Home » Software
This item is a digital download, there is no physical item. Please read our digital download service terms before purchasing.
14-DAY FREE TRIAL

Try SoftRAID Pro COMPLETELY FREE for 14 days!

Start protecting yourself and your data today! Get all of SoftRAID's great disk checking and monitoring features, plus the fastest and most efficient software RAID there is.

Download SoftRAID Pro (Mac) Download SoftRAID Pro (Windows)

OWC

SoftRAID XT
RAID Management Software

for OWC Storage Solutions - macOS, Windows
The powerful and intuitive software RAID utility for macOS and Windows
SoftRAID XT is the most powerful, intuitive RAID software on the market for macOS and Windows. SoftRAID protects your data and optimizes performance. It is packed with features like multiple RAID options and predictive disk failure monitoring. SoftRAID provides a level of performance that you simply can’t get with hardware RAID.

At SoftRAID’s core is RAID creation and management technology that has been finely tuned over 20 years of development. Multiple RAID levels give you maximum volume capacity, optimal drive efficiency, data protection or a combination of attributes. SoftRAID is perfect for anyone who needs to safely store and back up massive amounts of data.
Disk Health and Monitoring
SoftRAID doesn’t stop working once you’ve created your RAID. The software continues standing guard, monitoring your drives to keep you working worry-free. It can certify that new disks are error-free before use, warn you when a disk is about to fail, and even keeps you working if you lose a disk. These advanced monitoring tools all work in the background, making catastrophic, project-killing data loss a thing of the past.
Software  vs Hardware RAID 
Don’t get stuck with expensive hardware RAID technology that you can’t upgrade or expand.

SoftRAID sets you free with full control of RAID volumes including creation, management and deletion. It also utilizes your computer’s advanced processing power versus the slow processors found in most hardware RAID enclosures. The result is a fast and flexible RAID array that has negligible impact on your computer system or applications.

What’s the biggest advantage of SoftRAID over a hardware RAID? You’re not locked into using specific hardware to access your data. If a hardware RAID system fails and it’s out of production or is no longer supported, all your data could be lost in an instant. With SoftRAID, you can easily replace a bad enclosure or upgrade to a new enclosure. Just move the drives to access your data without skipping a beat!

SoftRAID Pro Tip: Need even more power and flexibility? Upgrade to SoftRAID Pro to spread volumes over two or more disk enclosures for incredible performance! (Impossible with hardware RAID.)
Cross-platform
Sharing data between Macs and PCs has never been easier. Built with OWC's MacDrive technology, SoftRAID allows you to create, read, and write HFS+ RAID 0/1/5 sets on both macOS and Windows computers so you’ll never have to worry about disk formats again. 
Attention to Details
SoftRAID is there to help at every turn, from its intuitive interface for creating RAID volumes, to its disk monitoring ensuring your data is secure. But the power of SoftRAID doesn’t end there.
Protecting and sharing your data is simple. Your SoftRAID license is linked to the Mac or Windows PC you download it to. It's a built-in security feature that keeps your data secure from unauthorized access. You can easily add on to your license to share access with another machine or user.
It can be a chore to organize and keep track of multiple within a storage solution. SoftRAID was built with extras to simplify your task, such as the ability to blink drive lights and name drives for quick recognition.
Eventually all drives fail. If a drive is starting to experience issues or a problem is detected, SoftRAID will display warnings in the Mac menu bar/Windows system tray so you can stay ahead of possible problems.
Getting Started
Once SoftRAID is installed and activated, it’s time to put your plan into action. Decide what the RAID volume will be used for and how much space to use (with hints from the application), and you're off.

Whether included with your OWC enclosure or purchased separately, SoftRAID is extremely easy to use. SoftRAID makes powerful features typically reserved for data centers accessible to everyone, giving you quick data access and bullet-proof data security.

You’ll wonder how you ever felt safe storing your data before SoftRAID.
Upgrading an Older Version?
If you are using an old version of SoftRAID, you can upgrade to the latest version by visiting the OWC Software Store. You will need your previous serial number to see what upgrade options you qualify for.
1. RAID 4/1+0 (10) are currently Mac only at this time. SoftRAID XT works with macOS 10.12 or later and Windows 10 or later. SoftRAID XT is only for select OWC storage solutions. SoftRAID is licensed per computer. The SoftRAID serial number will work with both Mac and Windows but can only be active on one computer at a time. Additional seats can be purchased.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Software Category
    • Utilities
  • Utility Type
    • RAID
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • macOS 10.12 Sierra
    • macOS 10.13 High Sierra
    • macOS 10.14 Mojave
    • macOS 10.15 Catalina
    • macOS 11.x Big Sur
    • macOS 12.x Monterey
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
    • Windows 11
  • Other Requirements
    • SoftRAID XT works with macOS 10.12 or later and Windows 10. Intel-based Macs require macOS 10.12 or later. M1 Macs require macOS 11.1 or 11.3 and later. macOS 11.3 is currently available as a public beta. SoftRAID XT is only for select OWC storage solutions. SoftRAID is licensed per computer. The SoftRAID serial number will work with both Mac and Windows but can only be active on one computer at a time. Additional seats can be purchased. RAID 4/5/1+0 (10) are currently Mac only at this time.
Physical
  • Media Type
    • Direct Download
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCSFR6X

Gallery

Includes

  • OWC SoftRAID XT (Download)
  • Software: non-refundable

For All OWC Multi-Bay Storage Solutions

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 3.9 / 5 11 out of 15 (73%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MR
Rating: 1/5 Does not work with M1 May 3, 2022 This product causes serial kernel panic on M1, works fine with my Intel MacBook Pro. Very disappointing and the SoftRaid support page is of marginal value at best.

This review is from OWC SoftRAID Lite for All Multi-Bay Storage Solutions (macOS and Windows).

Response from OWC, Support May 4, 2022 Thank you so much MR for taking the time to leave your honest review. We so sorry to hear that you're having issues SoftRAID. We will have someone reach out to you and see if we can help and resolve the kernel panics your experiencing.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SteveU75
Rating: 1/5 I have had this product for over 3 years. It has been down more than it has been up. March 13, 2022 OWC Sold it to me when they knew that there was a bug with Catalina that would not allow it to work. Every time Apple releases an update it stops working. I understand that some things are out of OWC's Control and that there are challenges working with Apple but I have work to do. I would not recommend buying it. It throws off enough heat that I had to get a fan for my office. It was able to mount with the Beta software but when I installed the shipping version of the Beta it will not mount. Sigh!!

This review is from OWC SoftRAID Pro for All Multi-Bay Storage Solutions (macOS and Windows).

Response from OWC, Support March 15, 2022 Thank you for contacting OWC! We are sorry to hear about your experience with SoftRAID software. We would like to try and and troubleshoot with you further on this matter. We will be reaching out to your shortly.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: usma68
Rating: 5/5 SoftRaid February 22, 2022 Works well with both Windows and Mac Os

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support February 22, 2022 Thank you for providing us with your feedback! Please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rrnowell
Rating: 2/5 SoftRAID 6.2 Needs Improvement December 15, 2021 I am a long time SoftRAID user. I like the product and want to see it excel. The SoftRAID 6 release is welcome, even though the promised RAID 6 is still a promise. Having said this, I am concerned with SoftRAID now as the OWC purchase or any purchase of a product often leads to its' decline and demise. I feel as I am begging to see this already. There is problem where a RAID 0 disk set doesn't realize consistent throughput enhancements when disks are added to the array. I almost have the sense that SoftRAID tech support is blaming the SSDs. If SoftRAID is going to support only OWC products it is a dead product. I hope this is not going to be the future, but there are a lot of examples of this. When SoftRAID was independent of OWC it was a product that served its' users not a particular storage vendor. I don't know that this is happening, but I am concerned. If you presume an average SSD read/write speed of 500MB/s and you would have the following Raid 0 maximum limits as expectations... 2 SSDs 1000MB/s 3 SSDs 1500MB/s 4 SSDs 2000MB/s 5 SSDs 2500MB/s 6 SSDs 3000MB/s 7 SSDs 3500MB/s 8 SSDs 4000MB/s I am seeing the following.... 2 SSDs 0999MB/s 3 SSDs 1046MB/s 4 SSDs 1365MB/s The good thing is that this is agreed to be a problem so as long as it is pursued there is hope it can be resolved. I do see new releases of SoftRAID with improvements and I do recognize that Apple puts their customers through too much for often a very small return and a return that is more about the Apple Ecosystem than it is customer satisfaction. SoftRAID is a great product and I hope these problems can be resolved soon. For now I will limp along hoping the next release at least fixes all the easiest problems/cases. I very much want to see SoftRAID succeed. For me right now just getting Raid 0 and Raid 10 to work optimally and then Raid 4 and 5 is more important than Raid 6. I would recommend SoftRAID, but I could recommend it more strongly IF the Raid 0 and Raid 10 and Raid 4/5 worked with all the major SSD mfgs most importantly: Samsung, Crucial, Western Digital, SanDisk, Seagate, and others in order of marketshare.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC SoftRAID Pro for All Multi-Bay Storage Solutions (macOS and Windows).

Response from OWC, Support December 17, 2021 Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. Your opinion and experiences are very important to us. We are so very sorry for any troubles or inconvenience this has caused you. We will let our team know of these issues pointed out! Please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CineVideoSolutions
Rating: 2/5 Version 6 has yet to function with my M1 Mac! May 25, 2021 Being a LONG TIME USER of more than 12 OWC quad raids and SoftRAID, Version 6 has yet to function with my M1 Mac! I have been corresponding with OWC tech support for weeks now!!! We have tried EVERYTHING!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jeancass Location: coosbay oregon Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great for Certifying Disks September 7, 2018 I bought this to certify new disks. Works like a charm. Easy to figure out, and is a great tool at a great price!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID Lite for Mac & Windows - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JBBob Location: Ft. Worth, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SoftRAID Line & Mercury enclosure are a great combination! November 2, 2017 I had used SoftRAID Lite to create a RAID1 for my main TimeMachine using another enclosure and was not happy with the fact that the drives, nor the fans in that enclosure never shut down, even when the computer was asleep. Fortunately, I created the RAID using the independent mode of the enclosure and SoftRAID Lite. I ordered a Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID USB 3.0 enclosure to move my backup to and was worried I would have to reformat and start my TimeMachine over from scratch. Fortunately when I received the Mercury enclosure all I had to do was install the drives. . . they came back up running RAID1 and my TimeMachine was only off line for less than thirty minutes. This Mercury enclosure shuts down the drives and its fans when not in use.

SoftRAID Line and the Mercury Elite Pro Dual RAID USB 3.0 enclosure are a great combination. Like most everything Mac; They Just Work!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID Lite for Mac & Windows - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macsrwe Location: Arizona Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Hobbled version of a great product November 8, 2016 As far as the SoftRaid software goes, I really like its feature set, interface, and reliability. First rate.

When I bought this particular product, I understood it to be a version discounted as a bundled premium for also purchasing a Thunderbolt bay. I was wrong -- it was a hobbled product that works only with disks in a Thunderbolt bay. The webpage really does not make this clear.

Had I known this, I would have opted for the regular SoftRAID Lite product instead. It is my intention to occasionally pair up a third drive temporarily to each volume in rotation, to store as an offsite backup, for which I was going to use an open-top Drive Dock when necessary, but this version doesn't allow me to do this.

I thought I would make sure other customers are aware that this limitation exists.

This review is from SoftRAID Lite XT for Mac & Windows + OWC Storage Solutions - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A must for critical applications - easy to use as well July 21, 2016 I bought this along with a used Mac Pro which I then outfitted with an SSD boot drive and four other HDDs. This allowed me to try out various RAID configurations.

SoftRAID was very easy to use and had even more advantages over Apple’s RAID administration: it will verify a disk before its use, and monitor it to warn you if it starts going bad. It also can validate the condition of a RAID volume.

I had a lot of fun trying the various RAID levels. RAID0 (striped) approached 3G SSD speeds. Using four disks, I set up two RAID1s and them mapped them into a RAID0, giving me the reliability of the former and the speed of the latter.

Note: verifying a disk takes a looong time (days), but you’ll want to do this if you plan to use them for critical applications.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID for Mac - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1/4/5/10).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works good June 26, 2016 Good alternative to not having RAID within iMac. Glad price was lower than usual. I don't like adding third party software unless I have to. But this works great. I use RAID0. Although some are apprehensive about 0, but it works and I have three backups as I do photography.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID Lite for Mac & Windows - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1).

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Palm Bay, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Working great March 4, 2016 I have no complaints about this software. In fact it does more than I expected as it gives you a great report on the status of your hardware, disk errors, etc...

If you would like to use software raid on your Mac, this is the package to get since the Mac OS does not support any sort of Raid 5 or better directly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID for Mac - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1/4/5/10).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Switzerland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 RAID 0 is back in El Capitan! January 5, 2016 My trusted 2009 MacPro has2 SSD in RAID 0 as system disk and 4 WD HD in RAID 0 as working storage. SoftRAID lite has enabled me to finally upgrade to El Capitan ... and promptly flagged one HD as "will fail soon". Nice to be able to swap in a new HD and save myself the task of restoring terabytes of data.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID Lite for Mac & Windows - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Franklin, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Does what I need it to do December 5, 2015 I got this to replace the now missing OSX RAID abilities. This does the basics; I just needed some RAID 0 and 1, with no fancy stuff.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID Lite for Mac & Windows - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Germany Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good. July 24, 2015 Works as supposed; No Problems; OWC very helpful in Support.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID for Mac - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1/4/5/10).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Valobal Location: Mexico DF Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great RAID solution April 2, 2015 It has a possibility to setup disk on RAID 5, and more over a MacPro OSX. It works great without problema until now and since 3 months ago.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from SoftRAID for Mac - Bring Software RAID Back to Your Mac (RAID 0/1/4/5/10).