Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable Drives & Enclosures

OWC Express Black

0GB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit

New Condition | Open Box

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Pocket-sized USB bus powered ventilated enclosure
for a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD
offering the ultimate combination of style and
value in portable data storage and backup.
Outstanding Features
Express your digital life with style, convenience, and value!
The 2 oz., pocket-sized OWC Express USB 3.0 Enclosure offers bus powered* personal storage performance in an ultra-portable design. With no AC adapter needed, a USB connecting cable and carrying sleeve included, and compatibility with Macs and PCs, the OWC Express puts your music, photos, and personal data in the fast lane.
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC Express 2.5" USB 3.0 Enclosure offers maximum mobile data storage/backup potential with a sleek, totally bus powered design. Just add your own 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) I/II/III hard drive or SSD up to 9.5mm height and take your digital life with you wherever you roam!
Hard Drive Not Included – Needs 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive
2.5" sata hard drive
OWC NOTE: This drive enclosure requires a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) drive mechanism.
*Bus powered via USB port on most computers, provided computer's bus supplies appropriate power needs.

Includes

  • OWC Express 2.5" SATA Hard Drive or Solid State Drive Enclosure
  • High Quality Double Shielded USB 3.0 connecting cable
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide
  • Carrying sleeve
  • 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty with 48-Hour Turnaround Time

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1053e USB 3.0 chipset

Drive Mechanisms Supported

  • Any 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD up to 2.2TB in capacity and up to 9.5mm in size.

Interfaces Supported

  • USB 3.0, 2.0 or 1.1 Backwards compatible

Port Configuration

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed – (1) mini port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0 – 500MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

System Requirements

  • Macintosh: Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.
  • PC: Windows Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port.
  • Linux: Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Power Supply

  • Bus Power via USB on all models with USB 2.0 or 3.0 port

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.07 in (W) x 5.12 in (D) x 0.55 in (H)

Enclosure Weight (no accessories)

  • 2.0 ounces (56g)

Product Manual

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Relative Humidity

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Enclosure Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ES2.5BU3B UPC#: 794504329452

Videos



Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 77 out of 91 (85%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JoelRochon
Rating: 5/5 Of course OWC is the best July 12, 2021 I don't have to worry about the quality of the products. OWC does the worrying for me and always delivers the best

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Response from OWC, Support July 13, 2021 Thank you for that response. Your absolutely right! We work to provide the highest quality product and experience at an incredible price, and each time we find a way to move our products forward, we work to make sure it is the best, and then we deliver. Always know if you need any help or expertise with a product, OWC is right behind you every step of the way.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WildQuail-18401
Rating: 5/5 Working perfectly July 6, 2021 Easy to order and was shipped in a reasonable time. Easy setup, plugged it into my iMac and it worked.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Response from OWC, Support July 8, 2021 Good to hear! Hope the solution will be useful for a long time with your iMac!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tedbrinkley
Rating: 5/5 So far so good July 5, 2021 Always great service from these people. Accept no substitutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Response from OWC, Support July 6, 2021 Thank you for your continued support, we appreciate it!!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: christopheroldham
Rating: 5/5 Product as described - Does the job June 26, 2021 Recommended by a CSA at WC and does the job as expected. Arrived promptly. Great service

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Response from OWC, Support June 28, 2021 We are glad ti hear that our customer service team was able to assist with locating a compatible enclosure to suit your computing needs.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ObedientRaven-442
Rating: 5/5 Owc is always the best. June 1, 2021 Took me 5 minutes to put together and with an ssd fit is tight and it is fast, think we cloned a hard drive with 400gb in 25-40 min. Real6Gbps speed (with 6Gbps SSD). Amazing value, comes with a real USB SS cord too...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: appum
Rating: 5/5 Compact Quality May 22, 2021 No issues at all. Recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CalmPartridge-78549
Rating: 3/5 MichaelB Australia April 27, 2021 All was good until I tried to plug in the power! Was sent a USA plug instead of an Australian plug.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: writty
Rating: 5/5 Fits my needs perfectly April 26, 2021 I plugged this drive in, set up Time Machine to back up to it, and that was all there was to it. I'd recommend this product and seller to anyone.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: eggman9713 Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Inexpensive enclosure from a name I trust. September 7, 2020 I've used many different enclosures like this from various brands, and often they are of questionable quality and have high failure and DOA rates. This one has given me no trouble in the year I've owned it. Simple, inexpensive, and reliable. It is still made of plastic so it would be better if metal, but there are other products for that.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Philonous Location: Gold Coast, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Cheap enclsosure that works perfecty August 15, 2020 What can I say? It's cheap, it has perfect circuitry, and it is rugged. I got it, I installed my old hard drive into it, and now I get blazing speed via USB 3 with my new MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DaWeve Location: Missouri Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great backup for my wife's MacBook Pro August 10, 2020 Purchased this to replace older external drive that finally gave up the ghost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Available2act Location: WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Like a Charm July 13, 2020 Plug it in and the OWS portable drive tells you what to do next. I have not used the 1 Tb portable drive yet but can assume I will be just as satisfied with it. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: starman Location: Williams Bay, WI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 enclosure is easy to use July 3, 2020 I have now used this enclosure for various new disks as I clone old disks to new and then install the new disks as replacements in laptops. It has been easy to install the disks and then remove them as needed.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldTimer70 Location: Long Island, New York Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A reliable & affordable mini external drive, ideal for Time Machine backups, May 14, 2020 especially the 2.0 TB model (Mfr P/N: ESU3M2.0B; OWC SKU: OWCESU3M2.0B; eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/ESU3M2.0B/). And the USB 3.0 (mini) interface is plenty fast for any 2.5" hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GrantY Location: Savannah, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As advertised February 3, 2020 Easy to setup and install. Works perfectly.

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Krismo Location: Sapporo, Japan Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Affordable quality June 24, 2019 The external hard drive was at a good price and I decided to buy it to have somewhere to store my school and work files. It`s basic, but my only complaint is the case it comes in feels a little flimsy. But it is very light and easy to carry with me on the go. Overall I`m very happy, and I don`t care about writing speeds, as long as I have lots of memory and writes at a decent speed. It also came with a small carry case.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - White.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GlennC Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 A great little drive chassis January 29, 2019 I upgraded the hard drive in several Mac Minis to SSDs, and use these to contain the original spinning drives for off-site backups. Lightweight but durable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: djseebee Location: Qatar Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Product January 17, 2019 very good quality & Cheap Price

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Smooth White.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Frank Location: Prescott, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very nice external case December 20, 2018 I currently have a 1TB hard disk drive in the case, connected to a 2018 Mac Mini. It's the perfect case/drive for a back up drive and I'm very happy with it

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Curtterp Location: Northern IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works like a charm October 25, 2018 I use this as a travel backup Hard drive. Works well with my MacBook Pro 2013

I yet to use it with my new MacBook Pro 2018

This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JimT61 Location: Derwood, MD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just as advertised September 17, 2018 Bought to serve as drive to receive Carbon Copy Cloner files. Worked just great and has added attraction of being so light and compact.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Express USB 3.0 Portable External Drive - Black.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MikeB5 Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A solid product August 7, 2018 I gave away the first enclosure I got from OWC. Decided to buy another for myself.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dnfnd Location: Fargo, ND Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked for my needs July 29, 2018 I put the drive from my failing 2010 MacBook Pro in this enclosure so I could copy the contents to another external drive. Installation was a piece of cake. (I agree with another reviewer who noted that the instructions show installing the screws in the reverse positions from what actually works.) The enclosure is well-designed, and fit and finish is excellent. It's plastic, so it maybe wouldn't stand up to a large number of drive changes, so plan accordingly for your needs. It lives up to the quality standards of other products I've purchased from MacSales.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express Portable Bus-Powered USB 3.0 Enclosure for 2.5" SATA Notebook HDDs & SSDs - Discreet Black.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Maclovr
Rating: 5/5 Great Product July 4, 2018 Everything worked as promised, but the included machine screws were the opposite of the instructions.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: adolfo Location: Mexico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product May 20, 2018 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Express 2.5" Portable USB 3.0 Enclosure for SATA Notebook HDDs - Sleek Silver.
OWC 0GB Express Black Mfr P/N: ES2.5BU3B OWC SKU: OWCES2.5BU3BOB USB 3.0 2.5" Hard Drive Kit 1 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day
Supply Limited: 7 available
Only $19.99Cyber Saver $12.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ES2.5BU3B In Stock, Click to Buy Now