Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

Other World Computing

Addendum Kit
for OWC 'Data Doubler' SSD/2.5"
Hard Drive installation Kit

for Mac mini 2011, 2012 & Later Models

In a very limited amount of 2011-2012 Mac minis, the additional drive bay is in a different location than what is depicted in our Data Doubler installation video. If your machine is one of these, you will need to follow this slightly different set of installation instructions and will need these few additional components.

Includes

  • 5.5mm wrench
  • 2x Drive Mounting Pins
  • Instructions

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 163 out of 174 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nash. TN
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Upgrade! October 9, 2014 Simply put, the 'how to' video makes this install a piece of cake. Well Done OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Surprise, Az Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 All the storage you could want October 5, 2014 When I bought my MacMini the "Genius" told me I could not upgrade myself and I would have to order a Mini with the options I wanted. So I bought the base model I7 mini and went home and did some surfing. Found OWC and the Data Doubler. This allowed me to install my SSD and a mechanical without having to use the fusion drive. The Mini is a bit trickier to disassemble but with some patience and the online tutorial that OWC has I was able to do it without a hitch. Overall this upgrade is great and will save you a lot of money over ordering a unit with all the factory options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rome, ITALY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product.. Great tutorial September 14, 2014 Everything went smooth.. Took me 75 minutes or so. No problems at all.. and every screwdriver or screw or piece of equipment was there.. My Mac runs like never before now! Thank you OWC !!! I even got for free the kit for fixing McMini's Bluetooth problem

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Owc Data Doubler for Mac Mini September 12, 2014 If you follow directions,you will have no problems installing this. Great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything you need in one package. September 4, 2014 Just like the title says you get everything you need along with great instructions. Although I advise watching their installation videos first...then just use the directions as a reference if needed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: College Station, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Helps with the job September 1, 2014 The tool was well constructed and helped get to the small nuts that needed to be removed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Burleigh Heads, QLD Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Not so happy with this kit August 27, 2014 For the late 2012 Mac Mini Server I have, I noticed poor Bluetooth after about 9 feet range. I saw this kit and gave it a shot. I don't believe this was the usual high standard of product from OWC and I ended up busting an airport card in the process of fitting the kit. This kit could be improved with better fitting shielding and adhesives.

This review is from OWC Bluetooth module shielding kit for Apple Mac mini 2012 models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Addition August 25, 2014 With the addition of a 250 SSD in my Mac mini, I could not be happier. The installation went fast and was very easy to install, I would recommend this to anyone. I now have my OS on the SSD and my home folder on the old HD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Belgium Age: 35-44
Rating: 4/5 Good Stuff.. To be advised. Really! August 20, 2014 I first bought the same product from Hong-Kong via ebay... I spent less for.. something not working. OWC was clever enough to create a YouTube video, which convinced me to buy their PRODUCT after failed experience. And now I have a mac mini with 250gb + 1tb SSD's. TERRIFIC! The Mac mini is the best hardware to run Windows server 2012 Datacenter with 4 virtual machines on it. No jokes.

This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 What you need to do what you must August 3, 2014 The kit had everything I needed to add an SSD drive to my 2012 Mac Mini, including clear instructions printed on a big piece of paper. All the tools, all the little bits, every single thing was included. It took a bit of time and fussing, but I got the drive installed correctly the first try, and now have useful little tools left over. Why did I never buy a spudger before?

The tools aren't professional grade, but they aren't intended to serve for a lifetime. Gets the job done and keeps the cost down.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Des Moines, wa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Made the job very simple July 13, 2014 Got this kit along with ssd and it worked great. Made the job very easy and final product looked as tho it came this was from apple.

This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome & Easy Upgrade Solution July 13, 2014 Being a newbie to Mac's, I was a bit wary of this DIY kit for adding an extra HDD. But it all went smoothly, All the tools were included in the kit & instructions were easy to read. My new SSD drive went in without a drama. All I can say is read the instructions carefully before doing the upgrade, it will be worth it

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works a treat June 28, 2014 I got this "Data Doubler" kit to upgrade my Mac Mini with a Samsung SSD while keeping the old HD as a data drive. Everything went well with the install except for one thing. When fitting the 2nd HD (an SSD in my case) you are given 4 grommets and 4 screws to fix the new drive into the spare area of the HD support. When refitting the HD support back into the Mac Mini case one of the HD mounting screws (RH fwd when view from the rear) interferes with a locating pin inside the case and made it difficult to refit the retaining screw for the HD support without stressing things. In the end I removed that screw and also the grommet and the HD support fitted in easily. Everything you need is in the kit and the instructions supplied are first class. This upgrade kit is a no brainer. The performance jump after fitting my SSD is amazing. Well worth the cost of the upgrade. I always considered my Mac Mini to be a bit of a slug. It seemed far slower than my less powerful PC but the SSD upgrade has transformed it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Recife, Brazil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 worked perfectly June 27, 2014 the best pro in this kit is the video instruction. perfect. helped me through the entire process.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 this product has great features May 30, 2014 works perfect

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nice little kit, worked almost flawlessly May 30, 2014 I purchased this kit from another supplier and found out that the supplier was from China. Since it was going to be another month before I get that kit, I purchased the kit from MacSales.

The torx driver handles are a little smaller that I would like, but they worked just fine. The cable, grommets and screws worked just fine.

The video was wonderful. I used a different computer to go through the video stopping it along the way to make sure I was unscrewing the correct screws, doing all the correct things.

One problem I ran into was the wireless antenna grid did NOT want to go back correctly, but eventually I got it back in where I could put in all the screws.

One item to note. Before putting the cowling back on, MAKE SURE THAT THE ORIGINAL HARD DRIVE SATA CABLE IS PLUGGED IN AND DID NOT POP OUT. I ran into the problem and had to take it back apart again because the SATA cable popped out during reinstallation of the wireless grid, causing the dreaded folder with a question mark on startup. Once I got that figured out and rechecked it 3 times, I was able to get everything installed.

It would have been nice to have had a hex driver included with the kit, instead of using the torn 8 driver.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: calgary Canada Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit May 1, 2014 great products for my mini mac 2nd Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit very easy installation just follow OWC instructions

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunedin, New Zealand Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Be careful to order the right one April 28, 2014 I ordered this kit, but upon opening, found that there was a rare version of the Mac Mini that needed a different mounting bracket, and of course, that was the one I possessed. All was not lost, however, as I had a second Mac Mini which the kit was suited for and so installed in this one instead. I made two blunders when installing: the first was to dislodge the IR sensor (no great loss) and the second was to not slot the LED light at the front in properly. These were my fault and were not the caused by the kit from OWC. I found the installation for the Mac Mini a lot more fiddly than installing an SSD in my Macbook Pro using OWC’s data doubler. My advice: order the right one and take your time when installing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 perfect for my mac mini 2011 April 28, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features February 26, 2014 Perfect

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The Right Stuff February 22, 2014 I purchased a brand new 2012 MacMini with this installation in mind. I purchased a 256 SSD drive and used the Apple existing 1TB drive as a backup and storage drive. I reformatted both drives and installed Mavericks from a bootable USB clip drive. The hardware installation is an advanced procedure, but the directions that came with the purchase were right on the money. The unit looked like brand new. All parts fit back in perfectly. Saved a lot of money with DIY and couldn't be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saudi Arabia , KH Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic Product ..!! February 10, 2014 I recommended this product for anyone is planning to upgrade the hard drive for the mac mini , Professional toolskit .. good packaging ,,

Many thanks OWC ,

Mishary

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Not easy but it worked out January 5, 2014 I wish I had another Mac mini to do this again on, because only after doing it once do I feel that I knew what I was doing. The mini is very tight inside, with lots of very fiddly connectors. A lot of care has to be taken to not break them when disconnecting (I was *very* paranoid), and to get them hooked up when reassembling. Also, I had the hardest time getting the thing buttoned up. If everything isn't lined up precisely, it's not going to work. But after spending about 45 minutes on a single step, I got all the screws in, and it booted up fine and the DIY Fusion drive is now working great.

I would not suggest you do this if you do not have a free afternoon to spend on it, and a good attention to details and following instructions. Just pay the $100 to OWC and get the piece of mind. But it is doable.

On the kit side, I would have preferred if the T6 and T8 were labelled. Also, the other two screwdrivers seemed entirely unused. So a bit of a waste.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France
Rating: 5/5 Very good quality product December 31, 2013 I first purchased a kit on Amazon which was coming from China. The cable was very thin and prone to be broken or damaged compared to the one I received from OWC and although it worked with a hard disk, a SSD was very very slow. I first suspected the SSD to be faulty but after having it returned an getting one from another brand, I had the same problem. So I decided to go for more quality. I received the cable in France in 13 days by usual mail. The packing was perfect with two padded enveloppes. After having installed my SSD with the OWC cable, it worked at once flawlessly.

Final advice : don't always look for the best price, look for best quality !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Il Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I'm happy December 17, 2013 I am happy with the purchase which was also purchased with the SSD

I am not sure why everyone says adding the ssd with the doubler is not for the faint at heart. Was easy as eating. I have never owned a mack and this mac mini is my first, never even opened it and I was able to do it in 20 mins. removing everything and installing and back together in 20 was not that complicated. The only thing that took a few mins was getting the power disconnected due to the angle you are working other then that the tools supplied worked fine.

As most have said just take your time and be gentle other then that a baby could take this a part with no instructions.

The best part is OCW is right in my back yard locally

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Other World Computing Addendum Kit for OWC 'Data Doubler' SSD/2.5" Hard Drive installation Kit for Mac mini 2011, 2012, and Later models Mfr P/N: DIYIMM11D2A OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMM11D2A For use with Mac minis with alternate factory drive placement. Ships: Same Day only $9.79
Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMM11D2A In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Options & Kits: Install Kit
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $28.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.99
    • OWC Price $32.50
Mounting Kit Only
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • OWC Price $24.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $36.99
    • OWC Price $26.75
Special Tool Kits
  • BT Shield
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $45.94
    • Bundle Priced for $4.99