Home » Power Adapters » Apple MagSafe Power Adapters » Magsafe 85W for all MacBook Pro 15 & 17

Apple

85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter
For 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display

Bulk Packaged

Apple Genuine Units
Need an extra adapter for home or work?
The Apple 85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter is made specifically for your 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display. It's held in place magnetically, so if someone should trip over it, the cord disconnects harmlessly and your notebook stays put safely.

When the connection is secure, an LED located at the head of the DC connector lights up; an amber light lets you know that your notebook is charging, while a green light tells you that you have a full charge.

Product Specifications:

Apple Part Number

  • MD506LL/A

Model Number

  • A1424

Input

  • 100-240V~1.5A 50-60Hz

Output

  • 20V, 4.25A Max.

Dimensions

  • 3.13" x 3.13" x 1.06" (7.95 x 7.95 x 1.06 cm)

Weight

  • 0.60lb (0.27kg)

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Apple p/n MD506LL/A UPC#: 885909611461

Gallery

Not sure if this MagSafe Adapter 2 is compatible with your Mac? See our visual guide »
This adapter is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(February, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz

Includes

  • Apple 85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter
  • AC 'flip plug' wall adapter
Note: 6-foot Power Cable not included

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 34 out of 38 (89%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Magsad Location: charging take 2 Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nothings Perfect September 26, 2019 I had bought one of these and it failed within the first two months. Convenient, no. Pain in the butt, yes. However, support was super quick to reach out and take care of the situation and ship out another charger. Currently charging up with the new one as I type. 5 Stars because of support. Product is 3 Stars. Apple Site has 1.5 Stars. Take a chance. If it bombs, support'll be there to help you out. Apple may not do the same.

There will always be sample variation so here's to hoping this one lasts!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MNSteve Location: Minnesota Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Best way to replace your MagSafe adapter October 8, 2018 I "recommended" this product but only because the MBP is an expensive paperweight several hours after you quit using it and there is no third-party alternative.

This is the same adapter that came in the box with my MacBook Pro. I gave the product only three stars because, frankly, it's flawed. I've had to replace several of these over the years because there are some design weak points where the wire meets the connector that plugs into the laptop and where the wire connects to the "brick". I will be taking steps to help prevent that from happening on this one. But if you haven't yet done that on your MagSafe adapter, OWC offers a less expensive way to replace Apple's poor design.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacAngel Location: WI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OEM magasafe 2 power adapter July 6, 2018 Just what I needed... prefer the Apple brand to replacements... OWC has the best prices for Apple products and shipping is fast!! Would recommend & order from again.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: morich53 Location: Fayetteville, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 MagSafe 2 Power Adapter July 1, 2018 Just like Apple OEM other than price. Took less than a week from online order to front door.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EeeVee Location: Cuyahoga Falls OH Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 GREAT POWER ADAPTEER June 27, 2018 I have a MacBook Pro, 17", that needed a new power supply. This one worked well right out of the box.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SophiaO Location: North Carolina Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Cat chewed on my old cable but OWC delivered a new one next day! June 26, 2018 My cat chewed on my mac cable on Monday morning and I needed the cable asap. I ordered a new one by 12 noon and requested next day delivery and got the cable delivered next day before 2 pm. You all saved my day! Thank you so so so much!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Baglan
Rating: 5/5 Perfect replacement June 8, 2018 After 4 years of use, the original charger that came with my MacBook Pro failed. I've considered cheaper alternatives but reviews for them are, umm, mixed. This one looks like a perfect replacement and, I hope, it'll serve me just as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: cfmacdaddy Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice to have a legitimate low cost source for Apple AC adaptors March 4, 2018 Summary says it all. With all of the counterfeits showing up on Amazon and I assume eBay it is nice to know I can buy these at a reasonable price.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tobyroo
Rating: 5/5 Good January 3, 2018 Hello,

I was pleased with the service I received. I got it on time, and in good shape.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Serval Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great item December 18, 2017 Exactly as promised: a genuine Apple charger. I have seen reviews of after-market chargers, and they generally show terrible, noisy electrical waveforms and electrically dangerous construction. Apple chargers are done right.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: StephenH Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 This is like the 4th power coord I've replaced December 12, 2017 I usually pickup and move my laptop and charger all the time. These power coords really likes to have the rubber around the smaller wire crack and fall apart and then the wire inside frays and eventually stops working / smokes / sparks.. The older coords never did this, but I have this happen regularly with these mag safe coords. The Magsafe is an AMAZING adaption to the old model, but Apple makes the new rubber around these cables out of garbage. Probably more "eco friendly or something"... though it breaks more, so it's not... ANYHOW...

Bought this one on sale from MacSales and it arrived in a short time and well packaged. I appreciated the quick, free, well packaged shipping.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JZKY Location: Portland, OR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Satisfied as always with OWC October 27, 2017 Just a really good product. Like all products I’ve purchased from OWC, I’m completely satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PaulaS Location: Connecticut Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Genuine Part, Excellent Price October 10, 2017 There are many knock-offs online being represented as Apple products that are not. This is a GENUINE Apple adapter, being sold at a very competitive price by a long-time supplier with a great reputation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JoshK9 Location: Seattle, WA Age: 45-54
Rating: 5/5 excellent product and service August 13, 2017 glad to once again purchase from MacSales.com had another Apple Mac 85 power cord fray and wear out and needed a new one fast. MacSales was there for me with a competitive price and fast, safe shipping. Thanks!!! Five ***** Star price and customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: badic6 Location: Boston, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Work fine; be aware of what's included June 15, 2017 This is a genuine Apple product. Works perfectly. Be aware that this price DOES NOT include the 6' AC power cable, sold separately.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ZakAttack Location: Laguna Niguel, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome!!!! April 17, 2017 My charger, like most MagSafe chargers, started fraying at the beginning of the small wire which connects to the comp. I looked on other sites for the original and found the best price here. Not to mention, their shipping was super fast!!! Hoping I can be more careful and keep this one intact for longer this time around. Either that or Apple needs to make them more durable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Buman Location: Santiago, Chile Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 the power adapter works perfect February 24, 2017 works perfect

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mike007 Location: Pullman, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Great product and service February 14, 2017 The original order went to the wrong address but the great customer service people made sure I received the product. It works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HouTX Location: Houston, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Lower price and fast delivery February 6, 2017 Lowest price on an 'Apple Genuine' charger. Delivered quicker than promised.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: peterl7 Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 good quality works perfectly January 17, 2017 quality unit!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ftolar Location: Ware, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro Power Supply January 5, 2017 I order the wrong one the first time but my daughter needed a new one and what I had ordered was the type she needed. I reordered the correct one and got it very quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: deardave Location: miami Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 good price December 25, 2016 real deal- save big. Does not come with the thick ext cord, but you dont need it.

It is the magsafe. All good/

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: steve1234
Rating: 4/5 Works great, no extended power cord November 29, 2016 Seems to be working fine as a replacement for an old adapter.

Just a heads up. The original Apple adapter came with two plug adapters that fit into the brick. One that plugs the brick right into the wall ("short adapter") and one that introduces a long (6 foot?) cord that goes from the brick to the wall ("long cord").

This unit has the "short adapter" but no "long cord". For me that was ok since my old "long cord" still works fine, but I was expecting to get both things.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Detroit, MI Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OEM original as far as I can tell July 18, 2016 This looks like a factory original as far as I can tell. Works perfectly to charge my MacBook Air.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Works as good as the original April 22, 2016 Would give it 5 stars if it came with the 3-prong outlet cord.

I would recommend this item to a friend!