Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »
OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for Hard Drive Upgrade for 27" iMacs 2012 and Later
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading your 2012 or later iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    This item does not include installation tools.
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Using an OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit (sold separately), replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance..

    If you need an upgrade kit with tools, you can purchase the OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the install video below to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    Professional installation is highly recommended.

    OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.

    Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
    While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2012 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    Includes

    • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
    • (1) 27" iMac Adhesive tape set for proper display resealing

    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Early 2019)
    (March 2019)
    Model ID: iMac19,1
    3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Mid 2017)
    (June 2017)
    Model ID:iMac18,3
    3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Late 2015)
    (October 2015)
    Model ID:iMac17,1
    3.2GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Mid 2015)
    (May 2015)
    Model ID: iMac15,1
    3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Late 2014)
    (October 2014)
    Model ID: iMac15,1
    3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
    (September 2013)
    Model ID: iMac14,2
    3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
    (October 2012)
    Model ID: iMac13,2
    2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7

    Install Video

    Professional installation is highly recommended.

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 71 out of 73 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Clews464 Location: Petrie Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great product simple & easy to use November 20, 2017 This product makes replacing the standard hard drive with an after market hard drive extremely simple and straight forward. The new temperature sensor was fitted to a late 2009 iMac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: jwknight Location: Post Falls, Idaho Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Mac HDD adapter 2 November 19, 2017 Worked Perfectly easy install

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: matthewg Location: Wellington, NZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent product! November 15, 2017 I replaced the HDD in my 2017 iMac. Even though I swapped out a Seagate for a Seagate, when I was done the fan was constantly at full throttle. After purchasing & installing this product the fan speed is completely back to normal.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: temprakneeoh Location: ottawa, canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Even though the task was rated as Advanced October 18, 2017 it was fairly straightforward with the tools provided while the video played on the ipad. i took my time and was quite careful and my drive replacement took around an hour (or less)

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: oogie Location: Edmonton Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Silence of the computer October 17, 2017 This product delivered everything that was promised and now my iMac is working super duper with the new 512 SSD drive

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: woodmeister
    Rating: 5/5 Made upgrading iMac a snap October 9, 2017 I had been hesitant for quite a long time in replacing the HDD in my iMac and finally decided to bite the bullet and get this kit.

    It had everything needed and the very informative video made the swap a snap. The "pizza cutter" tool used to pop the tape is a great idea. The previous methods always had me nervous for fear of inserting a pick or card into the iMac too far. The new tool made things a snap and a few passes with it got things part, without the fear of breaking something.

    Kudos to the folks at OWC/MacSales! Everything is back together and working like it was before, without reverting to some software fan solution!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Deano Location: Santa Clara, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to install once computer is opened October 8, 2017 It was easy to attach to the disk drive, connect to power and connect sensor to circuit board. Install Video was very useful. Not sure if it is working properly and was reluctant to open up the machine again. Decided to install some free fan control software to monitor temperatures and adjust fan speed if necessary.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Response from MacSales.com, Call Center November 9, 2017 I'm very sorry if you had any concerns on whether the cable was working properly or not. We would be happy to assist you in confirming that everything is working properly, as we have had a lot of success with these temperature sensors. Feel free to contact us at 1-800-275-4576 and we'll be happy to help!
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Fiskfarm Location: NE TN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 MacSales Makes Weekend Techs Geniuses! October 5, 2017 I purchased an i5 iMac on eBay and the drive failed SMART criteria so after I got a 40.00 rebate toward a drive (I absolutely love our eBay community) I started looking for hard drives and soon discovered MacSales as THE SOLUTION to not only replacing the hard drive with ANY drive out there but also introduced me to the hidden SATA plug tucked away on the back of the mother board. Who knew? So of course I was not going to go all the way in there without supercharging my new purchase. Dollars were limited so I went for the 60GB SSD kit and the MacSales HD adapter cable and of course their great tool kits and a 2 TB Enterprise drive off eBay. Add to that their amazing vids that don't leave you hanging when it comes time to reassemble i.e. no "just reverse the previous take apart" but rather a screw by screw reassembly, and you cannot go wrong. I installed Sierra and all my apps on the SSD and had 40GB left over and I now have a 2TB internal hard drive for file and picture storage and the optical drive still intact. Result? one screaming editing machine for under 400.00 total. You guys are tech gods in my book!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DJC1 Location: Chevy Chase, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 easy October 4, 2017 I purchased a replacement hard drive for my iMac, OWC told me which one. The kit had everything I needed, and following the instructional video made it so easy. Everything just as described in the video. Very thorough. Product (HDD and installation kit) very well priced, delivered immediately, installed in a snap and work flawlessly. Wish I had another computer that needed an upgrade, I would come back to OWC in a snap.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Aussie1 Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Always fits perfectly and WORKS! October 3, 2017 You can always rely on OWC Mac RAM working perfectly with your Mac. Excellent help videos too!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: tonyL Location: AZ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy change September 27, 2017 Watch the video! Changed my failing HD to a 2tb, back up and running in 40 min.

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Arnell Location: Sacramento, CA
    Rating: 5/5 Great Little Kit September 12, 2017 I have previously used tools that I had already had. I was doing a remote repair where I need these specific tools, so I ordered it with alongside the parts I needed for the repair. Although you can do with what you have, this simply made things easier. If you don't have these in your arsenal of tools, I would actually not recommend this. They are made of good quality materials and will most likely last for some time. I would recommend the larger toolsets that they offer. If you already a set of tech tools, but don't have these specific tools, then yes, I recommend this.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: DCBA Location: Austin, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
    Rating: 5/5 Easy Disk Drive upgrade with perfect instructions September 10, 2017 The kit arrived in perfect condition. The online video instructions were perfect. We had the upgraded disk installed in record time. Everything just worked perfectly as it should. Very pleased with the results.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: JDubs Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm September 3, 2017 Upgraded to an SSD in my mid-2010 iMac. No thermo sensor on the Crucial SSD so the fan ran at 100% all the time. Added this product, easy to install and the machine is now perfect. Fan runs at the normal speed.

    This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: MaBi Location: Sweden Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great kit with excellent video tutorial! August 31, 2017 Drive bay adapter is very accurate and fits very well inside the iMac and with the SSD drive! Adhesive strips also very, and then i mean perfect in fitting and easy to attatch to iMac body frame. Did the installation myself and completed in about 45 minutes thanks to the very informative video tutorial. Did not buy the adhesive cutting tool, but i recommend it. I used a grind down guitar pick and that worked just fine too! Again! A great kit with perfect fitting, recommend to anyone who needs to replace their iMac internal drive!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: 2get Location: Glenview Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent service August 20, 2017 Works as expected

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: PondFrog Location: Coastal Maine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Product fits the need August 1, 2017 Great example of a product that slides into a needy place: what do you do when you put in a non-Apple-supported drive and want thermal control. Works as advertised.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Winks Location: Metairie, Louisiana Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Thrilled with my new SSD hard drive. July 23, 2017 Thank you so much for the help your staff provided in choosing the correct hard drive for my Apple computer. The hard drive was delivered in a reasonable amount of time, and in perfect condition. Everyone I talked with were friendly and knowledable. I would highly recommend MacSales for any computer concerns.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: martinthenewguy Location: Bratislava, Slovakia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 4/5 Works as expected. July 13, 2017 Not much else to say - it does work as expected.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: AaronL Location: Manville, NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 No more high speed spinning fans! July 12, 2017 Just what I needed. My fans were spinning high after replacing the hard drive in an iMac and didn't know what to do until found this thermal adapter. Did the trick! Thanks!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: AaronL Location: Manville, NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Thank you for making this! July 12, 2017 Just have to say "Thank you!" for making this product. I did not know what to do about the fan noise when I replaced the hard drive out of my iMac with an aftermarket one and then I found this. Works great! Excellent solution!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: LonghornOh1 Location: USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Late 2013 27" iMac June 21, 2017 Thanks for the videos on how to perform the upgrade using this kit. I was able to perform a HD to SSD upgrade on my iMac using this kit and the 2.5" to 3.5" drive enclosure since the iMac came with a 3.5" drive. The thermal sensor is nice, since after reading other people's experiences showed that after installation their fans were running at full speed when the SSD gets warm/hot. Overall very pleased with the kit, didn't need anything aside from what came in the package and the drive enclosure. I found the amount of replacement tape between the screen and the back of the computer was enough where some people complained that the amount of tape was cutting it close. I have quite a few extra sticks of the tape left over and packed away for hopefully a rainy day that never comes. So far so good, thanks for offering this kit for people who are DIY'ers!

    This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: GerLech Location: Switzerland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 easy to install with the video instructions June 19, 2017 This HD, together with added memory, gave my old iMac a new life and it is now running like a young gun! The tutorial video is very well done (I would not try without it); it takes about 1(2 hour and I strongly suggest to do it with 2 people.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: RobbSF81 Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Never thought I'd be able to fix the fan issue... June 11, 2017 When I learned about the heat sensor issue on my model of iMacs being built onto the HD, I figured I was screwed. I had to replace the original HD. It failed. and they don't sell that special factory installed HD. I'd been dealing with the fans constantly on for the last year. Randomly I looked on OWC for some memory for another machine and I saw the kit with the 3rd party sensor and an explanation of the problem. I had just a couple months ago learned about why the fans didn't shut off. I ordered it, quick and easy instal (if you know how to get into your mac, luckily my model is easy) and problem fixed. fantastic. anyone who has the iMac with this issue, this is it. this fixes that fan issue. its like a new computer.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010). Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: dysamoria Location: Coplay, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Solved the usual problem with an iMac 2011 bought on eBay May 31, 2017 I bought a 2011 iMac on eBay and discovered the hard drive fan was disconnected to "fix" the fan problem caused by upgrading the HDD with a 3rd-party drive. This sensor from OWC solved the problem. The seller apparently had not known his employee had left the iMac that way and he refunded me the cost and some labor. He was a decent and reasonable eBay seller but OWC is the hero here for making these iMacs serviceable outside Apple. Without OWC, Apple products would be less valuable and more problematic. It's bad that OWC has to correct Apple's various design choice shortcomings but I'm glad that they do.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011). Customer Videos:

    OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for Hard Drive Upgrade for 27" Apple iMac 2012 and later Models Mfr P/N: DIDIMACHDD12 OWC SKU: OWCDIDIMACHDD12 OWC DIY Kit for all Apple 27" iMac 2012 and later Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables necessary for installation. Hard drive and tools sold separately. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.99OWC Price $39.99
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIDIMACHDD12 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)