Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

2.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD

Limited Edition Black Drive | 2.5" | Serial-ATA
A Legacy of Class-Leading Performance
The best performance and longevity in a 2.5-inch SATA SSD for every use
When the first Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was launched nearly a decade ago, it was built to be the fastest, most reliable, and longest enduring 2.5-inch SATA Solid State Drive on the market. The evolution of OWC’s premier 2.5-inch SATA SSD continues that legacy with up to 5x faster performance over the duration of its capacity versus other drives. If you have a Mac or PC with a 6G SATA drive bay, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD is the fastest 2.5-inch SSD available today.
Starts Fast, Stays Fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, these drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Get Your Money’s Worth
When a low-priced “commodity” built SSD’s performance drops off significantly, many users replace the drive far before all its storage capacity is used to regain that “like new” speed feeling. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was engineered to keep you working full speed ahead over the duration of the drive to deliver an overall lower cost of ownership.
Workhorse Revitalizer
With your investment in apps and time getting that beloved workhorse Mac or PC configured just the way you like; it makes sense to get all the use you can out of the machine before retiring it. By revitalizing your Mac or PC with a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, you’ll transform your machine with like-new performance with the best performance upgrade available. From faster boots and application launch times to greatly improved system responsiveness, you’ll love using your “new” computer for a fraction of the cost of buying the latest model.
Go Big or Go Home
Want to use the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in a computer, dock, camera, or external storage enclosure with a 9.5mm height drive bay? Unlike other brand 7mm SSDs that either don’t include an adapter or have an edge spacer with limited adhesive surface, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD comes with a full-sized spacer for 100% secure and compatible use.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
1788GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6GS2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2700mW (2.7W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7P6GS2.0 UPC#: 812437029406

Gallery



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2009)
(April 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) 7mm – 9.5mm Spacer

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 158 out of 167 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD Drive and Customer Service March 17, 2016 I have an older Macbook Pro and didn't want to dish out the bucks for a new one, so I decided to give upgrades a try. The OWC website had all of the info I required to find what I needed. The new Drive was exactly as described. The online videos made the replacement easy. I did have a couple of questions about moving the data and called customer service. The tech walked me through the entire procedure as well as sending me a document via email. The drive, along with the 16G memory upgrade have brought my Mac back to life!!! Don't look further for Mac parts. I will be a customer for life.

Larry H.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: El Cerrito, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does the job par excellence March 17, 2016 I installed this device using the SATA SSD Host Adapter on my Mac Pro (Mid 2010) to mirror my primary (Mercury Accelsior E2). Works like a champ with great boot times. Now I Have the peace of mind that comes with boot-drive redundancy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mammoth Lakes, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install and really sped up my vintage MBPro8,3! March 17, 2016 SSD shipped/arrived as quickly as promised. Also was as easy to install and configure as directions stated. Speed tests proved as advertised and TRIM enabler sees it just fine. Not sure yet whether enabling TRIM will have a measurable affect. Using as the boot/system disk and sized large enough to move my home directory back to it. Has speeded up boot time, normal launch times and copy times from/to 2nd HD. Boot-ups are almost instantaneous and copies are many times faster than before (seeing at least 6GB/min)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: México City Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect SSD March 10, 2016 The best SSD / FAST / In the past SSDs were considered somewhat pricey upgrades and out of reach for many users. The best price / The best quality ---- OWC ----

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 1TB SSD March 10, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product at a great price March 7, 2016 Just installed this SSD in my MacBook Pro. It's a huge upgrade over the stock hard drive. Easy to install with a good how-to video too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Satisfied March 6, 2016 Just want to say I am very satisfied with this purchase. Love that it came with everything I need and the install tutorials were very simple, especially the case to convert my old hard drive into an external, very cool. Buying the SSD pro and 16 GB Ram has literally made my computer brand new, and I have no anxieties about having to spend over 1k for a new macbook for another couple of years. Shipping was quick too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and works great! February 25, 2016 I use this drive with a OWC dual bay thunderbolt drive dock and it works great. I'm a photographer and use this SSD as my working drive for image files when editing a project in Lightroom and Photoshop. This speeds up the process quite a bit as compared to using a 7200rpm thunderbolt external HDD.

After I've finished a project, I transfer it to an external HDD Raid array for permanent storage. So I just use the SSD for extra speed when initially editing the project.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extreme Pro SSDs suitable for MacBookPro 5,2 February 19, 2016 This item performs flawlessly whereas a previous choice of the 1TB Electra failed to respond to sleep/wake function forcing a cold boot every time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 SUPER SPEED! February 12, 2016 OWC offers the best in Mac products. I installed this drive and noticed tremendous improvement with my MacPro - now if I can only install it into my new iMac that would be awesome.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Japan Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works GREAT!! February 11, 2016 Installation is easy!! shipping came fast (Japan). I was thinking about throwing my macbook pro away because it was becoming SOO SLOW, but it's working almost like new. Would recommend this product!! Turned out to be a great investment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 My 2012 MacBook Pro is so fast now February 9, 2016 My Mac was running so slow. I was getting the beach ball all the time. Now it is quite zippy, even with lots of applications open.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Truly Awesome Performer !!! February 1, 2016 My 2011 Mac Mini 5,2 began to slow over the past couple years. Typical for it's original disc hard drive. I've been looking at upgrading for a long time, but felt hesitant due to the fact I've NEVER taken apart a computer let alone re-format a computer. After chatting with OWC and reading and watching videos on "how to", I decided I can do this! And so I ordered the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SATA. I was able to successfully remove my old drive and install this new one with NO PROBLEM. It was actually pretty easy if you take your time and be very careful. Then it came time to power up and format and install my backup from my TimeMachine. It went SO SMOOTHLY AND EXACTLY as the instruction had shown. I was very pleased. And the best part is how AWESOME my Mac Mini performs today. IT'S WAY FASTER AND WAY MORE POWERFUL THAN NEW. Nothing slows me down now....SO GLAD I DID IT !!!!! I highly recommend that you do the same.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Solid Drive January 30, 2016 I installed the drive and had my system running after a few hours and it has worked with no issues now for over a month since purchasing. I'm a novice to opening and working inside Apple laptops but the online video's were great. Top notch support. I wouldn't have bought it had the videos and tutorials not been present. Great buy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Superfast January 30, 2016 My old MacBook performance has improved 200%

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded son's MacBook Pro January 25, 2016 Rather then buying our son in college a new laptop, we replaced the spinning drive with this SSD and it was a HUGE win. Much like having a new laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saint Paul, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So far so great January 23, 2016 I installed this in my 2010 MBP. It has improved performance more than I expected. I don't feel like I need to get a new Mac yet. Super fast boot times, apps launch much faster, and overall performance is much snappier than it was with the original 500GB mechanical hard drive. I've been a customer with OWC for over 20 years and have rarely if ever been disappointed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding performance upgrade January 18, 2016 I got a "new" MacBook pro by installing this harddisk on my Mac. Very easy install and big improvements in performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sioux Falls, SD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Working as Planned January 17, 2016 After trying a competitor's SSD for my mid 2012 MacBook Pro, which failed for a number of reasons, the OWC drive is working perfectly. A few things you want to check before buying an SSD to replace your primary HDD, is the compatibility of the SSD with your Mac. There are drives that are "blacklisted" in the Linux kernel that will not work. And, check your SATA cable, since they do wear out and may not handle the data transfer speed of the SSD. After I replaced the SSD, reinstalled OS X El Capitan, I was still having problems, which after spending hours on the internet trying to track down an answer, it came down to the SATA cable. Once I replaced that, which is not hugely difficult, but takes care, the SSD worked as advertised. I have not looked back since. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boca Raton FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Lightening Fast Computer! January 17, 2016 I bought this SSD for my early 2011 MacBook Pro and it is as fast as another BRAND NEW 2015 MacBook Pro I recently bought! BTW I already had 16 GB RAM. I normally keep several programs running at once and they come on now about as fast as it takes me to click on their application. The speed is in the drive. Hard drive = slow SSD = lightening fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: mrrjm Location: Illinois Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Reliable if they don't failed in 90 days January 13, 2016 I have bought/recommended 5 of these drives. 2 of them failed. Don't recommend them unless you do frequent backups. Other then that they are very fast. I do have several running in my business 24/7/365 for over 6 years with no problems. Just to be fair the drives that failed did so in a very short time period.

This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OKC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and courteous service. December 28, 2015 When I received the drive I realized it did not come with the power cord. Most computers will run the drive without it, but not my MacBook Pro. I should have read everything on the order page.

It's a great drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cairns, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and installation tutorial! December 18, 2015 Installing the ExtremePro has resulted in a significant improvement in speed in my 2011 iMac, which is especially noticeable when booting the system, launching apps and in general tasks. It has also reduced my rendering times in After Effects. When installing, I recommend having an assistant to facilitate some of the more delicate procedures.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Juan, PR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and furious December 17, 2015 Installed the 1.0TB drive yesterday, works great with excellent response and ease of installation. Be sure to call customer service for guidance for your particular product - they know what you need without fail. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED UPGRADE

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Across the pond in the old country Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Gives a great boost to a Mac Mini December 14, 2015 Used the online guide to install in a 2010 Mac Mini and had no problems at all once I'd figured out which side to put the spacer on. Significant performance improvement which is very noticeable on start-up. My only criticism is about the shipping. Advertised dispatch is within one day though the order acknowledgement clearly states addition time is required for shipping outside USA. Packaging was not the issue but I guess it went on a guided tour of Bell, California before it left the country. Tracking shows Oct 29 - invoiced; Oct 30 - Bell, CA; Oct 31 - Bell, CA; Nov 3 - Bell, CA. Ultimately the shipping method was my choice but there is insufficient information on the website to help make an informed decision. Insult to injury, I got stung by UK Customs for tax so the price wasn't so good at the end of the day.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 2.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7P6GS2.0 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7P6GS2.0 Limited Edition Black Drive 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the best performance and longevity for every use… from performance enthusiasts to production professionals. Mac and PC compatible 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $419.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3D7P6GS2.0 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Limited Edition Black
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $79.00
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Cyber Saver $119.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $219.00
  • 2.0TB
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • OWC Price $899.00