Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD (Mfr P/N: YSSD6E1TB) from Other World Computing for $139.75 as a suitable alternative.

DIY Bundle
Includes: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) connecting cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) connecting cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series with 7% Over Provisioning firmware set
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
930GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard4
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7E6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Yes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (6Gb/s, Compressible Data)
536 MB/s
Sequential Writes (6GB/s, Compressible Data)
437 MB/s
Sequential Reads (6GB/s, Incompressible Data)
520 MB/s
Sequential Writes (6Gb/s, Incompressible Data)
420 MB/s

Power

Active
Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle
Less than 700mW (0.7W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Jmicron 20329 USB 2.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 2.0 / 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 - (1) mini "B" port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 - 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Port/Interface Bootability

    Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Hard Drive up to 7mm height. Not recommended for Solid State Drives.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n YSSD6E960 UPC#: 812437026986

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rkrup Location: Central California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive September 22, 2016 Easy to install - and FAST!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NeLuvMAC Location: Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Need for Speed September 12, 2016 This hard drive did the trick my system is like new which makes me happy because I don't have to buy a new system.

Love, love that i bought this item and installed it myself. Good for me and my pocket book.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jade5 Location: Honolulu, HI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and customer service! September 12, 2016 This SSD drive rocks. My computer runs so much faster and I can leave it turned on when traveling. Much more super than the regular hard drive, even though it's $250 more, it's worth every penny.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: flynlyons2 Location: Knoxville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A MUST purchase upgrade, no exceptions! August 18, 2016 The SSD put life back into my 15" 2011 MBP. I had already replaced the original HD with a 750GB 7200rpm drive a few years ago, however boot time and the overall speed of the computer was getting really annoying. After installing this SSD drive and cloning back my setup, the computer feels like a completely different machine! Boot time is almost as fast as my nephew's 2016 MBP and programs are MUCH (MUCH) faster! Well worth the money, no question about it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kurite Location: Chico, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It is alive!! August 5, 2016 My MacBook Pro 8,1 was seriously in a death spiral. HDD becoming unreliable, battery almost completely dead. Got the 480 GB SSD and kit, plus a NewerTech 65WH battery, and the same MacBook Pro is truly like new. Loving the speed of boot-up; no longer waiting on the spinning wheel of death. Installation was super easy and got it all done in 30 minutes -- including the new battery. The videos provided are great and I was able to follow them on mute ;-) Just remember: if you also installed a new battery, don't plug in the battery until after you have installed the SSD. That'll save you from having to pry off the battery connector a second time. Watch both videos before doing anything to understand the best order of operations. Super simple, in any event. Now my iPad might get a little dusty...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ventura, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 An easy and worthwhile upgrade. July 29, 2016 I ordered this kit and additional RAM to upgrade my aging MacBook Pro. Viewing the OWC videos on the installation process gave me the info needed to make the installation go easily and quickly. I cloned the MacBook Pro stock drive to the new SSD before starting the installation. Then I put the SSD and the new RAM into the MacBook Pro and the stock HD into the new enclosure; all worked just fine on the first start up. All told, the upgrade took about one half an hour from start to boot-up.

My experience with all of the items that I've ordered from OWC has been outstanding. Quality products, reasonable prices and great service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Princeton, NJ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 every order is better than the last July 25, 2016 I am no expert but this was seamless from ordering it to installing it. My other favorite thing about OWC MacSales is the professional knowledgeable support staff.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 great product, great support, good price June 28, 2016 $200 & my mac feels brand new. Not a techie, but had all the tech support I needed to make the job go very smoothly. making my old drive into an external made transfering data onto the new drive simple & now I have a back up for time machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Orleans Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2012 Macbook HDD replacement for graphic design June 27, 2016 I had no idea that a SSD would make such a difference. I knew that my HDD in my 2012 Macbook was in desperate need, but I did not expect such a revolution in ALL of my programs. It even seems like my internet speed is now three times as fast when using Safari.

My start up time went from 188 seconds to 32 seconds. The Adobe suite is running great. I am tackling projects that I would not have attempted previously.

The only problem I had with installation was some of the screws were in too tight for the small screw driver that came in the installation combo. I had to use a larger screw driver for better grip to remove 2 difficult screws.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sunny LA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow it's fast! June 14, 2016 I just upgraded my mid-2012 Macbook Pro and it's at least 10x faster. Awesome performance. Easy install (thanks for the video!)

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Piece of cake June 11, 2016 The included tools made it very simple to replace my OEM hard drive. The instructions were well-written and easy to follow. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: san francisco, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a charm! April 4, 2016 Installation was quick and easy. Transferring data was also really easy.

Only gripe I had was that Apple had to download a ton of stuff just to migrate the drive and this took literally all night long, so I had no laptop until then. Users of older models (mine is 6 years old) should put the laptop on ethernet wire (not wifi) during the migration or be prepared to wait a LOONNNGGGG time. Not OWC's fault... blame this on Apple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saratoga Springs, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Delivers everything as promised April 4, 2016 Very easy to replace drive in my MacPro, and has significantly increased its performance. Very happy with this product and OWC service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent service November 18, 2015 This product was as advertised. Installation was simple, although I did recruit someone who had done it before. Both the product and the service (ordering, delivery) clearly met my expectations--which were high. Since this installation is recent, I can't comment on the durability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Lots faster, games only slightly though September 11, 2015 Easily installed once I had viewed a few youtube clips. No issues. Startup is a lot faster, and so is most everyday operations, surfing, navigating and small applications. No one-second delays on those any more. Demanding games (using virtual memory) now work more reliably, but not much faster or prettier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Quebec, Quebec, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awsome ! September 1, 2015 My Mac mini went from slowpoke to blazing fast with this new hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: USA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You wont be disappointed ! July 30, 2015 The Mac Book Pro from 2011 went into warp speed and not only for what concern start up time but almost every operation is considerably much faster than before. I strongly reccommend this upgrade combined with RAM increase. Fantastic speed increase, easy straight forward fast installation.

Remeber you need to format the SSD disc before it can be used. OWC does not include this step in the Installation video.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Knoxville, TN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This ssd made my MacBook Pro work like new July 11, 2015 I've installed this ssd in both my 17 inch MacBook Pro and my wife's 15 inch MacBook Pro. It's amazing how much the performance has improved. The video walks you thru the installation. One of the torx screwdrivers was missing but I had one from the previous order. One step that that is not clear is that you have to download and install the operating system before you can transfer the data from the old hard drive. Everything works great. I've purchased several products from OWC over the years and have been completely satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lynnwood, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed is great - wish I got it sooner! Money well spent. June 20, 2015 Physically easy to install. Enclosure kit is an extra benefit that comes in handy. OWC tech support was there to help with data transfer to the new drive - much appreciated!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: UK Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Why didn't I do this years ago? June 14, 2015 This is an excellent product! I am just annoyed I didn't do this years ago. As my Macbook pro has built up increasing memory usage and APPS it has got slower and more frustrating. I used this and cloned my hard rive externally first to check that it all worked and rebooted from the external casing with the SSD in it. Even then it was so much quicker than it had been. Then I swapped the SSD over into my Macbook pro. It has been legendary ever since and I use the external casing with the old hard drive in it for Time Machine. Simply Brilliant and now I'm going to get one for my wife's Macbook pro! Thank you OWC...Perfect!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Revived Dying Macbook Pro May 8, 2015 Was considering junking my old Macbook Pro but this SSD brought it back to life. Easy install and has brought a snappy boot time and overall quicker response time to a device that was starting to feel clunky and old.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent SSD for the MB Pro May 8, 2015 This has been running in my MB Pro for 2 1/2 years. I have had no problems with it and the speed improvement while booting and running is impressive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade April 27, 2015 I previous had a 5400rpm drive in my MacBook Pro and things just seemed sluggish. This kit made the upgrade process very simple, and the performance after the fact was a night and day difference.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Installation; Terrific Replacement April 18, 2015 Bought to replace an original MacPro hard drive that was failing. Took less than 10 minutes to install, and restoring from a Lacie SSD to this one was extremely quick (less than 30 minutes if I remember). Much, much faster than I expected! Happy with purchase...buy one!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product for a great price. April 7, 2015 I have a 2012 Macbook Pro which was getting a little sluggish. This product completely changed that. My computer loads apps crazy quick and seems so much snappier and responsive. I am using my computer so much more now than I was before I install the SSD. Also, the install was very straightforward and easy to follow. This is well worth the money and I would recommend to anyone.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm,
OWC Express Silver Enclosure,
and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Mfr P/N: YSSD6E960 OWC SKU: OWCYSSD6E960 SATA Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $55.97
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $65.97
    • Bundle Priced for $52.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $98.97
    • Bundle Priced for $82.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $160.97
    • Bundle Priced for $139.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $320.97
    • Cyber Saver $309.75