Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro Portable Drives (USB 3.0)

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSDs items available.

OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 External, Bus-Powered Enclosure Solution

0GB for Apple MacBook Air 2010 & 2011 Flash Drive (SSD)

Mac / PC / USB 3.0, 2.0 & 1.1
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 2010-2011 MacBook Air Enclosure Kit packs an incredible punch into a 3" W x 5.5" L x 1" H 11 ounce package!
After making your 2010-2011 MacBook Air better than new with an OWC Mercury Aura® Pro Express SSD, "re-task" the replaced Apple factory flash storage by installing it into this OWC Mercury On-The-Go Enclosure Solution for immediate use as a high performance, bus powered external drive.

Everything's included for an easy 2-step installation:
  • Plug the factory SSD module into the special SATA adapter already installed in the OWC Enclosure Solution.
  • Attach the other end of the factory SSD module to the mounting stanchion secured to the OWC enclosure's drive bay.
Just two simple steps, less than two minutes, and no special tools needed to transform your factory SSD into fast and reliable external storage capacity!
The OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 enclosure solution provides an ultra-portable, totally bus powered design to reuse your Apple factory SSD. Key features include:
  • Mac and PC compatible
  • Compact size: 3.5"(W) x 5.5"(D) x 1"(H)
  • Lightweight: 11 ounces empty case
  • Bus powered or may be powered with AC adapter
  • Fully utilize the MacBook Air SSD's 200MB/s speed capability via USB 3.0 which offers speeds up to 500MB/s
  • Super quiet fanless operation
  • Clear, shock resistant polycarbonate acrylic case design
  • Includes carrying case, all interface connection cables, and one year complete solution warranty
*IMPORTANT NOTE: The OWC Mercury On-The-Go enclosure has been specifically designed for use ONLY with the factory SSD found installed in Apple MacBook Air 2010 and 2011 models. Do NOT attempt to install or use the OWC Aura SSD in the Envoy as you can damage the Aura drive, the Envoy enclosure or both and such damage is not covered under warranty. To transfer data from the Apple SSD in the Envoy to the Aura SSD in the computer, please visit this link (http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/format2011/)"

Includes

Mercury On-The-Go includes
  • OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 storage solution
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 certified connecting cable
  • Carrying Case
  • Special SATA Adapter
  • Plastic Riser
  • On-The-Go Pro Manual
  • OWC 1 Year Warranty

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bus Interface

  • USB 3.0 / 2.0 & 1.1 Backwards compatible port.

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1051e USB 3.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

  • Specifically made for 2010-2011 MacBook Air SSDs, but when adapter is removed, will work with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD up to 2.2TB in capacity and up to 12.5mm in size. Use of 12.5mm size drives requires Installation Support Kit.

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 - 5.0 Gbit/s (or 500 MB/sec)
  • USB 2.0 - 60MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including ‘Lion’ 10.7.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on most computers with USB 3.0 port factory stock.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)

  • * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.5" (W) x 5.5" (D) x 1" (H)
  • 88.9mm x 139.7mm x 25.4mm

Unit Weight (no mechanism)

  • 0.40lbs. (0.18kg)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

MTBF (hours)

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCSSDAPOTGU3 UPC#: 736211771056

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 200 out of 214 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Just Like It Should! June 25, 2015 I have purchased a number of items from OWC over the years. From memory to internal and external disk drives, cables and accessories. Most, if not all have, been exactly as advertised. This is my second Mercury On The Go drive. It works exactly as advertised and as expected it should, and my older one is still chugging along. Powers up just fine on my mid-2015 MBP . I used it to back up my 2006 Mac Pro before selling it and moving on to Yosemite on two MBP's. Transferred data to my new laptops from the Mac Pro, which was running 10.7.5 and all went just fine.

What can you say about an external drive? It just works. The included software is really not of any use to me, but there are options built in to leave it, copy it to your main drive, etc.. So, no big deal.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great, just like you said it would June 10, 2015 Works great, just like you said it would. And the sales rep lady was absolutely fabulous and went overboard to help us solve our problems. Thanks, We appreciate it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubois, Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very dependable backup solution June 8, 2015 I've owned this drive since May of 2011, and have used it with a Macbook Pro as a Time Machine backup drive. Never had any problems with it, and it still works great after over four years of use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WMass Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 best little external drive April 19, 2015 Hefty in construction, lithe in size and shape, quiet, bus-powered, warranty.... what more do you need? This is the third Mercury On-the-Go USB drive I've bought from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: philly Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Drive March 27, 2015 great drive. use it for weekly backups. Works great. NIce bag for storage when not in use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Amazing March 20, 2015 Compliments my late 2013 Mac Pro. My goal is to run all SSDs since spinning hard drives can be stressful when you're traveling. I love the speed, quality and assurance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works Great February 26, 2015 Very happy with the On-The-Go USB 3.0 2TB drive. It loses a star because the connector is a little vulnerable to carelessness (read; I messed it up a bit). But overall, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent Product February 24, 2015 Works as advertised. Easy installation, attractive product, excellent packaging and shipped in a timely fashion.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rock City Falls, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Enclosure! February 21, 2015 I had to remove and re-install a bunch of drives into this case because I was using it to recover data from a couple of failing drives as well as for backing up (cloning) my main laptop drive and finally installing a drive that I will use permanently in this enclosure for backup. I must have removed and installed a drive from the enclosure about twenty times over a period of a week or so. My analysis? This is a very high quality enclosure at a great price that I would recommend to anyone. It just works and that's what I expected from OWC. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best 2.5'' external case available February 5, 2015 The only thing that would make this better is if it had e-sata like the metal ones they sell , by the way the metal one with e-sata is the fastest external with their SSD in it that I can find .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best portable drive February 5, 2015 I purchased one of these and found it to be an excellent portable package. It is much better than the cheep portable products I bought which failed and the drive could not be replaced. It is easy to use and carry when I travel. I like it so much that I bought one for my daughter and one for a friend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Prairie Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 A good case... January 26, 2015 My second case like this. That says it. If I didn't like the first one, I wouldn't have bought another. I do like metal cases better, but maybe they aren't made now. Cooling issues have changed I guess.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice drive January 22, 2015 Nice drive. Formatted easily and works fine. Installed easy in my MBP 15". Extra drive is nice and sturdy for the old drive. Not sure if it is much faster than my old drive but I have lots more space.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Workhorse of an Enclosure January 12, 2015 I have lost count of the number of drives that have cycled through this enclosure over the years since I bought it. It has served as an emergency backup drive, and enclosure to hold internal drives that have been upgraded until they could be "migrated" to the new drive or new computer, to transport large amounts of data that would not fit on an SD card or thumb drive, temporary boot drive when running beta software, etc. Through it all the enclosure has been absolutely trouble free, dead bang reliable, and fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chile Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 All around SSD January 3, 2015 After replacing all the internal HDD of my Mac Pro for SSD´s, I was looking to have an external SSD to move heavy files around and to be able to do it as fast as possible. This SSD is not only reliable but very fast. Avg. I´m getting 200 MB/s write and 340 MB/s read speeds.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Evergreen, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The HD is fine, but s/w is not. January 3, 2015 The HD seems to work as advertised but the s/w that came the with it is not easy to use. I ended up buying Carbon Copy Cloner which use to come with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's fast quiet and very portable December 5, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Value November 30, 2014 This is a very well made unit that does exactly what I wanted it to. Fast and reliable, it goes on the road with me and functions flawlessly. Definitely recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 7200RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 So far, so good October 28, 2014 I currently use external drives for the majority of my motion projects (animation, editing, vfx). So far, OWC's drives have worked very well. I always have a good experience with OWC and hope they continue to thrive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Macgeorge
Rating: 5/5 Very good October 19, 2014 Excellent way to return life to an old Mac Book. Works well and sped up computer performance that we decided to keep the old computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good Product October 19, 2014 Works perfectly x 2 weeks. Really sped up the performance of the old laptop so much, we decided to keep it instead of selling it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 320GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, ME Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Compact Portable October 13, 2014 Using my "On the Go" to back up one of my external drives. Easy to use. OWC listened to what I wanted a back-up to do and made this recommendation. Have been very happy with it so far. Comes with it's own case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Upstate NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Deal September 26, 2014 The drive holds a huge amount of info at a reasonable price. The fact that it's USB powered means one less power cord hanging down the back of my desk. Backing up is way cheaper than getting files off a crashed hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 5400RPM Portable Bus Powered Solution..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Lincoln, Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition September 20, 2014 Needed to add an SSD drive as a backup. Easy to add the SSD drive to the unit and had the drive up and running in minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA NoteBook HDs.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alamo CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 No problems, and it’s very cute September 14, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB SSD OWC Mercury On-The-Go Pro USB 3.0 / 2.0 SSD Portable Bus Powered Solution..
OWC 0GB Mercury On-The-Go USB 3.0 External, Bus-Powered Enclosure Solution Mfr P/N: OWCSSDAPOTGU3 OWC SKU: OWCSSDAPOTGU3 for Apple MacBook Air 2010 & 2011 Flash Drive (SSD) 1 Year Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities & Kits: 5400 RPM Hard Drive Models
  • 640GB
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $69.99
    • Cyber Saver $68.88
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.99
    • OWC Price $79.88
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Cyber Saver $99.88
7200 RPM Hard Drive Models
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.99
    • Cyber Saver $104.88
Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.99
    • Cyber Saver $29.75
Solid-State Drive Models
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.99
    • OWC Price $64.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $89.99
    • OWC Price $79.00
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • OWC Price $114.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $229.99
    • OWC Price $209.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $379.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $919.99
    • OWC Price $879.00