OWC

Bluetooth module shielding kit

For Apple Mac mini 2012 models
The 2012 Mac mini is a great machine, but we have found one small issue with it. Some units may not have proper shielding applied internally on the Bluetooth module and thus can experience interference from USB 3.0 drives.

This situation appears to be due to the specific placement of shielding which can vary from unit to unit. As a result, some mini users may experience diminished and/or up to total loss of Bluetooth use even at very short range.

The OWC Bluetooth Shielding Kit is a simple, DIY solution that substantially improves Bluetooth range. It comes complete with all tools, instructions, and a special EMI shielding foil with non-conductive adhesive. After installing this kit, you should experience improved functional Bluetooth range up to 20 feet.

For full details about the Mac mini 2012 Bluetooth issues
please read our blog post.

Product Specifications

  • Manufacturer Part Number: OWCDIYIMM12BTS

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is not covered by any warranty. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund. The 5-Piece Toolkit (except for nylon pry tool) included with this kit is covered by a 1 Year Warranty.

Includes

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 163 out of 174 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cape Town,South Africa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product to boost your mac mini September 22, 2013 I have purchased this kit along with a OWC 120GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD 2.5" Serial-ATA 9.5mm 6Gb/s Solid State Drive for my Mac Mini mid-2011 model. Even with 8GB of RAM I added a while back, the Mac mini was slow on boot & existing hard drive was quite full. Installation was flawless with the kit provided and the documentation supplied is perfect. Do it without rushing (especially when disconnecting some internal fragile connectors) as the Mac Mini is tricky to disassemble. I've reinstalled OSX & software on the SSD which is the boot drive now, and use the original hard drive as storage. the boot speed is now amazing (finder within a few seconds) thanks to the SSD, same for any software launch. OWC offered at no charge an antenna shielding to add to Mac Mini to avoid bluetooth interference with USB3. Shipping service was incredibly fast as well to South Africa (4 days !)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Germany, Frankfurt Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Awsome August 6, 2013 Have ordered first a much cheaper installation kit from another Vendor from far east, which has not worked at all - have tried anything and lost many hours and hairs...

Ordered this one from OWC as last way out - and the work was done in minutes and it works flawlessly.

Only issue I had: I paid a big amount for an express shipping from US to Germany but received my order approx. after 1 week. It's not really bad, but not worst 30$ which is nearly the same amount the install kit costs!.

This has nothing to do with the very good product - only with OWC - would say for any european customer - try to order via the great river or bay (Axxxxon / Exxy) or choose the cheaper way of shipping.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rski Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything worked great July 26, 2013 I would not recommend for the weak of heart. The install took about and hour. The little connectors are hard to get on and off.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 2/5 Guts of MacMini are Tiny July 24, 2013 The kit came as ordered and appeared reasonable quality. So great. Instructions, video's etc all clear.... All in all very good.

However, the first step removing the fan wants you to remove the power connector. Folks its very, very tiny with hairs for wires. I tried with the supplied green stick to lift the connector.. gently... and no dice.

The video is humorous in that the fan connector is already wiggling free before the guy touches it, not so in my world.

So I was stumped after removing three fan screws and too fearful to force the issue. Project over.

In spite of the "I did it in 30 minutes" praises... this is not for the faint of heart and I've done many computer geeky things in the past.

Time to look for a thunderbolt enclosure for my SSD.

This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: denver Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A great way to get a double drive SSD Mini June 30, 2013 The instructions are great and the process isn't too difficult. Be aware however that a mistake will create a PITA situation due to the delicate nature of the internal Mini parts involved. I'm a bit mechanical and really had no trouble. It's about a 45 minute to 1.5 hour job depending upon the skill of a first time swapper. Everything you need is in the kit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gillette, WY Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good Product, Not As Hard As You'd Think June 1, 2013 This kit worked very well. Installation went fairly well and everything works flawlessly. The only problem I had was getting the grommets to fit in the drive bracket but after that everything went smoothly and my homemade Fusion Drive is working like a charm!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install, Works great... May 28, 2013 This kit made adding an SSD to my Mac Mini a piece of cake, the videos are spot on and the instruction book is a great reference. My only complaint could be the tools could use slighty longer handles...other wise perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent value for the DIY'er May 24, 2013 As usual OWC impresses with an upgrade package that's clearly documented and performance priced. Thanks to the accompanying guide and the video tutorial (d/led for the occasion) adding a second drive (Mercury Electra 3G SSD) held no surprises though at times it could be painstaking–OWC rated the upgrade 'Challenging' and I agree.

It took me a little over an hour to complete but it was an hour well spent. Consider me another satisfied customer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rg IL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Was hard but worked! April 28, 2013 The video is helpful But the manual is better Although the kit does not have prober labels the colors are the best indicates Almost broke a connector but it worked If you like DIY Go for it Saved $300 and now I have a cool set up Thanks WOC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Moscow, Russia Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless April 24, 2013 Thanks to this litlle kit I've installed SSD into my 2012 Mac Mini and set up the Fusion Drive. Works perfect. Took me about an hour instead of 30 minutes, but that's probably because I was too cautious with those little wires.

Five out of five.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Piece of Cake April 23, 2013 Well designed and well documented kit for adding a second internal drive to a Mac Mini. I have several decades of experience in electronics and have disassembled/reassembled thousands of pieces of equipment. I have to say this kit is one of the best instructional procedures I have seen. In spite of the cheap materials and design of Apple's products (which cause things to stick and get out of alignment mechanically), the instructions in this kit help to warn you of possible problems along the way. Excellent work! On the slight down side, I consider this kit a bit pricey for what you get. But, considering the great job OWC did with providing the exact tools and precise instructions, I have to say it is worth the expense to make the job a 'piece of cake'.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore, MD Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thorough instructions, easy to follow February 16, 2013 I normally don't write reviews but felt the need to after installing this product. I was very apprehensive about removing all the guts of my Mac Mini. Afraid I would permanently damage something and end up with a paper weight. I am not a computer tech and have no experience with computer repair. This kit is awesome!! Coupled with the 120 GB SSD(also purchased from OWC), my Mac Mini flies! I think anyone could swap out a hard drive with this kit. With a little patience and following the very detailed and excellent instructions, it is a breeze. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great February 3, 2013 I purchased this to add an SSD as my primary drive while keeping the original 1TB HDD for files and backup. I have a late 2012 mini and the instructions were very good - as others have mentioned go slow and watch the video several times to get comfortable with what you are doing. Based on some comments in other forums, I chose to put the new SSD into the original drive location and move the stock drive to the extra bay. Also note that the antenna connector is now hidden under some tape but its easily pushed to the side.

Be gentle and move slowly - my mini is flying now!

This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nsayer Location: Santa Clara, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Easier than they implied it would be December 11, 2012 When they said this was a 4 ("challenging") on a scale of 1 to 5, I think they may have been slightly overstating the level of difficulty. But it's possible that I am biased, since I took apart a 1st gen mac mini back in the day to upgrade its CPU to a Core 2 Duo. So I'm used to this sort of thing, perhaps.

One thing that was not suggested, but that I would recommend, is to keep a magnifier handy. Sometimes some of the steps are made somewhat easier when you can get a really good, close look at what you're doing.

I'm going to knock one star off because of an error in the manual that came with the kit. The error is that they have you reinserting a screw into the drive carrier during reinstallation, but that step must not be performed until the power supply is put back in place (the screw holds the power supply in as well). The video instructions are correct. I recommend watching the HD version of the video a couple of times.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TheMacMan Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great way to add additional storage November 23, 2012 Ordered the data doubler for my new late 2012 Mac mini. All the tools you need are included which makes installation easy. The full color guide provided has every step shown clearly and the YouTube installation video too make install a snap. Using the provided instructions, even the most technically inclined should have no issues adding another drive without too much trouble.

The price is great. While it may be a couple dollars more than an external enclosure for a drive, installing another drive internally means that it works at the full SATA speed rather than the slower speeds of USB 3.0/2.0 or FireWire.

This is a great option for those looking to add storage without the added clutter of an external drive. It also means faster transfer speeds because the drive is internal (although Thunderbolt externals should offer the same speeds although they are very expensive at this point).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mckitrick Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Installed on latest 2012 2.6Ghz i7 November 21, 2012 Thanks to OWC I've got an SSD and the original 1T hard drive installed! The only difference between the video and the BEAUTIFUL included documentation with my unit is a sticker placed over the Wifi antenna connector. Not a problem if you're paying attention, though. An "involved" install but everything fit nicely. Definite recommend! Don't even bother trying to source the cable elsewhere, you'll pay almost as much for the cable itself on auction-type sites (hint hint) and you won't get the grommets or any of the tools and ultimately, OWC should get a reward as well as a big thumbs up for the great instructions they've put together.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Developer Location: Apollo, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Pay OWC to do the installation and let them take the risks. November 20, 2012 I have been building computers and upgrading them for 35 years and I have never had so many problems with a disk install. The good news is that my Mac Mini still works and the 240 GB 6G SSD reduced the cold boot time from 55 sec to 14 sec. The bad news is that I damaged the IR connector and now the power / sleep light does not work. I don't know if the IR sensor works because I don't have a way to test it. I used the pry tool shown in the video to remove the IR connector but a small piece of plastic broke off of the top of the connector. The connector on the system board also seemed to move. I didn't order the tools because I have two sets from previous MacBook Pro installs. The photo shows the logic board removal tool but it is Not included! I noticed this in the text and ordered one separately. You must have this tool to get the logic board out! Taking the Mini apart was not as easy as it looks in the video but putting it back together was horrible! The video and the manual help a lot. The book has an error. It says to replace the drive carrier screws before you replace the power supply and this is incorrect. The video shows the proper procedure. The manual also says not to over tighten the screws on the new drive but you really need to tighten them down so that the drive carrier will slide in far enough to match up with the carrier mounting screw holes. The antenna grid was very difficult to get back into position and the screw holes in the original drive were off but I finally got them into position. All of the connections were very hard to re-attach. The video makes it look easy but there is very little room inside the Mini to use your fingers. The antenna connector is also located under a plastic shield that is not shown in the installation manual or the video and the wire goes both down and up under the shield. I gave the product a rating of three stars but I give it one star for DIY installations and I would give it five stars if you pay OWC to do the installation for you. Don't risk your computer. Have OWC do the install. The video says that the install should take 45 min. It took me over two hours because of all of the problems. I hope this helps those of you who are considering this upgrade. I love the 240 GB 6G SSD drive and I know you will be happy with your Mac Mini after the upgrade but let the experienced people at OWC take the risks. I wish I had!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: 'Data Doubler' 2.5" HDD/SSD Mounting Kit for Mac mini (2011, 2012 & Later).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Steverr Location: Montreal Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! (but I had an Installation Disaster) October 10, 2012 This posting is a warning so that others may avoid my mistake. During disassembly, I inadvertently pried the entire IR cable connecter assembly from the logic board. Be very, very careful that you distinguish the two parts of this connector so that you don't make the same fatal mistake that I did. :-(

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: swede Location: stockholm, Sweden Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product. October 9, 2012 Everything you need to mount a second hard drive to your mac mini 2011. Great instructions included.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeterG Location: Albuquerque, NM Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product with great manual! September 1, 2012 Bought this so I could put an SSD into my Mac Mini. The kit came with everything I needed, including a very detailed and very well put together OWC-made installation guide. It is a challenging install that's probably not for anyone who doesn't know their way around the inside of a Mac, but the installation guide made it much, much smoother. Great job OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mick Location: Charles Town, WV Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth The Investment In Time and Effort June 28, 2012 Like many, I was not really looking forward to disassembling my Mac mini but that's what you have to do in order to install a SSD or HD. I performed two of these upgrades putting a SSD in one and an 750GB HD in another. Just follow along with the instructions and take your time and things pretty much work out ok. The two issues I had revolved around the electrical connectors and the OEM HD. The connectors are fragile looking so it's a bit stressful to disconnect and reconnect them as you're always worried about botching the wiring harness. I didn't have any issues with them but it's tight working conditions so be prepared. The other issue was trying to seat the upper drive back into the mini. I gave up and removed the guide screws and it fit just fine after that. The antenna mount acts to secure the drive as well so it's in no danger of jiggling around. The OWC kit is complete and instructions are among the best I've ever seen. So, if you're willing to take the plunge, you can either add a SSD to boost performance or a HDD to increase storage. I did both on two separate machines and it both are working great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MichaelD Location: Springfield OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great kit but challenging! May 7, 2012 This is a challenging upgrade but within the capabilities of a savvy user if you are comfortable with the innards of a previous Mini or Mac laptop. Great care must be taken but the video tutorial is very comprehensive and accurate; I had forethought to move a copy to my iPad to help with the install.

What was the most difficult was encountered during reassembly. Getting the drive back in the stock "lower" location took some finagling and seating the Airport Antenna back in place also took some work. If the two ears of the Airport Antenna don't sit PERFECTLY in their spots, something isn't right. Part goes under the lip and part goes over it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC 'Data Doubler' 2.5" Hard Drive/SSD Installation Kit for Mac mini 2011 - 2012 models..

OWC Bluetooth module shielding kit Mfr P/N: OWCDIYIMM12BTS OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMM12BTS For Apple Mac mini 2012 models Ships: Same Day Only $45.94Bundle Priced for $4.99
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCDIYIMM12BTS In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Options & Kits: Install Kit
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • Cyber Saver $28.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.99
    • OWC Price $32.50
Mounting Kit Only
  • Lower Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • OWC Price $24.75
  • Upper Bay
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $36.99
    • OWC Price $26.75
Special Tool Kits
  • BT Shield