Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

Up to
8%
MORE capacity*
103 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook Pro 17" Unibody Early 2009, Mid 2009, & Mid 2010

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
103 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1309

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 46 out of 48 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Zyegor Location: FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Perfect replacement September 3, 2018 Works great. Very important to follow the conditioning instructions

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: markevcon Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Battery May 24, 2018 Easy to install tools required were provided with the battery! It did the trick my trackpad was becoming unresponsive due to the swelling of the old battery, works like a dream now!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: 70dustr Location: Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome May 14, 2018 Flawless fit. Easy to change using the included tools and after watching the easy to follow video. I installed it, cycled it as directed and it's working perfectly. Time tells the real story but I have no negative flags as of yet. Thank you folks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kaiserjager Location: Merano, Italy Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect March 20, 2018 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DrJack Location: Oklahoma Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 NewerTech battery just what I needed March 4, 2018 My MBPro was getting a little anemic without the power cord attached. Since I live over 120 miles from the Apple Store, and really couldn't do without my computer for the time it would take for them to change it out, I turned to OWC to see what was available in a replacement and peruse the videos to see if I thought I could do the job myself. I got what I needed and found I could do it. This is a great site for Mac owners with a little DIY skill.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JD99 Location: San Jose, CA
Rating: 5/5 Battery fit perfectly and works February 25, 2018 The battery fit perfectly and works fine. I followed the power management calibration process they recommended with no issues. I also like that the battery was packed well in it's box and that it contained the tools needed to open the MBP and unscrew the battery screws. Recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DaWeve Location: Missouri Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 PB Pro battery replacement February 23, 2018 Battery replacement went fine, video tutorial was helpful.

Replacement battery includes two screw drivers necessary for replacement, But the Phillips driver's tip broke. My experience with Chinese manufactured steel, aluminum, tools, etc. has been bleak. They fail because the metal is brittle or too soft.

Other than that I am going thru the battery calibration process and I hope that all will be well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center February 23, 2018 Hello! I'm very sorry to hear about any issues you had with the screwdriver from your battery. We would be happy to replace that for you. Feel free to contact us at 1-800-275-4576 and we'll be glad to get that set up!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RogerB Location: Roseburg, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 As Advertised January 16, 2018 Battery came with all instructions and tools needed! Totally rejuvenated older MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mimsva Location: nyc
Rating: 5/5 battery install July 23, 2017 15 min install....easy pezzy...works great

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KeepItRunning
Rating: 5/5 Brought new life to my 17" MBP June 3, 2017 Both my charger and battery were on death's door, so I was glad to find a great deal here at Mac Sales.

The battery was relatively easy to install, how-to videos on youtube. Be sure and recalibrate the battery % monitoring per instructions given. (I recall generally that you fully charge it, fully drain it, recharge it and reset something in Settings.)

My only suggestion for improvement would be to offer a prepaid mailing label to send the used battery somewhere for recycling.

My 17" MacBook Pro is still an awesome machine, I also upgraded to an SSD from Mac Sales. Runs like new!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Perly Location: Boulder Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! May 29, 2017 I bought this battery for my 2009 MacBook Pro. It was crazy easy to install - the battery kit comes with two screwdrivers to assist with the replacement, and an online video made it really easy. The battery works perfectly. They claim the battery life is 10% longer - and it's noticeably better.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: albertringo Location: San Juan Puerto Rico Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 very good February 19, 2017 this ítem work good

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Blerticus Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great. Bonus: fixed trackpad! January 30, 2017 My MBP 17" trackpad had stopped allowing "clicks" over a year ago. Then the battery began to lose its charge faster, so I decided to address the battery issue.

When I opened the computer, the old battery had bulged to the point it was pushing against the trackpad, preventing "clicks."

Luckily, the old battery had not burst. Once I replaced it with this new battery, I now have both a long lasting battery AND my trackpad functions correctly again. Bonus!

Time will tell if the battery performs as well as the original - so far, it is performing well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MyMac17 Location: Long Island, New York Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Battery Insatallation Was Easy January 28, 2017 The Other World Computing website made it easy for me to choose the correct battery for my MacBook Pro 17" mid 2010 laptop. Most especially, the installation video gave me the confidence to install it. It all worked perfectly. Note: the battery recalibration does take 20+ hours, especially, if like me, you want the recalibration to be as accurate as possible. The battery is functioning flawlessly. Thanks OMC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Capnted Location: Lake worth, fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Brought my MacBook Pro back to life January 5, 2017 After installing sierra I thought my mbp was dead. After all, it is more than 6 years old. It was painfully slow & apps were quitting left & right. Chrome was unuseable. I took a chance and installed the full complement of ram, an ssd, and a new battery because mine was swollen & the trackpad didn't work. Now I'm in love with my Mac all over again--for well under $400. Installation was super easy & the update was seamless. I now have 500 gig internal & my old drive is external. I could have installed both internal but like having the DVD. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. It boots fast and runs all the apps I can throw at it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AlexSum Location: Latvia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This battery has high quality December 29, 2016 The battery on my MacBookPro 17’’ mid 2010 completely discharged. I was informed in the Apple service that battery for this model no more produce. I have looked manufacturer that I can trust. First of all I find your company at Apple Support Community, then I looked other companies in the internet to compare products. Just a few can suggest option shipping to my country. On the site there is excellent video tutorial how to replace battery. Finally I had video call with my friend in San Francisco and he confirm that OWC is big famous company in US. So all this items as good quality and trust was made my choice, nevertheless I knew that I will have additional expenses for transportation and custom taxes in my country. I was good surprised when opened box and found together with nice battery two screwdrivers to easy replacement battery. I’m glad that my choice was OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tandemguy Location: NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what the MacBook Pro Doctor Needed November 24, 2016 For some time my 2010 MacBook Pro 17" battery health indicator revealed that the battery should be replaced. I looked at several sources for batteries including e... and A...... Seeing so many really cheap possibilities but also reading so many poor reviews of these products, I finally found the NewerTech 103 Watt-Hour Battery at MacSales. More capacity than the cheapie batteries I'd been looking,, in fact more capacity than the original battery and great installation instructions and video. Great warranty, too. Received the battery quickly. Followed the instructions using the supplied Phillips and Try-lobed screwdrivers that CAME WITH THE BATTERY, and then followed the instructions to calibrate the battery. If you have any technical/mechanical ability at all, you should be able to do this,

Looks like a great product and is working well in my MacBook Pro 17". Hopefully I'll get another 4-5 years of service from this laptop unless Apple makes it obsolete with a totally new OS.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Higgs Location: New Westminster, BC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation November 21, 2016 My 6 year old MacBook Pro is now truly portable again after installing a new battery. It was easy to install and calibrate.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BoffIT Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Impressively simple battery update November 21, 2016 I purchased a NewerTech battery to replace the original battery in my ageing-but-loved 2010 17" MacBook Pro. Opening the box containing the package was like opening a new MacBook box - everything was beautifully and securely packaged, and included everything I needed. I read the instructions and quickly replaced the original battery. I then surfed to the referenced web site and read through the instructions to calibrate the new battery. As always with OWC, the video tutorial was excellent and very helpful. I was so impressed (yet again) with this OWC product, that I showed my wife the packaging, documentation, and video. She said it's the sort of package that I would have created - and who am I to disagree with my wife!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChrisSeattle Location: Seattle Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Newer Tech Battery - Excellent November 20, 2016 I am on a mission to extend the life of my 2010 MacBook Pro 17 inch as long as I can since I cant get a new one. I needed to replace the original battery. I saw low cost batteries for sale, but I wanted the best available. I chose the NewerTech from OWC. It came with the needed tools and instructions. It was easy to replace. I would suggest buying a bag of the teeny weeny screws that hold the computer back cover on since they are easily damaged or lost due to their minuscule size. Summary: high quality part, easy to replace, good instructions.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ette Location: WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great and Easy to install November 17, 2016 Battery for my MacBook Pro 17 inch died. Ordered one from MacSales, received it in a few days. Watched the video on how to install new battery. It was simple and easy. Had no problems at all. Battery works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rico240 Location: Northampton , Pa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product October 11, 2016 My battery was delivered on time and it was available when I needed it the most. Thank you !

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LarryT Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I should have done this a year ago! October 2, 2016 When I first got my MacBook Pro 17" in 2010, I could run almost 8 hours on a fully charged battery even with the upgraded (7200rpm) 512Gb hd. However, age has caught up with the batter and getting 2 hours out of it since late 2015 has been a lucky day. Now I'm back to almost a full day's use!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Stefan Location: Texas Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Got tired of waiting for new MacBooks, so I fixed mine August 21, 2016 I love my 2010 17 inch MacBook Pro, and I hate that the product was killed.

I had every intention on buying a new laptop in 2015, but Apple never upgraded their machines. Fast forward to the summer of 2016 and Apple has still failed to deliver!

My machine, which I've upgraded with more RAM and an SSD, has had terrible battery life for a while. That didn't really matter to me since I use my computer at a desk. But recently, my trackpad started having troubles depressing because the battery began swelling. That's when I knew I had to swap it out.

Went to OWC, ordered the part, loaded up the "how to install" video on my iPhone, and walked through the step by step instructions. Everything was a breeze and I'm happy to report that not only is my trackpad depressing properly again, but my laptop is also running much cooler! Who knew that a six year old battery was putting out so much heat?

If I have any complaints it's that the battery cable—the one you shove into the laptop's motherboard—was quite stiff and needed a lot of force in order to be jammed in correctly. I'm not weak by any stretch of the imagination, but I was scared that the amount of force I was applying might mess something up.

Anyway, it went in, and all is well.

Oh, one more thing! Note that the battery comes with the tools you need to put it in!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northwest Lower Peninsula of Michigan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works excellent! Easily installed and going strong! July 17, 2016 Excellent directions, easily installed, and the MacBook Pro is back to normal.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

*Up to 8% more capacity than the Apple original battery that shipped with the MacBook Pro 17" Unibody Early 2009, Mid 2009, & Mid 2010
NewerTech 103 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP17MBU03H OWC SKU: NWTBAP17MBU03H 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $98.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP17MBU03H In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.