Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive (Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G480) from Other World Computing for $119.75 as a suitable alternative.

OWC

480GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD
2.5" Serial-ATA 7mm Solid State Drive

When only the fastest and most reliable Solid State Drive on the market today will suffice for your data storage and backup, look no further than the OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD.
High-Performance Storage for Notebook and Desktop Computers.
For mission critical applications that require the utmost in speed and reliability, Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSDs deliver performance you can count on.
The Mercury SSD line features a suite of industry leading controller technologies for performance and reliability:
  • Global wear leveling algorithms automatically distribute data evenly and manage program/erase count, maximizing SSD lifespan.
  • StaticDataRefresh manages free space, gradually refreshing data across the SSD over time, preventing data corruption.
  • Hardware BCH ECC corrects errors up to 66-bit/1KB for superior data retention and drive life.
  • Advanced security protocols support 128/256-bit-AES disk encryption.
No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
This internal 2.5" SATA SSD delivers outstanding transfer speeds, endurance, and reliability. With speeds over 500MB/s, the OWC 480GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance. A 7% over provisioning set-aside further ensures exceptional long-term reliability, performance consistency, and durability with an amazing 480GB of visible storage capacity after over provision. Built to perform and backed by a 5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.
High Performance Internal Storage
Replace your conventional hard drive with a reliable solid state drive. Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Includes 7 mm to 9.5 mm Adapter / Spacer
Attach this adapter to the top of any 7mm, 2.5-inch drive for installations that require a 9.5mm drive height for proper use, whether you need a 9.5mm drive height for a dock, camera, server, device, PC, or external drive. This adapter is not needed for 2.5-inch drive installations that use the standard side or bottom mounting positions to secure the drive in place, and is not needed for any installation of a 7mm drive in Apple Macintosh computers.

Includes

  • 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • 7 mm – 9.5 mm Adapter
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMacs w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBooks w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pros w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac minis w/ Model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

Blackmagic Certified for use with the following Blackmagic products:

Blackmagic HyperDeck Studio
Blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle
Blackmagic MultiDock
Blackmagic Production
Camera 4K
Blackmagic
Cinema Camera



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2246EN Series with 7% Over Provisioning firmware set
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
447GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSD7P6G480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 256-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
537 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
443 MB/s

Power

Active
Read: 3000mW (3.0W) Maximum draw
Write: 4500mW (4.5W) Maximum draw
Idle
Less than 1000mW (1.0W)

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n SSD7P6G480 UPC#: 794504339154

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 My 2012 MacBook Pro is so fast now February 9, 2016 My Mac was running so slow. I was getting the beach ball all the time. Now it is quite zippy, even with lots of applications open.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Truly Awesome Performer !!! February 1, 2016 My 2011 Mac Mini 5,2 began to slow over the past couple years. Typical for it's original disc hard drive. I've been looking at upgrading for a long time, but felt hesitant due to the fact I've NEVER taken apart a computer let alone re-format a computer. After chatting with OWC and reading and watching videos on "how to", I decided I can do this! And so I ordered the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SATA. I was able to successfully remove my old drive and install this new one with NO PROBLEM. It was actually pretty easy if you take your time and be very careful. Then it came time to power up and format and install my backup from my TimeMachine. It went SO SMOOTHLY AND EXACTLY as the instruction had shown. I was very pleased. And the best part is how AWESOME my Mac Mini performs today. IT'S WAY FASTER AND WAY MORE POWERFUL THAN NEW. Nothing slows me down now....SO GLAD I DID IT !!!!! I highly recommend that you do the same.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Solid Drive January 30, 2016 I installed the drive and had my system running after a few hours and it has worked with no issues now for over a month since purchasing. I'm a novice to opening and working inside Apple laptops but the online video's were great. Top notch support. I wouldn't have bought it had the videos and tutorials not been present. Great buy!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Superfast January 30, 2016 My old MacBook performance has improved 200%

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded son's MacBook Pro January 25, 2016 Rather then buying our son in college a new laptop, we replaced the spinning drive with this SSD and it was a HUGE win. Much like having a new laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saint Paul, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So far so great January 23, 2016 I installed this in my 2010 MBP. It has improved performance more than I expected. I don't feel like I need to get a new Mac yet. Super fast boot times, apps launch much faster, and overall performance is much snappier than it was with the original 500GB mechanical hard drive. I've been a customer with OWC for over 20 years and have rarely if ever been disappointed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding performance upgrade January 18, 2016 I got a "new" MacBook pro by installing this harddisk on my Mac. Very easy install and big improvements in performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sioux Falls, SD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Working as Planned January 17, 2016 After trying a competitor's SSD for my mid 2012 MacBook Pro, which failed for a number of reasons, the OWC drive is working perfectly. A few things you want to check before buying an SSD to replace your primary HDD, is the compatibility of the SSD with your Mac. There are drives that are "blacklisted" in the Linux kernel that will not work. And, check your SATA cable, since they do wear out and may not handle the data transfer speed of the SSD. After I replaced the SSD, reinstalled OS X El Capitan, I was still having problems, which after spending hours on the internet trying to track down an answer, it came down to the SATA cable. Once I replaced that, which is not hugely difficult, but takes care, the SSD worked as advertised. I have not looked back since. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boca Raton FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Lightening Fast Computer! January 17, 2016 I bought this SSD for my early 2011 MacBook Pro and it is as fast as another BRAND NEW 2015 MacBook Pro I recently bought! BTW I already had 16 GB RAM. I normally keep several programs running at once and they come on now about as fast as it takes me to click on their application. The speed is in the drive. Hard drive = slow SSD = lightening fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: mrrjm Location: Illinois Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Reliable if they don't failed in 90 days January 13, 2016 I have bought/recommended 5 of these drives. 2 of them failed. Don't recommend them unless you do frequent backups. Other then that they are very fast. I do have several running in my business 24/7/365 for over 6 years with no problems. Just to be fair the drives that failed did so in a very short time period.

This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OKC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and courteous service. December 28, 2015 When I received the drive I realized it did not come with the power cord. Most computers will run the drive without it, but not my MacBook Pro. I should have read everything on the order page.

It's a great drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cairns, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and installation tutorial! December 18, 2015 Installing the ExtremePro has resulted in a significant improvement in speed in my 2011 iMac, which is especially noticeable when booting the system, launching apps and in general tasks. It has also reduced my rendering times in After Effects. When installing, I recommend having an assistant to facilitate some of the more delicate procedures.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Juan, PR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and furious December 17, 2015 Installed the 1.0TB drive yesterday, works great with excellent response and ease of installation. Be sure to call customer service for guidance for your particular product - they know what you need without fail. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED UPGRADE

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Across the pond in the old country Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Gives a great boost to a Mac Mini December 14, 2015 Used the online guide to install in a 2010 Mac Mini and had no problems at all once I'd figured out which side to put the spacer on. Significant performance improvement which is very noticeable on start-up. My only criticism is about the shipping. Advertised dispatch is within one day though the order acknowledgement clearly states addition time is required for shipping outside USA. Packaging was not the issue but I guess it went on a guided tour of Bell, California before it left the country. Tracking shows Oct 29 - invoiced; Oct 30 - Bell, CA; Oct 31 - Bell, CA; Nov 3 - Bell, CA. Ultimately the shipping method was my choice but there is insufficient information on the website to help make an informed decision. Insult to injury, I got stung by UK Customs for tax so the price wasn't so good at the end of the day.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tulsa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Best iMac upgrade ever December 13, 2015 The sales associate made sure I had everything I needed to change out my old hard drive. The video instructions were perfect. The speed and performance increase was far greater than inspected. I would almost consider the drive swap an easy job even with the dreaded "Apple tape adhesive". Quick shipping as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alaska Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD installed into a 2010 MacBook Pro December 3, 2015 Installed after watching their video. Also installed a data doubler and moved the 500GB Hard Drive into the bay used for the DVD player. Boot time improved from 58 seconds to 19 seconds. BOOM! Used CCC to clone from the old drive to the new SSD. I have used these SSD's previously and can highly recommend them.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Copenhagen, Denmark, EU Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing experience from OWC! November 23, 2015 I had to replace my HDD with an SSD in my 27" iMac. I saw the OWC tutorial on Yotube (which was top notch!) and it seemed straightforward. My only concern was the removal of the screen, but that was actually more easy than I thought. I went over to the OWC site – which impressed all the way – with an outstanding website it was easy to navigate and finding my three parts. Within 2(!) days my package arrived to Copenhagen (Denmark) from the US! I was impressed (UPS did great)! The whole installation went smooth and my machine was fully functional within 2 hours.

OWC was quite the experience. I felt they were there for me all the time – with personal contacts if I had any issues. I haven't seen that kind of service before. I, for sure, will be coming back again.

– Oh yeah and the OWC SSD, thermal sensor cable and 2.5" to 3.5" bracket works like a charm.

Absolutely outstanding all the way! Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: East Coast Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best improvement to this MacBookPro since I attached the power cord November 2, 2015 An Exceptional performance enhancement to this 2010 MacBookPro. Speed performance has increased by a factor of 5X to 15X; depending on the program's performance. Boot-up went from Agony to Ecstasy. This will extend the functional life of this computer several years into the future.

The cons: I did not make the installation a long time ago.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect upgrade for MacBook Pro September 20, 2015 A great price on an update to my MacBook Pro that means a few more years before it needs to be replaced. Easy directions on the website for the installation and the tools to do it were on hand.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kansas City, Missouri Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Update Worked August 30, 2015 Installed the drive in the PCI slot... loaded the drive from Time Machine... everything worked flawlessly. Used to take a minute and a half to boot... after the SSD install...20 seconds...

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: johnold Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 like new August 24, 2015 My MBP 2010 HDD broke down. Since switching to SSD, it made a big difference. My laptop runs like new, boots in less 10 seconds. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Hollywood, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST August 24, 2015 I love my new SATA drive that I got from OWC! You should get one!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Regina SK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent value and a very quick drive August 21, 2015 I bought this for a 17 inch Macbook pro and it is a great value. It is a very quick drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Panama City. Fl Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing August 3, 2015 I love this thing

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Transformed my Mac! August 1, 2015 Someone said to me change of rot SSD when you get the chance. I know why now. It's so different, with an SSD, less than 20% full.

As usual, the guys at OWC get my gear to me so much faster than any local provider in Australia.

Great communications too!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC 480GB Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G
Solid State Drive
Mfr P/N: SSD7P6G480 OWC SKU: OWCSSD7P6G480 Internal 2.5" Solid State Drive 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities: Limited Edition Black
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $74.99
    • OWC Price $69.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • OWC Price $119.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $229.99
    • OWC Price $219.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $379.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $879.99
    • OWC Price $849.75