Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

DIY Bundle
Includes: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Extreme® 6G SSD 120GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

war

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
559MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
527MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
266MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
479MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
282MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCY3SSD6X120 UPC#: 812437027839

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 96 out of 102 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow March 12, 2016 By my subject line, I'm referring to the entire experience. Easy ordering, fast delivery. But that's not even the best. I think a training video either on the OWC site or elsewhere indicated it shouldn't take more than 10 minutes. I didn't time myself but I think I had the old drive out (and in its new external case) and new drive in at around 3 to 7 minutes!. I highly recommend watching a video tutorial for the little but important tips about disconnecting and reconnecting the parts. Very nice that the correct tools were included to make it even faster. Then of course there's the SSD drive itself. My sluggish 3-year old Macbook Pro opens everything pretty much instantly now including startup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wilmington, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fountain of Youth! March 11, 2016 It's had to describe the difference in performance of my MacBook Pro (15" mid 2012). I was beginning to think I should look at acquiring a new laptop. This one was getting painfully slow. After reading some other reviews about the impact of replacing the HDD with a SDD, I decided to give it a try. OMG!!! What a difference. I don't know if my system was nearly this fast when it was brand new.

The installation was simple and product has worked flawlessly. I would recommend this to anyone with a HDD based system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Marin, CA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Gave my 2011 MacBook Pro New Life! February 25, 2016 This SSD cut boot time from 1:10 to 26 seconds. Everything it does seems so much faster, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone wanting the speed of a newer Mac without the price tag.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ada, OH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 11, 2016 The installation process was smooth, and the product works as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, easy, expert care. February 1, 2016 Everything went as expected. Fast ordering. Easy to navigate website. 1TB SSD working fantastically.

I chose my nickname based on a previous order. I take it back!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Easy upgrade February 1, 2016 Migrated my iTunes and Photos library off my MacBook Pro to this 1TB external Mercury Extreme and enclosure with no problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Products Fast Shipping January 22, 2016 I ordered this Drive Kit for my work computer and I was amazed at how fast it was. The external enclosure and tools made the transition to the new drive a breeze. Not to mention giving me a great portable external drive. The online videos and instructions were a big help.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Long Beach, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 this product is boss January 12, 2016 1TB SSD Drive is FIRE Love the speed and efficiency of it. Easy installation. Only thing is the tools in the tool quit are of poor quality. I recommend getting a tool-set off another site.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 GREAT PRODUCT! January 12, 2016 I ordered this 8 months ago replacing the HDD in my Macbook Pro and so far its been great! It also boosted the speed, performance and boot up time of my laptop! So if you're thinking about replacing the HDD in your Macbook Pro for an SSD This is the product you should buy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Dimas, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Brought my 2011 MBP back to life. December 4, 2015 I was bummed. I love my computer, but as a full-time freelancer I needed something a little more "up to speed." It was slowing down and I was getting frustrated. I have to have the latest software for the work I do, so I couldn't keep the older versions of apps that seemed to work better. I was ready to unload $3000 on a new computer and someone suggested I just upgrade to an SSD. Viola! Like magic, this thing is reborn. No lag, no hang ups, super fast at just about everything I need it to be fast at. Highly recommend if it isn't a good time for dropping a huge amount of cash on a new one. Obviously doesn't run as fast as a brand new one, but it will do the job. Came with all the tools and watched the video to do a quick install myself, much easier than anticipated.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD December 2, 2015 I purchased this drive and installed it into my MBP in about 15 minutes. The installation video guide was great, right on target. The only criticism of the video is that it did not address the "filler" piece that was included with the SSD. I decided to use it as it helped fill up the drive bay in the MBP. Installation was a breeze. The new drive worked fine for a couple of months then I began to experience sluggish performance and after many attempts to diagnose the problem I figured out it was the hard drive. The hard drive was failing. I called OWC and within a couple of days I received a new SSD and now all is well. Overall a great experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: los angeles, ca Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 nice upgrade November 30, 2015 easy to install and very fast.

I planned to restore from Time Machine but instead follow OWC's instructions for creating a clone to avoid headaches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Easier than I thought September 6, 2015 Apple wouldn't replace my drive with a SSD because they only replace it with the same type drive. So, I called OWC first. I'm not a tech guy and when I wanted to replace my HDD with a SSD the salesman said it would be very easy. It was. And, he sent me links to the videos that showed me how to transfer everything from my old drive. I love the speed now. It seems to have given my three-year-old laptop more life. It's really fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oakland, CA
Rating: 5/5 Such a difference! August 16, 2015 Wow! What a difference! My new SSD drive was easy to install and it's amazing how much faster it is! Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A wonderful upgrade! August 1, 2015 VERY easy process, if a little nerve-wracking in anticipation. However, the OWC videos make it all quite straight forward. I upgraded my memory from 8GB to 16GB at the same time, so difficult to pin point what intervention was responsible for the BLAZINGLY fast improvement in speed. Postage costs are reasonable, and package arrived in Australia quickly and without incident..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Delaware Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 GREAT SERVICE AND PRODUCTS June 19, 2015 I ordered the products and got them only two days later. I had done comparison pricing and found the pricing for what I wanted to be the lowest. I recommended OWC to a couple of friends and they are happy also. I highly recommend them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rimumiro Location: Auckland, New Zealand Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great SSD with all the tools you need to convert May 30, 2015 This is a great SSD and the tool set that comes with it is a must. Without them or something similar, the proprietary Apple screws make it impossible to do the swap.

The external case is plastic, not aluminum. I don't have a USB3 connector on my Macbook and would consider getting the firewire enclose bundle if I did this again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD the only way to go May 4, 2015 I was very familiar with these SSD drives as I have had experience with them in working with NFL Films. When I purchased a used MacBook Pro the first thing I did was order one of these drives. The installation video made it a simple process and I love the case that came with it so I pout the 750gb drive the laptop came with in it

I have since purchased another SSD and use it externally with my IMac when editing FCP7 projects.

OWC has been my go to company for years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Just Get It May 3, 2015 UNBELIEVABLE

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Should Have Upgraded Sooner April 16, 2015 Couldn't believe how MUCH of a difference the SSD drive would make. Amazing, I should have swapped my drive out much sooner had I known. Boot time on my MacBook Pro now is almost non existent. Very Fast. Battery life has dramatically improved with the SSD installed. Definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for blazing performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wantage, NJ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Incredible Drive, worth every penny! March 21, 2015 This is absolutely the most powerful upgrade you can do for your computer...period. Installed in a 2011 MacBook Pro, which was running a 320 GB, 5400 RPM drive (Hitachi)...was using an external WD 750 GB 7200 RPM as my back up drive to store movies, photo's and Time Machine Backups. Regardless, initial boot up was always about 1:30 minutes; attempting to open any program like iPhoto or Excel or Powerpoint would take an eternity to open. This kit came with the Express enclosure, which I really did not need, but it now houses the WD 750 and makes storage in my computer bag much simpler. Reformatted the drive outside the PC, installed Yosemite, grabbed the Time Machine back up from the Express Enclosure and then installed the drive. Installation was easy, my boot up time shrank to 20 seconds or so, shut down is faster. Opening programs now takes seconds, my computer is like new again. Very fast shipping, comes with all the tools you need. At 480 GB of usable storage, this coupled with the Express enclosure is all the space I need. May consider upgrading the RAM, but it is not necessary. This drive is SILENT, no moving parts, runs cool and I never hear the fans turn on any longer. The price on these has dropped significantly, it is worth EVERY penny to pick one of these up.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern Illinois Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Replacement for mid-2012 HDD March 12, 2015 Easy install and great performance. Starts up in Yosemite in seconds vs minutes with HDD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vermont Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blisteringly fast March 3, 2015 When the HD on my late 2011 MacBook Pro began to fail after 3.5 years the option of replacing the HD was much more affordable than buying a new machine. I decided to upgrade from a mechanical HD (really cheap now) to an SSD (pricier but affordable, much faster and less susceptible to breakage on a portable machine). Next question: What brand? More research uncovered a nasty little secret in Yosemite: The Trim feature has been disabled for all but the OWC drives. For a non techie like me, that meant understanding that Trim removes all the unused bits on the drive which slowly take up space and slow it down. OWC offers an online tutorial and a kit that made it a snap to open my MacBook Pro and swap the drives myself. (Make sure you make a full backup first! Best to do a clean reinstall of the OS to correctly partition the new drive or you won't be able to use FireVault.) Bottom line: Performance is now blindingly fast. Restart takes 30 seconds with FireVault enabled (probably a touch shorter without FireVault), including reopening multiple open apps.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing fast! February 26, 2015 There is no delay opening even the largest programs. I use my computer for writing code and making music. My music programs load so fast I can't believe my eyes. This is a must buy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lake Erie, OH Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 What a Difference! September 15, 2014 On a 2011 17" MBPro replaced my internal hard drive with this SSD. Put the old hard drive in the enclosure and now use as a backup location. Used the mini tool kit for all the work moving drives around and replacing ram. Also added 16.0GB (8GBx2) PC3-10600 DDR3 1333MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL9 SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Kit. Now performance is remarkably better although I notice fans run a little more - especially running Parallels and Windoze 8.1. The old hard drive in the included enclosure is sloooow. But it works and is cheap. The tool kit worked fine but the tools seemed cheaply made and the handles were tiny. I think I'd prefer the better tool kit and a faster enclosure but this is a great buy if you're trying to upgrade with as few bucks as possible.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 120GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: OWCY3SSD6X120 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6X120 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclsoure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $100.97
    • Bundle Priced for $82.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $145.97
    • Bundle Priced for $129.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $225.97
    • Bundle Priced for $209.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $375.97
    • Bundle Priced for $359.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $825.97
    • Bundle Priced for $789.00