Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

65 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
65 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1322

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 186 out of 194 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dumfries, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Minutes to Install January 31, 2016 Took minutes to install. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Easy! January 25, 2016 All tools were included. Packaging was good.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, Tx Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Works Perfectly January 24, 2016 The installation of the replacement battery was extremely simple with the video tutorials provided by the website.

My 13" Macbook Pro was suffering to keep charge longer than 2 hours before the replacement. After I installed this battery the perfomance went back up to about 10 hours before needing to be put on the charger and about 2.5 days of idle time as well.

Buy with confidence!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Hampshire Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product performed very well January 18, 2016 This product performed well and was delivered on time

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good battery and easy to install January 16, 2016 My MBP 2010 had 997 cycles on it. This was easy to install and came with all the tools. I'm happy with it's performance and now my MBP doesn't have to be tethered to the charging cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: VA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect January 14, 2016 Works better than the original. No need to buy the cheap generic batteries from other places, buy this and have something that actually performs. The included tools are a nice touch.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Hollywood, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Only place to get laptop batteries January 13, 2016 Just when you think you're going to throw your laptop across the room because the battery has to constantly be charged, buy one from OWC and save your sanity and your laptop. The battery fits exactly as if it were new and I no longer have plug in before the day is half over. Totally worth the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ew Jersey Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 2/5 Fine while it lasted. Just past the warranty that is... January 7, 2016 Purchased this battery 15 months ago (12 month warranty). It was fine while it lasted, however just past the warranty period it's bulged to the point where the trackpad no longer works, so not only does it not hold a charge for more than 15 minutes, it's rendered the trackpad useless. Contact OWC's support who's only answer is whether I needed help choosing another battery. Thanks very much for that. The battery is disappointing if we are to accept a 15 month life span and the company certainly does not deserve my business if that's their attitude. This is a $100 battery. I prefer to buy a cheapie from Amazon at half the price because if it fails after 15 months, I'll buy another one and have 30 months of battery life for the cost of this one's 15 months. Sorry OWC, you are the kind of company I don't do business with. I hope you have the honesty to allow this post. Beware of companies that sell products that barely pass their warranty periods.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support January 25, 2016 If you do find that a battery has started to bulge, discontinue use and remove it from your laptop. NuPower batteries are designed so that if swelling should occur, the case expansion should not damage the computer the battery resides in. Swelling of lithium ion batteries, while rare, is a natural occurrence. This applies even to batteries such as NuPower that utilize the highest quality manufacturing processes and materials. Thermal runaway can happen to any laptop battery, but that risk is increased when not providing the laptop proper airflow or by keeping the laptop plugged in all the time. We do offer a full line of laptop stands, some with active cooling, to lift that laptop off your desk and ensure proper airflow. When away from a table or desk, take care to position your laptop so you’re not cutting off essential airflow, such as resting on a pillow, blanket, or a comforter. Additionally, don’t forget to "Exercise" your battery once a month. To exercise your battery, run your computer on battery power until it shuts down or until you get a low battery warning. Then use your notebook as an acceptable method to charge/recharge your battery.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent choice for mid 2009 MBP battery December 18, 2015 I upgraded my 6 year old original Macbook Pro battery. Installation was a snap, and this kit even came with the Tri Wing screwdriver! I'm rather handy and I remove and replaced my battery with my 3 month old daughter in my arms (seriously) in about 15 minutes beginning to end. Super easy and can be done one handed (obviously). I've had it in for about 3 months and my battery life is back up to original and perhaps even a bit higher. I use it for hours on end but I don't really keep track of how long it lasts - at least 4 hours though.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect battery for an aging Macbook December 17, 2015 This battery perfectly replaced the aged batteries in our Late 2011 Macbook Pros. The installation process was a snap. I recommend these batteries to anyone looking to replace their older worn out batteries.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great. December 1, 2015 I bought this battery for my dad's MacBook Pro 13", which was not keeping a charge as long as it used to. After 1 month it's still getting over 6 hours of run-time. I'll be ordering one for my MacBook soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City Missouri Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as described November 17, 2015 My 2011 MacBook Pro had a battery that was losing performance. I would have to constantly plug it in at work to make sure that it was charging. It would lose charge quickly even in standby.

I chose to replace the battery. This website is great because it matches me with the battery that fits my computer. It was easy to install. And now I have tools to use for the future if needed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome OEM Replacement Battery October 31, 2015 I am getting 7+ hours per charge after 5 months of use. This battery performs as good or better than the Apple OEM battery. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunswick ME Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Perfect replacement battery October 29, 2015 This battery was for a 2009 mac book pro it fit perfectly installation was a breeze 20 mins tops lap top recognized it immediately it was up and running strait away with no hiccups whatsoever laptop has sped up considerably track pad is no longer sticking quality product at a very reasonable price

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico City Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Working perfectly October 26, 2015 I just installed this battery 10 minutes ago, It's fully compatible with early 2011 MBP's and easy as cake to install, comes with the tools for you to do the job, came already 60% charged with cycle count: 1, thank you so much for the battery, good job.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding October 25, 2015 Great product and easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Every Macbook Pro Needs One September 23, 2015 My Macbook Pro 5,5 started having battery issues after 5 years of life. I replaced the hard drive with a SSD, upgraded the RAM and bought this battery, which comes with all the tools you need. Instructions were simple. Follow the battery tips on this product's specs section (drain batter, recharge, etc.) and your battery will give you 5-6 hours of life, per charge, though I've timed it and it seems more like 7 hours when I'm working on Word and Excel with music. Also, the fan doesn't go crazy anymore when I open up photoshop or games - not sure what that's about, but I'll take it. Other people reported an issue with installation messing with the track pad -- as long as you don't over-tighten the screws, it should be fine.

PLEASE RECYCLE YOUR OLD BATTERY: Apple takes them, and I think OWC does as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NM Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent battery September 18, 2015 Like new battery life on my laptop, piece of cake to install. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Not disappointed September 13, 2015 Its kinda what i expected. Installation was a snap. Wish it had cost a little less.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix,AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Highly Recommend September 5, 2015 Always quality products when you order from OWC and this battery has been no different. Excellent value and perfect product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Quick and easy fix! September 4, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: nj Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 new battery August 24, 2015 My MBP battery needs to be replaced after 5 years. Instead of going to Apple store, I found this OWC site. Battery installation was easy. My laptop is operational again. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iceland Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 easiest installation component for mac August 24, 2015 I have a early 2011 Macbook Pro 13" (8,1) .. My orginal battery was down to 1 hour and 30 minutes, but this one seems to have about 4-5 hours battery life, I tought it would last longer, I'm not sure how long the battery life is supposed to last.. But installation was easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install. No need for a tech. August 20, 2015 Installing the battery was as easy as turning the screws with the supplied screw drivers. I surprised myself with the speed of installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iowa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Does the job August 18, 2015 Ordered a new battery for my 2010 Macbook pro 2.4 GHz 7,1 due to it not holding a charge more than an hour. I received the battery literally the next business day. Popped it in and I thought I was home free. However, pay close attention to the function of your trackpad after the installation of a new battery. The lower left hand portion of my track pad did not want to click as freely as it did prior to the installation. After a little tweaking of the screws that hold the trackpad as well as the battery, it is resolved. This is why I didn't give them the full five stars... Otherwise, the battery seems to be doing it job. I guess I'll see in a few months!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 65 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU65V OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU65V 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $109.00Cyber Saver $94.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP13MBU65V In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.