Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini

500GB 7200RPM
Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface Storage Solution

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0 / FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible)
High-performance and Plug and Play data storage/backup reliability with a fanless, bus-powered design
With your choice of a 2.5" Serial ATA (SATA) hard drive OR Solid State Drive (SSD), the latest chipset, and USB 3.0/FireWire 800 interfaces, the Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable Storage Solution delivers up to 500MB/s data transfer speeds for demanding data storage and backup needs. All that performance resides in an impact resistant, heat dissipating 5.5 in (L) x 3.8 in (W) x 1.1 in (H) brushed aluminum enclosure with super-quiet operation.

When you want high style in high performance storage, look no further than the Mercury Elite Pro mini. With the highest quality drive mechanism built into a shock resistant portable aluminum enclosure, the Mercury Elite Pro mini is ready to go wherever you need an A/V, Digital Photography, Professional Music, Graphics, General Data, and Time Machine ready storage solution.
  • Interfaces: USB 3.0 & 2.0; FireWire 800 (FireWire 400 Backwards Compatible)
  • The USB 3.0 Micro-B port is backwards compatible with USB 2.0 cables (USB 3.0 standard A to Micro-B connecting cable is included)
  • All interface cables are included
  • Bus-powered via USB 3.0
  • Data transfer speeds up to 500MB/s (via USB 3.0; 100MB/s via FireWire 800)
  • Drive speeds up to 7200RPM
  • Perfect for digital photography, professional music, graphics, general data, and Time Machine
  • Portable size at 5.5in(L) x 3.8in(W) x 1.1in(H)
  • Brushed aluminum, impact resistant, heat dissipating enclosure
  • Super-quiet, fanless operation
  • ASMedia 1053E and Oxford 944SE high-performance chipset
  • 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty
Speedtools
Includes the Powerful SpeedTools Utility Suite for Mac
The comprehensive Mac utility used by professionals for accurate Mac diagnosis and maintenance. Click the SOFTWARE tab below to learn more »

Includes

  • OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Bus-Powered, Multi-Interface, USB 3.0 & 2.0, FireWire 800 Storage Solution with Hard Drive
  • High-quality FireWire 800 connecting cable
  • High-quality USB 3.0 connecting cable
  • Pre-installed Backup and Utility software
    • Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™ OEM (For Mac OS 8.6, OS X 10.3.9 or later only)
    • ProSoft Engineering® Data Backup for Mac OS X v10.2.8 or later
    • NovaStor NovaBACKUP® for Windows 2000 or later
  • Over 1.5GB of Freeware/Shareware/Public domain software pre-installed
  • Mercury Elite Pro mini Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download only)
  • OWC 3-year Solution Warranty with 48-hour Turnaround Time
  • Complimentary Level 1 Data Recovery for the first year

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Chipset

  • ASMedia 1053E and Oxford 944SE High-Performance Chipset

Standard Mechanism

    500GB HGST Travelstar™ Z7K500 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    2.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Capacity1
    500GB
    Formatted Capacity2
    465GiB
    Rotational Speed
    7,200 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    32MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    HTS725050A7E630
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    7mm (0.275″)
    Width (max)
    69.85mm (2.750″)
    Length (max)
    100.35mm (3.951″)
    Weight (typical)
    95g (0.209 lbs.)
    Bytes per Sector
    512
    Areal Density
    630Gb/in2

    Reliability3

    Contact Start-Stops
    600,000
    Warranty
    3 Year HGST Warranty

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    600MB/s
    Track-to-track Seek
    1.0ms
    Average Seek Time
    13.0ms
    Average Latency
    4.2ms

    Power

    Maximum Start Current, DC
    5.5 Watts
    Seek Power
    2.1 Watts
    Read Power
    1.8 Watts
    Write Power
    1.8 Watts
    Idle Mode
    1.7 Watts
    Idle Mode, Active
    1.0 Watts
    Idle Mode, Low Power
    0.8 Watts
    Standby Mode
    0.2 Watts
    Sleep Mode
    0.1 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    400 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    1000 G max at 1ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 149°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 65°C
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    2.3 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    2.4 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
  • 500GB* HGST TravelStar Z7K500 Hard Disk Drive**

  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Drive Cache Size

  • 32 Megabyte (32,768k)

Drive Rotation Speed

  • 7200RPM

Port Configuration

  • FireWire 800 – 2 port
  • USB 3.0 – (1) Micro-B port

Max Data Transfer Rate

  • FireWire 800 – 100 MB/s
  • USB 3.0 – 500 MB/s
  • USB 2.0 – 60MB/s
  • USB 1.1 – 1.5MB/s

Port/Interface Bootability

Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?

Format

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Macintosh System Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, Mac OS X 10.0.x or later and an available USB 1.1.
  • Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later. Including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x and an available USB2.0/1.1, or FireWire 800/400 port.
  • Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later.

Windows System Requirements

  • Windows 98SE or later and an available FireWire 400 or USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • Windows 2000 or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1, or FireWire 800/400 port.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux compatible via supported USB interface.

Power Supply*

  • Bus Power via FireWire 800 supported on all models equipped with an available FireWire 800 port either factory stock or via add on FireWire 800 PCI Card.
  • Bus Power via FireWire 400 on all models made in 2001 or later via Factory ports or any model with add on FireWire 400 PCI Card.
  • Bus power via USB on most computers with factory installed USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
  • * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

Related Items

External Case Dimensions

  • 3.8 in (W) x 5.5 in (D) x 1.1 in (H)
  • 96.52mm x 139.7mm x 27.94mm

Total Shipping Weight

  • Approximately .73 pounds (.33kg)

Software Included

Operating Environment:

Temperature

  • (operating) 0°C – 70°C (32°F – 158°F)
  • (non-operating) -40°C – 85°C (-40°F – 185°F)

Relative Humidity

  • (operating) 5% – 90% RH (Non-condensing)
  • (non-operating) 5% – 95% RH (Non-condensing)

Shock

  • (non-operating) up to1500G

Vibration

  • (operating) 1.0G (5 – 300Hz)
  • (non-operating) 5.0G (5 – 500Hz)

Load/Unload Cycles

  • 600,000

Warranty

3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use – but should the need occur – we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers. OWC and NewerTech storage solutions come fully backed by an Industry-leading 48-hour turnaround time which includes complimentary Level 1 data recovery for the first year, plus additional data recovery options available throughout the warranty period, for complete peace of mind ownership confidence.

View more information about the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your OWC solution prior to the conclusion of the 3 Year OWC Solution Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the OWC warranty.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n MEF3MH7500 UPC#: 794504339451

Software

Prosoft Macworld 4.5 miceProsoft
Prosoft Engineering® Data Backup 3 for OS X v10.2.8 or later
Backup Made Easy. Data Backup makes it easy to backup to FireWire and USB drives, network drives, CDs and even DVDs. Make schedules so you don't need to 'think' about backing up... It does it for you.
A $59.00 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase softwareseparately from solution
Novastor
NovaStor NovaBACKUP® Solution for Windows®
NovaBACKUP has been helping millions of users recover from data loss and disasters for over 18 years. Feature rich, NovaBACKUP provides a powerful backup solution. Built-in support for hundreds of the most popular storage devices and a step-by-step backup and restore wizard makes NovaBACKUP extremely easy to use. Requires Windows 2000 or later.
A $49.95 Value! View detailed software info
Intech SpeedTools Utilities
Intech® SpeedTools Utilities™
Intech SpeedTools consists of a suite of utilities managed by an application which controls the launching, documentation and version control of each individual component utility, such as Disk Defrag and QuickBack. An easy-to-use installation and removal application is provided to make installation a snap, yet powerful enough to allow you to customize which utility component set you would like to create.
An $89.95 Value! View detailed software info, or click here to purchase software separately from solution

Reviews

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 57 out of 59 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 19, 2015 This drive is working very well and adds to my storage capacity. It's very responsive in both read and write modes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable 7200RPM FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brooklyn NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's the goods! February 7, 2015 I got this "Elite Pro" in exchange for an "On-The-Go Pro" that I found unsatisfactory for several reasons, and I'm VERY happy with it.

It's well designed and engineered...looks and feels like a substantial device, not just a trinket.

It was easy to assemble...only 6 screws.

Even without a heatsink, it wasn't overly hot after I ran a 2 hour surface scan.

Testing with a 33GB folder containing 326 .m4a[s], it wrote my data at 575Mbps and read it at 625Mbps via FireWire 800. (5400RPM HDD)

The assembly manual is a bit tongue-in-cheek, but not fatally.

Long-term performance, of course, remains to be seen.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini 2.5" bus-powered portable FW800/400 + USB3.0 drive enclosure kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great size for cluttered desks January 26, 2015 I purchased this drive to serve as a bootable backup drive. I used to have a miniStack (another great product) but found over the years, I really didn't need a USB or Firewire hub. This Mercury Elite Pro mini drive helped save some desk real estate and it also helps remove a bunch of wires running on and under my desk, since unlike the miniStack it does not need a separate power brick. Setup instructions for the Mercury Elite Pro mini drive were clear and simple. So far, I barely notice the drive, which was what I wanted.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 320GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable 5400RPM FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sebring, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 What hard drive? January 5, 2015 It is small, nice to look at and best of all totally quiet. Like no noise at all. I'd forget it was even there if the desktop icon wasn't there. And it was an icon I downloaded from OWC so it looks just like the hard drive- nice touch.

It was a breeze to set up and works flawlessly and quiet - did I mention quiet. With a SSD in my mac mini and this baby I have absolutely no noise when things are up and running.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable SSD USB 3.0 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Laurel, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Silent power December 27, 2014 This drive is the perfect solution to my wife's back-up concerns. I partitioned the drive so that she has room for TimeMachine and for CarbonCopyCloner. The drive is silent. It is very compact and can be placed behind her iMac where she doesn't have to see it. USB 3.0 makes this a very fast drive when connected to our iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 5400RPM USB 3.0 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Charlotte, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nice Enclosure! December 24, 2014 I bought this to maintain full USB 3 compatibility with the new Mac Pros at my work, and also added an eSATA card to my own Mac Pro tower for similar speeds at home. This is quite an improvement over USB 2 and Firewire 400, and really speeds up file copying.

It seems well-built, compared to other enclosures I've owned that just hold the drive in place with a couple screws, without attaching to the control board. In one enclosure I used to own, the hard drive would come loose from the board without warning (and according to Murphy, it would do so at the darnedest times, too. Pulling out a small screwdriver and reassembling my hard drive in the middle of a presentation made quite an impression.) This enclosure has screws positioned to keep the drive attached to the board, and the board attached to the enclosure, just like it should. Glad I bought it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini 2.5" Bus-Powered Portable USB 3.0 + eSATA Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Well made by a great company December 23, 2014 Maybe a few more dollars than other companies, but it's worth it. Very well made and easy to setup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 5400RPM USB 3.0 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Ridiculously fast December 21, 2014 I get 300+ MB/sec transfer speeds from this thing. It's bus powered over USB 3.0. No moving parts. Boom.

It is frequently faster than the OWC SSD *in my Macbook Pro*. Hard to beat that.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable SSD FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Great Little Drive October 24, 2014 The drive is very fast and quiet, and produces no heat. It runs off USB power so it cuts down on cord clutter. It's compact size is a big plus in a crowded set up.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 7200RPM USB 3.0 Storage Solution.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Perth, On., Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Better than most! October 21, 2014 Fast shipping. Solid construction and sleek looks. Easy to configure. Excellent software included. Fast performance as expected. Would purchase another.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable 5400RPM FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ithaca, NY
Rating: 5/5 Works as Expected October 20, 2014 Easy setup. Provided an inexpensive back solution for my new iMac. Seems quite fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 7200RPM USB 3.0 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 SSD Drive October 6, 2014 Great unit for the price. Lighter gauge aluminum case that other compititors but an insignificant issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable SSD FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 exactly as advertised October 6, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 7200RPM USB 3.0 Storage Solution.
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Drive works well on iMac with Firewire October 2, 2014 Purchase was painless and delivery was quick. I had some worries that this Firewire drive (I can't use USB3.0) would have a problem with spontaneous unmounting with a Mac. At first there were issues, but then the problem went away, perhaps due to the most recent Mavericks update.

Since this normally bus-powered drive is daisy-chained on Firewire, I bought the recommended power brick too. This drive is second on a chain of three drives. All works well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable 5400RPM FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Why I buy OWC enclosures and kits September 30, 2014 1 With a sealed external drive from the usual suspects, the enclosure can fail in which case , unless you can break it open and save the drive, your purchase is ruined. I did this once, I put mine in an OWC case and it still rocks

2 I choose cases with the most connections. Most third party companies only have 1 X USB 3 tops, no daisy chaining with these guys!

3 Of course a mech can fail. put in a new one in the OWC enclosure and your still good to go

4 I am a brand loyalist esp with drives HGST have never failed for me. Here you can choose the brand of the mech. Lacie never tell you

5 You may want a better mech in side the box in the future , swop it out.

My only wish is having thunderbolt built in to all the range but I am sure they know this

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini 2.5" bus-powered portable FW800/400 + USB3.0 drive enclosure kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 cost-effective storage August 26, 2014 It provides me with a 1 TB backup drive at a cost-effective price. It costs a bit more than many others, but I am willing to pay a bit more for reliability. I have had good results with OWC products - particularly hard disk drives, and I will continue to buy them for that reliability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 5400RPM USB 3.0 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Birmingham, AL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Little Dive!!!! August 16, 2014 Got this for my studio to keep my sound library on. So far, this little guy has been great! Thinking about another one for my mobile DJ rig.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini portable 5400RPM FW800/400 + USB3.0 storage solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable USB3.0 + eSATA Storage Solution. May 7, 2014 This is my fastest enclosure , with a WD 750 GB black drive and 09 mac pro with OWC 6G ethernet card , works great . Boots too . I might get another to try the OWC 240 SSD . Doesn't sleep or disconnect or anything weird . Very good unit

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini 2.5" Bus-Powered Portable USB 3.0 + eSATA 6Gb/s Drive Enclosure Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pacific Northwest Age: Under 18 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 A great solution for installing Linux on a Laptop June 19, 2013 I have a PC laptop (workstation replacement). I was looking for a way to install another operating system (Linux) without disturbing the laptop's existing disk drives or boot loader. I was able to plug the Mercury Lite drive into the eSata port and also into the USB port for power and install Linux without difficulty. Everything worked out of the box. The installation went smoothly without disturbing the existing disk drives on the laptop. The Mercury Lute drive is very fast, quiet, easy to pack and light-weight. It does not get warm to the touch so I do not need to take precautions as to where it is placed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable SSD USB 3.0 + eSATA Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kuwait Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 This drive is excellent! January 28, 2013 I have ordered this drive just because it was hard to find drives with eSata support here in Kuwait market. And I didn't had USB 3.0 port on my notebook. This drive was fantastic. It gives me a really good speed with eSata connection in data back-up and retrieval. Highly recommended for those who does not have USB 3.0 port and have eSata port.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 5400RPM USB3.0 + eSATA Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: zürich Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 very nice December 22, 2012 with additional firewire it would be perfect, but I guess that would be difficult to have?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 750GB OWC Mercury Elite Pro mini Portable 7200RPM USB3.0 + eSATA Storage Solution.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing December 24, 2012 Not difficult at all - there is a version with firewire available as well: http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firewire/EliteALmini/eSATA_FW800_FW400_USB