Experience OWCtoberfest's monstrously amazing deals!

Unearth the savings »

OWC

Bluetooth module shielding kit

For Apple Mac mini 2012 models
The 2012 Mac mini is a great machine, but we have found one small issue with it. Some units may not have proper shielding applied internally on the Bluetooth module and thus can experience interference from USB 3.0 drives.

This situation appears to be due to the specific placement of shielding which can vary from unit to unit. As a result, some mini users may experience diminished and/or up to total loss of Bluetooth use even at very short range.

The OWC Bluetooth Shielding Kit is a simple, DIY solution that substantially improves Bluetooth range. It comes complete with all tools, instructions, and a special EMI shielding foil with non-conductive adhesive. After installing this kit, you should experience improved functional Bluetooth range up to 20 feet.

For full details about the Mac mini 2012 Bluetooth issues
please read our blog post.

Product Specifications

  • Manufacturer Part Number: OWCDIYIMM12BTS

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is not covered by any warranty. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund. The 5-Piece Toolkit (except for nylon pry tool) included with this kit is covered by a 1 Year Warranty.

Includes

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 163 out of 174 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ajax, On Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Data Doubler was a perfect upgrade January 16, 2016 This was a no brainer and easy to do no I have a Mac Mini with 2 1Tb SSD drives in it thanks to OWC... Thanks so much for suppling us with great upgrades for our Apple products.... Love you guys too bad you did not have a store in Toronto would be in there every other week....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good hardware and fool proof instructions. January 14, 2016 Replacing a hard drive in the Mini isn't for the beginner, but having said that, it's not rocket science. The kit and instructions and included tools are perfect if you're careful. And you'll LOVE the speed of a new SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kristiansund Norway Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent service! January 4, 2016 I bought this just before Christmas, from Norway, and got it on the first working day of the new year. This set is gonna make my Mac mini a monster Mac. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SG Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Product works as advertised and easy to install. December 13, 2015 Item is well boxed and it includes instruction manual! Easy to install, I have configured mine using Fusion drive Samsung Evo 850 500gb and a Hitachi 500 HDD. Highly recommended for Mac Mini 2012. My next upgrade...is to replace HDD drive :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montana Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A "Must" Purchase October 14, 2015 This kit coupled with an SSD is a NO BRAINER. The install is easy when following the OWC on-line video. All the necessary tools are included. You won't believe the speed and performance coming out of that little Mac Mini box. We've installed these in 2 of our 2012, quad-core i7 minis (16 gigs RAM). 300 megabyte Photoshop files or 60 page InDesign files are no problem….and did I say fast?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome, can't go wrong October 1, 2015 This product is a complete set even it says upper it includes the lower drive as well so you can't go wrong. i did not get any issue installing and manual or installation instruction was very precise and easy. It has also a bonus copper sticker for shielding bluetooth -instruction is also in the manual. Delivery was fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Upper Drive ALT Bay Installation Kit for Mac mini 2012..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 ??????? ??????? August 17, 2015 ??????? ???????? ? ??????? ?????. ?????? ?? ???????, ????????? ? ?????????? ??????? ???????? ????????? ??????????, ??? ??? ????????? ??????????????? ???????? ????? ?? ????????? ?????.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Queensland, Australia. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product and so easy to use. August 5, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hollywood Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation-great design July 17, 2015 I have to admit I truly HATE opening any Mac. There's usually problems from the beginning. If you've ever had to crack a Mac open, you know what I'm talking about! However, that being said-I have to admit that this time, the surprise was that this add-on was actually very easy to install. Instructions were perfectly clear and there were no surprises (like not having the tools for the job), because they're included! Love the extra storage space now, and don't really miss the dvd drive-if I really need to use one, I attach an inexpensive external one and I'm all set. Kudos to whoever the designer(s) was/were that came-up with this little kit. They paid attention to the details and made a quality product for non-techie-types to be able to do a job that SHOULD be this simple! I'd love to see Apple hire them to design the next mac mini-that way cracking the case on one wouldn't be such a painful process! THANK YOU OWC for making the data doubler part of your regular inventory!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Very nice package July 5, 2015 OWC has thought of everything.

The kit contains everything that you need to add in a second hard drive. The only thing it doesn't have is a hex key.

The videos are also really detailed - though they make the process look easier than it actually is.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Kit July 2, 2015 Instructions were easy to follow and implement. I now have a SSD and a slave drive for storage.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Córdoba, Argentina Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect! June 30, 2015 It works perfectly! I followed all the steps listed in the instructions and I've had no problems. 100% recommendable

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Tricky install, good directions June 18, 2015 The meat of this product is essentially a cable and the tools & instructions to use it- I was happy with all of the above. This product is inherently tricky to install, as you have to take nearly Everything out of your mini to get to the 'upper' drive bay, including the logic board!. The provided installation manual was spot on & made the process much easier than it would have been without. This install is still not for those unsure of their abilities, and I recommend a quiet spot away from too many distractions. One bump in the road with my install- the SATA connector slipped partway off the new drive during re-assembly, causing the machine to not see the drive when I booted it back up. I had to tear it back down all the way and reattach the cable. Being more watchful the second time, it stayed on and everything works fine now (writing this from my now speedier mini ;) ). The speed difference under Yosemite with a SSD is very noticeable with boot time, logging in & out, and app launch times much smaller.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, QC, Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 quality products and services May 31, 2015 At first, I thought the price was a bit high for what it was. However, after receiving the package I enjoyed the quality of the items and the care they took to prepare the installation instructions. Every little detail and warning, including exceptions, were carefully indicated in the manual. Big nice colourful pictures were in the manual and the online videos were also very helpful. My second hard drive on my mac mini is working perfectly. I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easier than expected May 28, 2015 Great kit with excellent instructions

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This Kit is awesome May 25, 2015 Everything with this product is perfect. I could install another drive to my Mini without any problem. Now I have more space!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Upper Drive ALT Bay Installation Kit for Mac mini 2012..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SW Arkansas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 2/5 Improvement but not perfect May 2, 2015 The series of computers this is designed for has known issues with usb 3 and bluetooth interference. The fault lies with the computer mfg. for such a major oversight in this area. While this shielding kit was very easy to implement due to the great tutorial videos, it could have been better it the necessary hex driver was included in lieu of using the star driver that is included. Now for results, it is an improvement BUT, it is still not possible to stack these units with the computer if you plan on using usb 3 and a bluetooth keyboard and mouse. To prevent interference the drives and computer have to be separated by at least 8 inches and not located between the computer and the keyboard. It is a shame that such a perfect stackable drive can't be stacked with the computer it was primarily designed for while using usb 3 and bluetooth devices.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: baton rouge la Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A real boost to the mini April 30, 2015 The product works great and the installation was a breeze following the on line tutorial.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Pretty easy install - Incredibly useful April 10, 2015 Arrived in no-frills packaging, good enough to protect the contents and not too much as to be wasteful, though it did come with a full color thick printed manual for the install guide. The guide was spot on and every step had a clear picture of which screws to remove or component to press/turn/pull/etc, I just wished it had come with a PDF (or QR code on the envelope to load on my phone?) to be more environmentally friendly.

With the clear pictures and a step-by-simple-step guide, installation was straightforward, if not time consuming. But in the end I was set up with my own fusion drive and my Mac Mini is now super fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great solution April 5, 2015 Nice to be able to add a second drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Upper Drive ALT Bay Installation Kit for Mac mini 2012..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excelent product April 5, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product March 23, 2015 Easy installation and thorough installation video

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Data Double Kit for Mac Mini March 2, 2015 This kit contains everything that you need to add a second hard-drive to the Mac Mini. The instructions are well written and watching the video is a plus because this installation can be a bit challenging the first time around. Once you've done it once, doing it again is a snap! Be careful to keep track of the screws and where they go. I ran into one 'gotcha' because I got distracted part way through the dis-assembly process. The T6 screw that secures the fan cowling actually screws into the head of another screw just below it. That screw secures the heat-sink assembly on the logic board. By mistake, I removed the screw that secured the heat-sink assembly and upon re-assembly, I had a problem trying to re-install the fan cowling. The screw appeared to be too short. Nothing made sense until I compared my Mac Mini to another Mac Mini and discovered my mistake. It was very ingenious of Apple to thread a hole for the fan cowling screw into the head of the heat-sink screw, but very confusing if you trip up here.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Laval, Qc Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic February 23, 2015 Really enjoy all: Low price, fast and cheap shipping even to Canada, quality of installation instructions and at last, perfect product. With this product, we can do a lot at very low price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Suffolk, UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fabulous bit of kit February 23, 2015 This bit of kit is excellent. Contains al the instructions, all the necessary bits, and along with the links to the videoclips, is all you need. In my case, I had a drive in the upper position - that I had to replace, and also a drive to put in the lower position. Two new drives in other words. Went like a charm. The Mini 2012 is one very tight fitting sucker I'll say that. So take your time. ... I only have one spare little screw left over.!! No idea where it was originally, and could not find anywhere to screw it into to, although it was somewhere. I highly recommend this kit, but it's not for the taint hearted.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Upper Drive ALT Bay Installation Kit for Mac mini 2012..

OWC Bluetooth module shielding kit Mfr P/N: OWCDIYIMM12BTS OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMM12BTS For Apple Mac mini 2012 models Ships: Same Day Only $45.94Bundle Priced for $4.99
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCDIYIMM12BTS In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Options & Kits: Install Kit
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $28.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.99
    • OWC Price $32.50
Mounting Kit Only
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • OWC Price $24.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $36.99
    • OWC Price $26.75
Special Tool Kits
  • BT Shield