Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

78 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Early & Late 2011, Mid-2012

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
78 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1382

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 73 out of 76 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dartleader Location: Tucson Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Product Easy to Install July 18, 2017 Really nice battery was easy to install by watching the videos on the Mac Sales site. It was well packed and well made its seems to work great and fixed the processor cycling problems I was experiencing from trying to use a MacBook Pro with a zonked battery. Now my computer works GREAT!

PS It was nice that they included the two screwdrivers in the box!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: St3v3th3rat Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer
Rating: 5/5 Good product ... July 17, 2017 The battery was flawless. Too bad I had the wrong Mac Book Pro version for it to fit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RJMag Location: SW Missouri Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wish I'd Bought This Sooner June 20, 2017 This battery came with the tools required to install it and was easy to put in. My 5 year old MacBook Pro was suffering from issues related to a battery that would no longer hold a charge and the new battery fixed it all. Great service and great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MattyH
Rating: 5/5 Perfect! May 27, 2017 Installed easily into my mid-2012 MacBook Pro, giving it a second lease on life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DJpsychic Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great replacement Battery May 17, 2017 Don't waste your time on Amazon or ebay because I bought a batter on each of those sites only to realize that I wasted my money buying junk that barely lasted an hour. This new battery from OWC has restored my 2011 MBP to being able to use my mac for 3 - 5 hours depending on use.

I will only buy replacement items from OWC in the future. Thanks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnBr Location: Port Angeles, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great installation video/customer support! May 2, 2017 I was a bit nervous, even though installation of a new battery is supposed to be "straightforward" and reasonably easy. The new battery came with the necessary tools, a card listing the steps to follow -- and a computer link to a short, excellent installation video. All this relieved this first-time newbie's concerns, and my installation went without a hitch. The video (which you can pause anywhere along the way as necessary) took me smoothly through all the steps (including a reminder that some of the screws on the back of my MacBook Pro are longer than others, and need to go back correctly) and included instructions on how to correctly calibrate the new battery (and explained why this very important step can't be skipped). I'm very, very impressed at how user-friendly MacSales/OWC made the whole process. They also gave plenty of specifics about the new battery itself -- and instructions on what to do if I had any issues whatsoever with the battery. But so far I'm very impressed by the battery's quality and durability. (It was also easy to find the right battery on the customer-order site. The order process was smooth and direct. This company makes everything easy, from start to finish.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Steve24
Rating: 5/5 Works well April 19, 2017 I installed this in my Macbook Pro from 2012. I've only been using it for a few weeks but so far it's working perfectly and has greatly improved the time I can work before I need to recharge. One thing to be aware of -- you'll need to condition the new battery, but OWC includes instructions for that. Overall, OWC did a great job with this, as they do with all their products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tomp Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extended battery life! April 17, 2017 Easy install

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LuminousVelocity Location: Brooklyn, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My mousepad was stuck til I replaced the Battery April 13, 2017 Once again on got a MB Pro early 2011 just a few weeks ago. The mouse pad felt like crazy glue was stuck under it, no click, no drag capability. The battery showed an error saying to get Apple support and replace immediately. Got over to OWC, ordered the battery which introduced me to the new Tri-head screws, which could not be removed by regular or previous screwdrivers. However when the battery came it had the necessary screwdrivers for both the battery and case screws. Replaced the battery, charged, and suddenly noticed ,my mouse pad was now functional, and I could walk around without the computer losing everything I had including the date and time if it wasn't on a charger . Thanks OWC for fixing two problems in one solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tgal
Rating: 5/5 Excellent battery life. Great Service from MacSales... March 17, 2017 I recently wrote a poor review for this battery because the battery indicator was going down to 10% after an hour and a half of use. MacSales tech support immediately contacted me to help me resolve the issue. Turns out even though the batter indicator on my MacbookPro was showing 10%, there' was plenty of juice left. I put the battery through a few cycles of deep discharge and charge (I did only one deep dicharge/charge when I first got the battery but apparently one is not enough). By the third cycle, the batter indicator caught up to the capacity and is now showing the correct percentage. The battery provides more than four hours of battery for my MacbookPro. Very happy with both the quality of the product and the helpfulness of support

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: eanbadean Location: Boston, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Outperforms the Apple battery for less March 15, 2017 Includes decent quality tools for the job as you may need a tri-lobe screw driver... Has better battery life than the original Apple battery. Unlike the Apple battery, this one needs to be "conditioned" before use so plan to install when you won't need the laptop for a day. Drop the old battery off at an Apple Store so that it is recycled and disposed of properly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SomeNickname Location: Atascadero, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 No problems March 11, 2017 So far, so good. By all indications, this battery is just fine. Of course, the proof will lie in how it's doing a couple of years from now. One nice touch was that the two special screwdrivers were included in the package. The OWC installation video was excellent and helpful. I watched it before ordering the battery, to make sure there was nothing beyond my abilities. Now I need to follow their links to find where to recycle the old battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VinnieD Location: Maryland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Product and Service February 24, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ThunderHedd Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I hoped for. February 15, 2017 This battery is awesome. I bought it alongside a new SSD, and was slightly nervous as it was the first time I have opened up a Mac. However there was no need to worry- MacSales has tons of videos to ensure installation was a piece of cake, and a representative even contacted me to ensure that everything went smoothly. My battery life skyrocketed to around 3-4 hours from 1 hour at the max, before. Like brand new. If you're looking to replace your battery, you couldn't ask for much more when it comes to quality and customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kaixyz
Rating: 5/5 good product February 7, 2017 Fast shipping and good quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Oregonjay Location: so oregon Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product January 30, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Machomer1 Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality product refresh of Mac January 26, 2017 Replaced old battery that was beyond its "cycle" life. Determining correct replacement on website was simple and easy. After reviewing claims of performance, I expected some bump of performance in terms of battery life before requiring another charge but not seeing it. Maybe expecting too much. Install instructions were easy to read.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BooshcityMT Location: Missoula, MT Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Product, Excellent Packaging January 18, 2017 Excellent product! Battery arrived on time and packaged nicely. The Battery itself seems high quality and the box included two screw drivers necessary for an easy installation. Great customer service and website tools to find correct product! Best place online I have used to purchase a replacement Early 2011 15" macbook pro battery. Would highly recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tboggel Location: Raleigh, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great in my old MBP January 17, 2017 My second battery (for a different computer) that I bought from MacSales. Both NewerTech batteries have been working great so far. Easy to install. They included a tri-lobe screwdriver, and another screwdriver for taking out the tiny screws. Packaging was good quality. When it comes to batteries I'm glad to see they don't cheap out. I don't want my laptops catching fire.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Simba Location: MO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Get it January 16, 2017 If you are in need of a new battery, BUY IT. Have replaced 2 MBP battery's with OWC ones and have had NO Problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macloverguy Location: Whitecourt, AB Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 ????? Every Expectation Exceeded January 4, 2017 As a total hardware newb I was able to replace the battery in my 8,2 MacBook Pro with the package I ordered and the OWC instructional online video, first time, no probs. Great experience on every level: price, delivery ease of use & support. Every expectation I had was exceeded. Buy from OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rixel Location: Montreal, Canada Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 4/5 A little disappointing January 3, 2017 I received the battery promptly. A+ for speed of delivery. I was looking forward to installing this battery in my macbook pro. Installation was a breeze with the screwdrivers that were supplied with the battery. I followed the instructions of the online video for battery conditioning. I must say I am somewhat disappointed with the fact that it doesn't seem to hold its charge very long – a couple of hours when I use my computer as I normally do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dseiler46 Location: Daytona Beach, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good Battery December 6, 2016 seams o work well, may have a problem with the adapter.. Will update the new adapter arrives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Acidfernandez Location: Philippines Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Product was awesome December 4, 2016 Packaging and ease of installation was great. Product works as expected.

Gave my macbook pro new life

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LongtimeMacGuy Location: Vancouver BC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow! November 23, 2016 Can't believe I didn't do this sooner.. Very easy to do the installation! I used coconutBattery to check the status of my old battery and compared it to this one after installation. Besides the higher mAh capacity, I feel like I can go for hours on end without having to plug in. Amazing considering my MacBook Pro is pushing 6yrs!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

NewerTech 78 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP15MBU78W OWC SKU: NWTBAP15MBU78W 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $98.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP15MBU78W In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.