Home » Power Adapters » Apple MagSafe Power Adapters » Magsafe 85W for all MacBook Pro 15 & 17

Apple

85W MagSafe Power Adapter
For MacBook Pro 13-, 15- & 17-inch Models (non-Retina)

Bulk Packaged

Apple Genuine Units
Need an extra adapter for home or work?
The Apple 85W MagSafe Power Adapter is made specifically for your MacBook Pro 15- or 17-inch model, but works equally well on MacBook or MacBook Pro 13-inch models. It's held in place magnetically, so if someone should trip over it, the cord disconnects harmlessly and your notebook stays put safely.

When the connection is secure, an LED located at the head of the DC connector lights up; an amber light lets you know that your notebook is charging, while a green light tells you that you have a full charge.

Product Specifications:

Apple Part Number

  • MC556LL/A

Model Number

  • A1343

Input

  • 100-240V~1.5A 50-60Hz

Output

  • 16.5-18.5V, 4.6A Max.

Dimensions

  • 3.13" x 3.13" x 1.06" (7.95 x 7.95 x 2.69 cm)

Weight

  • 0.60lb (0.27kg)

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Apple p/n MC556LL/A UPC#: 885909397617

Gallery

Not sure if this MagSafe Adapter is compatible with your Mac? See our visual guide »
This adapter is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.67GHz, 1.83GHz

Includes

  • Apple 85W MagSafe Power Adapter
  • <
  • AC 'flip plug' wall adapter
Note: 6-foot Power Cable not included

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 72 out of 80 (90%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AlexSant Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just as expected! December 30, 2017 I purchased this A/C adapter to replace the original adapter that came with my MacBook Pro 17. Works like the original. Easy ordering and fast shipment. Thank you again!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacKing Location: San Antonio, TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product! December 17, 2017 The adapter is working as expected. Great item, great price, delivered on time. Excellent purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SpeckDesigns Location: Hastings, MI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wonderful Product and A New Customer! December 11, 2017 I don't write many reviews but I felt like I should with this one. MacSales.com saved me a ton of money on a charger for my laptop vs going through Apple or even Ebay. Yes, I could have received a used charger a little cheaper on Ebay but I wanted to know that it was truly in good working condition. The process was very simple and the product arrived in just a couple days. I will definitely be coming back for future computer parts and accessories!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nomorewindows Location: baltimore md Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 works great November 22, 2017 works great and at a great price

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mila Location: Detroit Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great October 17, 2017 I've been using this charger for just under a month so it remains to be seen if it will last, but so far it works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LifeInSlowLane Location: Portland, Maine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's Apple, what could go wrong? August 31, 2017 Our cleaning ladies ran over my charging cable with the vacuum and destroyed the MagSafe connector. Bought this to replace the damaged goods, and of course it works flawlessly. A surprise though - what was shipped did not contain the wall plug segment (from the wall outlet to the white square "brick". Not a problem for me because that segment wasn't damaged. But if you need that segment as well, you'll need to buy that separately.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AnnaBelle Location: Sudbury, ON Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like new August 17, 2017 My cord was frayed and heating up to the point that it was burning hot to the touch. I ordered this replacement and it was basically plug and play. Works great and is about half the price of the ones on the Apple site. I would buy again (if I needed).

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PhotoNYC Location: NYC,NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what it is August 7, 2017 It took me almost ten years for my original apple charger to break. . . this is a replacement. Feels, looks, and works just as my original one did.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: trainerwatts3 Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product works great. June 27, 2017 You always wonder if you're going to get an OEM product when you order older items like these and it came in just as advertised and is an OEM Macbook Pro 15in Mid-2010 charger. It has been working great and saved me from ditching my laptop for a new one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KeepItRunning
Rating: 5/5 Old charger went kaput! June 3, 2017 The OEM charger that came with my MacBook Pro 17" frayed at the connection plug (at the laptop) and the cord. What an awful design on Apple's part, to make something so expensive and crucial to be so fragile and prone to failure.

This replacement works as advertised andseems to be a bit more robust. Good price, and fast shipping.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MangoMac Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 It's the real thing May 19, 2017 I didn't want to take a chance with any off brand chinese made ones on eBay so went with these from OWC. This one was for the office so now I can leave one at home and one at the office and overall wear and tear on both will be greatly reduced. I bought the cable to go with the adapter also to give me the length I needed. Shipping was fast and within a few days it arrived at my door.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TheBurz
Rating: 5/5 Great replacement part. May 5, 2017 Bought this as a replacement for power cord that no longer worked. Was desperate for anything but did not want to pay the $80 for a new one from the Apple Store. Was surprised that for the price I paid it appears to be an original part. Works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bhambrew Location: Bellingham, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A high quality replacement for my original charger April 21, 2017 I purchased this charger to replace the original charger that came with my MacBook over eight years ago. I have been using the new charger daily for about a month now, and it has been working great. Looks and feels like a high-quality product, and I am very happy with the performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kingskerswell Location: Kelowna, BC Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 85W Charger for 15" Macbook Pro, :Late 2011 April 11, 2017 This is the first time I have used this site. Product was received on time and as specified in the order.. Product was received in excellent condition, all packaging was intact upon receipt. Product is used daily and shows no sign of overheating and seems to do the job that it is required to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bmiddlet73 Location: North Carolina Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 As expected! April 4, 2017 Power adapters arrived quickly and worked perfectly. Hate to make it as simple as "as expected" but I've been spoiled by the great service and products from Macsales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacGreg Location: Orlando, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Working great March 6, 2017 Fast delivery. Works great, not as hot as a very cheap knockoff I bought elsewhere. Happy with this charger.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MikeGetsLeads Location: Durban, South Africa Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Original Apple charger February 23, 2017 This charger has the Apple logo and works prefectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tada
Rating: 5/5 workin great! February 22, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MikeInDC Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Real Apple part, like new (minus AC cable) February 6, 2017 It's somewhat well known how many aftermarket parts from non-Apple retailers are risky knockoffs, which is why I came here to find the real thing. Well this MacSales item appears to be a real Apple part as far as I can tell. It has all the FCC labeling and Apple trademarks and it is physically identical (in external appearance and weight).

It charges my MacBook like it is supposed to, although the orange LED is a little dimmer than my original adapter's was. The green LED is the same. I am sensitive to noisy capacitor whine in cheap power adapters and this adapter is silent so that's great.

They don't include the AC cable that goes from the brick to the wall, which I guess saves them a couple dollars. It's the thin cable near the magsafe port that frays anyway, and that's the part that needs replacing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacProOldDawg Location: Fargo, ND Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice Charger - Excellent Connector February 2, 2017 My old 85W MagSafe Power Adapter gave up the ghost. Connections wear out and the original Apple wires just gave up. This Adapter with the new "L"-Style connector works great. Seems to be better constructed than the original (I have a 17" 2009 MacBook Pro.) Great Buy!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: peterl7 Location: Austarlia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product January 17, 2017 works perfectly

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Macaholic51 Location: Leland, N>C> Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Apple MagSafe 85W Adapter for MacBook Pro January 4, 2017 This is one of the best purchases i have made in a long. I was a little worried at first. Then I received it. It was genuine a Apple at a fraction of the price. I was blown away. Works great and a one year limited warranty. What more can you ask for? I am definitely happy with this purchase and highly recommend this product and MacSales.com

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FrankAndBeans Location: Venus Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Item as promised January 1, 2017 Exactly as it should be. Quick no hassle order. No hassle product. Would buy again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: perryrants Location: maryland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 late power review December 20, 2016 this is my "den" charger. now my wife can have power on two floors!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: D4ve Location: York,PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The charger works great! September 27, 2016 This was exactly what I needed and works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Apple 85W MagSafe Power Adapter
For MacBook Pro 13-, 15- & 17-inch Models
Mfr P/N: MC556LL/A OWC SKU: APLMC556LLA Flip-Plug AC connector included. Bulk Packaged. 1 Year OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $79.00Cyber Saver $49.99
Add to CartApple MC556LL/A In Stock, Click to Buy Now