Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

Envoy Pro mini

240GB
Lightning Fast | Desktop Class SSD | Perfectly Portable

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
  • Fast USB 3.0 interface
  • Sustained speeds of over 410 MB/s
  • Full-sized SSD performance
Full-sized, fast SSD storage that fits in your pocket.
This is not your average thumb drive. Elegant, light, and strong, Envoy Pro mini is full-sized desktop-class SSD performance in the ultimate go-anywhere storage companion. It's incredibly fast and perfectly portable for your life on the move.
Outstanding Features
Big Storage. Big Speeds. Small Footprint.
Because it's a desktop-class SSD, the Envoy Pro mini is fast - lightning fast. In fact, it's nearly twice as fast as the average thumb drive. Sustained read speeds over 410 MB/s means real-world performance you can depend on. Available in 120 GB, 240 GB, and 480 GB capacities, it's a powerful little workhorse with the time-tested pedigree of the OWC SSD family.
The Speed and Flexibility You Need.
Unprecedented speed in such a small form-factor sets you free from progress bars and data bottlenecks. Transferring large files, 4K video production, hosting a virtual machine, even booting an entire OS - everything happens quicker with the Envoy Pro mini.
Pro Performance Meets Singular Design.
There's a lot hiding inside Envoy Pro Mini's sleek aluminum body, including the same suite of industry-leading controller technologies as OWC's high-performance desktop-class SSDs. With long-lasting performance you can rely on, the Envoy Pro mini shrinks professional-grade technology into a pocket-sized powerhouse.


Speedtools
Includes the Powerful SpeedTools Utility Suite for Mac
The comprehensive Mac utility used by professionals for accurate Mac diagnosis and maintenance. Click the SOFTWARE tab below to learn more »

Includes

  • OWC Envoy® Pro mini USB 3.0 bus-powered Storage Solution
  • USB Extension Cable
  • Lanyard
  • Pre-installed Backup and Utility software
    • Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™ OEM (For Mac OS 8.6, OS X 10.3.9 or later only)
    • ProSoft Engineering® Data Backup for Mac OS X v10.2.8 or later
    • NovaStor NovaBACKUP® for Windows 2000 or later
  • 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Service Turnaround Time

Gallery

OWC Envoy Pro mini Specifications:

Capacity

  • 240GB OWC Envoy Pro SSD
    1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

Chipset

  • Asmedia 1153e USB 3.0 controller

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0 interface

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0, Standard A

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500 MB/s

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Features

  • Machined Aluminum Enclosure

System Requirements

  • Mac® Requirements: Mac OS 10.3 or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port. Bootable on any Mac that can boot from USB.
  • PC Requirements: Windows XP or later and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux® Requirements: Linux OS versions and an available and supported USB 3.0 port.

Dimensions

  • .94 in (W) x 3.7 in (D) x .44 in (H)
  • 2.3876 cm (W) x 9.4 cm (D) x 1.1176 cm (H)

Weight (no accessories)

  • 1.5 ounces (42 grams)

Software Included

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) 32° — 158°
    • Temperature (°C) 0° — 70°
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature (°F) &min;40° — 185°
    • Temperature (°C) &min;40° — 70°

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ENVMKU3S240 UPC#: 812437021233
       

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 8 out of 8 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TomDFrog Location: Central Maryland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Really good but can be improved November 30, 2016 I have this as a shuttle between my home and work machines. I originally tried to make it a portable copy of home files to keep things off my work machine. But then my first one failed one day and data was lost as it had not yet been backed up to home. So now I keep a copy on my work machine and copy at home and use this as the go between with Synchronize Pro. Never put all you faith on a storage medium. Even SSDs fail. OWC replaced it promptly.

I love that it is 480GB. I do wish they made a larger one. I wish the had made the design more USB Port Friendly. It is FAT. On a laptop, you cannot use the adjacent USB port while this is plugged in. It should ship with a USB extension cable! Even on the back of an iMac, the device struggles to play nice in terms of space for adjacent USB Plugs. The only place I have found it to fit flawlessly is on the front of an old Silver MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 480GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Winter Location: CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Runs hot, but very fast, lots of room. August 13, 2016 This device is somewhat larger than a typical USB flash drive, but at nearly half a terabyte of capacity, it is still amazing. It runs "hot" (quite warm to the touch), but the aluminum housing dissipates the heat well, and I have had no problems.

Although I have other USB 3.0 flash drives, this one is noticeably faster.

An amazing combination of small size and large capacity. Recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A great emergency repair and restore drive May 26, 2016 Compact, fast, and dead simple to use. I wish there was room for this between the other USB plugs on my Mac mini, but the included extension cable solves the problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NYC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Not bad as an interim solution April 2, 2016 This is the smallest / lightest / most portable way to carry 480Bytes around on an SSD I've seen to date. Much to be said for that. But a couple of issues to be aware of:

1. Speed. Although marketed as having "up to 427 MB/sec sustained speeds" if you read the fine print, i.e., click on the "benchmark" tab, you'll see that write speed is actually more than 2.5 times slower than read speed. In my real world tests using 5GByte files the best I'm getting is 129 MB/sec write speeds and 342 MB/sec read speeds on a new MacPro or MacBookPro running OS X 10.11.4. Doesn't suck but not really what it's claimed to be.

2. Heat. When transferring a lot of files, e.g., a 300 GByte back up, the drive gets so hot you can't touch it. Not sure what that means for long term reliability but I suspect it's not a good sign.

In summary, if you need a tiny way to carry around a lot of data right now this is a good choice. But if you can wait a bit I bet latter generations will be better.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast, portable and bootable March 9, 2016 LOVE this 480G mini SSD. I have to run Mountain Lion on my laptop to stay compatible with my current version of Pro Tools. But iPhoto no longer plays nice with iCloud, so I also need El Capitan to make my cloud stuff work right. I was booting into an external 1TB Thunderbolt HD for that, but it was painfully slow. I got the 480 mini SSD, easily installed the OS and migrated my data to it. WOW, what a difference. Now I can boot into El Capitan in seconds, not minutes. Also, I can put it in my pocket or hang it around my neck with the included lanyard.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Marietta, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good service and good products February 29, 2016 Good Service and good products. Quick response, as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montréal Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very portable, yet very capable! January 11, 2016 Make no mistake! Although this looks like a basic USB thumb drive, storage and SPEED are nowhere near. The speed of this drive is very close to my internal SSD, which make this a great solution for an occasional, external Bootcamp drive.

I use this drive to boot Windows 10, work on my client's specific needs and play games on Steam for Windows. So far, so good!

Attention: if you plan to create a bootable Windows solution, I recommend you find and carefully follow a tutorial on the web. This will save you many hours of pain since Apple doesn't allow installation of Bootcamp on an external drive. But as soon as this works, you'll be very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Windows 10 Parallels VM December 19, 2015 Purchased this drive to use as a Windows 10 installation under Parallels. Windows 10 runs better on this hard drive through my Macbook Pro as a VM than on many PC desktops. This drive totally ROCKS!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Stokers Siding, NSW, Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good fast SSD. December 1, 2015 This small USB3 SSD drive works well as you would expect, but there are a few issues: 1. No LED to tell you it's on. 2. No markings on USB cable so you don't know which way is up. 3. It gets really hot! Perhaps good as a coffee warmer. As a backup drive it's significantly faster than spinning disk USB3 drives, and it will startup a MacBook Pro in not too much longer than the internal SSD, so running maintenance on the internal drive from the Envoy Pro works very well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Thailand Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect August 17, 2015 Fast access and plenty of storage for a small device, perfect for my needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sacramento, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 3/5 Fast but they get really hot, really fast August 15, 2015 These seem to work fine, but both of mine (128 and 256gb) get really hot as soon as you start to use them. I sent my first one back due to heat issue and they replaced it, but the replacement get just as hot. On the good side, they are quite fast... but the constant high temperature has me concerned as to how durable they are in the long run. Even when just plugged in but not moving files to or from the device they heat up. It also makes no difference whether it is plugged into a desktop or laptop... they run hot.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Envoy Pro mini Ultra-Portable SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cape Coral, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product July 30, 2015 When I read about the Pro decided that it was time to give it a try. I use a lot of USB drives to store and move around data from work to home or to other computers, really didn't think a Portable USB NAND flash drive would be as good as advertised. Sine it isn't much bigger that a USB Thumb drive I was surprised at the speed. It is very fast, so fast that I decided to format it and use it to boot Windows on instead of running Windows in bootcamp or in a VM on my Mac to save space. It works much better that I thought it would. It gets a little warm but not hot at all. I would recommend it for its speed and portability. Your uses for it are many.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great but gets hot..... July 26, 2015 Great minimalist design and highly portable. Seems to be fast. 50GB SuperDuper clones in about 15 minutes from my rMBP. Several backups and "bare metal" restores completed with complete fidelity. This is an ideal, bootable travel backup media but it gets quite hot during backups and I wonder about longevity.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paris - France Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product June 30, 2015 The best way to increase your internal SSD size by adding 240GB in a USB port. The product is quite affordable and worth the money. I recommend it for any MacBook whose SSD size is limited.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Thailand Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great speedy and convenient, but gets a bit hot June 30, 2015 There is no doubt that it is fast, convenient and has better storage . I am happy with it, but concerned that it gets quite hot if left attached for a long time.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC 240GB Envoy® Pro mini Mfr P/N: ENVMKU3S240 MacSales.com SKU: OWCENVMKU3S240 Portable, Bus-Powered USB 3.0
SSD Storage Solution
3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $199.99CyberSaver $188.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ENVMKU3S240 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • MacSales.com Price $119.99
  • 240GB
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.99
    • CyberSaver $279.75