OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for Hard Drive Upgrade for 27" iMacs 2012 and Later
  • Required for any drive installed into the main drive bay.
  • Eliminate fan noise and maintain correct system fan control when upgrading your 2012 or later iMac.
  • The only iMac HDD upgrade option on the market certified to pass the Apple Hardware Test.
  • Fixes firmware incompatibility issues with third party hard drives.
  • Engineered in-house and backed by OWC's award-winning customer support.
  • OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
    This item does not include installation tools.
    Improve Performance and Capacity. Upgrade Your iMac with Confidence.
    OWC's in-line solution is the only hardware digital thermal sensor on the market allowing a third-party SATA drive to be installed in your iMac. A convenient, plug-and-play cable, the In-line Digital Thermal Sensor eliminates fan noise and maintains proper system fan control through the iMac's System Management Controller. This innovative device is designed specifically for the iMac, requires no software hacks and ensures compatibility with Apple's built-in diagnostic processes.

    Using an OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit (sold separately), replace your iMac's original hard drive with up to an 8.0TB hard drive or a lighting fast SSD with a NewerTech Adaptadrive, for dramatic upgrades in storage capacity or data speed while maintaining the original system's fan and diagnostic performance..

    If you need an upgrade kit with tools, you can purchase the OWC Internal HDD DIY Kit.

    Note: Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the install video below to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade.

    Professional installation is highly recommended.

    OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.

    Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
    While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2012 iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.

    Includes

    • (1) OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable
    • (1) 27" iMac Adhesive tape set for proper display resealing

    NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is non-refundable if opened. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
    This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Early 2019)
    (March 2019)
    Model ID: iMac19,1
    3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Mid 2017)
    (June 2017)
    Model ID:iMac18,3
    3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Late 2015)
    (October 2015)
    Model ID:iMac17,1
    3.2GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Mid 2015)
    (May 2015)
    Model ID: iMac15,1
    3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Late 2014)
    (October 2014)
    Model ID: iMac15,1
    3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
    (September 2013)
    Model ID: iMac14,2
    3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
    (October 2012)
    Model ID: iMac13,2
    2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7

    Install Video

    Professional installation is highly recommended.

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 71 out of 73 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Latvia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great support, ssd upgrade worked May 1, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend!
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 AWESOME!!! April 30, 2016 I was at a loss when I installed my new hard drive into my iMac. I saw the wire for the thermal sensor but didn't know where to plug it in. I searched the internet and there was lots of "get arounds" but no sure fire fixes. This definitely did the trick. I spoken to Apple techs on the phone and they always recommend checking out OWC. They never seem to fail me. I'm a happy camper now without the jet engine fan noise in the background.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kaneohe, HI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Gave new life to my old iMac April 30, 2016 Adobe Phototshop/Lightroom CC 2016 update requiring 16GB to operate rendered my older iMac unable to handle the load. The addition of 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009) gave my machine new life and saved me from spending $4000 to buy a replacement. Way to go OWC!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Parts for a successful upgrade April 23, 2016 All the bits in the kit were helpful and made the upgrade a success. I did have a little trouble with the suction cups, but was able to remove the glass without damage. I used a OWC mount, purchased separately, to mount a Samsung 850 Evo SSD instead of a HDD. I followed a video for the upgrade and had no problems following along.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: 35-44 Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Easy Instal of Needed Upgrade April 18, 2016 Replaced stock HDD with 1 TB SDD in my Late 2009 27 inc iMac using this kit. Be aware you also need to purchase the 3.5 to 2.5 inchNewerTech AdaptaDrive to mount the SDD into the iMac separately, as it is not included in this install kit. Installation was smooth; only nervous part was detaching the backlight power cable, as that is attached rather tight. After completing this upgrade, there is a significant improvement in performance of my Mac, easily advice 4 years of effective use to it.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ann Arbor, MI Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Easy to use April 18, 2016 The adapter was very easy to install and works like a charm!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
    Rating: 4/5 Great kit April 14, 2016 Everything you need, and it all works. The only issue is there are no instructions on where to place the temp sensor on an SSD...

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 4/5 Piece of Cake ;-) April 4, 2016 In combination with your install video, mounting the new hard drive was exactly how it s explained... No Error possible thanks for that from France

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: PA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Works great - like having a new computer! March 27, 2016 I purchased a 2TB WD Black HDD to replace the 500GB drive in my mid-2011 iMac that was almost at capacity. The new drive has 4X the space, 4X the cache size and spins at 7200 RPM vs 5400. The difference is astounding - it's almost like having a new computer! Opening the iMac was challenging but it didn't take that long. I had my 11 year old son hold the display so I didn't have to remove the main display cable (which I heard was a real pain to remove / replace) - I only had to remove the 2 cables on the left side of the display, was able to get at the old drive, remove and replace. This is an EXCELLENT product and works as advertised.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside, ca Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
    Rating: 5/5 Exactly as advertised March 25, 2016 With a little trepidation, I decided to replace the OEM hard drive on a mid 2011 21.5" iMac and replace it with a 480G SSD from OWC. I watched the installation video a couple times to get myself oriented before actually doing the work. The video was perfect. The supplied tools worked well. I did not have issues with the suction cups as others have noted. From start to finish was just under an hour--I was in no rush. The hardest part was reconnecting the smallest cables. I would recommend this to my friends. For a couple hundred bucks (this kit and SSD), the life of the machine has been extended and the speed difference booting and opening programs is phenomenal.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Worked out very well March 21, 2016 My late 2009 iMac's internal drive had started to develop issues, and the system had become very slow to boot and start applications. Rather than wait for the disk errors to increase, and the drive to fail at an inconvenient moment, I wanted to be proactive and replace the HD with another 2TB internal drive. I was aware of the generic HD compatibility issues with this model of iMac, and had found my way to OWC (Macsales) based on some online recommendations regarding the inline temperature sensor solution OWC had available to address that issue.... I really didn't want to have to rely on software to run in order to stop the fans running unnecessarily fast/loud.

    The kit arrived quickly, and I made sure to review the OWC installation video a number of times to make sure I was completely familiar with the process. After backing up my important data to an external HD - to supplement the time machine backup I also have... I'd rather have more than one recovery source for treasured data), the disassembly process went well. Having a good adjustable desk lamp (or someone there with a flashlight shining on the connectors as you work on each) is very helpful. The only cable that seemed a little risky to me was the display connector, which has pretty fragile side levers in my experience. Still, all was well getting the various connectors/cables off, and the 27" display unit out.

    The rest of the process was very easy, in my experience. While I was in there I had also opted to replace the optical drive (my original one was having problems reading CD's, and while dust on the lens was a likely culprit (6 years of constant use could do that), I preferred to take the proactive route in the hope of avoiding having to crack the iMac open again any time soon...). Both HD and Optical Drive installs were simple to do, following the instructional videos on the OWC site. I also used Google to find a couple of other how-to videos, to get different angles on the same process... although that wasn't really needed.

    The kit I received also included a small gold flexible cable/connector that I wasn't expecting to find in there, and wasn't sure what purpose it had... none in my case. This turned out to be an SSD connector or some sort, but not a part that was needed for my internal HD swap. Just put that to one side, and follow the video instructions.

    One thing I did while taking it all apart was to take pictures of each connector/cable before disconnecting them. Then, I had a close-up reference to check when re-connecting, to be totally sure each was plugged in the right way round, etc. Not needed in the end, but nice to have if you prefer to triple check something before powering up.

    The system powered up without issue, and I was able to successfully install a fresh copy of El Capitan from a USB drive installer I'd created. The only unnerving part of that was an install count-down that stuck at "1 second remaining" for 5-10 minutes (seemed like an eternity), but that install step finally did whatever it was doing under the hood and the system rebooted on the new HD/OS perfectly. Apparently this "hang" / delay at the end of the install process is a well known issue.

    I opted to install a Toshiba 2TB Hybrid HD (8GB of SSD storage cache within the 2TB HD, where frequently accessed blocks/files are stored for faster access). All I can say is that the system now boots -significantly- faster with this new HD, and applications are similarly faster to load. How much of this difference is due to the new Hybrid drive, fresh/clean OS install, or the very marginal state of the HD it replaced, is tough to say.

    Very happy with the value and quality of this kit, and the instructional install video provided. The alternative is dropping $2-3k on a replacement iMac, so the cost of this kit and a new HD (<$150 all-in) seemed worth trying. It feels like a new Mac now, and I'm hoping to get a year or two more use for this relatively small investment.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tenerife Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Great product easy to follow. March 18, 2016 Thanks for a great and complete solution to change my hard disk in my imac. I live in the Canary Islands ant to get this sort of product locally is nearly impossible. The kit arrived in the mail in less than a week. Your Youtube video on how to open the iMac and change the HHD are perfect.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Québec, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great product ! March 10, 2016 This product works perfectly! No more fan noise and my iMac is back to normal !!! Highly recommended!

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington state Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 4/5 Great kit for upgrade, except the suction cups March 4, 2016 I upgraded my Late 2009 i7 iMac 27" to and SSD using this set. The videos were very helpful and and the thermal sensor works as well as I'd hoped with zero fan issues.

    The only disappointment was the suction cups for removing/carrying the glass. When I attached them, the first one would slide off before I could finish attaching the second one. And the second one didn't stay on, either. I ended up using the spudger from the toolkit to separate the glass along the top.

    Tip: After you've removed the LCD panel, you can store the glass on it to protect the panel and reduce chances of lint/etc.

    I contacted customer support about the problem with the suction cups and was told that they'd previously had some bad ones in stock and that they should have been cleaned out by now, but that they would investigate. I had already completed the drive upgrade by that point, so didn't bother asking for a replacement.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: United Kingdom Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 so far it's perfect March 1, 2016 Excellently does what it has to.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product February 28, 2016 This is an excellent solition if you changed the original HDD from your iMac. Intalled in 5 minutes, very easy and the fan is in control again. It works with any drive.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User
    Rating: 5/5 Worked Perfectly February 23, 2016 The kit worked perfectly along with the video. I had no problem replacing my HD with a SSD in my mid-2010 iMac.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 4/5 These tools are effective February 21, 2016 The repair kit and instructions I got for my old iMac did the job. For what I would have spent to have Apple repair a unit long past Applecare support, I was able to do it myself with upgraded parts. An SSD, a very big boot disk, and RAM upgrade. This obsolete 5 year old computer may well last another three to five years as a result.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Worked exactly as hoped and expected February 18, 2016 I had an original 1TB drive in my iMac and a 3TB external backup for this and 2 MBPs. I had also upgraded my router to a Time Capsule and didn't need the 3TB. The internal drive developed a problem so I put the 3TB in the iMac using this kit. The temp sensor was the perfect solution since the original proprietary hard drive has an internal heat sensor and replacing it with one that did not have the sensor would have returned an error and caused the fans to run full. This worked like a charm. It was a little tricky unplugging and replugging some of the cables as you remove the display, because they are very small and feel fragile. But it went fine. An added plus was that once I removed the original internal and put it in the external enclosure I was able to run utilities on it and wipe it and reinstall El Cap.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 iMac internal hard drive replacement success February 14, 2016 The upgrade kit to replace a failed iMac internal hard drive worked well. Along with the video to provide detailed instructions, the replacement took less than 15 minutes. Cheaper than a local repair shop, and much cheaper than replacing the iMac.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wisconsin Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 4/5 definitely need this February 14, 2016 I used this to replace the HD in a 2009 iMac. It would have been very hard to accomplish without these tools. The phillips and Torx tools are of high quality. One of the suction cups worked great, the other would not hold tight enough to the glass despite repeated attempts. Would have given 5 starts if both suction cups worked well.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: South Carolina Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
    Rating: 5/5 Refreshed my 2009 27" iMac February 2, 2016 Rather than buy a new computer, I decided to replace my internal hardrive with this kit and the 2TB WD Black. I did this because of my concern about the 7 year old hardrive even though I back up to time Machine. Also, the computer was getting slower. OWC's instructions were excellent along with their videos. My computer runs much snappier now and I doubled the size of my hardrive! I will be updating my other 2 iMac 27's. OWC is very detailed oriented with their instructions and it shows with their great products.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2009 - 2010).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milburn, New Jersey
    Rating: 5/5 Necessary equipment if upgrading and iMac to SSD January 31, 2016 This item was suggested as an add on during checkout when I was buying a new SSD to put in my iMac to replace the existing spinning disk. I didn't really understand what it was, or if it applied to what I was trying to do. But after I had finished installing the hard drive, The fans on my iMac would not stop spinning. If you Google around, pretty much everyone says that the hard drive your iMac comes with includes a temperature sensor, which aftermarket hard drives never come with. This cable adds that sensor in a way that your mac understands so it knows not to keep the fans running at full speed.

    Bottom line, if you are upgrading the hard drive in your iMac, it's much easier to buy this and put it in at the same time. Otherwise you'll end up opening your machine again two weeks later when you receive this cable

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 25-34 Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Worked as advertised January 31, 2016 I used it on my Late 2014 iMac, and worked perfectly. Easy to use, shipping was fast.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" iMac (Late 2012 - Current).

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Anonymous
    Rating: 4/5 Fit for the job at hand! January 30, 2016 As a end user who will use the tools for just the odd repair it worked very well. Durability may be a challenge for frequent user.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Complete Hard Drive Upgrade Kit for 27" & 21.5" iMac (2011).

    OWC In-line Digital Thermal Sensor for Hard Drive Upgrade for 27" Apple iMac 2012 and later Models Mfr P/N: DIDIMACHDD12 OWC SKU: OWCDIDIMACHDD12 OWC DIY Kit for all Apple 27" iMac 2012 and later Models for replacing the main hard drive. Includes all cables necessary for installation. Hard drive and tools sold separately. 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.99OWC Price $39.99
    Add to CartOther World Computing DIDIMACHDD12 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
    Available iMac Kits: 2009-2010 (21.5" & 27") 2011 (21.5" & 27") 2012+ (27" Only)