Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drive Accessories » Hard Drive Trays » Spare Trays, No HD Included items available.

We recommend OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad / OWC ThunderBay Spare Drive Tray (Mfr P/N: MEQX3TRAY) from Other World Computing for $14.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

Hard Drive Tray
for the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
or the OWC ThunderBay


This is a spare hard drive tray for the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 or Thunderbay four-bay RAID enclosures. Having a spare tray allows you to easily swap drives without the need for extra tools.
Potential Uses:
  • Stand by "cold spare" available for hot swapping a drive
  • Rotating backups, keeping drive backups off-site
  • Separate storage for individual clients or large projects

Gallery

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
OWC Thunderbay 63
OWC Thunderbay 6 with Thunderbolt 3
6-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCTB36
OWC Thunderbay 43
OWC Thunderbay 4 with Thunderbolt 3
4-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCTB3SR, OWCTB3IV
OWC Thunderbay 43
OWC Thunderbay 4 with Thunderbolt 2
4-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCTB2IV, OWCTB2SR
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Quad
4-Drive HDD Storage Solution
Model # OWCMEQCTSR, OWCMEQCTJB
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2
4-Bay RAID Storage Solution

Package Contents

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 48 out of 51 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sudbury MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great RAID solution February 18, 2016 This is a great RAID solution. It matches the style of the MacPros until the 2013 update. Easy to set up, and your choice of RAID configurations. I happened to choose RAID 5, loaded it with 4 x 4TB drives and have a 12TB monster that should take a decade to fill. Ok, maybe just 5 years?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Torrance, Calif. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome for Mac, RAID5/RAID1+0 January 10, 2016 Bought two of these since happy with prior purchase of the rack mount version. We're using one as RAID5 with 4x/6TB, and another for audio/video work in RAID 1+0 with 4x/6TB (2+2 stripe+mirror). With our venerable Mac Pros (Xeon, 5,1 era), and eSATA cards these really scream. Great upgrade vs having multiple internal drives.

I did a speed test this weekend just for laughs, while also testing the new OWC Accelsior S card -- I will post these specs on that item as well.

VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT -- hence buying a second one. Using Toshiba 4TB in the RAID5 unit, and we're using HGST/NAS Deskstar for the RAID1+0.

BLACKMAGIC DISK SPEED TEST/1.9.16+1.10.16 Music Mac (Mac Pro 5,1; 8 core/Xeon; 32GB DDR3; OSX Yosemite 10.5) -- average read/write**; not peak or low /5GB test -- (1) write 138.8 MB/s || 138.7 MB/s (2) write 165 MB/s || read 233.9 MB/s (3) write 185.4 MB/s || read 237.6 MB/s (4) write 185.4 MB/s || read 378.5 MB/s

(1) = Audio drive, WD Velociraptor 1TB 10K/RPM HD; 3GBS/SATAII-BUS (2) = Boot Drive, 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD; 3GBS/SATAII-BUS (3) = OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 RAID(1+0) stripe+mirror (2+2); HGST 6TB Deskstar/NAS 7200RPM x4; external/Newer Technology MAXPower PCIe eSATA 2-Port SATA 6G. (4) = Boot Drive, 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD => 6GBS/PCIe 'Mercury Accelsior S' Card

All drives/hardware sourced from OWC/MacSales.

**(NOTE: SSDs use compression for speed, which doesn't work as well with audio/video files, so the "actual" WRITE speed is usually half as much as "advertised" for most A/V work vs small uncompressed files.)

Obviously the SATAIII/6GBS bus speeds up legacy Mac Pro no matter how you slice it, either internal card or external eSATA card.

My setup for PCIe (PCI bus speed 'x') A/4x - OWC Excelsior S w/SSD B/4x - OWC eSATA 6GBS External Card C/16x - UAD2 Quad PCIe D/16x - The base level video card for its era (less heat)

:-) CLS

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Performance for Now and Later December 28, 2015 I have a 2010 17" MBP and wanted a high-performance backup solution to replace a very outdated NAS box in my home, as well as TimeMachine/USB 2.0 backups. I can honestly say I've noticed a huge performance increase just going from USB 2.0 to FW800. The next step will be eSATA. What I really like is that I have the additional headroom for USB 3.0 when I'm ready for my next machine. The support had been excellent from MacSales an I wouldn't hesitate to purchase this product or any of the other upgrades I've purchased previously.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very capable and fast. December 28, 2015 As usual, OWC supplies solid performance at a fair price and quick delivery. Instructions are easy to follow and accurate. I loaded the unit with 4x2TB of storage that was vital. As my requirement was for 4 individual drives and the default RAID 5 configuration requires reformatting, I was quite anxious about the first power-up. The instructions firmly say that you have to select the individual option. Short bit of breath-holding and my fears were gone. A quiet, fast and versatile storage set was humming beautifully.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great drives! Lots of extra storage December 15, 2015 The setup is a little tricky, so be sure to set the little dial to the desired formatting. You do need to put the drives into the case yourself, but that is very easy. Once up and running you have a cool 12 TB os drive space!

This review is from 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 OK November 28, 2015 I have owned several of these units, since when they were USB 2.0 (sloooow by nowadays' standards). The USB 3.0 is quite fast, it's hardware RAID (including RAID 5), and never had trouble with any of these. The problem is that the drives never seem to go to sleep! Not a huge deal for me in particular since I have content on the drives that is continually updated, but otherwise I would have probably returned the unit (say you use it for daily backups or media or other things used only a few times a day). Big bug in my opinion, with many users on discussion boards reporting on this, for years! Should be fixed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York City Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent quality as always November 21, 2015 Plugged it in and away I go. Great quality as always.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding performance - Nice and quiet. November 20, 2015 I chose to buy the enclosure and the drives seperately. When I selected and installed the drives it just became a fantastic mega drive with all the space under the sun. It is quiet in operation and has the look and feel of real quality. Happy? Unquestionably.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Haven't used it as much as I had planned November 12, 2015 Ordered this empty box in 2011 and put in 4 2GB drives to give me a 6GB RAID. Ended up using it more for backup purposes than anything else, and up until recently it mostly just sat. Still works fine when I do use it, which is a bit more as of recent days, but it's no SSD.

Did try it with a 2 meter eSATA cable at one point, but eventually figured out that it wasn't terribly reliable that way, so 1 meter eSATA is probably best fit for it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 2.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 October 16, 2015 I hacked my 2009 imac and added esata to it, so I could edit some video with some sort of speed for a change. When I first connected the Qx2, it was only seeing one disk. After realising I need to push in the little reset button and setting the raid config....Voila!!!! I've had this for a month now and am using Hitachi 7200 disk in it, and so far, its working like a charm. Disk were easy to install, its design is very matching the Mac look, and its super quiet!! Need just a chasis now to hold my backup disk, and I think I'll get this again and use it for that purpose.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tarpon Springs, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The RAID drive just works with little effort. July 13, 2015 The drive came packed very securely and was easy to assemble. Once plugged in it backed up my iMac with 3 TB drive and 2TB external and it just sits there and continues to work flawlessly. Very satisfied and I know my photos are safe.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 a quality storage enclosure at a good price April 22, 2015 excellent quality and it looks great with my old mac pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Most bang for the buck! March 31, 2015 We bought this unit for saving government forms created by our users that required RAID to endure that a single drive failure would not lose customer data. We access the drive from Windows, Linux, and Mac. It worked perfectly out of the box with four 3TB drives we installed ourselves. It's fast, reliable, and the price point was perfect for our needs. We'd highly recommend this unit to anyone who needs hardware level RAID.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great item for new Mac Pro migration February 13, 2015 When it came time to say goodbye to my 2008 Mac Pro tower, I needed to figure out how to handle the 4 internal hard drives. The OWC Mercury Elite enclosure allowed me to remove the existing drives from my Mac Pro, install them in the enclosure (installation was very easy), connect to my new Mac Pro, and continue with business as usual. The enclosure gives you the option for various RAID set-ups, but I have mine set to run as individual hard drives, one of which is my Time Machine backup disc. Operation of the unit is also very quiet. I'd recommend this item to anyone.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 great backup January 31, 2015 The 12 tb drive is very well built, it is extremely easy to set up in any of several drive modes. It works extremely well as my apple time machine and is connected by fw800. I have several other OWC drives and all are very reliable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, Ma Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 easy to use January 24, 2015 plug and play set up to boost storage

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 12.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Enterprise Class Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good Product at a Good Price December 6, 2014 This Enclosure is great especially for the money. For the people that are complaining about the fan being loud, I find near silent for an enclosure with 4 spinning hard drives. If you are really worried about the noise floor of your working environment put solid state drives in it and it would be near silent. It made me realize how loud some of my other enclosure are.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect spare bay tray for Thunderbay November 24, 2014 It works, all there is to it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality product October 24, 2014 It solved my problem for storage. Amazing quality and value for money. Top of all shipping was blazing fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Las Vegas, NV Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding RAID-5 speed with USB 3 October 17, 2014 I'd initially connected this via Firewire 800 to my personal 2010 MBP 13", daisy chained to another vendor's FW800 single-drive solution. Large file copy speed from the other vendor's drive to the OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 was disappointing - a little bit better than USB 2 speed. Thinking this was probably a limitation of the older Mac's firewire controller (and maybe the other vendor's drive too), I reconnected the OWC Qx2 to my office machine, a Late-2013 MBP Retina 15", via USB 3.0, and copied the same large files (that I'd copied over from personal MBP 13" as a preliminary step) and got an amazing 280 MB/s write rate to the Qx2, as shown by the "disk" pane of Activity Monitor. Perhaps this measurement isn't is accurate as the professional grade tools made for this purpose, but a timer and a bit of arithmetic confirmed the findings.The "large" files were four 6+ GB movie files. Of course, in this latter test, the source device was the built-in PCIe flash storage in the MBPr 15". The Qx2 was configured for RAID-5 for all tests and is the setting I am using for storing my media files. I am very satisfied with this purchase and look forward to upgrading my personal machine soon. Build quality is excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0TB OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 Bay eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 Hardware Desktop RAID.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product! October 9, 2014 This encloser works great! Easily setup,great prefomance. If you need a 4 bay encloser and don't need thunderbolt,in my opinion you won't find anything better!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 easy setup, good performance, loud September 21, 2014 I'm using this in JBOD mode (Just a Bunch Of Disks) mode, works great over FW800 and dead simple setup. Build quality feels excellent. My only complaint is that the fan is on the noisy side- I measured ~55dB six inches in front of it. This is quite a bit louder than the Mac Pro I've been using as a power-hungry drive enclosure that I bought it to replace (although at a fraction of the cost).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 4 -Bay Enclosure September 12, 2014 Easy to setup. Another great product from OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Albany, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it claims July 11, 2014 After installing my own drives (4x 4.0TB HGST Deskstar NAS 64MB Cache 7200RPM SATA 3.0 6Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive purchased at same time), I had to follow the reinitialization sequence to have it recognized as a RAID 5 volume, but after that formatting was easy, and the performance is much better than my prior RAID. I purchased to act as a time machine volume for multiple individual machines connected to a server, as well as for archiving and sharing files between machines through the server.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Woodhaven, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This unit is Awesome May 18, 2014 As soon I received this unit I put one HD in it works smoothly, the only minor thing was that I have to upgrade the firmware of it, after that I'm amazed how fast it transfer the files.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 eSATA,FireWire 800+USB 3.0 4-Bay SATA Desktop RAID Enclosure.

OWC Drive Tray for OWC Mercury Elite Qx2 / ThunderBay Models Mfr P/N: MEQX2TRAY OWC SKU: OWCMEQX2TRAY Easily swap drives without the need for extra tools. 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Sold Out
Related Items: