Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

32.0GB OWC Memory Upgrade Kit

Memory Image
Product Specs:
OWC Memory for Mac Pro Quad Xeon fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
*About the Apple Specified Thermal Sensor:
Ensuring maximum performance, reliability, and operational feedback -this DDR3 ECC Modules for the Apple Mac Pro 'Nehalem' 4 Core/8-Core and 'Westmere' 6-Core/8-Core processor models feature utilization of Apple qualified components including the inclusion of the Apple qualified Thermal Sensor EEPROM.
Please Note:
Memory modules may differ in appearance from those pictured.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 24 out of 25 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Birmingham, AL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 8-GB RAM for Mac Pro mid-2010 April 21, 2015 I wanted to expand my 8 GB RAM to 16 GB and this product has worked well. I have not put this new memory through any special tests but upon restarting the Mac Pro, it recognized all the memory without a glitch and has been working well since I installed it (unit remains powered on). I pretty much new how to add it but so be safe I viewed the OWC on-line videos and the installation was easy. I have only purchased additional RAM for my Mac computers over the years from OWC and as best I can remember, I have never had a problem yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Utah Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Ram! March 24, 2015 This ram worked and continues to work great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 The product has great features March 20, 2015 Since the memory in a computer is so critical to the computer performace, I need a "trusted" supplier who has quality experience on the computer.

OWC is the perfect supplier to any Mac products. Thanks for the services including shipping, quality, etc.

Thanks again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: knoxville, tn Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 long time customer of OWC March 11, 2015 have 2x 1 gig and 2x 4 gig of OWC ram, running for over 5 years, no problems no issues, none ram related anyway.

I expect the same long term dependability from these 2x 8 gig s.

SPECIAL NOTE: IN THE MAC PRO 2010 5,1 2X QUAD -- THESE MUST BE IN FIRST SLOT ON EACH SIDE = 1 & 5 -- ANY OTHER CONFIGURATION WILL NOT RECOGNIZE RAM.

so if you install ram and it doesnt show up, make a note of locations and try a different order.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation. Works perfectly. February 12, 2015 My Early 2009 Mac Pro was consistently using up my 10GB of RAM. I installed the 16GB memory, bringing the total to 24GB, and my computer has speeded up signficantly. Easy installation. Works perfectly. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Flawless buyer experience January 27, 2015 Memory chips are not exactly feature rich enough to write a review about but OWS certainly is. This was an effortless experience from beginning to end and benefited from OWS long track record for customer-centric service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sunnyvale, Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Fast Memory January 18, 2015 This Memory is great. My system is running flawlessly. OWC Tech Support worked with me on the recommendation. Make sure this speed of RAM is the only RAM in your system. If you have doubts... talk to tech support. Seriously they know their job well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boulder, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is good enough for one of the last Xserve systems. January 16, 2015 No problems installing it. No problems encountered after installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (6x 2GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Great! January 11, 2015 I got excellent tech support and answers to my memory upgrade questions. The order arrived overnight the following day. Installation was a breeze. I think the price was right and the overnight shipping charge very reasonable!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chile Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great memory January 3, 2015 Been using them for over a year with great results.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good products; good company December 15, 2014 Been doing business with OWC for many years and they always deliver a good product for a good price, and usually a lot quicker than the initial delivery estimate. What can you say about memory, though? Plugged it in it showed up on the System configuration, and it works. Sent my original memory back for a rebate, and got that check in good time, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Uppsala. Sweden Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simply perfect December 11, 2014 Not much to write – memory modules, they work as they should, nothing else was expected. They arrived to Sweden quite fast and I'm happy with both the product and OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Israel Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 2 Years late with the review :) But hey... two years of testing! GREAT RESULTS! November 12, 2014 Hehehe I've just purchased another item on OWC... and saw that I have't review this one...

So after two years of music production and mixing... and I mean intensive work... I have only great things to say about this memory! just great! great price! great performance! (would have wrote much more, but I'm currently at the studio... so, you know... I'm busy)... :)

Highly recommended for everyone that seeking to upgrade his Mac Pro's memory!

Kind Regards, Radion.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Has Extended The Life of My Aging MacPro November 11, 2014 I am expecting not to need to replace my Early 2009 Mac Pro for yet another couple of years or so, because the additional memory has maintained the machine's original responsiveness even though I am doing heavier duty work (i.e., Photoshop & video) than I did when I first bought it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: cgrscott Location: Independence, KY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Rock-solid and a great Photoshop performance-booster . . . October 30, 2014 I'm running some Photoshop filters on a large 900+ MB Tiff file and it appears to be performing all tasks in memory and not with the scratch disk.  The wait time seems to be cut down considerably.  Photoshop CS6 is 64bit compatible and my installation is set up to allocate 10.5 GBs of my 16 GBs of OWC RAM (two 8 GB modules) to Photoshop, on my 2009 MacPro 4,1.  

More memory does seem to help.  I had 8 GBS of OWC RAM (two 4 GB modules) on the 2007 Mac Pro 1,1 but, Photoshop running in 32 bit mode would not allocate more than (roughly) 3.5 GBs of RAM, thus my performance with large files was reduced to scratch disc read and right speeds.  So, stepping up to the 2009 MacPro 4,1 is not providing a faster overall user experience over the 2007 Mac Pro1,1.  It is meanly a dedicated upgrade for Photoshop performance.

If I'm never able to buy any future perpetual licenses to Adobe CS upgrades again, I could afford, some time down the road, to ad an additional 16 GBs of OWC RAM in the two remaining memory slots, bumping the machine up to 32 GBS of RAM.

OWC RAM has always been rock-solid-stable and still is. This was a great investment for more speed in Photoshop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Copenhagen Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just the right Ram for my MacPro 2010 October 29, 2014 I purchased16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (8GB x 2) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules for my 2010 MacPro and they just work flawlessly. It's a very good product to an affordable price.

Can only recommend this company and their products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boulder Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great October 21, 2014 right memory for my computer for the right price - speedy delivery

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: iceland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 100% Perfect October 4, 2014 Great service, fast overseas delivery. I will buy more from OWC :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Etowah, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 16 gig of stellar memory! September 4, 2014 Talk about an easy upgrade for my 2009 Mac Pro! What a performance bump and so simple to do. OWC provides great videos to walk you thru the process. Everything works perfectly.

As soon as I save up enough, I've got to get one of OWC's SSD's for my main drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Flawless August 5, 2014 After a few weeks of testing this memory I can safely say it added a noticeable boost to my MacPro 2009 / 2x 2.26 GHz quad. Recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Last Hurrah for an Aging Mac Pro July 16, 2014 This purchase was the last upgrade I plan to do with a 2010 Mac Pro. This kit would double the amount of RAM and I admit it's noticeable if not awe-inspiring. I had just placed an SSD into a 2011 MacBook Pro (whose RAM was already maxed) and since I used both I needed to upgrade the Pro so the switch back and forth wouldn't be so jarring. There's no real comparison between the two machines but I did find some applications ran better/faster with the additional/newer RAM.

OWC's kits are easy replacements for your hardware, no need to guess, pick and choose on other sites. That's quite a selling point in itself. RAM is an easy upgrade to do oneself (in these now aging machines) and one of the best ways to extend the life of a machine. If not in the market for a new computer this is the best thing to do with the one you have.

This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good price, fast shipping. June 30, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: meisme4273@charter.net
Rating: 5/5 Happy with this product June 22, 2014 Satisfied with the product, but the RAM was not packed securely. The two RAM sticks were inside of a plastic case and were not secured within the case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: austria europe Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 it works June 12, 2014 it works perferktly

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 24.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (3x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norfolk, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great value May 29, 2014 This RAM was a perfect fit. The cost of RAM has come down and this is a great way to increase performance of your computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

OWC Memory 32.0GB 8 x 4.0GB PC8500 DDR3 Kit Mfr P/N: 85MP3W4M32GK OWC SKU: OWC85MP3W4M32GK OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $207.92Matched Kit for $179.00
Add to CartOther World Computing 85MP3W4M32GK In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 1 x Module (Single)
  • 2GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $13.99
    • $13.99
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $25.99
    • $25.99
  • 8GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $38.99
    • $38.99
2 x Module Kits
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $27.98
    • Matched Kit for $24.99
  • 8GB (2x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $51.98
    • Matched Kit for $47.99
  • 16GB (2x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.98
    • Matched Kit for $67.99
3 x Module Kits
  • 6GB (3x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $41.97
    • Matched Kit for $37.99
  • 12GB (3x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.97
    • Matched Kit for $69.99
  • 24GB (3x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $116.97
    • Matched Kit for $99.97
4 x Module Kits
  • 8GB (4x2)
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $55.96
    • Matched Kit for $49.00
  • 16GB (4x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $103.96
    • Matched Kit for $91.99
  • 32GB (4x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.96
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
6 x Module Kits | 8/12 Core Only
  • 12GB (6x2)
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $83.94
    • Matched Kit for $69.99
  • 24GB (6x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.94
    • Matched Kit for $135.99
  • 48GB (6x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $233.94
    • Matched Kit for $189.99
8 x Module Kits | 8/12 Core Only
  • 16GB (8x2)
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $111.92
    • Matched Kit for $89.00
  • 32GB (8x4)
  • 64GB (8x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $308.75
    • Matched Kit for $249.00