Home » Power Adapters » Apple MagSafe Power Adapters » Magsafe 85W for all MacBook Pro 15 & 17

Apple

85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter
For 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display

Bulk Packaged

Apple Genuine Units
Need an extra adapter for home or work?
The Apple 85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter is made specifically for your 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display. It's held in place magnetically, so if someone should trip over it, the cord disconnects harmlessly and your notebook stays put safely.

When the connection is secure, an LED located at the head of the DC connector lights up; an amber light lets you know that your notebook is charging, while a green light tells you that you have a full charge.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Certifications
    • UL
    • CE
    • JET
    • TUV
Compatibility
  • Apple Equivalent Model Number
    • A1424
Power
  • AC Input
    • 100-240V, 50-60Hz, 1.5A
  • DC Output
    • +20V, 4.25A
  • Wattage
    • 85W Watts
Physical
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 8.0 cm (3.1 in)
    • Length: 8.0 cm (3.1 in)
    • Width: 2.7 cm (1.1 in)
  • Cable Length
    • 1.78 m (5.83 ft.)
  • Weight
    • 270.0 g (0.60 lbs)
  • Output Connection
    • MagSafe 2
  • Power Indicator
    • Yes
  • Power Connections
    • IEC Unpolarized C7/C8 Plug/Socket

Notes

  • Apple Part Number MD506LL/A
  • OWC adds a QC sticker to each and every Apple Magsafe/Power Adapter we sell. To ensure that the units offered on MacSales.com are the article we advertise, OWC inspects, tests, and sample disassembles these adapters on an ongoing basis to confirm the genuine nature of these units. As part of this process in Woodstock, IL - OWC adds the QC sticker with time mark to each of these units.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Apple p/n APLMD506LLA

Gallery

Not sure if this MagSafe Adapter 2 is compatible with your Mac? See our visual guide »
This adapter is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(February, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.4GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz

Includes

  • Apple 85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter
  • AC 'flip plug' wall adapter
Note: 6-foot Power Cable not included

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.4 / 5 66 out of 79 (84%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: QuaintToad-15305
Rating: 1/5 3 Chargers, None Have Lasted a Year January 18, 2022 Do not buy the 85w Magsafe 2 from here. I have had the ability to test 3 of these chargers and all of them stopped working within a year. OWC replaced my original charger after it developed a tiny tear at the head and stopped working after 7 months (3rd picture). The replacement charger lasted 7-8 months and inexplicably stopped working. They replaced it again. The 3rd replacement charger lasted 4 months (1st and 2nd picture) with no visible problem. I was INCREDIBLY careful with these chargers, especially after the first. I'm attaching pictures that show there is almost no wear and tear whatsoever, yet they do not work. Each time I had to pay to ship my defective charger back in order to get the replacement. I thought I would be getting a quality product back, but they sent defective products until the initial warranty was through. So not even two years later, I paid exactly what I would at an Apple Store and yet have no charger because I was told the replacements don't come with a warranty. Based on a few other reviews on other sites, and the fact that my wife's beat up and torn charger still works after 7 years, I have strong suspicions that these are fake Apple. Either way, IF YOU WANT A MAGSAFE CHARGER THAT LASTS MORE THAN A YEAR, DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SITE.

Response from OWC, Support January 20, 2022 Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. Your opinion and experiences are very important to us. We are so very sorry for any troubles or inconvenience this has caused you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our support team any of the following ways, if further assistance is needed. Email: support@owc.com Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-6pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ipsydsea
Rating: 5/5 Apple stuff at non-Apple prices January 12, 2022 As always, great products, and staff that are expert and easy to deal with.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support January 14, 2022 Thank you for providing us with your feedback! Please feel free to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PlainMongoose-45342
Rating: 5/5 Item exactly as described, fast shipping too January 2, 2022 As title indicates. Fantastic seller!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support January 4, 2022 Thank you for providing us with your feedback! Please feel free to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Clsinny
Rating: 4/5 Great service January 2, 2022 I have used OWC multiple times in the last 10 years or so and they always deliver! Timely delivery and good packaging. Thanks OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support January 4, 2022 Thank you for providing us with your feedback! We are thrilled to hear your experience with OWC MacSales has been great! If further assistance is needed, please feel free to reach out to our support team.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Steve-123456
Rating: 5/5 Works as designed, and as OEM December 28, 2021 I wish I didn't have to replace the Power Supply every 4 years, but it's cheaper than replacing the computer every four years. These Apple adapters are a perfect replacement to one who's cables or internal pins are failing.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support December 30, 2021 Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear we can help out with making your machine last longer!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ALG333
Rating: 5/5 Great product! December 15, 2021 Great product and received quickly!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support December 17, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback! Please feel free to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: photog
Rating: 2/5 Was good while it lasted... December 1, 2021 I bought this charger 11 months ago. It worked fine up until about a month ago. I started noticing that the power supply would get very warm while being plugged into an outlet but disconnected from my laptop. Now the Magsafe 2 connector no longer lights up or charges when connected. The power supply is very hot to the touch when plugged in. I brought my Macbook Pro to a local repair shop and they swapped the power supply with one of theirs and charging now works again. It's hard to imagine that this charger only lasted 11 months while the original one lasted 6 years. The only reason why I replaced the original one was because of a frayed wire. The folks at OWC are great but I am not sure if I would buy a power supply here again. With all the talk of knockoffs being sold, I would probably just pick one up from Apple directly next time around.

Response from OWC, Support December 2, 2021 I do apologize for any issues experienced with the MagSafe adapters, occasionally these can malfunction much earlier than expected, with it being around the end of the warranty we can get you a replacement for the MagSafe if you're interested, please let us know at support@owc.com!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: intcreator
Rating: 3/5 low prices but packaging could be better November 27, 2021 I ordered a new power brick for a 2014 MacBook Pro. The price was good compared to Apple.com but when I received the power brick it was packaged in a way that was straining the cord. The cords on the power bricks are really fragile and in fact I am replacing an old power brick whose cord failed in a similar way. Please package the power bricks in a way that does not strain the cord so its life isn't shortened even more than it already is by Apple's poor design decisions.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support November 30, 2021 Thank you for your feedback!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WendyOland
Rating: 5/5 Perfect! November 25, 2021 This was to replace one under warranty - they took care of it quickly and it works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support November 26, 2021 Thank you for your feedback!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: marvmick-423
Rating: 5/5 MagSafe 2 Power Adapter November 24, 2021 It was time to replace my 8 year old adapter. The new one works great. Ordering and shipping was flawless.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support November 26, 2021 Appreciate the honest feedback and recomendation! Let us know if you needed anything else in the future for your Mac needs!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GlamorousGazelle-56145
Rating: 5/5 Great Purchase Experience and Great Product November 16, 2021 Easy to order with super fast shipping. Thank you MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support November 17, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback! If further assistance is needed, please feel free to reach out to our support team.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GiftedGiraffe-20664
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what i needed November 9, 2021 Perfect. Exactly what i needed to get my laptop back up and working again!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support November 10, 2021 Always awesome to hear! Thanks for the rating and come back again soon for the next tech need!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: cewilson78
Rating: 5/5 This genuine Mac charger is much better than the old oem charger. I highly recommend it. November 8, 2021 I accidentally cut the wire on the oem charger. I went to owc.com, ordered the newest one available. When it arrived, i took it out of the package and plugged it in and it worked. its a Mac what would you expect??

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support November 10, 2021 Thank you so much cewilson78 for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that the MagSafe met your expectations. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JollyIguana-51826
Rating: 1/5 Dead October 4, 2021 It worked 2 weeks, then stopped working, thank god I still had an old taped up MagSafe or I would be out of business.

Response from OWC, Support October 6, 2021 I am sorry to hear about your experience with your order. A member of our team will be attempting to reach out to help. Please know that if any assistance is ever needed, please don't hesitate to reach out directly.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 2scareCoyotes
Rating: 5/5 85W MagSafe Power Adaptor September 30, 2021 Had to purchase a new power adaptor due to overheating by the original one; am pleased so far. I also purchased a new battery from this company (what a challenge to install--by an experienced IT person, not me), but with the new power adaptor, my computer has been performing much better. I probably need a new power cord now for my power adaptor. Hopefully that might solve the overheating issue (which I assumed was the battery; maybe it was all 3 components--the power source, the battery, and perhaps the power cord?). I noticed no overheating when charging my computer without the cord, but charging straight from the power adaptor.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support October 1, 2021 Thank you so much MushyFox-69974 for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that the MagSafe worked and solved your issues. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AdventurousLeopard-90553
Rating: 5/5 AAA September 25, 2021 fast, reliable , items as described , fair prices . Great!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support September 28, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our support team if further assistance is needed.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SpotlessLizard-3954
Rating: 5/5 MagSafe 2 Power Adapter September 14, 2021 Received quickly. Excellent condition. Works well. Thank you!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support September 15, 2021 Thank you as well! Great to hear the feedback as always! Hope to see you again soon for your next tech needs!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ExcitedBuffalo-95868
Rating: 5/5 Great product. Great service. Great price. August 21, 2021 Great product. Great service. Great price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support August 23, 2021 Appreciate the review and rating! Hope we see you again soon for other Mac needs. Enjoy the new charger!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BlueDragon-57447
Rating: 3/5 Genuine? August 20, 2021 It charges well, and looks and feels just like the original Apple 85W MagSafe 2 charger, but as an Apple Certified Technician I have access to Apple diagnostics, and running a diagnostic on this adapter it reads as MagSafe 1. An identical charger purchased directly from Apple reads correctly as MagSafe 2. I don’t know of why this isn’t recognized by Apple diagnostics correctly.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CleanOpossum-64813
Rating: 5/5 excellent product August 18, 2021 very happy with the purchase and I hope to continue doing more business

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support August 18, 2021 We appreciate your business, we're happy to hear your purchasing experience had been a positive one, we always strive to exceed expectations at OWC!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EnergeticDove-65198
Rating: 5/5 August 13, 2021 Quick turn around which is good because I really needed it fast. Great price. Lower than Apple’s site. I’m surprised they let you get away with that! Obviously it works well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DistinctNighthawk-37450
Rating: 3/5 Sometimes when I plug it in it works August 12, 2021 Not sure LED lights up green part time?

Response from OWC, Support August 12, 2021 I am sorry to hear your MagSafe isn't working as intended, please reach out to us at support@owc.com and we can assist with getting a replacement for your power adapter!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MichaelMann
Rating: 4/5 Overall very good. August 4, 2021 My item was delivered very quickly however it is not as good of quality as the older identical item it replaced. I do not know if this is the responsibility of OWC or Apple, though.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support August 5, 2021 Thank you so much for the review ImportantBird-10334, we really appreciate our customers feedback I will forward it over the appropriate party. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PipRunners
Rating: 1/5 2nd charger and they stop working July 29, 2021 2nd charger and it stopped working in a matter of weeks, I hate this company because of the bind I'm put in. Having class and work and now my MacBook can't even charge.

Response from OWC, Support July 29, 2021 I am sorry to hear you're having troubles with your MagSafe adapter, if you could please reach out to us at support@owc.com, please mention Case: 01226751 I will have a new MagSafe no-costed to you for your troubles, sorry again for the situation!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: pcrichmond
Rating: 5/5 magsafe 2 power adapter July 22, 2021 Macsales had just what I needed. Old power adapter developed a short, they had one in stock and shipped right to me. Thanks.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support July 23, 2021 We are pleased to hear that we had the power adapter you need and that we were able to have that in stock and ready to ship right away! Thank you for your review and for being a valued OWC customer!
Apple 85W MagSafe 2 Power Adapter
For 15-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display
Mfr P/N: MD506LL/A OWC SKU: APLMD506LLA Flip-Plug AC connector included. Bulk Packaged 1 Year OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $79.00Cyber Saver $48.00
Add to CartApple MD506LL/A In Stock, Click to Buy Now