Skip to main content
Home » Software
This item is a digital download, there is no physical item. Please read our digital download service terms before purchasing.

Parallels

Desktop 17 Pro Edition
For Mac

1 Year License | Digital Download

Run Windows Seamlessly! Run thousands of Windows apps!
Fast, Powerful and Easy!
Run Windows and macOS® simultaneously on a Mac®
Use Windows side-by-side with macOS (no restarting required) on your MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, iMac, iMac Pro, Mac mini or Mac Pro. Share files and folders, copy and paste images and text and drag and drop files and content between Mac and Windows applications.
Easy Set-Up
Parallels Desktop automatically detects what you need to get started so you are up and running within minutes! If you need Windows, you’ll be prompted to download and install Windows 10 or use your Boot Camp installation if you have an Intel-based Mac. You may also migrate your Windows PC* or Linux, like Ubuntu (Intel-based Mac computers only).
Lightning Fast
Graphic and resource-hungry Windows applications run effortlessly without slowing down your Mac. Run applications such as Microsoft Office, Visual Studio, SQL Server, PowerBI, AutoCAD, MetaTrader, and thousands more. Play your favorite classic Windows-only games on a Mac. The improved display driver in Parallels Desktop 17 delivers much smoother Windows UI responsiveness and synchronized video playback experience. The new driver boosts the frame rate in many 2D action-platformer games including Foregone, Smelter and many others for a greater gaming experience.
Choose your View
Make Windows invisible while still using its applications in Coherence™ Mode, or if you’re new to Mac, you can set Windows to occupy your entire screen, so it looks just like it would if you were using a Windows PC.
Maximum Power to Create & Develop With Parallels Desktop Pro
Designed with developers, power users and other demanding professionals in mind. Parallels Desktop for Mac Pro Edition delivers ultimate processing power, so you can code in Visual Studio, design and build in Autodesk apps, automate in PowerShell, play heavy Windows games, and more—all on a Mac and as easily as on a PC.
Test on Multiple Native Browsers
Run Internet Explorer 93, 103, 11 and the Windows version of Microsoft Edge right on your dev machine—and all at the same time. Run incompatible browsers in separate installations of Windows in separate VMs. Plus, create a test environment across the group, simultaneously, using your favorite web development tool (Dreamweaver, WordPress, Microsoft Expression and more) to make changes to your site. If you regularly use multiple IE versions, explore Parallels® Toolbox to launch them all at once and save time. (Parallels Toolbox is included with your purchase of Parallels Desktop Pro Edition.)
VM Upload and Transfer
Save time and reduce the bandwidth required for uploading and transferring large virtual machine (VM) files by converting a VM bundle into a single file. Now it’s just an easy upload when transferring to a new Mac.
Develop Menu
Access the Develop menu by selecting "Software Development" as your VM profile, or by enabling "Show Developer Tools" in your VM configuration. From the menu bar, select Develop> and choose from the following tools.
  • Start SSH Session: Quickly start an SSH session with your VM. This command requires an SSH server running on your VM; calls 'ssh <vm_ip>' command in Terminal.
  • Open in Browser: Test and open your website in one click.
  • Start Debugging Session: Start a debugging session directly from Parallels Desktop. Note: Parallels Desktop supports lldb as a debugging front end. It should be installed with the XCode command line tools or XCode.
  • Generate a Core Dump: Generate the VM memory dump.
Visual Studio Plugin
Debug in a safe, isolated environment. The Parallels plugin for Visual Studio allows you to develop software in one virtual machine and test it in others with just one click. To start remote debugging of your project, build the project and test it locally. Then click Parallels > Start Debugging in the VM and select the virtual machine you need.
Developer Tool Integration
Parallels Desktop Pro Edition can integrate with powerful developer tools to enhance your workflow. (Note: Additional software must be downloaded or purchased separately.)
  • Vagrant Provider: Download the ready-to-use environment in seconds. Save time with one command: Vagrant Up. If you use Vagrant Share by Hashicorp, grant access to your VM via SSH or HTTP.
  • Command Line Interface: Use (prlctl, prlsrvctl), to control Parallels Desktop for Mac and virtual machines, their settings, and configuration. Autocompletion for prlctl and prlsrvctl commands in bash.* Allow passing arguments to VM applications. (*bash completion should be installed on Mac.)
  • Jenkins: Run your builds in VMs by initiating and managing with Jenkins. Build OS X and iOS apps with Jenkins and continuous integration (CI). With the Jenkins plugin, Parallels Desktop VMs are launched dynamically whenever they are needed to build jobs, and then suspended during idle time for high-density usage of resources.
  • Nested Hyper-V Support: Parallels Desktop provides nested virtualization support (VT-X technology) that allows you to run Hyper-V and other types of virtual machines and emulators inside.
  • Docker: Docker Machine Parallels Driver allows you to create Docker hosts locally on Parallels Desktop.
  • Chef: Quick identification for recipes created from within Parallels VMs.
Test a Beta OS or Update
Take advantage of future public beta OSes from Apple and Microsoft without risking your data. Install a beta macOS or beta Windows release in a virtual machine safely on your Mac.

New update or upgrade released? First test it out in a VM. Save snapshots of a virtual machine. If something goes wrong, you can revert the changes back to any of your snapshots and continue working with the guest OS. Plus, the SmartGuard functionality in Parallells Desktop allows you to automate snapshots' creation.
Download Pre-Built VMs
If you don't have enough time to create a new virtual machine with the required configuration, you can download a ready-to-use one with a predefined configuration.

Simply choose File > New and select from the "Free Systems" section. Pre-built VMs include a full Windows 10 Development Environment with Visual Studio and other tools pre-installed, a wide variety of Windows versions with different IE and Edge browsers pre-installed, Ubuntu Linux, Fedora Linux, CentOS Linux, Debian GNU/Linux, Mint Linux, and Android virtual machines.
Additional tools in Parallels Toolbox 5 for Mac and Windows
Parallels® Toolbox, which is included with Parallels Desktop subscriptions, introduced five new tools to its latest version. Focus on Window, Transform Text, Recognize Text, Barcode Scanner, and Barcode Generator have now been added to Parallels Toolbox’s extensive library of more than 30 everyday utilities.

Gallery

Videos




Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Software Category
    • Utilities
  • Utility Type
    • OS Compatibility
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • macOS 10.14 Mojave
    • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
    • macOS 10.15 Catalina
    • macOS 11.x Big Sur
    • macOS 12.x Monterey
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Not compatible with Windows PCs
  • Other OS Compatibility
    • Linux
    • Ubuntu
    • Chrome Google
  • Other Requirements
    • An Internet connection to download and install freely available operating system such as Ubuntu or Google Chrome.
    • Intel Core 2 Duo, Core i3, Core i5,?Core i7, Core i9, Intel Core M, Xeon processor, or Apple silicon M1 or M2 Chip
    • 4GB of RAM
Physical
  • Media Type
    • Direct Download

Notes

  • DirectX 11 requires at least macOS Mojave 10.14 but works best on macOS 10.15 Catalina.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Parallels p/n PARPPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 34 out of 38 (89%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: central VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised. January 5, 2015 Love it. Installed this and XP Pro. No need to partition a certain amount of space, Parallels does this automatically, I guess. I only have one program I use, so it's easy, but you (I) open to FireFox and go from there. I open Parallels, click on FF, enter the site I want and I'm there. The site I want to go to has "only IE 8 and Windows 7 will work." in their requirements page, I have neither and the site opens as usual. Had to jump through hoops for that, but Parallels 10 made it happen. Very easy.

Can't add any durability info, too new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Zurrieq, Malta Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great software! December 27, 2014 Being a student, and much of the software is available only on this platform, this software helped me work and browse seamlessly on both operating systems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Spain Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good price! December 12, 2014 Parallels Desktop is the best OS virtualization software for Mac and at OWC we can get it at a fraction of the official price. That's great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Parallels Continues To Be The Best Virtualization System October 27, 2014 Thank you to OWC for a kind Parallels upgrade discount! I continue to be pleased with the work Parallels has put into Parallels desktop. It offers more features and functionality that all the other options, at least for my needs. It continues to rule the speed and functionality tests. I keep waiting for a moment of regret that I didn't choose the competition instead, and that moment never happens. Please keep up the great work!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac - OWC Customer Exclusive New Version Special.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Not the easiest product to configure August 3, 2014 Parallels works for running my old Microsoft apps on the new Mac system, but it takes a lot of room and wasn't the easiest install. I think it would have been easier to make a separate boot partition with a separate install of Windows. On the other hand Parallels had good chat support to get me up and running, and it's nice to be able to punch up an app without rebooting. Just be patient and you should be able to get things working fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fayetteville, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Alternative to Bootcamp on a Mac June 21, 2014 I have used VMFusion in the past and have found Parallels to be very good.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop 9 (Free Upgrade to v10) for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SoCal Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Ok I guess May 22, 2014 You will only want this if you moved to Mavericks and still run a PC on your Mac. I was happy with the earlier version and only upgraded because OWC gave me a good discount. I have moved almost completely away from the PC side so I don't really feel like I wanted to make the switch and I'm not sue it was worth it except for the compatibility with 10.9.x.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic - Whoever thought of this should get an award! May 12, 2014 If you want to work on Windows because software in your business only lets you use Windows, but love your Mac, then install this on your Mac and have the best of both worlds. My friend recommended this to me and as much as he raved about it, I think I can go on a tour promoting this product - simply amazing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works well running a Windows 7 VHD February 26, 2014 As much as I like iMacs, I need to do professional Windows based programming using Visual Studio 2013. I decided to eliminate my Windows workstation and virtualize it using Parallels 9. I virtualized my existing computer using Parallels tools and was amazed how smoothly it went. I can't tell the difference in performance between the virtual machine and my old workstation. All my Windows apps have worked with no problems. As they point out in their instructions, I did have to reauthorize the Windows installation I do allocate it 16 GB of memory which is probably overkill. I find Coherence Mode very useful.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Paralells Customer Review October 29, 2013 I've been using Paralells on multiple Macbook and Macbook Pro 13" machines for over 7 years. I like the software very much. It's stable and allows me to run older Microsoft XP Pro applications. Currently running Paralells on my late 2011 Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.8GHZ. I'm writing this as I check out with OWC's offer of Paralells 9 for $39.00 and saw there was only one review of this product and thought I should share my experience with Paralells. I am a professional photographer and run intensive Photoshop and other intensive imaging software on both sides of my Mac simultaneously. Paralells gives me the best of both worlds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tri-Cities, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac - Ready for Mavericks Release October 7, 2013 Parallels 9 installed without incident. The installation process offered additional software that allows remote control of my iMac using an iPad. Bring on Mavericks!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Reviewer: Jesse Location: Tulsa, OK Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 I love Parallels, but they got cocky September 9, 2013 I am writing this review and rating it only 3 stars, but I continue to love Parallels. I actually hope that others will buy Parallels 9 and then call, write, and chat with the support team to complain about the loss of Parallels Mobile and its replacement with a more expensive, but more functional version called Parallels Access. Hopefully, people reaching out and complaining will push them to re-visit their idea.

So, here's my review of the actual software.

Parallels makes upgrading easy. I just popped in the Desktop 9 CD, then realized that they will let me download it. I prefer to download as the CD will never survive in my house. If I ever needed to re-install, then I will have to have it. So, I downloaded the software and hit install. It found my Parallels 8 and replaced it. All of my OS's are still there.

Now my Dropbox and Google drive docs are available on the Windows machine. This may seem like nothing, but I can access my Photo Stream, my iCloud Docs (which I don't use), and my Google Drive docs straight from my Windows machine without having to create shares and links or by installing and mirroring the same data on the Windows machine. This is very nice and makes it much easier for me to update a file and know it will be pushed to Google Drive or Dropbox.

The last time I upgraded my Mac, I had an issue because Parallels stopped working. Apparently, Parallels Desktop 7 worked for Lion (10.7), but not Mountain Lion (10.8). That was a frustration that I wanted to avoid. When Mavericks (10.9) comes out, I can upgrade my laptop without worrying that all of my Parallels Operating Systems will shut down. I use the windows side for some of the work that I do and that was frustrating to realize that I couldn't access Windows until I upgraded Parallels. In their defense, they notated this on their website and had sent emails that I must have missed. I was pleased that the issue was documented and easy to see if I searched.

Parallels has replaced Parallels Mobile with Parallels Access as of this version. First off, what are these things, you might ask. These are Apps that you run on your iPhone/iPad which allows you to takeover your remote machine. I can sit at the coffee shop and remember I needed to hit send on an email. I grab my phone, open the Parallels Mobile app, and it connects to my laptop at home, shows me the desktop, and lets me do what I need to do. You don't have to setup your router or anything. Just have Parallels running and you're good to go. * The downside, Parallels Mobile worked for iPhone and iPad. This meant that if I just had my phone, I was still good. Parallels Mobile was introduced around version 7 and now it's being phased out. It's being phased out in favor of Parallels Access, which does the same thing, but costs $79.99/yr and doesn't currently work on the iPhone. When you connect with Parallels Access, the computer you takeover gets all funky as Parallels us tweaking the desktop resolution so that it can show you one Mac/Windows application at a time. * The upside, Parallels Access is pretty sweet. You can takeover just one Mac/Windows Application at a time. You don't have to re-size the application to perfectly fit in the screen. They have taken the iPad finger strokes and made them work when you are taking over a remote computer. It's pretty amazing and has allowed me to get more done faster.

Parallels Access might be worth $20/yr to me, but not $79.99. It's worth even less to me because I don't have a choice. Parallels Mobile is End of Purchase. http://www.parallels.com/support/desktop-virtualization/mobile/ This means that you can't get it anymore and those of us that have been with them for years can't use it if we want to upgrade. If the next Mac upgrade to Mavericks works the same, then once I upgrade my Mac, I will have to upgrade Parallels and lose access to Parallels Mobile. (This is what I was talking about on the first paragraph. Please phone, chat, Skype, and email support. Please push for Parallels Mobile to come back or Parallels Access to be reasonably priced.)

I love Parallels and they have always come out with something new and some reason that it's worth it to me to upgrade. This is the first time I wouldn't want to give 5 stars. I still love them and want to stick with them. If you are choosing between Parallels and Fusion, I'd still say to go with Parallels. We just need them to get a little less cocky and be more open with us the consumers.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Parallels Desktop for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps!.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern Ontario, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Ordered but not installed January 3, 2013 Good product no doubt many of you know that already...what I wasn't clear on when I ordered it was the need to do a complete install of Win8 and possibly allow sharing of my file structure with Windows. Not prepared to do that so I uninstalled. No complaints with product though I just wasn't exactly clear on how much integration was expected to have it work smoothly. I don't need the one Win8 app I was looking to use enough to justify the install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac - Use Windows Applications alongside your Mac Apps! *Free v9 Upgrade!*.

Parallels Desktop 17 Pro Edition For Mac Mfr P/N: PDPRO15-RL1-1Y-NA OWC SKU: PARPPDPROSUB1Y-REB29 Run Windows and Mac apps side-by-side with no rebooting. Optimized for macOS Monterey and Windows 11(when released) 1 Year License | Digital Download Software: non-refundable Ships: Same Day only $119.99
Add to CartParallels PDPRO15-RL1-1Y-NA In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Options & Bundles: Parallels Desktop Pro Edition Parallels Desktop Pro Edition + Windows 10 Bundles