Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC SuperSlim

USB 2.0 optical drive external enclosure

Mac / PC / USB 2.0 & 1.1
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB
For the optical drive removed from a unibody Mac notebook.
A perfect companion for the OWC Data Doubler.
Ideal solution for Macs with replaced optical drive!
The OWC SuperSlim for Apple SuperDrive solution makes CD and DVD burning and playing Plug-and-play easy* with Macs and PCs. It's bus-powered (no AC adapter needed!), ultra-thin, and lightweight for easy transport in your gear bag.
Uses ANY 9.5mm SuperSlim Slot Loading Optical Drive
While an extremely attractive option for MacBook® and MacBook Pro owners looking to retask a removed Apple® SuperDrive®, the OWC SuperSlim is also a great choice for ANY 9.5mm optical drive... even those with mounting tabs! So whether you choose an enclosure kit to build your own solution, or select an OWC pre-configured solution, the OWC SuperSlim offers stylish, highly portable disc read/write capabilities for your specific need.
Compact and versatile – No AC Adapter Required!
The OWC SuperSlim offers stylish mobile disc read/write ability with a sleek, totally bus-powered design. Take your digital life with you wherever you roam!
*Disc read/write capabilities vary depending on installed drive. Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or the Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your SuperSlim drive, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Need an enclosure for a 12.7mm SATA optical drive?
Click here to view the OWC Slim.
Benchmark

Test Details: DVD+R 8x burn test using a 3.8GB file, CD-R 24x burn test using a 583MB file with a Panas onic UJ-898 SuperDrive on a MacBook Pro with model ID: Macbook Pro 6,2 running
OS X 10.6.8

Same performance of
internal optical drive!

Equipped with an Apple SuperDrive®, the OWC SuperSlim offers CD/DVD write speeds equal to and even slightly better than when the drive is installed internally in a 2011 MacBook Pro.

Now you can retain full performance of a replaced optical drive after adding the OWC Data Doubler!

Includes

OWC Slim includes

Gallery

Product Specifications

Manufacturer Part Number

  • VLSS9TOPTU2

Chipset

  • Sunplus

Drive Requirements

  • Any 9.5mm SATA slim slot loading optical drive mechanism, including those with mounting tabs.

Drive Interface

  • SATA (Serial ATA)

Port Configuration

  • USB 2.0 – (1) mini "B" port

Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 2.0 – 480Mbps (or 60MB/sec)

Cooling

  • Super quiet fanless ventilation

Macintosh Requirements

  • Mac OS 8.6 or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Mac OS X 10.2.8 or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x.
  • Note: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or the Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your SuperSlim drive, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Windows Requirements

  • Windows 98SE or later and an available USB 2.0/1.1 port.
  • USB 2.0 functionality requires Windows 2000 or later.

Power Supply

  • Bus-power via USB on most computers with standard USB 2.0 port.
  • Optional AC Adapter* (available as a separate purchase here)
    * AC adapter not required for most applications provided computer bus supplies appropriate power needs.

External Case Dimensions

  • 5.85 in (D) x 5.72 in (W) x 0.6 in (H)
    (148.59 mm x 145.29 mm x 15.24 mm)

Enclosure Weight

  • 4.2 ounces (119.07g)

Operating Environment

Temperature

  • (operating) from 5°C ~ up to 50°C (41°F – 122°F)
  • (non-operating) from -45°C ~ up to 65°C (-40°F – 149°F)

Relative Humidity

  • Operating*: from 10% – up to 90% non-condensing
  • Non-operating*: from 5% – up to 95% non-condensing
    *Dependent upon optical drive mechanism used

Shock

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Vibration

  • Dependent on mechanism installed

Warranty

1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur – OWC is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n VLSS9TOPTU2 UPC#: 736211766656

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.3 / 5 64 out of 77 (83%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 very good August 11, 2014 very good product, fast shipping, OWC is the best

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says. August 7, 2014 I used my superdrive from my MacBook when I installed the data doubler and it worked perfectly. Exactly as described.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to do and to use! May 10, 2014 After I removed my optical drive this was a perfect way to utilize the "Out of body Experience" for the old drive. I can now use this with ANY other of my mac products!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love it! May 2, 2014 Piece of cake to assemble and now I have ultra portability of my optical drive while having the added value of dual hard drives in my MBP thanks to the data doubler!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Aurora, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Up to the task! April 29, 2014 The SuperSlim USB 2.0 fills the role of having a CD drive available when and if I need it.

It was easy to put my SuperDrive in this enclosure! I had watched the online video and didn't even need to look at the instructions.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Swapping Superdrive with SSD in 1/2 hour. March 27, 2014 "The included instructions were complete with color pictures and I didn't miss a step. I took apart my 17" Mac Book Pro, removed the Super Drive, replaced with 2 1/2" SSD, installed Super Drive in CD/DVD Super Slim external case. The whole process took about 1/2 hour. The included tools worked great. To get the DVD Player to recognize the external drive I recommend following the instructions found here. http://macenstein.com/default/2011/07/how-to-get-your-external-super-drive-working-in-lion". If software to patch DVDPlayer was included I would give it 5 stars.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: iowa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works great March 1, 2014 Product does just what it claims to. My only suggestion would be to beef up the plastic screw tabs inside the case that hold the drive in place. They were a little small and the shouldered screws started distorting them.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 2/5 VLC won't read DVDs from drive in this enclosure January 3, 2014 Like many others, I got the SuperSlim enclosure to have a CD and DVD playback option after replacing my internal superdrive with an OWC Data Doubler. Like others have noted, the enclosure is fairly "plastic-y", but that hasn't bothered me much as it would just be sitting on my desk rather than being toted around. I've been able to play/rip CDs normally using it.

The issue, however, has been DVDs. I have not been able to play a DVD since I bought the SuperSlim nearly a year ago. OWC mentions that the OS X default DVD player won't recognize external drives that aren't the Apple SuperDrive, and they recommend the VLC player. However, I've been unable to get the VLC player to play DVDs in the drive, either. I've done quite a bit of searching and troubleshooting to no avail. This means that the SuperSlim fails to do 1 of the 2 things I bought it to do.

While I understand that OWC has no control over the Mac operating system restrictions, the fact remains that I spent $34 on a plastic enclosure that doesn't do what I want it to do when I could've spent a bit more on an Apple SuperDrive that would work with the default application.

Overall a great idea at a reasonable price but its usefulness is limited by apparently non-existent software support.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Belgium Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 100% Happy December 31, 2013 all has been said, product correspond 100% to the description. It is light, strong and very easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Works, but I'm worried December 8, 2013 I replaced the Optical bay of my 2012 MacBook Pro with a data doubler and placed the Optical bay into one of these.

It works and installation is very simple. I do have some worries though.

First, one of the retaining screws that holds the SuperDrive within the case is really freaking difficult to get too. So much so that I was worried I was going to mess up the enclosure trying to reach it. Luckily, there are 2 other mount screws that should adequately retain the Drive. Secondly, the enclosure is a simple plastic which doesn't inspire much confidence for durability. I do a lot of travel and place my spare components into my messenger bag. A decent drop, and I would not be surprised if the case was dented and potentially damaged the SuperDrive. Finally, while I understand the power limitations of certain components, it's still upsetting that you may need two USB ports to power this thing. If you only have one USB port per side, you really have to stretch the cords. If there is a way to get around this, it needs to be done.

It's a decent product, but I'd be much more confident in a tougher plastic or lightweight metal construction.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great solution December 3, 2013 I removed my MacBook Pro's internal smart drive and put it in this external casing. So now I have a portable CD/DVD player/writer and it works really well.

I found it very easy to put together, and I've used it on a variety of computers, all of which have treated it like an easy plug-n-play device.

-1 Star because it requires 2 USB slots (the cable that comes with it splits into two USB Males. Note that this double USB terminus means both USB ports have to be close together or else you'll need to get a USB extender cable. This is annoying, but probably inevitable since the device certainly needs the power. The only other option would be to connect it to a power supply with an adapter, which would be even more bulky.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Little queer connecting cables September 3, 2013 The drive worked fine for my optical drive, but the connecting cables seem a little confusing. Why would there be an additional USB cable attached to the same connector ?

I had to see the demo video to see which would be the right connector as there is no light or sound to help understand that I have connected the drive correctly. The enclosure and the way of connecting is the only issue I have encountered so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, Tech Support September 3, 2013 The High Quality Double Shielded 'Y' type Dual USB 2.0/1.1 (Dual 'A' to 5 pin 'mini-B' type) cable is to provide additional power to computer/optical drive mechanism combinations that require it.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: MarkM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Nice little product! April 4, 2013 I ordered this for my drive when I got the data doubler and SSD for my MBP. It didn't work very well. It had trouble mounting and I got frustrated. I think the USB connector at the back of the enclosure was a bit loose. OWC took it right back and shipped a new one out right away, and this seems to be working better. You'll probably see other reviews talking about how once you externalize the dvd drive, that DVD Player won't work anymore. There's an easy hack to make it recognize the external drive, however it's not perfect. It won't recognize disc images you may have on your mac unless the external drive is plugged in. You can download VLC to use instead of DVD player, but I don't think the interface is quite as robust. Either way, it's not the drive enclosures fault. It's Apple that made their software only work with a drive attached.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: So. California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD is GREAT! March 1, 2013 Putting an SSD internally is like upgrading your processor. The application/system performance is phenomenal! The kit from OWC with the sled for the SSD and the external case for the optical is a very good deal. Once thing I would warn, many will have to choose a smaller boot drive size with the included 120 GB drive. Mine only left 8 GB to spare, not enough to run OS X properly. Go for a 256 GB or bigger, you can find them if you shop at a decent price. Buy the parts for the conversion separately if you have to in order to get the SSD you need. Another way to go, if you have to have disk space, is an SSHD - a Solid State Hybrid Drive. Not as fast as a SSD but faster than a 7200 HD. Another oddity, DVD Player does not like the external drive for some reason and gives an error as not finding a recognized drive. Working on that.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing March 1, 2013 Disc read/write capabilities vary depending on installed drive. Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or the Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your SuperSlim drive, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LeChuck Location: Santiago, Chile Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Bueno, Simple November 27, 2012 Cumple su funcion

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dball
Rating: 1/5 Avoid. November 12, 2012 Drive wouldn't work for me. Got it shipped to the UK with a data doubler kit for my late 2008 Unibody Macbook Pro. Followed all instructions to the letter, plugged the drive in but it wouldn't mount. Unplugged, plugged back in, restarted my mac, inserted a DVD to see if that helped, tried all different combinations of plugging it in with the supplied USB cable and even a separate USB cable but it didn't work. It just spun up, rotated, spun down then spun up, rotated, spun down over and over. I went through all possibles with an online chat agent from OWC who was very helpful but we couldn't get it to mount. Sent it back to OWC who tested it (with the same late 2008 macbook pro drive) and found it to be fault free! I can't fault customer service here - courteous and helpful and explained that as they couldn't replicate the fault they could offer me a refund, which I accepted. However, that was a WHOLE load of hassle which wasn't worth it plus I now have a DVD stuck in my optical drive which I can't retrieve! I think that regardless of whether they could/couldn't replicate the fault, it didn't work for me, hence they should offer a replacement. Even if they had, I'd still go for the refund as it's way too much hassle for such a cheap product. My advice: avoid this product.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NotSoHappy Location: NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 1/5 Ok for data, inoperable for movies September 23, 2012 The box is nice, installation is simple and well-documented, but you need to consider what you are getting into: a MacBook Pro is reluctant to deal with an external optical drive. For example:

DVDPlayer simply will not play DVDs on the external drive. Replacements such as MPlayerX or VLC crashed or garbled replay on my MacBook Pro 8,2 (with SSD and Data Doubler). HandBrake and MacXDVDRipper Pro cannot rip a DVD on the external drive. DiskUtility can image an unprotected disk but not a movie.

Basically, data read operations (boot, folder listings, imaging) work, movie operations do not.

I wish I had known this before.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Raj001 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised August 12, 2012 I used this to host my optical drive as I extended my Macbook Pro to host more memory. No problems so far. Works perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ceroos Location: Durango, MX Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great option. July 10, 2012 Awesome alternative to keep running the Superdrive

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lost Location: Tucson today Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 mac's "DVD player" program doesn't recognize the drive June 13, 2012 In order to play a dvd I need to use vlc player. Mac's dvd player program won't recognize the drive. otherwise it is a good price and was not to hard to put together.

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing June 13, 2012 Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. It is not a limitation of the drive, but rather a restriction of the software itself.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Narutakikun Location: East Bay, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Superslim Is Both Super And Slim April 29, 2012 Couldn't be happier with this enclosure. It's small, stylish, and delivers good performance. I've never had to use more than one USB port, on either my MacBook or my Windows nettop, or on a powered hub, to give it enough juice. Also, its black color makes it an excellent place to stick those white Apple stickers that come with your computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DeMelloVideo Location: Stockton, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Does what it's supposed to do! April 14, 2012 I have a 17' MacBook Pro (5,2) with 8GB RAM, 750GB Hard Drive and installed a 120GB SSD with the DataDoubler kit, replacing my internal SuperDrive with an SSD (which is a 5-star configuration!). I mounted my SuperDrive in this enclosure.

At first it didn't work to well, I don't know why. So I put it aside for a couple weeks. Then, I finally had a need to use it, plugged it in and it has worked great ever since.

Given that "rotating media is on it's way out" ... this is a good solution to keep your SuperDrive handy, while freeing up internal space to install an SSD along with your internal hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FatElvis Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 2/5 Cheap, Poorly Designed March 29, 2012 Made of very thin plastic, disappointingly cheap. Mine arrived with a locking pin busted and the included screws don't fit the drive as pulled from my Macbook. Also the fit is poor, the screw holes don't line up with the pulled drive very closely. Probably better off buying a higher quality external optical drive, frankly.

Also, seems very slow when booting from an OSX Lion install disk. Slower than when internally installed.

To cheap to bother returning, so I have to live with this piece of junk I'll probably toss in a few months. Wish I hadn't bought it.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: iluvsnO Location: Japan Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Gets it done. February 16, 2012 The SuperSlim is .... slim. Doesn't take up any room in my bag so it's easy enough to keep with me. The only thing is the build doesn't look or feel as nice as some of their external HD enclosures. Besides that, no complaints here.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: coasterer Location: Greensboro, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great design and price January 24, 2012 I had initial problems with this drive being recognized by OS X, and I left a negative review. This negative review was noticed by Steven at OWC and he actually called me to resolve the issue. This is further evidence that OWC is a world-class company that stands behind its products.

I simply reset my PRAM with the Slim Drive installed. After that the disc in the drive was displayed on the Desktop and within Explorer.

Steven explained that there is a limitation within OS X whereby DVD Player (that's baked into OS X) will ONLY recognize internally installed optical drives. I now simply use VLC to play movies, if need be.

I am completely satisfied with this drive. It is sleek, packable in my backpack and the "Y" USB cable (one for power and one for data) is plenty long for appropriate placement of the drive while in use.

I would recommend this item to a friend!