac and had just recently installed parallels 13 and Windows 10. It took an astonishing amount of time to load. I proceeded to purchase this extreme pro and will never look back! From a complete shutdown my computer loads in ~20 seconds. Booting Windows 10 takes all of about 4 seconds. I use this laptop for school and the primary application I've been utilizing is Visual Studio 2017. Only takes about another 3 seconds to boot this up. Everything boots flawlessly and there are never any hang ups. So glad I made this purchase and I highly recommend it to everyone.

The only issue I had was with the physical install of the drive. The screws didn't fit into the body of the ssd very will. The screws definitely won't be coming out any time soon however on the plus side!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Almasol Location: Orlando, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Single Upgrade... August 11, 2017 What a change in performance in upgrading my Macbook's HD main drive to a SSD.

It feels like a brand new computer. It has much better boot times and it respond better then when I purchased it.

Highly recommend this upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LoveLafayette Location: Lafayette, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, Easy to transfer data July 9, 2017 Upgraded my 2012 Macbook Pro (9,1) and the experience with this SSD has been great: 1) OWC's Video training was easy to follow, and we accomplished the hardware swap easily using the tools provided in the kit. 2) ENCLOSURE: this was a very convenient bonus, and we benefited from pulling out the old HD, easily inserting it into the Enclosure, then booting the laptop from the old HD OS X. I can't remember the exact sequence but it was easy to download a clean install of OS X, then to transfer all my old data onto the new SSD. Overall very easy to do and along with a 16GB RAM update, my slow poke 2012 is now very snappy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SpinningFaster Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 The disk is FANTASTIC, not sure about the transfer process May 2, 2017 Overall I am extremely pleased with the SSD and would get it again - this has completely breathed new life into my MacBook Pro 2012 which I was about to chuck out the window.

The video instructions were, perhaps, the best that I have seen for a component switch-out. Flawless.

My only complaint: The transfer process would not complete from my old disk to the new one. I tried several times over 2 days and it would always get stuck. Some googling indicated that this was a very common problem with the apple utility. In the end, the disk appeared to be corrupted and I was lucky enough to be able to restore from a time machine backup I had made just before the process began. All in all it took a full THREE DAYS before the laptop was up with the old data. But, in the end nothing was lost so all is well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: OWCY3SSD6X120 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6X120 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclsoure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $100.97
    • Bundle Priced for $82.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $145.97
    • Bundle Priced for $129.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.97
    • Bundle Priced for $209.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $375.97
    • Bundle Priced for $359.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $825.97
    • Bundle Priced for $789.00