Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 2.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

OWC

Express USB 2.0
640GB Portable Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 2.0
Portable simplicity in an affordable, pocket-sized package
Express your digital life with style and convenience
The pocket-sized OWC Express USB 2.0 Portable Storage Drive offers bus-powered personal storage performance in an ultra-portable design – no AC adapter needed. With the included USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve, and compatible with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express USB 2.0 Portable Storage Drive puts your music, photos, and personal data right where you need them, with storage to spare.

Product Specifications:

Manufacturer Part Number

  • ESU2M640GBS

Mac OS Compatibility

  • Mac OS X 10.2 or later

PC OS Compatibility

  • Windows 98 or later

Chipset

  • USB 3.0 (ASMedia 1053e)

Format

  • Included Drive Guide Software will format drive for either OS X or Windows

Number of Bays

  • (1) 2.5" SATA

Ports

  • (1) USB 2.0 Port

Standard Mechanism

  • 640GB HGST Travelstar™ 5K750 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    2.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 3.0Gb/s NCQ
    Capacity1
    640GB
    Formatted Capacity2
    598GiB
    Rotational Speed
    5,400 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    8MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    HTS547564A9E384
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    9.5mm (0.370″)
    Width (max)
    69.85mm (2.750″)
    Length (max)
    100.35mm (3.951″)
    Weight (typical)
    102g (0.225 lbs.)
    Data Heads
    4
    Number of Disks
    2
    Guaranteed Sectors
    1,465,149,168
    Bytes per Sector
    512e
    Areal Density
    472Gb/in2

    Reliability3

    Load/Unload cycle
    600,000

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    996 Mb/s
    Track-to-track Seek
    1.0ms
    Average Seek Time
    12.0ms
    Average Latency
    5.5ms

    Power

    Maximum Start Current, DC
    4.5 Amps
    Seek Power
    1.7 Watts
    Read Power
    1.4 Watts
    Write Power
    1.4 Watts
    Idle Mode
    1.5 Watts
    Idle Mode, Active
    0.8 Watts
    Standby Mode
    0.2 Watts
    Sleep Mode
    0.1 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    400 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    1000 G max at 1ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 149°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 65°C
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    2.4 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    2.6 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    640GB* Hitachi Hard Disk Drive**
  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Bootable

  • Yes

Housing Color

  • Silver

Security Slot

  • No

Power

  • Bus Powered

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature 32°F to 140°F (0°C to 60°C)
    • Altitude -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Shock 400 G max at 2 ms
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature -40°F to 149°F (-40°C to 65°C)
    • Altitude -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
    • Shock 1000 G max at 1 ms

Dimensions

  • Height: 1.5 cm (0.6 in)
  • Width: 7.9 cm (3.1 in)
  • Length: 13.0 cm (5.1 in)

Acoustics

  • 24dB
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ESU2M640GBS

Gallery

Includes

  • (1) OWC Express USB 2.0 Portable External Drive
  • (1) High Quality Double Shielded USB 2.0/1.1 (mini-B type) Connecting Cable
  • (1) Printed Guide
  • (1) Carrying Sleeve

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 56 out of 65 (86%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fargo ND Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC HD Enclosure January 18, 2015 This enclosure was a good price and allowed me to reuse my old HD as an external drive for my MacBookPro.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New England Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy solution January 13, 2015 I replaced the oem drive in my MacBook 5,1. When I purchased the SSD I included this enclosure in the purchase so that the old drive could serve as the backup drive for the MacBook.

Installing the old drive into this enclosure was just a case of placing the drive onto the cradle molded into the bottom section of the enclosure and then snapping the top section of the enclosure back into place. Extremely simple, extremely quick. And perfect for this application.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A genuine bargain enclosure January 12, 2015 I was initially taken aback by this all plastic external enclosure, but after using it a while I have ordered two more like it but this time with the USB 3 port. I have not detected any heat problems and with the drive installed it feels quite substantial in the hand. It is very simple in design, installing a drive takes 3 minutes tops, and it works reliably. I have always been suspicious of products that seemed too inexpensive, but in this case, I have to say it is a genuine bargain.

My sole reason for four rather than five stars in the rating is USB2 speeds, but that was a choice I made and not truly a failing of the product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Handy and inexpensive January 9, 2015 Upgraded a 2009 MacBook Pro using a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and then installed the old drive in this enclosure. A very inexpensive and handy use of the original HDD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ft Lauderdale Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 necessary item to transition to SSD December 15, 2014 This was helpful in making my transition from regular HD to SSD. I could not have made it happen without this item.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works fine ... what else could you want? November 20, 2014 Just a basic case for a SATA drive. Gives that drive that you just removed from your MacBook (to upgrade to a larger drive) a new purpose in life as a very function and compact external drive. Trivial to install a HD in this case and it works. What else could you ask for? Great value, great performance, get one!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Antonio, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great little housing. Light, small, reliable. November 14, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: surprise, az Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great enclosure for the price November 2, 2014 videos were a great help in installing a solid state drive and utilizing this enclosure

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised October 28, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newhall, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for Second Drive September 16, 2014 Just as described. Easy to install drive and works perfectly. BUY IT!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Was as described August 28, 2014 Was as described

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Barnz63 Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Sleek and easy to assemble July 20, 2014 I like these external drive enclosures. They are small, easy to put a laptop hard drive in and look great. I have several of these and all work flawlessly. Easy to fit into a laptop carrying case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Giaco Location: giaco51@verizon.net Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Does the trick June 22, 2014 Simple, inexpensive solution for hard drive and SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 great mobile unit July 31, 2013 smal light and great when I need XP out at the RC field.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: UberTweaker Location: Los Angeles Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Ok, for what it is. May 14, 2012 And what it is is inexpensive. The case is made entirely of plastic with an aluminum paint job, and it feels like it. There is no shock mounting or any kind to support the drive, in fact my drive rattled around a bit so I added a small strip of foam tape to hold it in place. The good news: It is simple to assemble. The finish is decent for painted plastic, it looks OK and certainly is light. Serious users might prefer an enclosure actually made of aluminum, such as the PHR-S250CC by Mccally, of course expect to pay two or three times as much for the higher quality, all metal designs. I am an OWC fan, however, this is not their best effort.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: cwkjai Location: Singapore Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Fits well, looks good :) April 23, 2012 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: iluvsnO Location: Japan Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Slick February 16, 2012 This enclosure is pleasing to the eye and for something so simple, feels good in the hand as well. Build quality is good and it's very straight forward in regards to inserting your external into it. Good stuff as usual from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Reviewer: SSuhr Location: Elgin, IL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Looks Great ...Easy to use! May 11, 2011 Besides looking great and comfortably fitting in my purse, OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 2.0 Enclosure also is so easy to use and great for storing and transferring my files… wherever they may need to go.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Discreet Black.

Reviewer: JonG Location: Illinois Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Extremely portable and is exactly what I needed. May 11, 2011 As someone has a bunch of hobbies that I work on all the time with multiple computers around my house, this solution has been great to me. With the 250GB hard drive that I installed I have enough room to move around my projects from room to room unlike my USB flash drive. Overall exactly what I needed to move my files around.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 2.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs - Discreet Black.

Reviewer: BigEd Location: Detroit, MI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Easy to install drive but cheap feeling February 24, 2011 Hello, I bought this enclosure for a drive I had laying around. Installation of the drive took 60 seconds and it worked perfectly. I like that it has ventallation on the sides. It does appear to be a bit cheap, though. Looks metal in the pics but it's just painted and textured plastic. Still a nice enclosure.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 2.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Smooth White.

OWC Express USB 2.0 640GB Portable Storage Solution Mfr P/N: ESU2M640GBS OWC SKU: OWCESU2M640GBS Compact, Bus-Powered, Boot Compatible storage for home, office, school, and on the go! 2 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.99OWC Price $39.88
Add to CartOther World Computing ESU2M640GBS In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Colors & Capacities: Enclosure Only
  • Silver
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $14.99
    • Cyber Saver $8.98
Hard Drive Models
  • 640GB Silver
  • 1.0TB Silver
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • Cyber Saver $54.88