Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

DIY Bundle: OWC Data Doubler Kit + 240GB OWC 6G SSD
OWC Data Doubler Kit, 240GB 2.5" OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G Solid State Drive and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit

OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Everything you need in one package to replace your internal optical drive with additional storage space.
Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount the included drive.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its
    own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Power Tip
Spin-down hard drives sooner to save battery power. Running an extra hard drive in your laptop can drain battery power faster than a single drive. But you can tell your Mac to put hard drives to sleep sooner than normal to save power.

This is an advanced tip that requires working in Terminal. For the step-by-step explanation, visit our blog.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Kit
  • 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme® PRO 6G SSD
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install.



Be sure to get the right device!
This OWC 6G SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including:
  • All Mac Pro "silver tower" models
  • All MacBook Pro models NOTE exceptions below
  • All Mac mini 2006-2010, with factory installed optical drive NOTE exceptions below
  • iMac 2006-current (All Intel Models) NOTE exceptions below
  • All MacBook models NOTE exceptions below
  • Xserve 2009
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMac models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBook models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pro models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac mini models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 228x Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
240GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 256GB
16GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
223GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G240
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
510MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
503MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Data Doubler Specs

Drive Interface

  • SATA / SATA 3G / SATA 6G Interface 2.5" Drive or SSD (Solid State Drive) of up to 9.5mm (Super Slim) height.

Dimensions

  • 5"(D) x 5"(W) x 03"(H)
  • 12.7 x 12.7 x 7.6mm

Weight

  • 2.4oz. / 0.15lbs.

Product Manual

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCDDMBS6X240 UPC#: 812437026542

Includes

Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one kit.




  • 1: OWC Data Doubler Bracket

  • 2: Interposer Board

  • 3: Screws (5pcs, 3 x Phillips #00
    2 x Phillips #1)

  • 4: Detailed Installation Guide
    with Model Specific Instructions/Step
    by Step Photos

  • 5: Toolkit includes everything you need to
    open your Mac and install the Data Doubler.

  • 6: 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme™ Pro 6G SSD

Gallery

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 188 out of 191 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive and Price October 30, 2014 The videos and tools made the install extremely easy. I had it done in about 12 minutes. If you are on the fence about upgrading your Optical Drive to a SSD, just go for it. The startup time is beyond faster than what I expected. As a DJ / Producer this made a huge difference for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brazil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Perfect October 12, 2014 This kit is perfect for me because I didn´t use my CD/DVD drive anymore and I'd like to improve space and performance of my MacBook Pro. I'm not used to open laptops and I could do everything myself just watching the online video. My Mac is super fast now and I have plenty of space. I'm confident I don´t need to buy a new Mac for at least the next 2/3years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install October 10, 2014 Very easy to install ,works great, very good instructions

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La Paz, BCS, Mexico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow excellent choice! September 30, 2014 excellent choice, my macbook pro runs great and was not expensive, and is very easy to install!... I recommend!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 15sec. Boot! September 28, 2014 I bought a used MacBook mid-2010 off of eBay (2.4 Core 2 Duo with 4GB of RAM) and it ran. ... Just okay. I bought a 8GB stick of RAM to bring it up to 10GB and that was the most important improvement. But then with this solid state the Mac just runs great. Really solid computer now. Fast boot and fast transfer rates. Total investment was under $500.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 60GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent September 26, 2014 Excellent Product. Works fine with Macbook Pro 9,2 13 inch. Very easy to install. I Would recommend this product for sure.!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade! September 20, 2014 I bought the, Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3F SSD Drive Bundle, to install in my mid, 2009 Macbook Pro 13" laptop. Following the instructional video, I was able to complete the "surgery" in an hour, or so. I used Super Duper to clone the SSD prior to installation, and this proved very effective. The SSD was placed in the primary drive location of the laptop, while the old, 500GB drive, was placed in the laptop using the Data Doubler bracket in place of the optical drive. I now have a spiffy, speedy Macbook Pro with tons of storage. Thanks, OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Namibia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works like a Dream September 14, 2014 Installed it in a 'flash', up and running in no time...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brandon, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 13-inch Macbook pro upgrade August 28, 2014 My Macbook pro is so very fast now with this 120GB SSD as my boot drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philippines Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth bundle August 22, 2014 I have no issues with it, its super great. SSD is fast also support trim enabler, but Im not using the trim anymore. Partitioned this to 2, 1 for main os and the other is blank for now, reserve for backup or another OS. A quick startup boot and my applications runs much faster.

Data doubler is really good, solid, well-built. The 1.5gb HGST I bought here in OWC can suport the 6 Gigabit in macbook pro 13" mid 2012.

The toolkit is sweet bonus.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Great State of Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Much faster August 15, 2014 I went from 500 GB rotating to 120 GB SSH + 1.5 TB rotating. The extra space gave me room to store a couple of big projects on, so I could work on them in my La-Z-Boy instead of sitting at my desk. I didn't notice a speedup in most operations. But, boy, when I have to go back and work on my desktop again, it's slooooowwww now. I guess my definition of "fast enough" got skewed way faster by my new SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colombia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product, even better costumer service from OWC August 14, 2014 the data doubler seems sturdy and fits perfectly, the ssd increased the general performance of my macbook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product August 12, 2014 With the speedy delivery of this great product and after following the installation instructions provided, I now have a rejuvenated 2009 Macbook Pro. The installation instructions were easy to follow and I had little difficulty with the installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent August 11, 2014 excellent product, fast shipping, OWC is the best

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mpls Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Small price to pay for an upgrade August 11, 2014 My older laptop SCREAMS with this solid state drive. This drive goes where my DVD drive originally was seated.....I don't miss the DVD drive at all!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 19 months later... August 5, 2014 I got this SSD more the a year ago and it was quite easy to install in my MBP as a replacement for the optical drive. It is working great so far. Fast, reliable, all good.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GregS Location: Vero Beach Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2008 Mac Book Pro zips on high speed/ August 2, 2014 My 2008 MacBook pro had slowed to a crawl. It took close to two minutes to boot and open some basic programs. I installed the 480 Gig SSD and it now boots in less than 30 seconds. I will give me a few good years of service. Could not be happier.. I highly recommend the product if you want to see a speed boost. You can see the huge sped increase compared to the OEM drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Andorra Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Magnific SSD. Really fast. Easy to mount. July 28, 2014 Very easy to mount the data doubler. DIY manual inside the box. 5 piece toolkit are perfect. SSD very fast. The result is simply fantastic.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 After 1,5 years still rocking July 15, 2014 This was a crucial update to my macbook pro that prolonged live of my computer. The speed increase was very noticeable. I have system on SSD drive and other data on original HD. My mac is 5 years old now and thanks to this update 1,5 years ago, I´m still not pressed to be upgrading to new macbook model!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: australia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD is super fast with clear tutorials for installation July 12, 2014 I stuck the old HD from the main bay into the optical bay with the bracket that came with the SSD then the SSD into the main bay. I have an early 2011 Macbook Pro and its works super fast. The SSD drive is 6G and works perfectly.

I have been egging on everyone I know to do this as I feel like I have just bought a new computer it is that quick.

SO glad I bumped it you guys on the web.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Old Bridge, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow! What a difference! July 4, 2014 The SSD drive was easy to install after watching the installation video. The whole process of installation, formatting and moving files from my old HD to the new SSD took just about an hour. The difference was not immediately appreciated. It wasn't until I was back at work and switching between applications that the true speed of the SDD was noticed. 2 seconds to open Outlook instead of 15-20, 8 seconds to open VectorWorks instead of 45. Photoshop 5 came up almost immediately - this is terrific. So far no downside so I am very happy with the purchase.Now I need to figure out how to install an SSD in my Late 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: JAPAN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great Performance from OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD June 28, 2014 The SSD drive totally transformed the experience of using my 2013 macbook pro. Previously it took nearly a minute to restart now it is under 10 seconds. Programs and operations also open and run really fast.

I would give an EXCELLENT rating except for several reasons.

1. The printed directions that come with the drive and the online video directions give different procedures. This was a little confusing I found the video directions more helpful.

2. The directions stated "use the screws in the second small bag" but there was only one bag of screws. I'm still not sure if I used the correct screws for one part.

I would definitely recommend the project to anyone who is disappointed with their Mac's performance and wants a MUCH speedier machine/

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: LA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 EXTREME 6G is, indeed, E X T R E M E! June 24, 2014 I was a bit concerned about opening my MacBook Pro and modifying it due to initial perceived difficulty and the possibility that it would affect my Apple Warranty, but it did not.

In fact, it was much, much easier to install and setup that I thought, and now my system screams! It went from an almost 3 minute boot time to just 47 seconds! So I purchased another older MacBook Pro for my wife, and am swapping out a BIGGER EXTREME 6G in this machine, and putting my 240GB in that one.

After using the drive for some time, I visited the Apple Store with questions about Mac OS X. They assisted me with my questions, replaced my power brick, and helped me configure some unique system settings - fully aware that I had opened my MacBook Pro and installed the Extreme 6G - no issues.

Thank you Other World Computing!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The single best upgrade for your MBP! June 23, 2014 This kit is awesome! It allowed me to upgrade my main hard drive to solid state and moved my old drive over to have a terabyte of internal storage. The quality is impeccable and the installation was straight forward. If you're debating of moving over to an SSD don't! The longer you wait the more you'll be telling yourself you should have done it sooner.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome drive. Easy install. June 20, 2014 Created a fusion drive with the SSD and a 1TB HD. It was lightening fast and the install was easy. The data doubler install was also a snap.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

DIY Bundle 240GB 2.5" OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G Solid State Drive, OWC Data Doubler Kit and OWC 5 Piece Tool Kit Mfr P/N: OWCDDMBS6X240 OWC SKU: OWCDDMBS6X240 Fits Apple MacBook & MacBook Pro 'Unibody' Models; all MacBook Models 'Late 2008' and Later. *See description for additional compatibility notes* Data Doubler: 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty
Drive: 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Configurations: Data Doubler + Electra 3G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $40.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.98
    • Bundle Priced for $62.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $164.98
    • Bundle Priced for $139.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $344.98
    • Bundle Priced for $329.75
Data Doubler + Electra 6G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $75.97
    • Bundle Priced for $46.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $85.97
    • Bundle Priced for $65.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $118.97
    • Bundle Priced for $94.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $175.97
    • Bundle Priced for $148.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 25 Days
    • Only $350.97
    • Bundle Priced for $339.75
Data Doubler + Extreme Pro 6G
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $190.97
    • Bundle Priced for $147.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $270.97
    • Bundle Priced for $237.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: 15 Days
    • Only $500.97
    • Bundle Priced for $489.75
Related Items: