Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC ThunderBay 4 mini with Thunderbolt 2

OWC

ThunderBay 4 mini
8.0TB Professional Grade 4-Drive HDD Thunderbolt 2 Solution For Mac and Windows PC

Featuring SoftRAID Lite XT
The Perfect Combination of Speed, Size, and Convenience for Permanent Access to Your Data
Big RAID System Performance in a Compact Design
The ThunderBay 4 mini is perfect for repurposing or maximizing 2.5-inch drives for a compact data storage solution. It’s big on performance and flexibility, yet ThunderBay 4 mini is about the length of a pencil and can weigh as little as 3.1 pounds with drives.
The rugged heat-dissipating aluminum enclosure features two Thunderbolt 2 (Thunderbolt 10Gb/s backward compatible) ports for up to 1346MB/s speeds, so you have more than enough bandwidth to handle personal and business backups — all the way up to today's highest resolution audio, photo, and video formats. If you are seeking big RAID performance that's small enough to fit on a desk, in a rack, or on a DIT cart, your wish is now a reality.
A New World of Drive Flexibility
With four drive bays, you can mix or match different brand and capacity 2.5-inch SSDs and HDDs. Use mixed drives independently or combine drives as a RAID with the included SoftRAID setup and management software. You can order as an empty enclosure and populate with your own drives, or choose a variety of pre-configured capacity solutions to achieve your desired balance of storage, performance, and data redundancy.
Install or Swap in Minutes
Want to access another drive or expand your storage capacity? Simply open the front panel security lock to access the four individual bays. Drives mount to a tray that slides back in and automatically plugs into a drive connector so you can get back to work in minutes.
Store More, Go Faster
With the ability to daisy-chain you can add up to five additional ThunderBay 4 mini solutions to create massive storage capacities. Merge them with SoftRAID for even more flexibility, capacity, and capability. Or if speed is what you’re after, connect multiple ThunderBay 4 mini solutions to multiple Thunderbolt 3 ports on your Mac or PC to achieve exponential speed capabilities.
Includes SoftRAID: Easy and Complete Drive Management
Now you can quickly access and robustly protect your data with SoftRAID XT. SoftRAID easy setup makes it a breeze to create RAID volumes by helping you through the entire process. With multiple RAID options, you decide what you’re using your RAID volume for and how much space to allocate to it. It's that simple to create your preference of speed and/or redundancy for your data volume.
SoftRAID Highlights
  • Flexible: create RAID 0 and 1 volumes with SoftRAID Lite XT (Windows and Mac)
  • Advanced: create RAID 0, 1, 4, 5, 1+0 (10) volumes (RAID 6, 6+ coming in 2020) and get email notifications for drive and RAID volume health with SoftRAID XT (Mac only)
  • Verify: volume validation ensures sectors can be read, parity is correct, and any potential volume failure is minimized
  • Certified: drives are validated before use to ensure they are safe for data storage
  • Vigilant: predictive warnings help protect against unexpected drive failure
  • Cross-platform ready: SoftRAID Lite includes built-in MacDrive technology that lets you  read/write SoftRAID RAID 0 and RAID 1 arrays and use them interchangeably with Windows and macOS computers
  • Outperforms: up to 86% faster than AppleRAID
  • Thorough: full TRIM support improves internal and external SSD performance in all RAID levels
  • Risk-free: 30-day free trial of fully functional application
Professional Grade = Ready to Work
We understand having confidence in gear reliability is paramount to creative professionals. That’s why every ThunderBay 4 mini hard drive solution undergoes OWC's multi-hour "burn-in" performance certification prior to shipping. This ensures your ThunderBay 4 mini arrives operating properly and immediately ready for demanding use.
Support You Can Trust
Like all OWC products, the ThunderBay 4 mini enclosure is fully backed by OWC's award-winning U.S.-based support team and a 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty.
Speed, size, and convenience — the OWC ThunderBay 4 mini provides everything a demanding workflow requires.

Product Specifications:

OWC Part Number

  • TB4MJB08T5

Mac OS Compatibility

  • Mac OS X 10.12 and later

PC OS Compatibility

  • Windows 7 and later

Other Requirements

  • Thunderbolt Port

Driver Required

  • SoftRAID Only

Ports

  • (2) Thunderbolt 2 Ports

Number of Bays

  • (4) 2.5" SATA

Housing Color

  • Black

Housing Material

  • Aluminum

Security Slot

  • Yes

Cooling Fan

  • (1) 60mm cooling fan

Chipset

  • Thunderbolt 2: Intel JHL5520
  • SATA Controller: ASMedia ASM-1062

Standard Mechanism

  • 2.0TB Toshiba MQ04ABD200 Specifications:

    Specifications

    Form Factor
    2.5″ HDD
    Interface
    SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Capacity1
    2000GB
    Formatted Capacity2
    1862GiB
    Rotational Speed
    5,400 RPM
    Cache / Data Buffer
    128MB
    Manufacturer Model Number
    MQ04ABD200
    RoHS Compliant
    Yes
    Format

    Physical

    Height (max)
    9.5mm (0.374″)
    Width (max)
    69.85mm (2.750″)
    Length (max)
    100.00mm (3.940″)
    Weight (typical)
    117g (0.258 lbs.)
    Bytes per Sector
    512 / 4k (512e)

    Reliability3

    MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    600,000 hours
    Nonrecoverable Read Errors
    1 per 1014 bits read

    Performance

    Transfer Rate (Max)
    6.0 Gb/s
    Average Latency
    5.56ms

    Power

    Read Power
    1.65 Watts
    Write Power
    1.65 Watts
    Idle Mode, Low Power
    0.6 Watts

    Environmental (Operating)

    Shock
    400 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    32°F to 140°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    0°C to 60°C
    Vibration
    9.8 m/s² (1.0G) 5 to 500 Hz
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

    Environmental (Non-Operating)

    Shock
    1000 G max at 2ms
    Ambient Temperature (°F)
    -40°F to 149°F
    Ambient Temperature (°C)
    -40°C to 65°C
    Vibration
    49 m/s² (5.0G) 15 to 500Hz
    Altitude
    -304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

    Acoustics

    Idle (Typical)
    2.3 bels
    Seek (Typical)
    2.4 bels
    1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
    2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
    3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
    4 x 2.0TB* Toshiba Hard Disk Drives**
  • *1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.

    **OWC reserves the right to replace or upgrade to equivalent or better components.

RAID Capable

  • Yes via SoftRAID

RAID Levels Supported

  • RAID 0
  • RAID 1
  • Raid 0+1
  • Raid 4
  • Raid 5

Data Transfer Rate (Max)

  • Thunderbolt 2 : 20 Gb/s (or 2500 MB/s)
  • Thunderbolt : 10 Gb/s (or (1250 MB/s)

Bootable

  • Independent volumes bootable in macOS

Power Supply

  • External UL-listed universal auto-switching power supply

AC Input

  • 100-240V, 50-60Hz, 2.0A

DC Output

  • +12V, 6A

Wattage

  • 72

Certifications

  • CE
  • FCC
  • VCCI
  • RCM
  • BSMI

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Temperature 41°F to 95°F (5°C to 35°C)
    • Altitude -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Temperature  -4°F to 140°F (-20°C to 60°C)
    • Altitude -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)

Dimensions

  • Height: 11.7 cm (4.6 in)
  • Width: 9.6 cm (3.8 in)
  • Length: 19.1 cm (7.5 in)

Weight

  • 1.1 kg (2.51 lbs)

Notes

  • macOS 10.12.6 or later required
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n TB4MJB08T5 UPC#: 812437020953

Gallery

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
macOS RAID 0 Test Results

Includes

  • (1) ThunderBay 4 mini
  • (1) Thunderbolt 2 cable
  • (1) External power supply
  • (2) Keys for front panel lock
  • (1) Quick start guide
  • (1) SoftRAID Lite XT (Mac and Windows)

Videos



Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 14 out of 17 (82%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the tin August 3, 2015 The most efficient way for me to carry 4 2.5" drives. Thank you OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rockville, MD Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Superior to other enclosures I've tried July 31, 2015 Replaced a Promise RAID enclosure that never worked properly. This one is high quality construction. Has been problem free since I installed my 4 SSDs as RAID 10. And of course with thunderbolt 2 it is extra fast. Nice product. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works perfectly with OS X RAID July 10, 2015 I bought the 4 TB ThunderBay to work with my Mac Pro (2013) and Thunderbolt 2. I set it up as a striped and mirrored using the standard OS X Disk Utility RAID settings. This ends up with a 2 TB mirrored drive. With Black Magic Disk Speed Test I get about 155 MB/s write and 185 MB/s read. Not too bad for spinning rust on 2.5" drives. For reference I have an older 480 GB OWC Mercury Electra SSD in a USB 3 external case that only gets a little better than that (180 MB/s write & 230 MB/s read).

The 4 1 TB 2.5" drives are temporary until the price of 1 TB SSD comes down in a year or so. The ThunderBay enclosure should be useful long after the drives are obsolete.

If anyone has the same bay with SoftRAID and a similar setup, I would be curious to know what your performance numbers are (Black Magic Disk Speed Test is free on the Mac App store.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini Four-Drive 7200RPM HDD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ardmore pa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great storage solution May 14, 2015 I'm an it guy. This was an inexpensive enterprise grade raid solution for a consumer price. I went with Speed and storage and used 7200 rpm laptop drives. This replaced my LaCie jbod storage. My storage performance went from 70mb per second to about 400mb not as fast as my 900mb raid0 ssd os solution but getting 3tb with the read rate it's worth it. SoftRaid 5 works great. And was worth the extra cost. Looking forward to grabbing an additional one of these storage arrays soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Great size efficiency and overall solution mitigated by little annoyances May 3, 2015 My desk doesn't have a lot of available space, so the ThunderBay 4 mini seemed like a good fit (literally). It's small, fast, accommodates 4 drives and it is optimized for SSDs -- doesn't waste precious volume on accommodating 3.5" form factors. It's metal and feels rock-solid. Comes with a Thunderbolt cable. Works great, and the version with SoftRAID rounds it out for a great RAID 4/5 solution. I liked it a lot, at least until I powered it up.

The downsides are that you end up with an power brick -- I hate external transformers -- and that small fan that all the reviews and product information say is "quiet" really isn't if you have silent SSDs (like the Mercury Electra 6Gs that I also purchased) in it. You have audible low frequencies of air passing through the enclosure. Those don't bother me. However, the MB60201V3-0000-A99 fan (in theory, 23 dBA from OEM spec sheet) used in the enclosure has this soft, high-pitched whine that was distracting to both me and the other occupant of the room it lived in. As much as I'd like to keep it, that's a dealbreaker for it to be used where I need to.

Return RMA is underway, and I'm looking at the full-size ThunderBay 4 RAID edition as a replacement with its lower-RPM fan (20-23 dBA) and internal power supply, as well as its unfortunately much larger size and need to use 3.5"-to-2.5" step-down carriers for my SSDs.

This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great April 28, 2015 Easy to assemble, ordered SSD drives and popped them in, works flawlessly and is silent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 3/5 Super fast but noisy April 17, 2015 It's a super fast SSD RAID. The only drawback is the noises of fans (it's small fan so it has high-freq noises). Luckily you can use a long Thunderbolt cable to put the RAID far away from you. It would be nice if OWC can reduce the fan speed for SSD version. (HDD version is hotter)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini, four-drive SSD with dual Thunderbolt 2 ports, RAID-ready JBOD Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hangzhou, China Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very satisfied April 16, 2015 After comparing everything I could find in a reasonably compact Thunderbolt 2 drive array to connect to my Mac Pro I finally decided upon the ThunderBay 4 mini in a 4TB configuration. The unit is compact and well built. The fan is audible in a low noise environment, but not at all noticeable in an office.

I've currently opted for using Apple's built-in RAID facility and the drive is performing exactly as expected. Lightning fast and stable. I'm very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fast and compact DAS solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0TB OWC ThunderBay 4 mini Four-Drive 7200RPM HDD External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cincinnati Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what they say March 15, 2015 It's not a complex product. You stick in SSD drives and it works. I was interested because it had a Thunderbolt 2 connection. I've had it for a month or so and had no issues with it. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an external RAID array on a Mac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SLC,UT Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product March 11, 2015 This case is well made. I have four SSD,s in raid 0 with OS X installed and no problems. Black Magic test Read 1184 MB/s Write 1085 MB/s

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Napa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 The enclosure is awesome January 12, 2015 but hard drives stink. I've been wanting an enclosure like this for years, so I jumped on it as soon as it was announced. I wanted a fast, quiet, RAID hard drive, and this is all three. I was expecting faster performance than I got, but that's the fault of the four 2TB drives inside. I'm getting about 500MB/s in RAID 0. Once the cost of SSDs decline, then I'll make the switch.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Thunder bay Mini 4 - Outstanding Product January 3, 2015 Moved from a 2010 Mac Pro to a 2014 MacBook Pro. I delayed the moved because my Mac Pro was maxed out with 4 Disk Drives and I wasn't sure what to do migrating to the MBPro. I knew I could count on OWC and just about the time I was ready to move on the "Thunder Bay 4" the "Thunder Bay 4 mini" was introduced. I called tech support with questions on the mini and it seemed like what I was waiting for. I migrated two existing SSD's (One OWC) for the Mac Pro and bought two more SSD's from OWC to fill up the Thunder Bay mini 4. Mission accomplished!! As a bonus I have the option to boot from the Thunder Bay Mini vis a vie Thunderbolt2 should I choose(Contrary to what Mac Support said and it works, I tried it). The Thunder Bay Mini 4 is Fast, Quiet and Runs Cool.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive enclosure December 21, 2014 I have been using the Thunderbay 4 mini for just under a month now and it works exactly as advertised.

One of the best features is the cooling fan which maintains my SSDs at a comfortable 29° C vs 45° C in Akitio Neutrino Thunder Duo which I previously used.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC ThunderBay 4 mini RAID Ready Four-Bay External Thunderbolt 2 Storage Enclosure.

OWC ThunderBay 4 mini 8.0TB Professional Grade 4-Drive HDD Thunderbolt 2 Solution Mfr P/N: TB4MJB08T5 OWC SKU: OWCTB4MJB08T5 Featuring SoftRAID Lite XT. Add your own drives! Thunderbolt 2 cable included 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $629.75
Add to CartOther World Computing TB4MJB08T5 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: RAID 0 Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.99
    • Cyber Saver $279.75
RAID 0 Hard Drive Models
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $629.99
    • Cyber Saver $599.75
  • 8.0TB
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $929.99
    • Cyber Saver $879.75
RAID 0 Solid-State Drive Models
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $699.99
    • Cyber Saver $699.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $999.95
    • OWC Price $999.00
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,699.99
    • OWC Price $1,699.00
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $3,799.99
    • OWC Price $3,799.00
RAID 4 Solid-State Drive Models
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $779.99
    • OWC Price $779.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,079.95
    • OWC Price $1,079.00
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $1,779.99
    • OWC Price $1,779.00
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $3,879.99
    • OWC Price $3,879.00
RAID 5 Enclosure Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $369.99
    • OWC Price $349.75
RAID 5 Hard Drive Models
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $699.99
    • OWC Price $669.75
  • 8.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $719.99
    • OWC Price $699.75
  • 16.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $999.99
    • OWC Price $949.75