Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

This was a used product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

Toshiba

2.0TB DT01ACA Series Hard Disk Drive

System Pull | OWC Tested

3.5-Inch | SATA 6.0Gb/s | 7200RPM | 64MB Cache
Energy-efficient Storage for
Power-friendly PCs
One Terabyte Per Platter Technology
Toshiba's 7200 RPM 3.5-inch (8.9cm) HDD series (formerly HGST Deskstar™) is optimized for use in power-friendly consumer and commercial desktop computers, gaming PCs and external HDDs. The DT01ACA series offers up to 3 TB capacity and uses Advanced Format and leverages a best-in-class power management technology.
Power-efficient Performance
In addition, this desktop drive provides up to 16% idle power savings over the previous model. The SATA 6.0Gb/s interface drives deliver 7200 RPM performance. These HDDs are designed to allow manufacturers to leverage the benefits of the latest components and operating systems to deliver high-performance, high-capacity, power-efficient systems.
Advanced Format Technology
Advanced formatting optimizes hard drives to take advantage of the capabilities of newer operating systems. This capability enables hard disk drive manufacturers the ability to design larger capacity hard drives, now and into the future.

2.0TB Toshiba DT01ACAxx Series Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
3.5″ HDD
Interface
SATA 6GB/s
Capacity1
2.0TB
Formatted Capacity2
1862GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
64MB
Manufacturer Model Number
HDKPC09
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
26.1mm (1.03″)
Width (max)
101.6mm (4.00″)
Length (max)
147mm (5.79″)
Weight (typical)
680g (1.499 lbs.)

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
300,000

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
6 Gb/sec
Track-to-track Seek
0.5ms

Power

Read Power
6.4 Watts
Write Power
6.4 Watts
Idle Mode
5.2 Watts
Standby Mode
1.0 Watts
Sleep Mode
1.0 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
70 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 107°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 42°C
Vibration
0.67 G, with 5 - 500 Hz
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
300 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 158°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 70°C
Vibration
1.04 G, with 2 - 200 Hz
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
2.7 bels
Seek (Typical)
2.8 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Toshiba p/n HDKPC09 UPC#: 696859078972
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
PowerMac G5
Power Mac G5 (Late 2005)
(October, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, dual 2.5GHz
PowerMac G5
Power Mac G5 (Early 2005)
(April, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac7,2
dual 2.0GHz
PowerMac G5
Power Mac G5 (Early 2005)
(April, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac7,3
dual 2.3GHz, dual 2.7GHz
PowerMac G5
Power Mac G5 (Late 2004)
(October, 2004)
Model ID: PowerMac9,1
1.8GHz
PowerMac G5
Power Mac G5 (June 2004)
(June, 2004)
Model ID: PowerMac7,3
dual 1.8GHz, dual 2.0GHz, dual 2.5GHz
PowerMac G5
Power Mac G5
(June, 2003)
Model ID: PowerMac7,2
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz, dual 1.8GHz, dual 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
NOT COMPATIBLE
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
NOT COMPATIBLE
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Mid 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: iMac7,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: iMac7,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Late 2006)
(September, 2006)
Model ID: iMac6,1
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Late 2006)
(September, 2006)
Model ID: iMac5,1
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (17-inch Late 2006)
(September, 2006)
Model ID: iMac5,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (17-inch Late 2006)
(September, 2006)
Model ID: iMac5,2
1.83GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2006)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: iMac4,1
2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (17-inch Early 2006)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: iMac4,1
1.83GHz
iMac G5
iMac G5 (20-inch iSight)
(October, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac12,1
2.1GHz
iMac G5
iMac G5 (17-inch iSight)
(October, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac12,1
1.9GHz
iMac G5
iMac G5 (20-inch Ambient Light Sensor)
(May, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac8,2
2.0GHz
iMac G5
iMac G5 (17-inch Ambient Light Sensor)
(May, 2005)
Model ID: PowerMac8,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac G5
iMac G5 (20-inch)
(August, 2004)
Model ID: PowerMac8,1
1.8GHz
iMac G5
iMac G5 (17-inch)
(August, 2004)
Model ID: PowerMac8,1
1.6GHz, 1.8GHz
PowerMac G4
Power Mac G4
Models equipped with a SATA Controller Card
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Processor based PCs with an available 3.5" HDD bay.
3.5-inch Enclosures
3.5" SATA Enclosures

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 31 out of 33 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eugene, OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Faster than the old dead one! September 5, 2014 Did my first iMac drive replacement using OWC's excellent how to videos. My son's drive died so I bought this to do the replacement. A couple suction cup handles from Harbor Freight and I was ready. Was a perfect install thanks to these videos. Seemed like this drive was a good replacement and has shown to be much faster than the original.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Jackson, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Work great! July 21, 2014 Using these for internal raid. Bought 3 of them, will probably purchase more. They are silent and run fast,though I haven't tested them. I've used these before with no lemons.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Volos. Greece (Europe) Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great, fast and cheap HDD July 21, 2014 the disk working perfectly -the price was superb

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 good product, great retailer June 2, 2014 I have been using Hitachi hard drives in OWC enclosures for about 14 years I have never had a failure of either and have always found someone at OWC that was willing to spend large amounts of time with me when I needed help to properly use their product. A quality AAA web seller.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Columbus, Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Inexpensive 3TB Drive May 10, 2014 I ordered this strictly as a back-up drive for may MacPro. It "seems" a little slower than I am used to, but it seems to work fine as a back up. The back up software I use is SuperDuper, so it does it automatically. It really doesn't matter how long it takes. The drive does seem to be stable and reliable, and it was inexpensive. So, it meets my needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fairfield, MT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great for NAS January 7, 2014 I'm upgrading a NAS server at a newspaper. I had been running Hitachi 2TB drives in a NAS server for almost 5 years. We store live files and full newspaper archives on our server, and the drives get quite a workout. I only use Hitachi drives and have never had a failure. I expected the new 3TB drives to install without incident... and they did. But I did not expect operating temps in the server to DROP! When I checked the health of the new drives, the operating temperature was reduced by as much as 13 deg. (F). The old drives... still running strong... have been installed on a backup server. Well pleased with the drive upgrade and with the quick and easy service at OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Cool and quiet! May 13, 2013 First of all, hats off to OWC's team member Rebecca who answered my email query on a weekend night confirming this was the right drive for my 3rd gen Time Capsule. I ordered it, it arrived fast, shipping was free. I used the iFixit tutorial and had it installed and formatted in half an hour. By the next morning I had a TB of backup data on it. I do believe it is even more quiet than the 1tb drive I replaced. 3 days, so far, so good. Oh, and it powers down correctly when the backup is finished.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Toshiba DT01ACA Series 3.5-inch SATA 6.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Toshiba 2.0TB DT01ACA Series Hard Disk Drive Mfr P/N: HDKPC09 OWC SKU: TOSDT01ACA200P 64MB Cache 7200RPM
SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s (3.0Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s backwards compatible)
3.5-inch Hard Disk Drive.
90 Day OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty
Sold Out