Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: S3D7E3GT2.0) from Other World Computing for $309.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

2.0TB
Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

For High Speed Personal Computing, Home Office, Gaming, and Personal Photography.
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD.
The Mercury SSD line features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES disk encryption.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

This internal 2.5" SATA SSD delivers outstanding transfer speeds, endurance, and reliability. With sustained reads up to 250MB/s and writes up to 230MB/s, the OWC 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance. A 7% over provisioning set-aside further ensures exceptional long-term reliability, performance consistency, and durability with an amazing 960GB of visible storage capacity after over provision. Built to perform, and backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Includes 7 mm to 9.5 mm Adapter / Spacer
Attach this adapter to the top of any 7mm, 2.5-inch drive for installations that require a 9.5mm drive height for proper use, whether you need a 9.5mm drive height for a dock, camera, server, device, PC, or external drive. This adapter is not needed for 2.5-inch drive installations that use the standard side or bottom mounting positions to secure the drive in place, and is not needed for any installation of a 7mm drive in Apple Macintosh computers.

Includes

  • 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • 7 mm – 9.5 mm Adapter


Please Note: This model is designed for internal use and is not compatible with external enclosures.

This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2006)
(February, 2006)
Model ID: Macmini1,1
1.5GHz, 1.66GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series
NAND
Tier 1 Asynchronous MLC NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 2.0 Compliant
Capacity1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
1860GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard4
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7E3G02S
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
Yes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
250MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
230MB/s

Power

Active
Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle
Less than 700mW (0.7W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7E3G02S UPC#: 812437024968

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 261 out of 273 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mukilteo, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD for FreeNAS Build August 27, 2015 I recently built a hefty (25TB) FreeNAS for home use. We have lots of digital pictures, videos, digital clutter, etc. I didn't want to use a full size hot swap-able bay and wanted the NAS to boot quickly, so I checked out a few options on OWC and found a perfect match for one of the 2.5" fixed bays. It was a few bucks more than a sale SSD drives, but I have never had a bad experience with OWC, so that made it a simple decision. The drive has been flawless, it was discovered without having to load new drivers and I was up and running in minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 60GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Budget SSD August 11, 2015 This Electra 3G SSD was easy to clone and install. It improved the performance of my 2006 Mac Mini tremendously. I will certainly buy more of these drives in the future.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Corry, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Sounds of silence! August 10, 2015 Installed the Electra 3G in my late 2009 Mac Mini on Saturday. Bought it to replace my 5-year-old 750GB WD Scorpio Black. The WD is a wonderful drive that has proven to be fast and reliable. I did, however, want to replace it before any problems cropped up. Decided to make the move to the OWC SSD. I have been buying from OWC for more than 20 years and have always been pleased with their products and customer service. Drive swap was easy and uneventful. Popped the SSD into my Mercury Elite-AL Pro enclosure, formatted it and then cloned my Scorpio Black to it. Pulled it out, popped open my mini and replaced the Scorpio with the new Electra. Since I had the Mini opened, I also replaced the PRAM battery and Optical Drive ... which had ceased to operate reliably a year ago. (I bought the Optiarc DVD RW AD-7800H at the same time I bought the Electra.) Put the Mini back together, transferred the old Scorpio to the Elite-AL Pro enclosure (to use in my back-up routine) and fired the Mini up. What I noticed immediately is how QUIET the Mini's fan actually is!!!! Could never hear the fan (unless it ramped up) over the sound of the Scorpio! As far as speed ... am very pleased. The Scorpio was no slouch ... but the SSD is obviously faster. Only problem I had during the installation process was that I had to remove and rebuild the trash after I booted with the SSD. I am sure this had nothing to do with the SSD itself, but some glitch that happened during cloning. Everything has been running wonderfully since installation and I anticipate years of reliable service before replacing this drive. (I love this late 2009 2.53Ghz Mini configuration and plan to keep it until it eventually dies .... though I do have a spare in the event this happens!!) Thank-you OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brookline, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my iMac August 10, 2015 I replaced the internal drive in my 2009 iMac with a Mercury SSD and the optical drive with a larger hybrid disk. It's like buying a new machine. Strongly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Netherlands Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great speed improvements on 2010 Macbook Pro August 10, 2015 I ordered this SSD together with the 16GB RAM memory upgrade kit for my Mid 2010 Macbook Pro, as it was totally not performing anymore with the 4GB base RAM and a standard 7200RPM HD.

After having received and placed the OWC SSD and memory, the Macbook is performing like a new one again, with much shorter application load times, quicker browsing and general application usage. I was most happy to see that Apps like Apple Photos, containing a huge library of images is now running smooth and fast in both browsing and editing.

Although not totally convinced upfront about the possible hassle of ordering in the US, paying taxes and going through customs, the process went very smooth and the package was delivered in the Netherlands on Friday morning after having ordered Wednesday!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Illinois, USA Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Upgrade August 8, 2015 I considered replacing my late 2008 MacBook Pro with one of the new MacBooks but thought I'd try saving a lot of money by getting the 480GB Mercury Electra SSD. It's worked out great. Speed is considerably faster, boot time is a fraction of what I had with the original drive. Everything about this machine is improved to the point it feels like a new computer. I first cloned the HD with Carbon Copy Cloner then fitted the new SSD. Installation was a breeze. I highly recommend this product. Never been disappointed with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 fast August 7, 2015 love the speed and ease os installation

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: BrisVegas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac transformation July 31, 2015 this drive has transformed my 2007 iMac, saving it from the e-waste pile and adding years to its useful life. So good I've ordered a bigger version for my Mac Pro. Hopefully the performance gains will be the same.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 "New iMac" July 21, 2015 I have a mid 2008 24" iMac that was in serious need of being replaced. I decided to give OWC a try after having successfully upgraded a 2012 MacBook Pro with an OWC SSD. I was incredibly happy with the MacBook so why not.

I couldn't be happier with the iMac upgrade. The video on disassembly of the iMac went as shown. The kit to remove the front glass worked beautifully. All in all, a most worthwhile upgrade. By replacing the internal drive with a 480 GB SSD and upgrading the RAM, the iMAC is like buying a brand new computer. Well worth the effort and time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Riversde CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Delivers Again July 16, 2015 I replaced the hard drive in my 2010 Macbook with this SSD and what a difference. Boot times are phenomenal and the speed increase is almost as good as a processor upgrade. I received it fast and at a reasonable price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Went in easy, made a big difference. July 13, 2015 My older 2009 iMAC is fast now. I run Photoshop and Light room on this old bird and she loves it. The how to videos were perfect and this device installed easily. I loaded the OS on it and off it went. Running like a champ. Boot up speed went from over 3 minutes to under 20 seconds. compared to my HDD. I did this as a practice / experiment before I do my main iMAC. So pleased, when I have time I'll be doing my day to day iMAC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 So good i recently ordered another for my laptop July 8, 2015 Wow, this thing is quick, quiet, and cool!! Very nice SSD, wish I had bought one sooner!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: HK
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD upgrade for MacBook Pro mid-2009 July 6, 2015 Fast delivery and great installation instructions. Would definitely recommend to older MacBook users who consider upgrading their hardware thus extending the lifetime of their machines for the foreseeable future.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greenville SC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Inexpensive upgrade June 28, 2015 I install these hard drives in all my computers and the speed increase is pretty amazing. Everytime someone advise me to upgrade the ram, or optimize the hard drive I never quite notice that my computer was running faster until I installed solid state hard drives. My computer start up so fast, Photoshop Office and Iphoto that usually took for ever to load, no anymore. You can really experience real speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very glad I did the upgrade June 25, 2015 Pros - Super Fast Boot Times - Super Fast App Launching - Excellent read/write speeds - Silent

Cons - Expensive per GB compared to HDD - Limited Max Size - Was forced to migrate media files to an external HDD

My original hard drive for my early-2009 iMac was getting full and bogged down. I looked at two upgrade options; 1. Upgrade to a 4TB Seagate fusion drive (similar to what is sold in iMacs now) 2. Upgrade to a 256GB SSD with a 3TB external HDD

I decided to go with option two. Even though it was the more expensive option (about $150 more total than the fusion drive) I figured if I was going to go through the hassle of taking apart my iMac, I might as well go for the fastest speeds. Installation did not go smoothly (I accidentally formatted the partition instead of the HDD) and very time consuming. Migrating my iTunes library was a cinch, but the iPhotos library migration took almost a full day of transferring files and then resenting with iCloud. Ultimately, I got it working and WOW! When people say it's like a new computer, they mean and entirely new computer. My computer never booted up and launched apps so quickly, and I don't even notice a lag accessing files on my external HDD. Note that app performance once it was open did not improve, upgrading my RAM helped with that. Either way, a very worthwhile upgrade that probably added another 2-3 years on my old 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 You cannot go wrong with these SSD's June 22, 2015 I have bought four or five of these SSD's over the last many months. They work very well and really speed the computers up. They install easily enough, even the iMac one I bought thanks to the OWC installation videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Inexpensive Speed Boost June 22, 2015 Fast and perfect for older MacPro machines. Combine with NewerTech AdaptaDrive bracket.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great product June 20, 2015 Cheap, efficient. No complaints

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Wonderful SSD for my 17" MacBook Pro June 16, 2015 I have tried other brands. OWC SSD works super well and reliably with Mac. I have installed some OWC SSDs in my PCs and they works great too. The assistance from OWC was very helpful. They have shipped me brand new SSD to replace my malfunctioned SSD without hesitation a few years ago. I really trust OWC. I will continue to support them and use their high quality products, especially OWC SSDs. CHEERS!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester Hills, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product June 15, 2015 Utilized this to update an older 13" MacBook Pro, easy install (with video provided from OWC). Now working much faster with the installation of additional Ram (also purchased from OWC). So for about $200 the life of this computer has been extended for at least another 2-3 years. Well worth the investment.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent across the board June 13, 2015 OWC continues to deliver the best products, site, & customer service.

I am a long time customer, & look nowhere else for these products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: upstate NY Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing improvement! June 11, 2015 My 2008 iMac got really bogged down after I downloaded Yosemite. But I didn't want to replace it, it was a great machine! So I ordered the SSD, received it quickly, and had fun installing it with the guidance of the video OWC provides a link to. If you don't have the tools already (torx drivers, etc.) order them with the SSD. Don't worry about pulling off the glass, a couple of pieces of packing tape stuck to the upper corners as handles will do the job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 TRIM June 7, 2015 I bought this because TRIM is necessary and OWC sales told me this SSD takes care of TRIM itself. I got rid of a Samsung SSD because they do not have internal TRIM and the Yosemite OS disables TRIM for non-Apple SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Athens, Greece Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice choice June 7, 2015 I bought the 120GB, so I had to delete some of my photos and videos from the disk. I suggest at least 240GB.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 120GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works GREAT June 6, 2015 Easy to install, Longer battery life & Much Faster avg. response time. I Have taken my laptop to Alaska by Motorcycle and had 0 Problems. Love it. Wish i had done this Much Sooner.!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Electra 3G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 3.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

OWC 2.0TB Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD Mfr P/N: SSD7E3G02S OWC SKU: OWCSSD7E3G02S 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm
Solid State Drive
3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • OWC Price $29.99
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • OWC Price $43.99
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $74.99
    • OWC Price $73.99
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • Cyber Saver $119.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $309.99
    • Cyber Saver $309.99
DIY Kits also available: