Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC

Aura Pro X
2.0TB SSD Upgrade Solution for MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display (Late 2013 - Mid 2015) and MacBook Air (Mid 2013 -Mid 2017)

Mac
Complete Internal Flash/SSD Drive Upgrade Kit with Tools & OWC Envoy Pro Enclosure
Discover the Incredible Power of X
The best just got better
The newest member of OWC's Aura family of high performance drives sets the new gold standard SSD upgrade for PCIe equipped Macs, with guaranteed compatibility and capacity to spare. Featuring up to 2.3x faster performance and more efficient power management for longer battery life, the new Aura Pro X raises the bar again.
Designed for High Sierra
Designed for macOS 10.13 High Sierra and beyond, the new Aura Pro X SSDs support the advanced features of APFS, including strong encryption, copy-on-write metadata, space sharing, file and directory cloning, snapshots, fast directory sizing, atomic safe-save primitives, and improved file system fundamentals.
Cutting edge flash technology
Not all flash is created equal. The new Aura Pro X is manufactured with latest 3D MLC NAND flash, delivering superb dependability and unmatched speed. Up to 2.3x faster, it's the perfect upgrade for your PCIe-equipped Mac.
Take the factory SSD with you
The OWC Aura Pro X upgrade kit includes the award-winning Envoy Pro SSD enclosure, allowing you to easily repurpose the factory-installed Mac Pro SSD as an elegant aluminum-body USB 3.0 external drive for incredible portable performance.1
Do it yourself
Upgrading the PCIe-based SSD in your Mac is a simple DIY job. The upgrade kit includes all the tools you need. Our comprehensive, free video installation guides mean an OWC expert is there to walk you through every step of the upgrade.
Guaranteed compatibility, no hassles or hacks
Aura PCIe-based flash storage upgrades are engineered specifically for your Mac, so you're never forced to compromise your data. No complicated software hacks or TRIM-enablers needed just to get the most from your upgrade. Install, migrate your data, and experience performance like never before and up to eight times more capacity.
Upgrade Easy with OWC
The OWC Aura Pro X upgrade kit comes complete with everything you need for a simple DIY upgrade. And OWC's comprehensive, free install videos guide you through the process step-by-step. Upgrading your Mac with OWC couldn't be easier.
The quality you depend on
Aura SSDs are proudly designed in Austin,TX, and are backed by an OWC limited warranty as well as a lifetime of free, award-winning USA-based support.
1.The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure is specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD installed in select Apple Macintosh computers. Do NOT attempt to install or use OWC Aura or Aura Pro X SSDs in the Envoy Pro as you may damage the OWC drive, the enclosure, or both, and such damage is not covered under warranty.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Aura Pro X SSD Specifications:

Specifications

NAND
3D MLC NAND Flash
Capacity 1
2000GB useable capacity
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
OS Requirements
macOS 10.13 High Sierra or later
Host Requirements 3
Must upgrade to macOS 10.13 or later, prior to installation
Bootcamp Support
Yes

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Reads
(Compressible Data)
up to 1352MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Compressible Data)
up to 1066MB/s
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
  3. macOS 10.13 and later versions include an EFI (firmware) update that adds support for the Aura Pro X to the host computer. If you do not first update the host firmware by installing macOS 10.13 or later onto the existing SSD, the Aura Pro X will not function properly once installed.


Envoy Pro Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • OS
    • OS X 10.3 or later
    • Windows XP or later
    • Linux OS with support for USB 3.0
  • Driver
    • Driver not required

Hardware Requirements

  • Mac or PC featuring USB 3.0 interface

Bootability

  • Any Mac that supports booting via USB

Interface (Chipset)

  • (1) USB 3.0 Micro-B (PLX USB 3380)

Performance

  • Up to 500 MB/s Read and Write
  • Note(s)
    • Speeds will vary based on drives used, setup, and other factors.

Power

  • Operation
    • Bus-powered via USB port
  • Note(s)
    • Requires USB 3.0 standard powered port. USB 2.0 use not supported or recommended.

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Dependent on mechanism installed
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Dependent on mechanism installed

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 2.1 in (5.3 cm)
  • Length: 4.5 in (11.4 cm)

Weight (without drive)

  • 3.4 oz (96.4 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3DAPB4MB20K UPC#: 812437028164

Gallery

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
Detailed specs Coming Soon
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz

Includes

  • Aura Pro X SSD
  • Tools
  • Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • USB 3.1 Gen 1 (Type-A to Micro-B cable)
  • Envoy Pro Carrying Case
  • Envoy Pro User Guide
  • Installation Guide for MacBook Air (Mid-2013 - 2017), MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 - Mid 2015)

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 25 out of 25 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NPRanger Location: Jax, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product and Great Support August 28, 2018 The drive came promptly and with the needed tools for installation. I'm not a very experience computer repair person, in fact I was a bit anxious in the beginning. After viewing the install videos, which were awesome and very helpful, I felt confident to proceed. The install went smoothly and step by step according to the instructions, which were precise and understandable. The moment of truth came and I powered up the laptop. To my pleasant surprise it went through the steps as the instruction had said and finally powered up and has been working fine ever since. I like having the external case and converted the old HDD to a handy external storage device. Thank you OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Felimar2day Location: Waynesboro, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product works very well. August 26, 2018 I purchased this and have a friend installed it but did not work okay. Chatted with JoeM your office and said that there are procedures to follow. I went to a computer expert and installed it and working in less than 2-hopurs. The item works like a charm. Gave this like-new computer to my son. He was ecstatic and very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jeffthechef64
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised. Much needed upgrade August 23, 2018 I was woking with my small 128gb ssd for the last few years. I should have upgraded years ago instead of fighting with the little space I had.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TonYama Location: São Paulo, SP, Brazil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation. August 20, 2018 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mhvdboog Location: Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Cheap way to upgrade a macbook air August 15, 2018 My wife's macbook air was running out of space. The limited 128Gb fills up quickly and I purchased double the capacity and the hard drive enclosure so I could clone the disk. Installation is very straight forward although I forgot to unplug the battery but it didn't seem to have caused any damage. I first installed the new drive and put the existing drive in the enclosure. I tested the enclosure with a different laptop and it worked. I had MacOS 10.13 installed previously on the macbook air so the hard drive should be recognised. Booting the macbook air with the external drive plugged in USB and holding the option key didn't not show the external drive. But after unplugging and plugging back in the external drive appeared. Using carbon copy cloner I simply copied the drive and after this was finished booted back up. It all works flawlessly! Very happy with the price and the result.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 10ThumbsKen Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Definitely 5 Star! August 3, 2018 Product is everything that I hoped it would be. Installation and info migration was easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: spence101 Location: MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 great disk, Apple is behind... July 13, 2018 This drive worked great, but unfortunately not in the computer I intended to put it in - the one I purchased the battery for turns out to be a rare late 2013 model that can't recognize this drive - and Apple hasn't yet got a fix.

It worked flawlessly in a different, slightly newer machine, so the drive was fine, it was my computer that caused the issue. OWC originated an RMA immediately with no questions, so thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: pebceb Location: Kingston, Ontario Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Kit July 11, 2018 I really like my new SSD. Great to have that extra speed and space.

Physical installation itself was easy but there was a tricky bit as even though I was on High Sierra my firmware wasn't updated. This meant formatting and reinstalling High Sierra on my Macbook SSD before I could get the drive recognized. Tech support was great though and got me through it.

I received an enclosure with some issues but OWC have already shipped a replacement free of charge, Again, great customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: graphius Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 works great July 7, 2018 I initially had some issues wth the drive not being recognized. OWC customer service was awesome and got me on my feet. My MacBook Pro how has way more storage. I don't know if I will really use the external case much, but it is nice to have.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BeechFlyer Location: Cedar Rapids, IA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install, works great June 28, 2018 I bought this SSD to double the storage size of my MacBook Pro (12,1, early 2015). Watched the install video, then installed High Sierra on a freshly formatted drive. Everything works very well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: casenxu
Rating: 5/5 Great Product June 15, 2018 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: K4LK Location: St. Petersburg, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Aura Pro X is a great replacement for Apple's SSD June 15, 2018 Two years ago, I tried the OWC Aura SSD in my mid-2014 retina MBP (which came with a 512G SSD) but it really wan't fully compatible with the Mac, a dual-boot enabler was needed and bootcamp wasn't supported. I returned it. Fast forward 2 years, I discovered the Aura Pro X was available. I read over the description and tech specs and looked like it would work for me. It arrived formatted in HFS with a cool looking ICON. I cloned the Apple SSD and tried to convert it to APFS but that didn't work. I formatted it in APFS and re-cloned the Apple SSD. Unfortunately, I lost the cool icon. Anyway, fast forward today, the Mac is running macOS 10.14 Mojave on the main partition and Windows 10 on the bootcamp partition. Works great and is very fast. Thanks for reading.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rozaimi
Rating: 5/5 Working great and excellent June 13, 2018 So far, it works fine. Worth for money

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mf2forever Location: Indonesia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent and faster ssd June 10, 2018 Easy to install, no problem found. Install the ssd, format as APFS, install High Sierra with easy. Faster than default ssd on MacBook Air 11 2014.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ralfie Location: Melbourne Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New SSD June 6, 2018 I researched and found I could upgrade my MacBook Pro hard drive to 2TB and repurpose the existing 128GB. Its breathed new life into my MacBook Pro and will keep it going for a long time to come. Instructions from OWC was excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Curtterp Location: Northern IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm - Had a couple of hiccups, but resolved them May 20, 2018 I wanted to buy a new MacBook Pro this year, but I didn't get as much of a bonus I thought I would get.

I have a MBP Late 2013 model that I purchased new in 2014. For the past 18 months, the 512gb hard drive has been giving me wanting so low memory. I purchased more iCloud space to try to alleviate the problem and that worked for about 9 months or so, but started to struggle again. I deleted a few things, but wasn't happy about it.

I had been thinking about the Aura Pro, but then OWC released the Pro X. After a few more months of thinking, I decided to purchase it with the Envoy Pro for the stock SSD.

In preparation, I made a macOS installer USB drive. When I got the Aura Pro X yesterday, after lunch, I sat down to install it.

15 Minutes - Completed installation of the Aura Pro X and the Apple SSD into the Evoy Pro

15 minutes - Completed installation of macOS on the MBP.

1.5 hour - Completed the migration assistant of the data from the stock SSD.

1st glitch - For some reason, the laptop decided to freeze every minute or so for about 30 seconds. It took about 10 minutes of waiting, a couple of restarts, a couple of cold boots, and it just started to run perfectly again.

2nd glitch - The latest software security update from about a month ago wanted to reinstall, but it would free on the restart. I restarted a couple of times within going through the installation, then told it to install. Guess what, it installed.

3rd glitch - iTunes didn't want to start because the database was newer than iTunes. A couple of minutes researching the issue on the web revealed that if I trashed 2 files, it would rebuild. I did the recommend fix, then iTunes ran, and then wanted to update. Updated just fine.

I think that all three glitches were just the macOS trying to work out a couple of incompatabilities after the migration assistant ran. I don't think that it was because of the Aura Pro X, because it has been running fine ever since.

I did have to reactivate some programs (Office 365), but that is something I expected from migrating to my iMac from Mac mini last year.

This was a very good experience, and if you are on the fence about this upgrade, pull the trigger, You will not be disappointed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnF Location: Massachussets Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy upgrade to my 2013 MB Pro May 8, 2018 I ordered this disk as an upgrade to my MB Pro. I had run out of room on my original 240 GB module and needed to keep stuff on the laptop. I work a lot with RAW photos which take a lot of space. Everything worked as advertised and I had no issues installing the device.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: abetheman Location: Pleasanton, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent replacement to Apple's proprietary SSD design April 20, 2018 Good product. Easy to install and get it up and running. Just follow the steps by searching on the internet. Only glitch with this delivery was that the special screwdrivers needed to open the Macbook which should have been included wasn't. But I called them and they corrected it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: David10 Location: Florida Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade Combined with Great Customer Service April 4, 2018 Spoke with their Rep prior to ordering my SSD upgrade. Glad I did, they provided great insight and steps to make the process easier. I went with the Pro X and the speed boost even over Apple factory SSD has been great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: calienteEngineer
Rating: 4/5 Works great, perfect fit March 26, 2018 The SSD was a perfect fit and the video instructions were pretty easy to follow. I would give it 5 starts except that one of the tools they sent was incorrect. The T5 screw driver didn't fit the screw holding the original SSD. Luckily I had a T5 (which seems smaller in size that the one they sent) and worked fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center March 27, 2018 I am very sorry to hear about an incorrect tool being sent. Feel free to contact us at 1-800-275-4576 and we'll be happy to assist you!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jacek Location: Gdynia, Poland, Europe Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 This is excellent! March 25, 2018 The product is fine, as offered. Price was good. Communication excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RTWO Location: Terre Haute, Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works just as advertised March 15, 2018 Product (1TB Macbook Pro SSD upgrade) works great! Installation was easy. Tools came with it and the external case that came with it allow me to reuse the old SSD. Only time will tell on the durability of the device, but I have no reason to expect anything less than fantastic performance. My drive was FULL! Macbook is usable again.

Excellent product so far and great experience. Thanks MacSales.com!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Richard1975 Location: McKinney, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Extended the Life of MacBook Air March 5, 2018 My wife owns an early 2014 MacBook Air. We couldn’t upgrade the RAM in that model so we bought the Aura SSD. It sped up the machine to where we don’t need to buy a new Air/Pro like we had planned. Very good product and great customer support. I had an issue when installing the new SSD and the support team walked me through everything. Would definitely recommend doing business with Mac sales.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LarryE Location: philly Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 480gb OWC Aura Pro x SSD upgrade February 19, 2018 This should be an easy install. Especially if you are someone that has built many PCs, upgraded harddrives and memory in many MACs and PCs. The actual install of the hardware was very easy for me. Getting it working was not. OWC support was there to help. Took three calls to get this finally up and running. Support staff know this is not easy to get going. Seems Apple does not allow 3rd party memory. So it makes for a difficult install. The first issue was updating the Apple installed memory to High Sierra. IT IS HIGHLY SUGGESTED YOU HAVE A WIRED INTERNET CONNECTION and long with a wall connection for power. Got stuck in a time loop while on WiFi. The second issue was with the machine "finding" the memory so it can be formatted once it was installed. Several reboots needed to get Apple to "detect" the new SSD. Installing High Sierra to the new SSD is tricky. Got an error "Server could not be contacted". This required a command in terminal: "sudo ntpdate -u time.apple.com". Seems the machine looses time. The recovery of high sierra to the newly installed went well. Once booted, connect the old memory now in the new case to the computer. Use Migration Assistant to move your apps and data. This also failed a few times. Migration Assistant had trouble calculating what it was moving over. Once that was sorted out, a few hours later and presto! Done. Unit seems to be working just fine. This is day two... Lets hope it stays that way. And a reminder to backup, backup, backup, your data and apps!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: rodero Location: Daniel Boone National Forest Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent improvement for older MacBook Air February 14, 2018 My employer purchased this for the 2013 MB Air it provides for home and road work. The install was very easy (with the extra kit that includes an enclosure for the Apple original SSD and the two screw drivers). Before install I made a boot USB flash drive with High Sierra following Apple’s online instructions. The videos that OWC/macsales provides are excellent. I had no problems. The Mac started up after the install and detected the USB asking if I wanted to install the OS. The OS installation was simple. Next, I plugged in the enclosure that held my old Apple SSD and used migration assistant to migrate my files. There were no glitches; however, if you use iCloud to store (or share) your Desktop and Documents (as I do), you may need to leave the machine alone for a while. iCloud will try to update a lot of files. My fan ran for quite a time as the transfers were running. Temps never reached over 200F. The temps have been stable (max 130F), and the CPU usage is back to normal since iCloud updates have completed. You may also find that after you have reinstalled all your files that a full shutdown will settle things out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacCapacity Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2nd time is the charm February 12, 2018 I had significant performance issues after my first install (I directly formatted the drive in APFS format from disk utility under High Sierra). I called support and they were extremely helpful. For the second install, they suggested that I format the drive with HFS using disk utility and then let the High Sierra installer re-format using APFS. I have been using the drive for a week and the performance (and new capacity) is great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VeteranUser Location: Columbia Cross Roads, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation. Huge upgrade to my MacBook Pro February 8, 2018 Doubling my SSD from 500GB to 1TB is cool, but getting a complete kit to turn my original 500GB SSD to an external drive was beyond cool. Thank you for the recommendations and your speed in processing my order. This was so easy to upgrade to more, faster storage with the latest technology. I am very pleased.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KenH72 Location: Boerne, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product for the money. February 5, 2018 I had an all familiar problem of running out of ssd space. I got twice as much storage for a very reasonable price. The instructions made it very easy to transfer the contents; I didn’t need to use a backup,which is very hard to do if you have run out of storage space. Very satisfied customer; recommend highly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Llaslo Location: Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic product and support February 1, 2018 I purchased this for my macbook pro, and product / packaging was exactly as desscribed. I ran into one minor install issue due to High Sierra, but I got right through to a tech support person who helped me fix it in under 5 minutes. She was professional and incredibly helpful. I would buy from them any time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Thanaphon Location: Bangkok, Thailand Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product has very cool! January 2, 2018 very fast delivery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MarkMI Location: Novi,MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Adding 1TB was easy! January 1, 2018 OWC instructional videos helped a lot in installing the 1TB SSD. I ordered the SSD kit with tools and I am glad I did, because the screws are so small you need a magnifying glass to see what screw driver to use. Since the kit has the correct sized screw drivers for each screw I knew if one did not fit the other one would be the correct one to use. After the SSD was installed installing the OS was easy using the USB fresh install method. Then I used the time machine to transfer all the other files. The .Mac Book Pro seems faster now but I never did a speed test prior to installing the new Aura Pro X. The only issue I had was getting over the price OUCH! PS; I called Apple to see if upgrading to the larger HD would void my warranty and I was told it does not affect the warranty.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Michele Location: New York, NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 The product is good, but there were many complications December 4, 2017 Changing my SSD drive was much more complicated than just swapping it out. I didn't know I had to upgrade my laptop to High Sierra and I had to reformat the SSD drive. There were other issues along the way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center December 27, 2017 We do apologize about any complications with the installation of your new drive. This drive does utilize a NVMe controller, which Apple just started supporting with OS 10.13, which is why the drive requires 10.13 to be installed previously. If you do have any trouble with the Aura Pro X, please let us know at https://www.owcdigital.com/support or 800-275-4576 and we'll be happy to help!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jase Location: Las Vegas, NV Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great November 24, 2017 This is the first time that I have changed out the hard drive in my MacBook Pro. Everything was simple and straight forward except when it came to formatting the hard drive. macOS recovery defaults Disk Utility to only formatted drives, you have to change it to all items, quit and reopen the utility. My only complaint is that it took hours of searching to find this tied bit of information.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: chrism229 Location: Nova Scotia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Simple installation November 23, 2017 Replacing the SSD is very easy. It took a little while to get Disk Utility to show the unformatted SSD once installed, but after that it was plain sailing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

OWC Aura Pro X 2.0TB SSD Upgrade Solution for MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display (Late 2013 - Mid 2015) and MacBook Air (Mid 2013 -Mid 2017) Mfr P/N: S3DAPB4MB20K OWC SKU: OWCS3DAPB4MB20K High performance NVME flash upgrade solution, including tools & enclosure. For select 2013 and later MacBook Air and MacBook Pro 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $1,079.99
Add to CartOther World Computing S3DAPB4MB20K In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $279.99
    • OWC Price $229.99
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.99
    • OWC Price $319.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $599.99
    • OWC Price $529.99
  • 2.0TB