Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle
Includes: 480GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD 480GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Extreme® 6G SSD 480GB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
447GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCY3SSD6X480 UPC#: 812437027297

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 96 out of 102 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DGHayner Location: Kelseyville, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded My MacBook Pro to SSD December 17, 2016 I recommend this to the max. I have a used that I just 2012 MacBook Pro and it was running great except for speed on turn on and basic running. I got the 240 Gb kit and followed the instructions to a fantastic end. The computer boots in about 5-10 seconds and the overall speed is double.

Now I am going to upgrade my mac Mini to a 1 Tb drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: surfnerd Location: Seattle WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Drive and Instructions are great November 7, 2016 The Hard Drive and the kit are great. The videos of how to replace the drive are also really well done. The whole replacement went smoothly. The MacbookPro runs much faster now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MRITech Location: Canton, Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Always buy quality November 3, 2016 2012 13" MacBook pro was running extremely slow, several minutes to boot or open an app. From my research I decided to replace the SATA cable first. Purchased a $12 cable from amazon, that didn't fix the problem. Purchased the 1 TB SSD upgrade bundle and that didn't fix the problem and now the computer wouldn't even recognize the new SSD with either the original cable or replacement cable. I went back to the cable and purchased a quality $45 OEM cable from a site that was recommended by the customer service rep. That fixed the problem and now it runs lightning fast, it takes seconds to boot or open an app instead of minutes. Easy swap of the hard drive and memory cards. Even though it turned out to be a faulty cable I don't regret the SSD or memory upgrade, eventually the HD would have failed. Great customer service and great products. Very helpful instructional videos and write ups. My #1 stop for future repairs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacMichael Location: Colorado Springs CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It just works November 2, 2016 This is an area where "drama" is not wanted. This just worked. It was simple and straight forward to install and get working. And now that it is done, the USB enclosure means I have a portable hard drive available for use anywhere. Great product at a great price that works.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Pacowaco Location: Calgary AB, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Absolutely amazing! October 29, 2016 OK, I knew this would make a world of difference, but I was completely unprepared for just how much. I've owned Macs with SSDs before, so I knew what to expect (or thought I did), but for some reason, this little guy is worlds faster than others! In this case, the device being replaced was a hard drive showing no signs of issues. The difference is shocking: folders open instantly, where previously they'd take 15 seconds or so to populate displayed contents (especially after a reboot). Applications—even resource pigs like any of the Adobe suite—launch before I have a chance to catch my breath. And installation was simply a breeze. I'm so glad I opted for the enclosure option; though I had a recent backup on another drive I'd intended to use to transfer data, I simply just used the old HD in its new enclosure and cloned it to to the new SSD; stupid easy, and everything's working perfectly! Top marks to Mac Sales and OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Hulka Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Holy Performance, Batman October 23, 2016 I was experiencing the tell tale signs of the original 500GB 7200K RPM SAS disk beginning to fail in my MacBook Pro. I wanted to upgrade both the capacity and performance so option for the 1TB SSD. I knew it'd be much faster but had no idea it would make my MBP perform better than it was when brand new. I HIGHLY recommend this product and the kit with the external enclsoure made cloning and replacing a breeze.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tdiz Location: New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD....Sweet! September 11, 2016 Awesome product! Awesome instructional video! Installed it with very difficulty in my daughter's Macbook. Her Macbook is now screamingly fast! By about a bizziion times!

I highly recommend this product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacLeatherneck Location: Al over the world Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Need seatbelt August 27, 2016 My 1TB HHD was running so hot and so slow I was contemplating buying a new computer. Bad option for a missionary. A friend suggested a SSD upgrade. The price was phenomenal; under $400. It was easy to switch out with the tools provided and the instructions. And the case for the HHD was perfect. Now I have all of my files on the backup, can move whatever I need onto the SSD. Wasn't so lucky with the programs like Photoshop for Mac but that was probably my problem, not OWC's. I would definitely recommend purchasing the 1TB SSD; you will think you are running stealth. Don't hesitate, buy one now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Richie2016 Location: Chicago, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow! August 16, 2016 My 13inch MacBook Pro from 2012 was no slouch when it was purchased new with 8GB RAM and the 2.9Ghz Intel Core i7 processor. But that was four years ago. It seemed slow as a snail when compared to today's MacBook Pros with SSDs. After watching the OWC installation videos several times, and reading the reviews, I decided to order the 1TB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. I also downloaded Carbon Copy Cloner so that I could clone the 750GB HD before installing the SSD. That seemed to be the easiest way to resume use of my MacBook. I would not have to reinstall anything or search for authorization codes for all the software I have on that laptop.

Everything went smoothly, and as planned. The cloning took about six hours. The actual replacement of the HDD with the SSD was done in about five minutes! The only thing that took time was putting back the tiny screws in the bottom cover of the MacBook. I followed all the instructions given in the video. The tools supplied by OWC were exactly what was needed.

The change in my MacBook is just remarkable. It feels like a brand new laptop. Bootup takes about 15 seconds, instead of a couple of minutes or more. Applications load instantly. There is no delay in loading or saving files. I can never go back to using a computer with a spinning hard drive! I have another MacBook of similar vintage. I am going to order another SSD for it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hawaii Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 This hard drive is amazing! June 6, 2016 So far this hard drive is amazing. It was super easy to install, espically wit OWC videos to follow. It took my older mid 2010 mac book pro to nearly as fast as my 2015 ma book pro, but with twice the storage. And the price for the 1TB is a great price for the speed and space. If I ever need another hard drive for my laptops, I will be getting it from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Adelaide SA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product May 13, 2016 Bought this for a friend - had to recommend it after the amazing results it achieved in my own computer. Increased speeds and reduced boot time.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: san Miguel de Allende, Mexico Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I wanted a new computer and got it! May 13, 2016 The SSD kit was complete and easy to install. Had my "new computer" up in running in short order, No looking back, nor reqrets

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Product does as advertised. May 1, 2016 I upgraded my 2012 MBP to this drive and it is like a brand new machine! Won't be needing to get a new Mac anytime soon now.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great product April 23, 2016 Easy install runs great would highly recommend

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville TN area Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Got backup April 21, 2016 Nutshell, after purchasing a 120GB SSD I realized I needed more room, so I ordered the 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro with the OWC USB 3.0 Express enclosure kit, put the 240GB in my On-The-Go Pro & the 120GB in this kit. ALL SET, working great! Thanks, OWC!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate western NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent April 17, 2016 Easy to install; the excellent videos were a great help.

Boot up time was significantly reduced, and time to start up a program [Open Office] was almost instantaneous,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Asheville, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly as advertised.. April 15, 2016 I write very few reviews, but if this can boost your confidence, then that's good. I read all of the other positive reviews on this 1 Tb SSD drive before purchasing, and I watched the installation video. I ordered the drive with the kit including the tools and case for the swapped out drive. Everything played out as expected - it was easy to install per their directions. And it is fast! I am so happy to have the extra space, after upgrading from a 256 SSD on my mid 2012 Macbook Pro. I ordered the Mercury Pro first before realizing that there was an even better drive, the Extreme Pro, so I sent back the first order before opening it and waited for the Extreme. The customer service was perfect. This is a good company and their product is awesome.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Drive - new life to my Mac Mini April 7, 2016 This drive was straightforward to install. Upgrade was painless. Had my Mini running the first evening. It is amazingly fast. The thing that surprised me the most was simply the speed increase in opening files. Amazing. Files that would take several seconds to open now appear to open instantly. I am extremely pleased and would highly recommend this drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Upgrade March 14, 2016 Easy installation, restored from Time Machine. Has made my 2012 MBP feel like a brand new machine. The speed is absolutely incredible, with all of my applications opening almost instantly. I have to run Windows 10 under Parallels for work from time to time, and time to desktop went from 3 to 4 minutes to about 20 seconds. Well worth every penny.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brussels BE Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wonderfull March 14, 2016 Hi bought this SSD to use it as startup disk for my brand new iMac 4K with a really bad HD inside.

Marvellous it runs fast and efficiently well.

Good timing for delivery and by change no import taxe over!!! which was not the case for a colleague of mine who order later ;-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow March 12, 2016 By my subject line, I'm referring to the entire experience. Easy ordering, fast delivery. But that's not even the best. I think a training video either on the OWC site or elsewhere indicated it shouldn't take more than 10 minutes. I didn't time myself but I think I had the old drive out (and in its new external case) and new drive in at around 3 to 7 minutes!. I highly recommend watching a video tutorial for the little but important tips about disconnecting and reconnecting the parts. Very nice that the correct tools were included to make it even faster. Then of course there's the SSD drive itself. My sluggish 3-year old Macbook Pro opens everything pretty much instantly now including startup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wilmington, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fountain of Youth! March 11, 2016 It's had to describe the difference in performance of my MacBook Pro (15" mid 2012). I was beginning to think I should look at acquiring a new laptop. This one was getting painfully slow. After reading some other reviews about the impact of replacing the HDD with a SDD, I decided to give it a try. OMG!!! What a difference. I don't know if my system was nearly this fast when it was brand new.

The installation was simple and product has worked flawlessly. I would recommend this to anyone with a HDD based system.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Marin, CA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Gave my 2011 MacBook Pro New Life! February 25, 2016 This SSD cut boot time from 1:10 to 26 seconds. Everything it does seems so much faster, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone wanting the speed of a newer Mac without the price tag.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ada, OH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 11, 2016 The installation process was smooth, and the product works as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast, easy, expert care. February 1, 2016 Everything went as expected. Fast ordering. Easy to navigate website. 1TB SSD working fantastically.

I chose my nickname based on a previous order. I take it back!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 480GB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: OWCY3SSD6X480 OWC SKU: OWCY3SSD6X480 USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclsoure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Ships: Same Day Only $155.97Bundle Priced for $127.51
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCY3SSD6X480 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $105.97
    • Bundle Priced for $97.51
  • 480GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $255.97
    • Bundle Priced for $237.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $475.97
    • Bundle Priced for $444.75