Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD (Mfr P/N: YSSD6E1TB) from Other World Computing for $137.75 as a suitable alternative.

DIY Bundle
Includes: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) connecting cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success, so if you need a bit more guidance, we are available Mon-Fri 8AM-8PM and Sat 9AM-4PM with U.S. based technical support by phone or live chat.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Macmini3,1
  • Macmini4,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2014)
(October, 2014)
Model ID: Macmini7,1
1.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD 1.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) connecting cable
  • Express Installation Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series with 7% Over Provisioning firmware set
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
930GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard4
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7E6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Yes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (6Gb/s, Compressible Data)
536 MB/s
Sequential Writes (6GB/s, Compressible Data)
437 MB/s
Sequential Reads (6GB/s, Incompressible Data)
520 MB/s
Sequential Writes (6Gb/s, Incompressible Data)
420 MB/s

Power

Active
Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle
Less than 700mW (0.7W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Jmicron 20329 USB 2.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 2.0 / 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 - (1) mini "B" port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 - 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Port/Interface Bootability

    Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Hard Drive up to 7mm height. Not recommended for Solid State Drives.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n YSSD6E960 UPC#: 812437026986

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 206 out of 217 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central Illinois Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive April 3, 2015 Went in the Mac Mini fine and it makes Yosemite usable.

OWC has great products, great information on which device is right for my computer, and great installation videos!

This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Couldn't be happier March 13, 2015 I bought this SSD and installation kit to breathe new life into my mid-2010 Macbook Pro which was having some issues. I honestly couldn't be happier with the product. It was incredibly easy to install. A trained chimp could install this SSD and get it up and running in no time. The speed is fantastic. My Macbook boots up in ~30 seconds, and files and applications open almost immediately. The enclosure is also getting continued use as a house for a spare drive that I am using as a back up, so it is not wasted. I've recommended this drive to friends and family who are still stuck with their HDDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bozeman, MT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 14, 2015 OWC is my goto for memory and storage. This is why.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Boot up in two seconds flat November 23, 2014 Perhaps SSDs have a downside but I haven't had this one long enough to discover it. Meanwhile it has injected new life into my 3-year-old MacBook Pro. Having no spinning drive to crash is wonderful, and of course the speed is amazing. Bootup, app launch, and file copying is insansely fast. Very easy to install. The great tool set and the extra external enclosure were a worthwhile bonus! With the enclosure, it was easy to clone my data to the SSD before installing it, so that after I installed it, poof, I was right back where I was before. And the old drive is now a backup drive inside the enclosure.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Aventura Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 New Hard Drive - Battery November 17, 2014 I never opened a computer before, I first bought 8 gigs of RAM (max for my mid 2010 lap top). I Watched the videos, made it look so simple, and believe me it was. After doubling my RAM, I decided to upgrade the rest of my computer. I bought:

DIY Upgrade Bundle: 480GB Mercury Electra 6G Solid State Drive, OWC Express USB 2.0 Kit + OWC 5 Piece Tool Kit. Upgrade, transfer & use original drive as external! OWC Limited Warranty: 1 Year on Enclosure; 3 Years on HDD.

I never thought it could be that easy, but it was! Nothing too it, just open up your computer and replace the new hard drive. Follow the instructions, or watch the video, and you can’t go wrong. Plus I now have another external hard drive, plus it come with all the right tools, and connections.

Maybe having an apple helps?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great bundle! November 15, 2014 You will need the correct tools to upgrade you hard drive. This bundle provides you with everything you need to upgrade your hard drive to an SSD. My 2011 MacBook Pro took minutes to start up, applications took forever to load, and overall system performance was laggy. This SSD makes my old computer start up in 28 seconds, apps load quickly, and overall performance is very snappy. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: España
Rating: 5/5 Perfecto November 11, 2014 Estupendo precio y tardan poquísimo a España. Muy recomendable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burlington, VT Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Unbelievable speed boost. September 23, 2014 I just upgraded my early 2011 macbook pro with the 480GB Mecury Electra Solid State Drive. The installation was straight forward, and once I figured out how to clone my data first (see this article: https://discussions.apple.com/docs/DOC-4741) so I could test to make sure the SSD was bootable, I dove right in and opened up my computer. The OWC install video was really helpful.

Now that I've booted up, all I can say is "wow". I feel like I have a brand new macbook pro here. All of my applications load in a split second, and running Windows 7 in parallels is SO fast and seamless.

I can't believe I've owned this laptop since 2011 and only just made this upgrade. I was considering replacing my macbook pro if this upgrade didn't help and let me just say: Do this $300 upgrade before you shell out $2k for a new laptop. It will blow your socks off!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nothing But Good News September 5, 2014 I don't normally write many reviews but honestly, I am more than satisfied with my recent update to my late 2008 Macbook. I purchased the 240Gb OWC SSD kit as well as upgraded to 8G''s of OWC RAM and for $250, it's like I went out and spent $1500 on a new MBP. My machine is immediate and totally responsive with everything I do. I sincerely cannot tell the difference between it and my friends brand new machine. In simple, real world comparisons, they seem to function at just about the same speed. Now, I don't have his retina display and he can build software faster than I can and lets not get into multitasking but in day to day uses of cruising the net, word processing, or opening an app or startup/shutdown, the two machines are nearly identical. Money well spent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gaithersburg, MD Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 I should have done this a long time ago August 1, 2014 I've been tossing the idea of upgrading to an SSD for my early 2011 MacBook Pro 13 in for at least a year. I finally took the plunge and ordered this kit from OWC. By the time I made my decision I had watched a ton of how to videos and read lots of articles on the procedure. By the time it arrived I had all the confidence in the world that I could do this myself. I'm relatively familiar with the innards of a computer and I did upgrade to 16GB RAM last year. On of the main reasons for ordering this bundle was the enclosure and being able to clone my hard drive before installing the new SSD.

It arrived in the middle of the day. Since I work at home it took all my patience not to dive into it right then. I finished my work and set to the task of cloning the hard drive. I just installed the SSD in the enclosure and rebooted to the Disk Utility. This is where I regretted not interrupting my work day to start this. It took 4 hours to clone my hard drive. Once this was done and I verified that I could boot from the SSD, I proceeded to open the MBP up, remove the old, and install the new. I will say this. The toolkit that came with this was not very good. The philips screws were in very tight and the little driver just couldn't do the job. I didn't want to destroy the screws so I took a time out and hit Home Depot for a nice $5 precision screwdriver set that had all the necessary drivers. Once back home I resumed opening up my laptop. The whole operation took about 20 minutes. Then came the moment of truth. Boot up and see if it works. I was instantly amazed at how fast my machine boots up now. ~30 secs as opposed to the 2-3 mins it was taking before. It seems to run faster, cooler, and quieter, though the fans did come on high during the first backup. For some reason it backed up as if it were the first time so it took quite some time. Woke up this morning to a faster, quieter MacBook. I can now resume my personal application development projects knowing my laptop can handle it.

I would say this was definitely a worthwhile purchase. I'm sure the process could have been done more quickly, but my process worked first time through and my old machine is back to life. Definitely satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Great SSD! June 14, 2014 The 6G SSD just boost the bootup speed of my Mac mini to less than 15sec! Absolutely impressive product! My imovie now functions very well with the new system. I used to hate working on large HD movie files but no longer now. Totally satisfied with this SSD! The tool kit and enclosure works perfectly, and the guided installation video made the installation a breeze.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Brand new computer ! May 20, 2014 All I can say is WOW ! at first I thought the other reviews were exaggerating but NO! is a day and night difference ! is like a brand new macbook pro ! is worth the money and best upgrade for any computer, you will tell yourself why did it take me so long to buy this ! I installed OS from scratch and transferring files is a breeze with the enclosure kit and Mac OS.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 speed up my old macbook May 3, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chapel Hill, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Incredible, super-easy install, HIGHLY recommend! August 24, 2013 Now that SSD prices are under the $1/GB threshold, I decided to give it a go. I had the installation video on my iPad, so it was really easy to do the swap. Intimidating, sure, but straightforward.

My one warning, though: I ran into an unexpected problem, and it was due to the unplugging the battery from the logic board step they recommend. When I was beginning the process of installing OS X on the new SSD, I got a cryptic error message saying that the installation failed because the server rejected my hardware's authenticity. After some digging, I discovered that unplugging the battery had reset the computer's internal clock to December 2000, so after some terminal-fu to fix it, the OS installed perfectly. If it happens to you, don't panic, just google the exact error message you get, and you should get the answer quickly.

After about a week with the SSD as my main hard drive, though, my computing life has changed more than I could have anticipated. This thing is incredible. I used to boot in upwards of 100-120 seconds, and now it's 8. EIGHT SECONDS. Applications that used to take 10-15 seconds to load now load up instantly, like they were already open beforehand. I will NEVER go back to a traditional hard drive, and I can't recommend this SSD enough!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The SSD really speeds up the system November 26, 2012 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD.
DIY Bundle: 1.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm,
OWC Express Silver Enclosure,
and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Mfr P/N: YSSD6E960 OWC SKU: OWCYSSD6E960 SATA Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $55.97
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $65.97
    • Bundle Priced for $52.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $98.97
    • Bundle Priced for $83.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.97
    • Bundle Priced for $137.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 25 Days
    • Only $340.97
    • Cyber Saver $330.75