Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle
Includes: 2.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1

SSD Upgrade
Get more storage when you upgrade/replace the existing 2.5" drive in your Mac.
Includes a 2.5" drive, enclosure, and toolkit to upgrade/replace the internal drive in your Mac.
Upgrade/Replace your internal drive
The Drive and Tools you need to Upgrade/Replace the existing 2.5" Drive in your laptop, Mac mini, Xbox, PS3, etc + make the drive being replaced an External for data transfer, backup, and/or additional portable storage.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • Backup and store your data with style and confidence.
  • Take your data with you - small enough to keep in a pocket!
  • Easily add additional laptop storage with no AC adapter required.
Examples of how this bus-powered Express bundle can be used in real world situations:

Power Users / Travelers: Relocate your "home folder" to your Express and have your files with you at home, at work or on the road without the need to synchronize your machines.

Laptop Owners: Clone your current internal SATA hard drive in your laptop to the new drive. Then install the new, larger drive in your laptop and keep the smaller drive in your Express for additional storage space.

iTunes Aficionados: Keep a copy of your iTunes library on your external drive to play on multiple machines.

Gamers: Add additional storage to your XBox 360 or PS3 game console to store music, media, and other downloads. PS3 even includes a backup utility to protect your internal drive's data.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your hard drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!
The Right Tools for the Job
Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video.

Everything you need in one package, immediately ready to assemble and:
  • OWC Express 2.5" Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) connecting cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
48 Hour Service

If your OWC or NewerTech brand product should require service during the warranty coverage period, we are committed to delivering the fastest possible service.


Upon receipt of your unit, OWC will make every attempt to service it and arrange shipping back to you all within 48 weekday (Monday-Friday) business hours, excluding U.S. national holidays. This warranty service timeframe does not include data recovery attempts, out of stock items/components, or upgrade/product replacements.


Read additional information.

Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.
OWC NOTE:
This enclosure is not designed for support of SSDs and recommended to be used with 2.5" Hard Drives only.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5″ SATA Drive Enclosure
  • OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD 2.0TB
  • OWC 5-Piece Mini Toolkit
    • Nylon Spudger
    • Phillips #00
    • Straight Blade 1.8mm
    • Torx T8
    • Torx T6
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) connecting cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Carrying sleeve

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Express Specifications:

Chipset

  • Jmicron 20329 USB 2.0 chipset

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 2.0 / 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 - (1) mini "B" port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 - 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Port/Interface Bootability

    Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh running OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 port

Drive Requirements

  • Any 2.5" Serial-ATA Hard Drive up to 9.5mm height. Not recommended for Solid State Drives.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n YSSDMP2TB UPC#: 812437027020

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 154 out of 156 (99%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Talent, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and easy to install March 3, 2016 I have a late 2009 MacBook that I upgraded to 8GB of RAM and this drive. Using this site to locate and order the correct items, the quick delivery, and the videos to install made the process east and fast. I'm a 70 yr old female with no tech experience, but a DIY. One caution is that it takes a long time to transfer the data from the old drive so don't do this when you might need to use your computer right away. Another is that you need your network password in hand, so get that before you start. I have now upgraded to El Capitan and it's like having a new computer, albeit not as light as the new ones and it can't do air play, but I'm excited at how many applications I can run at the same time and how fast everything loads.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Poulsbo, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great. Easy install. February 26, 2016 This SSD really makes my MacBook Pro act like new. It was easy to install by using the drive enclosure. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 works great - very happy February 22, 2016 My wife's 2010 MacBook Pro was starting to slow down big-time... After talking with some "techies" they suggested I swap out the hard drive to this SSD. I have never done this before - thank goodness it was super simple and easy. This product made her computer much faster and came with the tools needed to swap even for someone like me. Very Happy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta Ga Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome!!! February 19, 2016 Really easy to install, sped my macbook up greatly. Had a question installing the OS , called OWC Technical support and they were fantastic, Answered my questions and had my going in minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 all in one February 19, 2016 quick, easy and everything is included. just as advertised.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 60GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Hampshire Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Upgrade February 19, 2016 OWC does a great job of offering high quality upgrades combined with easy to follow video instructions and tutorials. I have used several of their products in the past, and have never been disappointed. One tiny tweak they should address is the enclosure for the hard drive that has been replaced. I have two from former installations that worked perfectly. This time, the enclosure that came with my kit was too small for my drive. Rather than buy another enclosure, I just taped the enclosure together over my old hard drive. It works well, but is not an elegant solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arlington, Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast !!! Breathed new life into my MBP. February 13, 2016 I received my new 1T.B. SSD kit, installed the drive in the included enclosure and cloned my original drive. I booted up the SSD externally and it worked perfectly. I shutdown and I removed the original drive and installed the SSD closed up my MBP and powered up. I entered the Firmware password and my MBP could not find the drive. I shut down and reconnected the original drive. I held down the option key and started the SSD drive. I had to tell my MBP to use the SSD as the startup drive. I restarted and it was perfect !!! and fast it was like a just bought a new computer My MBP is a 2009 model 5.3 2.53 Ghz 8 gig ram. It has given new life to my MBP and this makes me very happy because I did not have to buy a new computer and go through the long process of getting it just the way I want it. One note: Although my original 1 T.B. drive works in the included external drive enclosure the drive is too thick to allow you to put the cover on. I do not consider this a problem because I can just use a different enclosure for the drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 1.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good performance, easy install January 30, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Edinburgh Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Performance transformed part 2 January 26, 2016 Upgraded my mid-2010 MacBook from 250GB spinning drive to 250GB SSD. Before upgrading, I had to wait for ages - and watch the beachball spin - for the MacBook to do anything. Now, it's super fast. I did also replace the 4GB of RAM with 8GB, so obviously that is a factor. But, combined, I now have a 6 year-old MacBook that performs brilliantly. I had been contemplating splashing out on the new superslim MacBook, but now so glad I didn't. For a tenth of the cost, I have a really good pc and can wait for the latest MacBook to improve before buying. Cost, service and delivery were excellent. Installation was easy (make sure you take your time and follow all the advice). I went for the SSD that came with a kit - screwdrivers and an enclosure to turn my old hard drive into an external storage device; definitely worth the marginal cost difference compared with SSD only. One issue with the SSD - once installed, the MacBook's fans went into overdrive! Seems it's an issue with temperature sensors and the MacBook thinking things are overheating. But its pretty easily solved; I tried a couple of apps that didn't work, but then found http://www.crystalidea.com/macs-fan-control and everything was fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Resurrected My 2009 Mac Mini January 24, 2016 I had originally replaced the internal HD in my 2009 MacMini with a Seagate hybrid drive. Performance was disappointing. I finally decided to install this SSD and the difference is astounding. I figure I'll get an extra and unexpected two or three more years out of the Mini.

Installation was moderately difficult. Harder than a recent MacBook Air, easier than a G4 PowerBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico DF Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked great December 2, 2015 Wow...just on start up the difference in speed is wonderful, it really helps my MacBook White.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chalfont, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product & value November 24, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: El Cerrito, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 All MacBooks need an SSD November 23, 2015 I installed this SSD in a 2009 MacBook Pro (Model 5,5) and what a difference made on performance. It improved boot times from 63 seconds to 18 seconds and switching between apps was nearly instantaneous. An SSD makes computing fun again because task times are reduced dramatically. There was a caution on the product sheet for my computer to only install the 3G version to be compatible with the internal bus speed of the MacBook Pro. The first thing I noticed after installation of the SSD was Command-R didn't work. It was then that I realized the importance of the Enclosure Kit. The Enclosure Kit makes not only a convenient home for the removed HD but it gave me a way to boot the laptop so that I could format the SSD with the Disk Utility app, download the new Mac OS (El Capitan) from the App Store, and migrate my data and apps. The Tool Kit that that came with the kit made it easy to remove and install the HD and SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Corpus Christi, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Desperate Need - Perfect Solution` November 22, 2015 My 15" MacBook Pro has been my go-to computer for years, but the factory SSD was bursting at the seams, and I could no longer upgrade my software. I purchased and installed this DIY Kit: 480 GB Mercury Electra, quickly and easily, and with the enclosure kit, ended up with a back-up copy of my files on the old SSD. Installation was a breeze after watching the linked installation videos, plus the SSD cloning information. The 8 GB memory upgrade with the new SSD made my computer run like a brand new one, even running El Capitan.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 480GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canberra, Australia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good kit November 6, 2015 The case was plastic, came as a surprise to me. But given the price I should have figured as much. It worked perfectly for my needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 120GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very useful November 3, 2015 This combo allows you to install a SSD into your MacBook Pro and continue to use its conventional hard disk. Very useful and highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cape Cod, MA Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Enclosure kit is great, tools not so much. October 23, 2015 Very nice looking quality enclosure that fit my old drive very well when I upgraded to my new SSD drive. The convenient tools however were useless in that the number 6 torque was so low quality that it was malformed and therefore would not turn the screw. I had to go out and buy a proper one in order to remove the old and install my new drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ireland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Just the job. October 8, 2015 This kit made the installation of drives simple. It would have been much harder without it. Enclosure kit has enabled me to use replaced drive as backup HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 What a difference! October 5, 2015 I am trying to get a little more life out of my 2007 MacBook Pro, and this SSD was definitely the way to go. I am running the newest OS and with new software that would have been incredibly slow before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CDA, ID Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Incredibly Fast! September 26, 2015 This SSD is a HUGE upgrade from my base 160GB HDD! My MacBook boots up 2-3x faster and opens applications so quickly. I am so happy that I purchased this upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Incredibly Fast and Reliable! September 21, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 My old mac is better than new September 10, 2015 After upgrading to maverick, my mac book pro from 2007, 3.1, was getting real slow After upgrading the memory, the next step was to get a new SSD drive Now, with Yosemite installed, 10.10.5, the boot time is just under 30 sec Also lots of good info about how to replace the drive and migrate the old drive to the new drive Having all the tools just made it easy

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Durham, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The SSD revitalizes an older MacBook Pro August 23, 2015 I debated whether to replace my 6 year old MacBook Pro, and decided to give the SSD a try first. Very glad I did. The MacBook Pro runs better than when it was new, and the installation and file transfer were very easy. It takes about 2 hours, but most of that is waiting for file transfer. Also bought the OWC Express 2.5" Enclosure Kit and put the Macs original drive into it as a very portable backup option.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Birmingham, AL Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life for 5 year-old MacBook August 17, 2015 BLUF: Quality Product. Excellent Price. Fast Shipping. Easy Installation.

I bought my MacBook 6,1 refurbished from Apple in early 2010 for about $850. I ran it ragged carrying it to campus and back for 5.5 years of college. Near the end it was slowing down so much that it was difficult to get school work done with programs like Office for Mac or OpenOffice. Powerpoint slide decks took forever to open. Then, my brother suggested an SSD and sent me to OWC.

I purchased this SSD two months ago, copied the old SATA, put in this one. It gave my MacBook new life! It's speed makes me smile. My MacBook ran quickly and smoothly for my last semester of college. I am proud to say, that my MacBook and I finished undergrad together this summer semester. Couldn't have done it without you, MacBook!

OWC helped me give back to my MacBook. My MacBook sacrificed its first life for my successful education. I feel I have thanked my beloved machine by giving it a second life. (I'm still sporting 2GB of RAM. I plan on investing in the 8GB RAM upgrade by OWC here soon!)

Also, in 5.5 years I have spent just under 1,000 dollars (original purchase + SSD five years later). That's only $200 per year to keep a working laptop for college. I had buddies that had to replace their $400 PCs multiple times throughout their stent in college. I could not be happier with this little MacBook. I may hold off making another laptop purchase thanks to OWC.

OWC's products perform. In comparison to the benefits, the financial cost is negligible.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norther Virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extremely easy to install and well worth it July 27, 2015 The drive was as advertised and the installation was easy and it took only about 15 minutes to install. The longest part was loading the OS and transferring my data. This SSD made my 5 year old MacBook Pro perform faster than when it was new. Bootup time can now be measured in seconds and not one minute plus.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY KIT: OWC Express USB 2.0 2.5" Enclosure + 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.

DIY Bundle: 2.0TB 2.5" OWC Solid State Drive 7mm, OWC Express Silver Enclosure, and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit Mfr P/N: YSSDMP2TB OWC SKU: OWCYSSDMP2TB SATA Enclosure Kit with OWC SSD Drive & 5 piece toolkit. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $304.64
Add to CartOther World Computing YSSDMP2TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $55.97
    • Bundle Priced for $37.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $65.97
    • Bundle Priced for $53.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $95.97
    • OWC Price $83.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $160.97
    • Bundle Priced for $135.75
  • 2.0TB