Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo
Share your thoughts by writing a review above.

OWC Data Doubler

Optical to SATA Drive Converter Bracket Solution
Includes everything needed to replace your optical drive
with a second drive or Solid State Drive
Add up to an additional 2.0TB of internal storage. Add a Solid State Drive (SSD) for near instantaneous boot and app load. Even create a RAID array! Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one solution.

Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount any 9.5mm tall 2.5" SATA hard disk drive and even Solid State Drives.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.

OWC Data Doubler DIY Kits Everything you need in one package.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Power Tip
Spin-down hard drives sooner to save battery power. Running an extra hard drive in your laptop can drain battery power faster than a single drive. But you can tell your Mac to put hard drives to sleep sooner than normal to save power.

This is an advanced tip that requires working in Terminal. For the step-by-step explanation, visit our blog.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • Interposer Board
  • Screws
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit


This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Specifications:

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n DDAMBS0GB UPC#: 718122776276

Includes:

Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one kit.




  • 1: OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • 2: Interposer Board
  • 3: Screws (5pcs, 3 x Phillips #00
    2 x Phillips #1)
  • 4: Detailed Installation Guide
    with Model Specific Instructions/Step
    by Step Photos
  • 5: Toolkit includes everything you need to
    open your Mac and install the Data Doubler.

Gallery

Reviews

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
MacBook Pro 2010 Benchmarks
MacBook Pro 2008 Benchmarks

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 119 out of 124 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: aokake Location: Thailand Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product has great! October 12, 2012 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Protieus Location: Vancouver, Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good but there are some quality issues that need improve on. August 14, 2012 This OWC caddy is firmly build but when I install my old Hitachi HD to the caddy, the HD wasn't fully aligned to the the frame. The sata connector was slightly slighted. I had to force the HD to aligned to the frame so that I can get the 2 screws to secure to the frame. The sata connector creak a bit when I tried to align it. Overally the caddy fit perfectly on the superdrive area.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: denz23 Location: Canberra Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The power is in your hands August 14, 2012 This product is amazing! to put it simply, because of this data doubler, my 13" 2011 2.3GHz MBP has read/write speeds above 850/610 respectively. To consistently get speeds like that, everything needs to work, and the data doubler outshines its competitors. Sturdy and durable, there's nothing like it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Narutakikun Location: East Bay, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 3/5 Good, But Kinda Fragile April 29, 2012 Good performance, but whatever metal this is made of must be kind of cheap. While tightening down one of the screws that holds it in place, the metal on the outside of the ovular screw hole cracked all the way through (I don't think I screwed it down *that* tight!). I did an impromptu repair with some super glue, and I hope it holds, but still, it probably shouldn't be that fragile.

Also, while not an issue with the Data Doubler itself, anyone doing this mod should be advised that the aluminum screws that Apple uses inside unibody MacBooks are *very* easy to strip. Use a high-quality screwdriver, and be careful with them. Again, this isn't OWC's fault, but I offer it as a heads-up to anyone doing this anyway.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support April 30, 2012 We have some individual test / QC units here that have literally been through over 100 installations and are still going strong. If that screw hole cracked, it may have been a rare manufacturing anomaly that would be covered under warranty. Please contact our Customer Service team to have that replaced under warranty.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DataMoreThanDoubled Location: Columbia, MO Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You get what you pay for: Worth every cent. March 6, 2012 I recently installed the Data Doubler in my 8,2 Macbook Pro with a 1TB 5400 RPM WD drive. First, it fits perfectly; the bracket has no flex in it, and with the installation video provided on this site, installed in about ten minutes. I'd trust this bracket to withstand anything that the rest of my Mac could. I achieved SSD to HDD transfer speeds of 112 MB/s over 20GB of files, so there are clearly no throughput issues.

This was my first time opening up my laptop, and with the video, I never lost confidence in what I was doing.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: bramfoto Location: San Francisco Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It works great February 11, 2012 I have a 2010 13" MACBOOK PRO. It had a 250GB 5400 HDD.

I am no IT PRO, but the directions and parts made it easy. Just be careful around the SATA ribbons and wires next to fan. I now have a OWC 120 GB SSD for operating system, apps & a WD SCORPIO BLACK 750 GB for storage where optical drive was. IF SSD's were bigger and cheaper this wouldn't be necessary.

I also got enclosure for my CD DRIVE I took out. Works fine.

My MACBOOK PRO BOOTS UP IN 17 seconds.

Took me 30 minutes start to finish. Highly recommend it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: swalsh2333 Location: Boca Raton, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You Get What You Pay For! February 11, 2012 High quality. Lightweight. Easy to install. Works perfectly. What more can I say.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KBrock Location: USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Can't Get Any Easier! January 23, 2012 OWC delivers a terrific and very very easy installation package with excellent documentation, tools, and product to get your second hard drive in and that optical drive out. This installation literally took me 15 minutes and I was up and running back on my desktop in no time.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cow007 Location: PDX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 The only mounting solution truly befitting a MacBook Pro! October 7, 2011 The data doubler is a great product, and is also easy on the eyes. Even though it is solid aluminum with my optical drive gone OWC SSD onboard it did not make my machine heavier. My machine still weighs in the same 4.5 LBs! (2011 MacBook Pro 13") I could not get the SSD to work properly in my optical bay, however this is not OWC's fault; the ribbon cable for that bay isn't quite up to snuff. It was only a minor inconvenience and I was able to swap it with the HDD without removing it. (I loosened 2 screws, one on the corner next to the drive bay and the other on the optical drive bracket. I was able to lift it up enough to get the mounting screws to clear and simply pulled the SSD out and put the HDD in it's place.) The installation video fails to mention that the 4 screws along the bottom (trackpad side) are shoulder screws. Don't transpose them with the other screws or the bottom cover if you do it will not sit properly and may become warped! After I swapped the SSD with the HDD and put it in the Data Doubler everything worked FLAWLESSLY. I recommend doing this to begin with to avoid any difficulties. This is simply the best optical bay mounting solution on the market!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JBED84 Location: Stuttgart,AR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 WOW ! Don't just sit there, GO ORDER ONE NOW !! September 8, 2011 So I ordered an OWC SSD about a month ago and ditched my factory drive. I used it with a FireWire enclosure and moved all my media and miscellaneous things to it, leaving only the operating system and my apps on the SDD. While it worked, having to remember to have this thing plugged in to access my iTunes was a PAIN! In comes OWC Data Doubler !!! Not only is this thing a snap to install, it works like a charm !!! Within 10 minutes I had it installed and now my iTunes library is resting nicely inside the Macbook Pro along with all my photos. No more external hard drive for me !! THANKS OWC, YOU GUYS ARE AWESOME !!!!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: jayronc Location: Cary, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product ---- but..... August 11, 2011 If you need to use bootcamp - install it BEFORE you install this. Windows won't install from a usb optical drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Ralan111 Location: Auckland, New Zealand Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Brilliant upgrade! August 11, 2011 Fully recommend this easy to install upgrade! OWC instructions make all this a snap, combined with SSD upgrade got more HD space and super fast booting.. love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Timtango Location: Cape Town, South Africa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 easy install, great upgrade August 11, 2011 I've been wanting to ugrade my MBP with an SSD drive for a while, but didn't want to compromise on total storage space. I used this kit to install myself, and I now have both a 120GB SSD drive and a 750GB 7200rpm drive in my laptop and I couldn't be happier with the capacity and the speed. Awesome upgrade and easy to DIY

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Elliot Location: Tauranga, New Zealand Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic product August 11, 2011 After installing an OWC SSD in the main drive bay of my MBP and using this Data Doubler to hold my HDD, my computer has been faster and with an excellent capacity. I have never had a problem with the optical bay, it has worked flawlessly from the moment it was installed. I was a little hesitant to use it to hold my HDD initially, because i wasn't sure how securely it would be held (my laptop gets treated pretty roughly). However the drive inside it has never had any problems, so I can only assume it is doing a very good job of securing it! Fantastic product, and well worth the money!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: JLane Location: Mayne Island, BC, Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Dead simple, best of both worlds August 10, 2011 I upgraded my MBP with an SSD earlier in the year, and despite being thrilled with the speed, I've had to ration drive space like crazy. With the data doubler kit, I've got the best of both worlds now.

The installation instructions were dead simple and 100% accurate, so it was simple to install. I've worked on a few Macs before, but always been shy of messing with logic board stuff.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: MarkBC Location: Pacific Grove, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Data Doubler is Super! August 10, 2011 RELIABLE, EFFECTIVE HIGH QUALITY! I purchased it for my Late 2009 Mac Mini. I watched the video twice and then installed it. There was a minor problem -I had to bend one corner "tab" on the data doubler about 1/8" because the drive did not seat right --perhaps I installed it wrong, but regardless when I did bend the tip a bit, the drive slipped in and the system worked perfectly. The drive has been rock solid and I have twice the capacity (500 x2) and I use it! Overall installation was easier than they warn, the tool kits provided (and bought) are perfect for working on the MAC and I have great confidence in the OWC products! Thank you! I

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brooklyn, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent - especially for editing! August 10, 2011 I bought my 17" MacBook Pro with a 500GB SSD and purchased OWC's Data Doubler and an OWC 480GB SSD and I now have a screaming editing machine. Everyone knows your media needs to be on a drive OTHER than the one your system resides on. That meant that I was always carrying around a second drive and it's power supply that plus the computer, the backpack and all anything else I needed to bring with me was pretty heavy. My old set up required me to set up camp to edit and have access to power. Now I really can edit ANYWHERE. I can pull just the computer out wherever I may be and actually be productive editing. Plus the SSD drives mean my computer is as fast on and off as a Macbook Air, so I really have the speed I need in any situation. I have opened my computer up and edited on the subway, doctor's waiting rooms, airplanes, on my lunch break, in the park in the local cafe, and Starbucks all in London, Paris and Germany.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: drbobguy Location: Princeton, NJ Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't buy a cheap equivalent like I did! August 10, 2011 This is a really great product. You can find dozens of equivalent products on auction sites or other retailers online, many require some modification (ripping off a plastic piece) to fit in a macbook or macbook pro. I bought one of these as many others have, but it worked intermittently and after just a few days stopped working altogether.

The OWC data doubler not only looks nice (which is a minor bonus), but it's extremely sturdy, much sturdier than the sheet metal equivalents you see online. It's machined solid metal, and the drive doesn't bounce around inside at all. It's also been rock solid. While a little pricier than other options, not only is it much higher quality, there's a real company standing behind the product with a warranty, not just some auction seller in Asia shipping internationally.

I also bought one of the cheap DVD/CD USB enclosures online, and guess what? While disks spin up they are often not recognized, and eject doesn't work – I have to remove the disks with pliers. I see OWC just started selling a slimline Superdrive enclosure, so I ordered that as well.

Don't make the mistake I did and order cheap parts that you end up throwing away. You'll save more money by buying quality parts in the first place, especially ones that have a real warranty!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: BisonApples Location: Winnipeg Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade, easy to install August 10, 2011 I found myself with a Macbook with a 250GB hard drive as my sole computer and an optical drive that I never used. With all my media and other files I needed more space. I was a little nervous about doing the install myself. I have done other apple laptop hard drive swaps in the past, but my eyesight has been significantly reduced since then, Despite the many tiny screws holding my Aluminum Macbook together, the install was successful and everything is working great, These days, when Apple is going physical media-less anyway, it totally made sense. Great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Alterra Location: Brazil Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, brings the power of SSD to older Macs August 10, 2011 I bought it with a OWC 250 GB SSD, used it to put my 500 GB Momentus XT (also from OWC, by the way). RAID both as a JBOD and got > 700 GB, with all the fast response from the SSD - without breaking the bank!. Great piece of hardware, highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: McBukPro Location: KY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product! August 6, 2011 Just finished installing this in my MacBook Pro and the process was so simple and the online video so useful that I HAD to write this review!! I used a standard 1TB seagate hardrive (9.5mm) mounted on the bay and the included toolkit made the whole process a breeze!! VERY IMPRESSED, and would highly recommend this upgrade for those not using the DVD drive often!!

Now I wish I had purchased the external enclosure for the superdrive as well :(

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nicholfd Location: Grammer, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Excellent quality, but a little over priced May 27, 2011 I purchased the following: 1 x 6G Pro SSD (main HD bay) 1 x Pro SSD (optical Bay) 1 x Data Doubler (what this review is about) 1 x SuperSlim Optical Drive Enclosure Kit (for removed Optical Drive)

This product is of excellent quality. The fit is perfect for the drive in the doubler, and for the doubler in my MacBook Pro 15", Early 2011.

There are a couple of caveats when not having an optical drive built-in to a MacBook Pro. These caveats apply even if you put the optical drive in an external USB enclosure. You lose the ability to play DVD's - Apple's built-in DVD player will not work with the optical drive attached via USB. It requires the optical drive to be internal. You also lose the ability to boot/install non-OS X OS's. You cannot install any version of Windows or Linux booted from an optical disk in a USB enclosure. The optical drive must be internal.

These restrictions are caused by Apple's limitations. However, OWC should include this type of information when advertising a product like this. Customers need to know of these limitation before they purchase this and remove their optical drive.

Overall I would recommend this product, as long as the buyer is aware of the limitations.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: JHarrison Location: SLC, UT Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solidly built, easy to install, secures my drive, video shows you how it works before you buy April 29, 2011 There are several options on the market for mounting an additional drive in the optical bay of your Mac laptop. I did a lot of research on everything from eBay generic trays that don't fit and don't secure your drive to the most expensive solution.

I decided that the OWC Data Doubler was the best product, regardless of price, and the price is actually better than many competitors.

What put it over the top though were the detailed videos on OWC's website that showed exactly how to install the Data Doubler and the fit and finish of the device.

I used SuperDuper to back up my hard drive onto a SSD, installed the SSD into my optical bay using the Data Doubler, and held down option as I booted, allowing be to select the boot disc. Then it was off to the races.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: sirmixalot Location: Lake in the Hills, IL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect! February 23, 2011 I used our OWC install videos to add the 60GB OWC SSD to replace my optical drive and everything worked flawless. Everything from removing the drive to installing the Data Doubler worked without issue. Having two drives in laptop is nuts!

I would recommend this item to a friend!