Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

OWC SSD Blade Upgrade - 480GB
for Accelsior & Accelsior E2 PCI Express Cards

OWC SSD Blade Uprage - 960GB
Maximize your storage and/or backup space
by upgrading to higher capacity Accelsior blades!
Upgrading your Accelsior with higher capacity SSD blades is as easy and quick as installing a memory module. Our 'how-to' video makes this Plug and Play easy! And you can trade in your original blades for a cash back rebate.
Accelsior SSD Blade Upgrades incorporate the latest SandForce® processor with 7% over-provisioning and DuraClass™ technology to deliver best-in-class reliability, performance, and power efficiency. You'll enjoy a more responsive and productive computing experience along with cooler, quieter, and more energy efficient computer operation. SandForce RAISE™ technology provides RAID-like data redundancy protection and reliability.

Features

  • Extend your existing investment!
  • Boot, Launch, Create, and Save Faster
  • Up to 820MB/s of blistering performance
  • Up to 100,000 IOPS
  • Backed by a three-year warranty, and is designed and built in the U.S. from domestic and imported parts.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

480GB SSD Blade Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Dual LSI® SandForce SF-228x series processors with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Major Multi-Level Cell (MLC) High-Performance Sync-NAND Flash
Capacity1
2 x 240GB blades for 480GB
Total Flash Memory Components - 512GB
32GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
447GiB
SMART Attributes
Not Supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
AHCI Compliant
Plug and Play installation, no drivers* required
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDPHWE2R480
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
Warranty
3 Year OWC Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance4

Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
756MB/s
Sustained Sandy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
673MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Reads (up to)
811MB/s
Sustained Ivy Bridge PC
Writes (up to)
646MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Reads (up to)
677MB/s
Sustained Mac Pro
Writes (up to)
686MB/s
Random 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Operating System Compatibility5

Windows
Vista and higher
Server 2008 and higher
Mac OS X
10.6 and higher
Mac OS X Server
10.6 and higher
Ubuntu Linux
9.04 and higher
Fedora Linux
14 and higher

Manual

Driver6

Accelsior Driver for OS X 10.6.8 & Later, Mac Pro only
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Performance may vary by machine - see compatibility tab for details.
  5. Accelsior may be used with Bootcamp only if the entire formatted capacity of the Accelsior model is completely dedicated to the Windows partition.
  6. Driver ensures proper power-down of Accelsior during sleep and shutdown actions, this driver does not interact with the data operation and ensures that OS X provides proper power down notification to the Accelsior where without the driver such notification may not occur.


Note: The use of two or more Accelsior SSDs requires OS X 10.6.8 or later.
Note: Bootcamp: 2008 Mac Pro (with model ID MacPro3,1) only supported in PCIe slots #3 & #4. All models: To boot Windows via Bootcamp on Accelsior, only one Accelsior SSD can be installed.
The OWC SSD Blade Upgrade is compatible with...
OWC Mercury Accelsior
OWC Mercury Accelsior
PCI Express Card
OWC Mercury Accelsior
OWC Mercury Accelsior E2
PCI Express Card

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 112 out of 115 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Louisville KY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I'm absolutely speechless April 20, 2015 I have a 2012 5,1 Mac Pro. 3.2 GHz Single Quad-Core 32 GB RAM

Apps, Systems and footage have gotten much bigger since 2012. My machine was feeling it. Disheartened by the thought of having to invest in a brand new Mac Pro, I was advised by an IT friend to check out the Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI card. I did. I bought it.

I can't even begin to explain how thrilled AND baffled I am. It's as if my single Quad Core got ramped up to a dual Six Core. I've loaded nothing but my OS X, Applications, Fonts and User Folder on the new PCI SSD drive. (Working files and assets on the four 2TB internal SATA drives.) The machine now cold boots in about 20-22 seconds. Ready to go.... not still loading stuff.

Photoshop launches and is up in just under 5 seconds. I created a 36x36 inch file @ 1200 dpi. Open the file is about 5 gigs. Takes Photoshop only about 8 seconds to open it. I duplicated the entire layer and hit save..... took about 2.5 seconds to save the file.

Premiere Pro launches and is ready in about 10 seconds. (That's booting AND loading the current video job) I no longer have to set the default playback to 1/2 resolution to get smooth playback. Full resolution playback with effects applied and not yet rendered on the timeline! (Yes some frames drop BUT it keeps rolling without stuttering, freezing or jumping.

This is by far the best money I've ever spent...on many levels. This turns your Mac Pro into a brand new machine...for $479 not $6000. Highly recommended to anyone with a 2012 Mac Pro or older if you think you're needing a "new computer".

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ajax, On Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Like adding NOS to your Mac April 14, 2015 This upgrade was the best thing for an aging MacPro 2.8/8core this replaced my 500gig SSD laptop drive improved my speed by over 30% boots cold within 17seconds AWESOME 1 click and bang its open no matter what app.. best money I ever spent.. thanks OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 ercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express March 24, 2015 This SSD works wonderfully - wish I cudda afforded a bigger one ( mebbe upgrade later! ). Works great w/my external eSATA devices as well.

jeff

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Granbury, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says it will March 8, 2015 It does speed somethings up by quite a bit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Better than expected performance March 6, 2015 I installed this on a 2009 Mac Pro (2.66 quad core) about 3 weeks ago (Yosemite installed). It's worth every penny. The speed improvement was dramatic and it seems like this has really transformed this Mac. I was dreading buying the new Mac Pro and having to add a bunch of external drives, but it wasn't really keeping up with the last few OS updates. Now my four hard drives (two of which are in an RAID array, one used for backup), can continue to hum away unnoticed. Great product. No downsides experienced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Concord, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my MacPro January 30, 2015 Yes this unit is pricey but wow, what a difference! I am running this in my 8 core MacPro tower as my primary drive with 24GB of RAM and boot times have massively improved. There is almost no hesitation in launching apps which had slowed to seconds just to open. It would be nice to be able to have more onboard SSD capacity but the unit is built with upgrading in mind. Given the fact the new MacPros cap out at 1TB think this may be an industry thing. I managed to get around some of this using symbolic links for DVR recordings.Great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, Ma Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 works just as advertised. Easy to install with instant increased speed. January 24, 2015 works just as advertised. Easy to install with instant increased speed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Robinson, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product works great! January 23, 2015 I have been very impressed with the 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI. The speeds of my mac have been imporved exponentially. I was most impressed with OWC's technical support. They walked me through installation and answered all of my questions. I will definitely use OWC again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: GaryH Location: Bedford Tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Performance upgrade January 23, 2015 Unit installed exactly as described. It is just Fast.

Was using Owc SSD as boot volume which was QUICK.

The Mercury Accelsior is very Fast .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just stunning... January 6, 2015 I purchased this card for a mac pro 2009. I configured the hardware with 32 GB of RAM, a sapphire video card and this Excelsior Drive. I left the 5200 RPM drive in bay one and use it as a Time Machine backup drive.

This set up is amazing, heavily weighted on the performance of the Excelsior Drive. I have four applications that automatically launch at boot. Even with that I'm getting boot times under 20 seconds. Speed and responsiveness are just amazing. I have a Mac Pro 2012 with identical processors and RAM but with four 2 TB drives in a raid striping array. The speed test on that array runs about 380 Mb per second read. I do get some lag and jitter when accessing data on the array. The Excelsior completely illininates that, Plus is more than twice as fast.

The productivity gain really is immeasurable, I'm incredibly happy with the drives performance.

This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, excellent performance December 29, 2014 A definite boost to the system. Applications and files open faster and the time required for saving large image files is decreased substantially. Setup is quick.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Speed increase on early 2008 dual quad core Mac Pro December 26, 2014 This card and solid state storage has greatly increased the responsiveness of my old Mac Pro. I am now using this as my startup disk and it really makes a difference. I use it in conjunction with a NewerTech Voyager Q to mount a 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD. The eSATA ports on the Accelsior enable the Voyager to connect the EXTREME Pro 6G SSD and it makes a very quick scratch disk. If you do a lot of photoshop work with multi-layered large files, this combination will really help. I also do music recording and this helps a lot in this area as well. Until I can afford a new Mac Pro set up like I want (it will be expensive), this combo is really making my old Mac Pro better. The people at OWC are always great to me. I've been dealing with them since the turn of the century.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 buy. one. now. December 21, 2014 this is the greatest thing invented since bacon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Illinois Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 FAST....FAST...............FAST!!! December 20, 2014 My early Mac Pro 2008 is like New. I recommend this PCI SSD to anyone who is looking for speed. Awesome! Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Muscat, Oman Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent December 16, 2014 MacPro Mid 2010, from 2 mins boot time to 40 seconds, installed Yosemite on this PCIe SSD and now using my old 7,200rpm HDs for timemachine, blackmagic speed tester shows 500mb speed and AJA speed tester shows 700mb+, very happy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calpine, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A lovely piece of kit December 14, 2014 This thing absolutely screams. Installation was painless (save for hunting down the correct version of the driver -- OWC updated their website and the documentation included with the board hasn't kept pace). Yosemite hasn't seen fit to install on this thing, but then Yosemite hasn't seen fit to install on anything with a SSD, including my shiny-new, maxed out rMBP, so I can hardly fault it for that failing. If I needed more silly-fast storage I'd pick up another of these without hesitation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Almost as fast as the speed of light! November 27, 2014 I can't even begin to explain the amazing speed of this device. It was very easy to install and I was off. The old slow boot times are a thing of the past. Although I could write and write about the greatness of this blazing fast SSD, I'll just say a few simple words: go out and buy it! Your PC or MAC will thank you!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New ORLEANS Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth every dollar! October 27, 2014 For some time I've contemplated the Accelsior for my 2010 MacPro. Once Mac OS10.10 was released I decided to upgrade to the Accelsior and it's amazing what happened. The speed bump in performnce all round was excellent in addition to more ram from OWC didn't hurt the cause.

The performance of the eSata ports with the external OWC drives also showed speed in data transfer.

Application launch/startup/ over all system performance was kicked up many notches so this was a well worth upgrade and I truly would recommend this as an option over the new MacPro's no question about it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Reliable Start-Up Drive October 23, 2014 Replaced earlier flash drive card with this upgrade to deal with apparent sleep-mode & OSX related issues. Unit has proven to be consistently fast and reliable for use in my MacPro as a start-up drive without any known hardware or software issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCIe High-Performance SSD w/eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Middle of nowhere Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Must have for Mac Pro October 12, 2014 If it works with your machine get one. Gave me 2 more years of life with my 2009 Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Earth
Rating: 5/5 Far Out October 11, 2014 'Put this in my 12-core ~2013 cheese grater.

All. The. Difference. In. The. World.

Just get one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great September 29, 2014 I bought this to give my 2008 Mac Pro new life. It's very quick, especially compared to the hard disks previously in the system. Boot and reboot is much faster than before. Loading Final Cut Pro is so fast that I can restart it whenever I want to if I feel it starting to get sluggish. I wish this "drive" was a little bigger. After the OS, installed applications (Photoshop, Lightroom, Final Cut Pro, Xcode, Logic Pro), the disk is out of room after a few Lightroom catalogs or a large 4k Final Cut Pro project. But I couldn't justify throwing more money at it as the Pro is starting to show it's age in many areas.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Upgrade for 2008 MacPro September 26, 2014 Owning an "early 2008" MacPro, I started to build frustration over the boot / shutdown time and overall speed. Over the time, my MacPro had received 16GB of ram and better disks, but still, it was so slow compared to any recent Mac with the SSD technology. It was obviously time to change... Until I came across the PCI Express SSD. It took me a while to realize we were talking of data storage on a PCI connector... The install is truly "Plug & Play" and after Time Machine had restored, my MacPro was simply another machine. No more wait for booting or shutdown, everything is 4-5 x faster. Bottom line, I will keep my "early 2008" MacPro for many more years to come !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Wow September 14, 2014 I wish I would have done this upgrade long ago. New life came to my Mac Pro after installing. Best upgrade ever.

This review is from 960GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nashville, TN Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade, sorry I waited so long to do! September 12, 2014 The improvements in boot time and general responsiveness are incredible. Before 1.5mins to boot. After 20 secs to boot. No need to get a cup of coffee for the wait... The machine is snappy and responsive now, a pleasure to use once again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Accelsior E2 PCI Express High-Performance SSD with eSATA Expansion Ports.

*Driverless in Windows only. Download Driver for Mac only.
OWC SSD Blade Upgrade - 480GB for Accelsior & Accelsior E2 PCI Express Cards Mfr P/N: SSDPHSETR480 OWC SKU: OWCSSDPHSETR480 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out