Experience OWCtoberfest's monstrously amazing deals!

Unearth the savings »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

2.0TB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
With sustained reads up to 285MB/s and writes up to 275MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance, that's backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G2TB UPC#: 812437027914

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked great for Samsung 850 Evo ssd upgrade on Mac Pro 2006 June 10, 2016 Plug and play for Mac Pro 2006, replaced hard drive with Samsung SSD and worked perfectly. Just purchased another.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: maple ridge, bc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this. June 2, 2016 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this.

So simple, so straightforward, even a blind monkey can do it.

Thanks OWC for everything you've done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This piece of hardware is absolutely needed! May 23, 2016 What a piece of engineering! Without this, my SSD would flop around inside my iMac and probably short circuit all sorts of things. With this marvel of engineering, the SSD does not flop around inside my iMac and short things out!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand
Rating: 4/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be. The value when purchased with the SSD is excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Linköping, Sweden Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, great product May 15, 2016 Received the item within about a week from placing the order (shipment to Sweden). The.solid state drive was securely packaged and unharmed from the transportation. After following an OWC installation video, I had the drive up and running with minimal hassle. The drive's been working great for over a month now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Glenwood Springs, Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for an old Mac May 14, 2016 I have a small computer / software consulting business with clients who have old computers (iMacs and MacBooks). When they start complaining about slow performance and are in need of an new operating system, I recommend these Electra SSDs. Not only is it easy to find the right one for different computer models, but you provide great direction with videos so that I can make sure I'm on the right track with the installation. The drives work great for the client and the support helps me do the job quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rotorua Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great buy May 9, 2016 I haven't used this one yet (I'm looking for an affordable 1tb ssd for it) but I'm already using one and wouldn't be without it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Drome Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple and powerful upgrade May 8, 2016 Quick installation, powerful upgrade to the system! Love it. Great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ, FL, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 work like charms April 28, 2016 I bought 2 brackets: 1 for a 2.5" SSD, and 1 for a mini-adapter for a mSATA SSD. Both drives fit in the adapters without major problems (the 2.5" SSD was a slightly strained fit, but given that most of the circuitry is inside the exterior that was stressed, no apparent biggie), and both operate correctly in my MacPro 1,1. Installation onto the existing sleds was very easy. Aside from the slight strain on the data interfaces, good job on the design!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT. April 19, 2016 as described in ad description. easy installation. no glitches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Well built, works. April 14, 2016 It's a solid piece that functions perfectly as advertised. Have purchased multiple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La Jolla, CA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works exactly as advertised April 11, 2016 No issues. Works right out of the box and wicked fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 More reliable April 10, 2016 I replaced the original hard drive in my 8-year old iMac with this solid state drive. It now seems to be faster but mostly, I feel safer knowing that I now have a reliable drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: croatia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 amazing! April 5, 2016 Really speed up my iMac, late 2008!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oroville CA. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fit April 4, 2016 Perfect fit easy install very clean way to add an SSD to an older IMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product! April 2, 2016 This drive fits perfectly, does exactly what it is supposed to do! I used this bracket, along with OWC's iMac installation tool kit to upgrade my late 2009 Mac to a SSD. The install is very easy, especially using the video guidance on the OWC website. Aside from adding memory (mine was at the max), this is the biggest single improvement a person can make to up the performance and speed of an older Mac. Great products!!!

Dave

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid construction March 25, 2016 Worked perfectly in replacing the OEM hard drive with a 2.5" SSD from OWC in a mid 2011 21.5" iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great bracket for a Mac Pro 3,1 March 1, 2016 I got this bracket so I could mount an SSD in my Mac Pro 3,1 using the stock drive sled. It works perfectly! Everything lines up, and the bracket feels VERY sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: On a Mountain in the North American Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Bracket February 12, 2016 Was really impressed by how well made this converter bracket is. It's not some fragile, plastic garbage like a lot of other places are selling, it's nicely finished and sturdy metal. Came with screws and holes are perfectly tapped. Would definitely buy this product again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Totally recommend February 12, 2016 The adapter worked really well and came with everything I needed to switch over from my Internal conventional drive to SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 How to make your iMac9,2 scream again February 11, 2016 Upgraded our old 2009 iMac to the SSD along with upgrading to 8GB of memory. Machine performs faster than a new i5 with 7200 rpm hard disk. Great way to upgrade and bring life to an older machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install adapter February 2, 2016 Great little adapter to fit the SSD into my G5 HD bay. Now its so much easier taking the HD out and putting back into the G5.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 25-34
Rating: 5/5 fists as advertised in iMac late 2013 January 31, 2016 I got what I needed, with this product. Happy costumer

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fit like a glove January 30, 2016 Needed this part. Did some research. Found this bracket, which fit the bill. No problems whatsoever in my 2011 27" iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 2.0TB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G2TB OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G2TB DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $319.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G2TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $56.98
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $66.98
    • Bundle Priced for $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $84.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $161.98
    • Bundle Priced for $144.75
  • 2.0TB
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $171.98
    • OWC Price $139.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $232.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $491.98
    • OWC Price $482.75
Recommended Items: