Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

Includes: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
48 Hour Service

If your OWC or NewerTech brand product should require service during the warranty coverage period, we are committed to delivering the fastest possible service.


Upon receipt of your unit, OWC will make every attempt to service it and arrange shipping back to you all within 48 weekday (Monday-Friday) business hours, excluding U.S. national holidays. This warranty service timeframe does not include data recovery attempts, out of stock items/components, or upgrade/product replacements.


Read additional information.

Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success, so if you need a bit more guidance, we are available Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM and Sat 9AM-4PM with U.S. based technical support by phone or live chat.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ USB 3.0 Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High quality double-shielded USB 3.0 B to USB 3.0 A/USB 2.0 A connector cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1000GB useable capacity
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Read (Compressible Data)
272MB/s
Sequential Write (Compressible Data)
198MB/s
Sequential Read (Incompressible Data)
266MB/s
Sequential Write (Incompressible Data)
200MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 84,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 81,000 IOPS

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Asmedia USB 3.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed - (1) micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Drive up to 9.5mm height. Important Note: Hard Drive supported for use of this bus-powered enclosure via USB 2.0 or 3.0 port connections, use of Solid State Drive (SSD) only supported with USB 3.0 port connection.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n Y3SSDMP1TB UPC#: 812437027174

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 154 out of 156 (99%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mississippi Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast drive with nice enclosure March 13, 2015 This was an easy upgrade to my MacBook. I was able to recycle the old drive using the external enclosure. I saw an immediate speed boost to my Mac and love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 60GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Revival March 1, 2015 I bought this SSD and a memory upgrade for my 5+ year old MacBook Pro. I was a little leery about replacing the hard drive, as I had never done it on my own before, but, upon recommendation from a friend, I went to OWC and took the plunge. The step-by-step videos and instructions were a great asset, and the tech specialists were top-notch and took the time to answer my questions. Before installing the hard drive and memory, my MacBook was running slow - including the spinning beach ball of doom. After the upgrades, it is almost like new! I feel I'll get few more years out of my MacBook before I have to look for a replacement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nebraska Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great and easy to install February 20, 2015 This was super easy to install. I installed this and doubled the Ram at the same time. My computer runs like new! Very pleased with this. Have ~ 1 month of use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oslo, Norway Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD for my mac February 16, 2015 Easy install - helpful video guide. Seriously increased the speed on my machine

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington State Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid State - Solid Performance February 13, 2015 When the hard drive started to fail in my laptop I decided to go Solid State. I wish I had done this move a long time ago! My computer is faster than ever before.

I only wish the tool kit that came with my purchase had been better quality. The tool meant to open the back of the MacBook Pro was the wrong size and I had to find something else to use. A call to customer service did not get me a replacement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Speed Bost February 12, 2015 I bought this along with 8GB of OWC RAM to upgrade from 4GB. My late 2008 macbook pro used to take up to 5 minutes from startup to the sign in screen, and then a few more minutes to get to a workable place. After installing the hard drive this whole process is down to a minute or less. Super crazy fast. Programs open faster and the install was super easy, along with the transfer to a new hard drive. Highly recommend if you are on the fence

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterrey, Mexico Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life to my MacBook 15" 2008 February 10, 2015 Installation of the new SSD was very simple. Cloning the old drive took the longest, since switching them only took 15 minutes max. My MacBook is fast once again, boots in less than what it used to and is once again a pleasure to use with added storage. its a great solution to extend the useful life of older equipment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montauk, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Remarkable improvement in Computer performance February 7, 2015 My mid-2009 Mac Book Pro was choking and stumbling. Installed this disk as per instructions.

My baby SCREAMS!

This computer could last me another 3 years.

Do it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York City Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Replacing the hard drive on my laptop was a cinch! February 5, 2015 The steps are conveniently available here on the OWC site but simply: 1) I put the SSD into the enclosure and used Carbon Copy Cloner to transfer the laptop drive and make the SSD bootable. 2) Using the instructions on this site I switched drives. 3) The laptop booted instantly and I kept the old drive in the enclosure as a backup until Time Machine had made a few backups. Now I have a nifty portable.

The only, modest drawback is that the enclosure is plastic and very thin which provides reduced protection to the drive in case of falls.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Union nj Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 This thing is fast as lightning January 30, 2015 It's easy to install when you follow the video. My 2007 MacBook pro runs so much better

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product, works great. Computer is like new. January 21, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Better than new! January 15, 2015 I was wishing for a new laptop, but then overheard someone talking about putting a solid state drive into their macbook pro. So I got one and put it in my 2009 macbook pro along with maxing the RAM (also used OWC–went from 4GB to max of 8 I think). My machine went from endless waiting and almost unusable spinning beach ball misery, hangups, and crashes to super fast and delightful. I am shocked at the difference. I love it now and wouldn't want a new machine (I have a matte 17" screen that I love). It was an easy swap I did myself. The kit was helpful to transfer the data over. I highly recommend a solid state drive!!! So worth the money. It's really like new. Better, in fact, than it ever was!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St. Louis, MO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC is the best! January 6, 2015 First let me say that this SSD is just what I needed and I regret not buying it sooner. My laptop used to take what felt like 10 minutes to boot-up. The process was so painful that I would do just about anything to avoid rebooting. With the new SSD installed, it seems to boot-up in about a minute. And opening PhotoShop - which also used to feel like watching paint dry - is also much faster. An SSD drive cannot make up for a 4 year old laptop but this is certainly a big improvement.

Second, and far more important, is how great OWC is at customer support. They should offer seminars for other companies because they clearly see the importance of being customer focused and have mastered it! They have produced several helpful and easy to understand installation videos - I used one to learn how to replace my drive and watched another one to learn how to clone all my files. I had one question, got fast live support on-line (no waiting), and had my answer in less than 30 seconds.

I'm a little sad that this review will likely be lost in a sea of other great reviews because I think it's so important that anyone who owns a Mac know about such a great organization. Again, I wish I could tell other retailers that they could learn a thing or two from OWC. Excellent!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The SSD has made my using my 2008 MacBook Pro a wonderful experience. Excellent performance! December 29, 2014 Not only is the product great but my experience with OWC has been outstanding. They made the ordering process easy and the how-to video made replacing the HDD with an SSD very easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Athens, GA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Mid-2007 iMac 7,1: 3X faster booting & loading programs December 18, 2014 I had been hesitant about getting this SSD. Is it really worth? Will it be that much faster? Isn't my iMac just about obsolete now anyway? Ans: YES, YES, & now NO. I ran a test similar to one in the OWC video; boot & load Word, Excel & PPT. My original 320GB HD averaged about 150 seconds, while the 3G 240 GB SSD does it in about 50 seconds, 3X faster! (6GB RAM & Yosemite) Now when I open a new program it takes a couple seconds and it's ready to go. It feels SO much faster!

Also, the OWC install video for the iMac was clear and easy to follow. It took a while (~1hr 45 min) to complete but nothing was difficult. I was being careful not to break or scratch anything and was cleaning as I opened it up. Mine had 7 years of dust build up. Now I planning on keeping my iMac for several more years, because it's almost like new again, maybe even better.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple installation, works well December 6, 2014 MacBook Pro - mid 2009, 8 GB RAM, is used for business. Just for safety I replace hard drives after five (5) years. This kit allows you to put the old hard drive in a separate enclosure, try the replacement first, then use the old for occasional backups. New drive has larger capacity which is nice. Operation is good. Silent. Lower power. I did not notice a tremendous increase in usability and speed but it is a definite improvement. I like the extra buffer included with this drive, for redundancy, and reduced wear or wear leveling to spread usage over all portions of the drive. It also includes error checking. I did have one anomaly. When I first copied data over to the new drive in the external enclosure, I used Disk Utility's Restore function. Everything worked fine, but it looked like the copy was going to take six (6) hours, so I canceled the operation, planning to let it run over night. When I went back the second time the new disk could not be erased or written, or re formatted. It may have been something about the way it was shut down, not sure. So I tried using a disk directory repair program I have called Disk Warrior, and it worked perfectly and very quickly. After that I was able to reformat again and write to the new drive. No problems ever since. I notice my daily backups to an external OWC hard drive through Firewire are now about twice as fast as they used to be. My suggestion would be to plan on letting the initial copying of data to the new drive to proceed uninterrupted over night, allowing ample time for the process to complete.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery to Europe December 4, 2014 Simple installation, works like a charm for 6 months now. Well worth updating my MacBook giving it a life extension.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New Computer November 20, 2014 I was transitioning from a well paying job to return to school. My 2008 MacBook Pro has been a faithful tool for me these past years but lately has been sluggish and boot up was mirroring my old Windows XP machine in frustrating lethargy. Before ponying up over two grand for a new machine I read about exchanging my standard hard drive to a SSD solid state drive. I began the process with some trepidation but the chat and tech support at OWC prior to and following the sale and installation was amazing. Everything about the installation was as their video displayed: it was a breeze and within the.hour my Mac was upgraded and running smooth again! The very best thing about this? I have what feels like a new machine! Boot up is in seconds and my programs launch as if my old machine was a frisky puppy again. Even now, months later, I still marvel to see how quickly my Mac responds as compared to only a few months ago. I am so completely satisfied with my purchase AND my experience. I brag to my friends that I pulled out my HD and dropped in a new solid state one, with 50% more capacity (320 to 480gb). And all for peanuts!!! Too cool, too good: what a deal!!! Thanks, OWC!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC
Rating: 5/5 Awesome SSD November 16, 2014 This SSD sped up my slow 2007 iMac so much. It's like a new machine and I won't have to buy a new machine for a couple of years. I also did the same with my Macbook Pro from 2008. Again, made the machine so much faster and not as hot.

I would recommend this in a heart beat. OWC shipped it fast also.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: DC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Improved my MacBookPro significantly October 18, 2014 Took about 2 hours to install, copy the hard drive to the SDD and then I was up and running. Most of the time was the copying of files - I was off doing something else. The tool kit was indispensable in the install.

Now my 5 year old MacBookPro starts up in 14 seconds not minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Well worth it September 16, 2014 Extremely easy to install when you pick the correct kit and print out the instructions in advance. It definitely made my 5 year old MacBook Pro boot up faster than ever before. While in there, I went ahead and doubled my RAM to the maximum amount and can definitely notice a difference there too. I highly recommend this when you start having any issues with your hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great kit to use to speed up old MacBook. September 4, 2014 My brother had an old MacBook just lying around. It wasn't fit for much with it's stock RAM and 5400 rpm drive. This SSD makes things go a lot faster. Boot up time has been cut by about 40 seconds. I also bought and installed 6GB of Ram for it. That's 3x what was in there. Now it can handle some Final Cut 7 editing and prep work for all of our After Effects animations. We could edit and finish all animations on this MacBook but we have new iMacs so this MacBook is strictly for prep work on the go or when the big workstations are busy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 this Product has all I need for my Mac book Pro September 3, 2014 This is the first time I ordered the SSD from OWC. When i had problem to install the operation system to the new drive .I called customer service support .One of the technician really helped me to go through with the set up and even email me with the detail .He really a professional on helping customer ,especially be very patient ,for me ,this is the kind of service that all we need for help..Thank again Doug M .by the way ,I just place another order with two memory ram for the same Mac Book Pro. I already put the ssd in the laptop ,it works so well as expected Thank you.Highly recommended .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Was as described August 28, 2014 Was as described

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Madison, WI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy as advertised. Tools great. August 2, 2014 If only all outfits were like OWC. Many years, great products, terrific help.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD + OWC Express USB 3.0/2.0 2.5" Enclosure + Tools.

DIY Bundle: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: Y3SSDMP1TB OWC SKU: OWCY3SSDMP1TB USB 3.0 Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. Drive: 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Enclsoure: 1 Year OWC Limited Warrant
Ships: Same Day Only $155.97Bundle Priced for $131.75
Add to CartOther World Computing Y3SSDMP1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $60.97
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $70.97
    • Bundle Priced for $57.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $100.97
    • Bundle Priced for $87.75
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $335.97
    • Bundle Priced for $323.75