Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 2.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: SSD7E6G02S) from Other World Computing for $359.99 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

2.0TB
Mercury Electra™ MAX 6G
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

Premier SSD for Creative A/V Pros Who Know the Difference. With full 3G/1.5G backwards compatiblity.
High Performance Internal Storage
When the success of your project hinges on the performance of your equipment, you need an SSD with the maximum in capacity and speed - you need the 2TB Electra MAX. It's the professional choice, built for ultra-demanding real-world use with the performance and capacity you can count on.

With real-world sustained speeds of 490/471 MB/s read/write, Electra MAX is built to handle big files of incompressible data in the most demanding production environments.

Mercury Electra MAX features premium-quality tier-1 sync NAND, and a suite of controller technologies designed to maximize performance and longevity:

  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES disk encryption.

With exceptional wear-leveling and block management, gold-standard compression and data distribution, best-in-class error correction, intelligent recycling, and requiring no external TRIM support, the 2TB Mercury Electra MAX 6G SSD delivers incredible performance and dependability.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.

Mercury Electra MAX is designed for Mac first, and undergoes a rigorous 7-stage testing procedure including 100% burn-in, resulting in outstanding dependability, without complications right out of the box. No drivers, extra software or workarounds are required, it's as easy as plug and play, and we back Mercury Electra MAX drives with a full 3-year warranty and OWC's free USA-based lifetime support.
Please Note:
This drive is designed for use in Mac and PC systems and is NOT supported or recommended for use in any external drive enclosures.

Includes

  • 2.0TB Mercury 6G Electra™ MAX SSD
This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
This OWC SSD, when installed onto the Mercury Accelsior S ($37.24), is compatible with the MacPro4,1 series and MacPro5,1 series. This device combination is NOT compatible with the MacPro1,1 MacPro2,1 or MacPro3,1 series.
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (8-core)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz

Gallery

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra™ MAX 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series with 7% Over Provisioning firmware set
RAID Controller
JMicron S562
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
1788GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard4
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7E6G02T
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
No
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
490MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
471MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
466MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
447MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 9,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 20,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms

Power

Active
Less than 2000mW (2.0W) expected maximum draw
Idle
Less than 700mW (0.7W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
  5. Firmware support for Legacy Mac Models to enable SATA Bus Matching for full SATA 3Gb/s and SATA 1.5Gb/s bus enablement, even on models that are known improperly clock down with the use of a 6Gb/s Hard Drive or SSD. This model SSD has support to specifically ensure SATA Bus clocking to the maximum speed available from the SATA interface it is connected to.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7E6G02T UPC#: 812437022698

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 217 out of 229 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GaryJr7 Location: Indiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 FAR BETTER THEN I EXPECTED April 4, 2019 I have a 9.2 Macbook Pro, I had a Hitachi 750GB 7200RPM drive which was a UPGRADE from Apple!$$$ haha Tech Tool Pro was giving warnings showing about 50% on the drive! So Time to UPGRADE! This was the speed 6G to be fully compatible with the bus! I used apples own software to clone and transfer everything! PERFECT! I didn't do any testing but I WILL SAY! that the start up is maybe 1/4 of the time for start up! WOW.! The over all function is SO MUCH FASTER! I ran bench mark 3 because what I have paid for! Showed from a test a year ago anything to do with the hard drive major updates! And Just so much faster on EVERYTHING! Wish I had done it a year ago when I started getting warnings! Do it! you will be satisfied!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BigMlke Location: AL Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great price for a great product February 1, 2019 This SSD is fast fast fast. Can't beat the price you pay for it either, it will certainly(coupled with new ram) breathe new life into just about any machine you put it into.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Marketeermik Location: Toronto Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Why didn't I do this sooner? January 17, 2019 Never thought I'd review an SSD, but this review really is about the whole OWC experience--the SSD, the install tools, and the incredible install videos. I'm pretty handy technologically, so installing it for me wasn't difficult. Just take your time and keep a neat workspace. I put this into my mid-2012 iMac i7, installed OSX and now my machine boots up incredibly fast! Not quite instantaneously...but the performance is definitely noticeably quicker, more responsive...and SUPER silent.

Highly recommended, and if you can get a Black Friday deal like I did--a no-brainer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: djseebee Location: Qatar Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast & Reliable SSD HD January 17, 2019 this product is excellent like the review tells, very fast & reliable, the installation is easy for power users i highly recommended

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JoshWI Location: East Troy Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great drive for a great price December 25, 2018 Replaced a failed Crucial SSD with this one in a 2011 Mac Mini. Works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rfmilhous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great price, great speed, great service... November 19, 2018 As usual,OWC comes through. My MacBook was quite sluggish - a lot of spinning beach balls and programs would take forever to open, but now after the upgrade to solid state drive everything is zippy. Good video tutorials made installation easy. Even if you’ve never opened your computer before, I think that with care following the video it will be smooth sailing. The only glitch I ran into was finding a screwdriver small enough to remove those itty bitty screws holding on the back of the MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ZumbaGulu Age: 55-65
Rating: 5/5 Finally an affordable SSD from my iMac November 11, 2018 The drive works as expected. I installed it in addition to my 2TB mechanical drive. I backed up the 2TB (0.5TB used) drive. I then installed the new1TB SSD drive as per the instructional video. When all was Ok, I restored my backup and booted from SSD in a breeze.

A worthwhile upgrade, especially that the SSDs are more affordable now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 1984Macman Location: Silicon Valley Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Problem-free installation November 5, 2018 The laptop needed to go from disc drive to SSD. Video instructions from OWC made it easy. Speed noticeably improved. Quality high.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JRYROB Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Transformed 2012 Macbook Pro October 29, 2018 I thought about swapping out hard drives for a while but had the attitude "If it's not broke then don't fix it". Finally I went ahead and purchased this SSD drive for my Macbook Pro and wish I had made the change years ago. The difference in performance is better than I anticipated. I'll be swapping all my computers' start up disc to SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Hank Location: San Diego, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Value to Wake Up an Older Macbook! October 24, 2018 This showed up quickly, very professionally packaged and the install was extremely easy due to the user friendly formatting guides OWC offers. SSD is a great upgrade to speed up a slower old Macbook!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: markrich2200 Location: NE Arkansas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Significant HD Upgrade September 28, 2018 I had already upgraded my MBP 2012 HD from 750 to a 480SSD so was familiar with the process. This upgrade was very affordable and going to 1TB of SSD has had a significant increase on performance and usability of my MBP. I still have legacy HD's & SSD's as Time Machine and storage devices. I highly encourage you to also purchase the upgrade kit so you have an external housing for your old HD to use for TM or storage. The most important step you should take is to back up your system with Carbon Cloner or at a minimum back up you personal files before you change HD's. Also observe anti-static steps to avoid frying your Mac in the name of upgrading it! Good luck. MR

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mgoorevich Location: Tel Aviv Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD for serious pros August 31, 2018 I am using this SSD in my Sound Devices 788T. Installation, initialising and operation went fast and straight forward. This is the 3-rd such SSD I bought (each for different tasks) and every single SSD performs flawless.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Krhea Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 easy August 22, 2018 Easy drive seems to e reasonably fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AndyRoo1564 Location: Memphis, TN Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product; Great price! July 29, 2018 Awesome SSD. Getting another for my Dad soon!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HansR Location: Sebastopol, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 old drive was slowing way down, so SSD to the rescue! July 4, 2018 Another client of mine had a pretty young MacBook Pro, but it was clearly slowing down. Needless to say, the mechanical hard drive had to go -- the slow-down was not normal, but a sign of premature aging. I installed this new SSD, and my client is very pleased with how fast his laptop is again. Much faster than it's ever been, of course.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SK98 Location: NY, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade June 27, 2018 I installed this drive, as an upgrade to an optical drive. What a difference! Great instructions provided, including the tools needed. had trouble getting some of the screws out, with the plastic tools, but overall very satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MaBear Location: Big Bear Lake, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Speeds things up! June 20, 2018 I had a nice online chat with an agent who helped me decide what I really needed. Using the online installation videos makes installation so easy. There are also setup videos. I had some problems after installation but after a couple of chats they helped me work out what was happening. You cannot beat the products and service!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: TheRetiredViking Location: Tri-Cities area TN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well-suited for the purpose June 7, 2018 This was bought along with some memory in order to turn an older Mini into something useful, not slow. It was a challenge to install, considering my big hands, but I eventually got the job done, and things are working fine.

This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Alexx Location: Tacoma, WA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent improvement to my MacBook. May 30, 2018 I found this SSD on sale and asked, via Chat, if it would work with my MacBook. The service with Chat is great. This SSD, I was told, would work and it did/does. Loads up a 500 page pdf file in seconds. I wish I would have purchased this hard drive replacement sooner as the speed is very noticeable. I added more memory years ago and with the addition of the SSD, my 2010 computer works better than when it was new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: worldwide Location: Brooklyn, NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 FAST as FFFFFfff! May 29, 2018 I needed to upgrade my mid 2010 Mac Pro 5.1. So Far I added a Sonnet usb 3 card which I allowed me to edit HD video from portable drives. Adding a new boot drive was needed and I installed this SSD which had my boot go from minutes to 19 seconds !!!!! Running my apps they open QUICK. Looking to replace all my internal drives with the SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HunterS Location: Boca Raton, FL Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life to an older Macbook May 21, 2018 Bought this hard drive for my 2011 Macbook which had a dying original 5400rpm HDD. Installion was simple and straight forward. Performance is night and day improved for this older machine. Apps open and close lightning fast. Couldn’t be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 250GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: trixie
Rating: 5/5 this product turned a snail into a cheetah May 16, 2018 wish i had the tech wisdom to have done this to my MacBook pro 17 2010 before i bought a new iMac... process to install...SIMPLE.... cost Very Reasonable, considering the remarkably positive differences it has made to my laptop performance. company is great... a couple items i ordered by accident, returned for refund beyond my expeditious expectations.. i will use them again...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lrover1960 Location: Santa Fe, NM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Was what I needed! May 14, 2018 This SSD 500 GB worked great! Replacing the old SATA HD with this one...wow, what a difference in speed. I would totally recommend this 500 SSD for your needs, thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ymeagle Location: Lakeland, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW I wish I had bought this a year ago. April 29, 2018 All I can say is this has been the best computer purchase I have ever made out side an actual laptop or desktop. It is like a completely new computer! Love this SSD!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm Solid-state Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: inarchnito Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 This product brought life back to a well designed 17" MBP. April 22, 2018 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 500GB Mercury Electra 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
OWC 2.0TB Mercury Electra™ MAX 6G Mfr P/N: SSD7E6G02T OWC SKU: OWCSSD7E6G02T 2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm
Solid State Drive
3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • OWC Price $23.99
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • OWC Price $34.99
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.99
    • Cyber Saver $64.99
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $134.99
    • Cyber Saver $117.99
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.99
    • Cyber Saver $257.99
    • After Instant Rebates