Home » Batteries

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Batteries items available.

We recommend NuPower 74 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery (Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU74V) from Newer Technology for $89.75 as a suitable alternative.

65 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
65 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1322

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 187 out of 195 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great battery and installation kit April 5, 2016 I installed the battery in about half an hour with the included tools and instructions! A piece of cake, yet again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa Fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice Product! April 1, 2016 I bought this battery for a 2009 MacBook Pro. It was amazing how easy it was to change battery out. The directions are crystal clear and included the required screw driver to open the case!

I was also impressed with he shipping container and how ell the battery was packed for shipment.

Highly recommend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OKC, OK Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 easy and works fantastically March 7, 2016 This was super easy to install and stays charged longer than my original battery did when my Macbook was brand new.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: sarasota Fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great March 1, 2016 My battery arrived on schedule. It came with 2 screwdrivers & I followed the directions & now it works like new. It was really very easy to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Better then original. February 22, 2016 The battery lasts longer then the original and much longer then my prior replacement battery. Combined with a SSD drive, by old MacBook Pro is a fast, quiet computer that runs for 3-5 hours unplugged.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ann Arbor, MI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Solid Replacement February 19, 2016 I got this for my Early 2011 13" Macbook Pro because I felt the battery was finally starting to go, not holding a charge for more than 1.5 to 2 hours.

Since I was swapping out several other parts, I figured I'd do the battery too. It was very easy to remove, and I believe that it holds charge slightly longer. I'm happy I bought it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tokyo Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 So far, so good! February 11, 2016 Thanks to the videos, the installation went smoothly and now my trackpad is working again (bloated battery syndrome). It has only been a little over a month, but no complaints. I give it 4 stars with the 5th star dependent on performance 2 years from now.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life! February 4, 2016 As always from OWC, another pleasant experience. This time, I was helping my neighbor who was complaining that her MBP only got about an hour of battery life and was really slow. I ordered this battery and the 8GB Memory Kit. I got it in a couple days (free freight), and the whole experience couldn't have been better. I got a fresh battery, all the tools I needed, instructions and good quality components at a very fair price. I would highly recommend to anyone who is on the fence with pulling the trigger and buying a new battery/memory.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Coast, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Battery OK, not great February 4, 2016 Although I am somewhat satisfied with this battery purchase, I'm not thrilled. I've made several purchases from OWC and everything has been great with the exception of this battery. I read all the reviews and it seemed that many people were saying how they got more time per charge than the original Apple battery and I thought great. I personally am not having that experience. Although the battery lasts a sufficient amount of time per charge, it is seems to be a shorter time per charge than my original Apple battery and it's been that way since installation.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works as advertised February 3, 2016 Rally given me flexibility in terms of standby power for times when i am not connected to power outlet. Easy to install and works as advertised

Highly recommended

ARK

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dumfries, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Minutes to Install January 31, 2016 Took minutes to install. Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Good battery; easy replacement January 25, 2016 After reasearching aftermarket batteries for 2012 MacBook Pro 13", I decided that NewerTech had the best deal out there. I was not disappointed. I'm getting about 2+ hrs more than my original battery which was errently indicating 80%, but performed much less. My battery life has jumped from < 3 hours to 5-6 hours. This was purchased on sale so was well worth it to me. Installation was easy and the 00 Phillips and Pentalobe screwdrivers were good to have with the battery. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Easy! January 25, 2016 All tools were included. Packaging was good.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Austin, Tx Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Works Perfectly January 24, 2016 The installation of the replacement battery was extremely simple with the video tutorials provided by the website.

My 13" Macbook Pro was suffering to keep charge longer than 2 hours before the replacement. After I installed this battery the perfomance went back up to about 10 hours before needing to be put on the charger and about 2.5 days of idle time as well.

Buy with confidence!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Hampshire Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product performed very well January 18, 2016 This product performed well and was delivered on time

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good battery and easy to install January 16, 2016 My MBP 2010 had 997 cycles on it. This was easy to install and came with all the tools. I'm happy with it's performance and now my MBP doesn't have to be tethered to the charging cable.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: VA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect January 14, 2016 Works better than the original. No need to buy the cheap generic batteries from other places, buy this and have something that actually performs. The included tools are a nice touch.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Hollywood, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Only place to get laptop batteries January 13, 2016 Just when you think you're going to throw your laptop across the room because the battery has to constantly be charged, buy one from OWC and save your sanity and your laptop. The battery fits exactly as if it were new and I no longer have plug in before the day is half over. Totally worth the price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ew Jersey Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 2/5 Fine while it lasted. Just past the warranty that is... January 7, 2016 Purchased this battery 15 months ago (12 month warranty). It was fine while it lasted, however just past the warranty period it's bulged to the point where the trackpad no longer works, so not only does it not hold a charge for more than 15 minutes, it's rendered the trackpad useless. Contact OWC's support who's only answer is whether I needed help choosing another battery. Thanks very much for that. The battery is disappointing if we are to accept a 15 month life span and the company certainly does not deserve my business if that's their attitude. This is a $100 battery. I prefer to buy a cheapie from Amazon at half the price because if it fails after 15 months, I'll buy another one and have 30 months of battery life for the cost of this one's 15 months. Sorry OWC, you are the kind of company I don't do business with. I hope you have the honesty to allow this post. Beware of companies that sell products that barely pass their warranty periods.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support January 25, 2016 If you do find that a battery has started to bulge, discontinue use and remove it from your laptop. NuPower batteries are designed so that if swelling should occur, the case expansion should not damage the computer the battery resides in. Swelling of lithium ion batteries, while rare, is a natural occurrence. This applies even to batteries such as NuPower that utilize the highest quality manufacturing processes and materials. Thermal runaway can happen to any laptop battery, but that risk is increased when not providing the laptop proper airflow or by keeping the laptop plugged in all the time. We do offer a full line of laptop stands, some with active cooling, to lift that laptop off your desk and ensure proper airflow. When away from a table or desk, take care to position your laptop so you’re not cutting off essential airflow, such as resting on a pillow, blanket, or a comforter. Additionally, don’t forget to "Exercise" your battery once a month. To exercise your battery, run your computer on battery power until it shuts down or until you get a low battery warning. Then use your notebook as an acceptable method to charge/recharge your battery.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent choice for mid 2009 MBP battery December 18, 2015 I upgraded my 6 year old original Macbook Pro battery. Installation was a snap, and this kit even came with the Tri Wing screwdriver! I'm rather handy and I remove and replaced my battery with my 3 month old daughter in my arms (seriously) in about 15 minutes beginning to end. Super easy and can be done one handed (obviously). I've had it in for about 3 months and my battery life is back up to original and perhaps even a bit higher. I use it for hours on end but I don't really keep track of how long it lasts - at least 4 hours though.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect battery for an aging Macbook December 17, 2015 This battery perfectly replaced the aged batteries in our Late 2011 Macbook Pros. The installation process was a snap. I recommend these batteries to anyone looking to replace their older worn out batteries.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great. December 1, 2015 I bought this battery for my dad's MacBook Pro 13", which was not keeping a charge as long as it used to. After 1 month it's still getting over 6 hours of run-time. I'll be ordering one for my MacBook soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City Missouri Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as described November 17, 2015 My 2011 MacBook Pro had a battery that was losing performance. I would have to constantly plug it in at work to make sure that it was charging. It would lose charge quickly even in standby.

I chose to replace the battery. This website is great because it matches me with the battery that fits my computer. It was easy to install. And now I have tools to use for the future if needed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome OEM Replacement Battery October 31, 2015 I am getting 7+ hours per charge after 5 months of use. This battery performs as good or better than the Apple OEM battery. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brunswick ME Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Perfect replacement battery October 29, 2015 This battery was for a 2009 mac book pro it fit perfectly installation was a breeze 20 mins tops lap top recognized it immediately it was up and running strait away with no hiccups whatsoever laptop has sped up considerably track pad is no longer sticking quality product at a very reasonable price

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 65 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU65V OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU65V 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.