Experience OWCtoberfest's monstrously amazing deals!

Unearth the savings »
OWC General Servicing Kit for all Apple iMacs 2007 & Later
Kit with installation tools to service all Apple iMac models released since 2007. Includes adhesive strips to properly re-attach your 2012 or later 21.5-inch or 27-inch iMac's screen.
OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Note: For 2012 and later models, before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the OWC Install Video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex upgrade. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the OWC Install Video.
Have OWC Upgrade Your iMac
While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a very difficult upgrade that requires advanced skills. If you are not fully confident in your ability to upgrade the drive in your 2012 or later iMac after watching the OWC Install Video, you can have OWC upgrade your iMac where our certified technicians will expertly upgrade your iMac and ship it back to you.


Note: This video refers to the 21.5" iMac model only. Although the 27" opens in a very similar way, this is only for reference and to help in understanding the difficultly of the disassembly required for accessing the hard drive.
Professional installation is highly recommended for 2012 and later models.

Includes

  • (1) NewerTech 14-Piece Toolkit
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Cloth
  • (1) OWC Screen Removal Tool
  • (1) 27" iMac Adhesive tape set for proper display resealing
  • (1) 21.5" iMac Adhesive tape set for proper display resealing

NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is not covered by any warranty. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund.
This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac17,1
3.2GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/ Retina 4K display (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac16,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac16,1; iMac16,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.8GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac with Retina 5K display (27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
(June 2014)
Model ID: iMac14,4
1.4GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2011)
(August, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
3.1GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1; iMac11,1
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Mid 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: iMac7,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: iMac7,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 35 out of 36 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FocusOperandi Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A long strange trip with a happy ending February 12, 2019 My newish 2017 21.5-in iMac with 8gbs of RAM was running pathetically slow, especially running photoshop and Lightroom for photo editing. I learned to my dismay that the Apple Store would not undertake to update the RAM because (as I was learning) you have to remove the screen and seriously dissect the machine to get to the RAM slots. I contracted with a local fixit guy to do the job and he directed me to this site to order the RAM-- which I did. Long story short, he backed out of the job and the guy he recommended refused the task too. So, I viewed and reviewed the videos on this site and decided to give it a shot.

The kit arrived and the dissection began. But for a small issue removing some of the tiny phillips screws, the process was pretty straight forward to follow. The videos are indispensable and were constantly running on my MacBook as the job progressed, step by step. Honestly, from start to finish it took over 3 hours. But it was worth it! I upgraded from 8gbs to 32gbs. The machine is screaming fast now!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Wolfe Location: Alberta Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install using your video ansd works June 24, 2018 No problems installing the battery following the instructions from the video, everything worked great after the install and doing the battery monitoring system reset was a snap

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Alvin Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Everything You Need April 26, 2018 This kit has everything you need to upgrade a recent iMac with an SSD (except the SSD itself, of course). Great OWC video walks you through every step.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iLoveMyMac Location: Alberta, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It's easier than you think December 27, 2017 My big concern when starting this project was removing the screen - I've been inside many computers before and built my own PCs so the internal part was not a concern. (If you are unsure about the stuff inside the computer, watch the videos - they're really good..) I was really worried about cracking the screen. The tool included in the kit for cutting the adhesive tape works amazingly well. (It looks kind of like a mini pizza wheel.) It sliced through the double sided tape with ease and the screen came off easily without any problems. Upgrading an old (late 2012) iMac to an SSD was definitely worth it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jayfmn Location: Iowa Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A must have tool kit for iMacs November 16, 2017 This kit was of great help in replacement of my Hard Drive. It made the repair process easy. All of the tools needed in one place. Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GusK Location: Calgary, AB, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Nice kit, but can be improved November 9, 2017 The kit itself is very good quality. The ncluded screwdrivers and suction cups are fully up to the task of opening up an iMac.

I would've liked to see a couple of small changes. The adhesive slicer tool (sort of like a pizza slicer with a smaller wheel), even according to the videos that shows its use, can only be used as a push to cut manner. This needs to be changed so that it can be used in both directions, as I like to first push, then pull, multiple times to make sure the adhesive strips are properly cut, considering that if the strips are not cut completely, there is a chance of cracking the screen when attempting to remove the screen with the suction cups.

Also, identification of the supplied adhesive strips before the bag is opened would be good, as would better instructions in the box with the adhesive strips.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center November 10, 2017 Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate our customers letting us know what we can do to improve our products. I will definitely be forwarding this on and see what changes we can implement to keep improving!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rizo506 Location: New York,NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This website is awesome. April 11, 2017 I was at the point to get rid off my iMac because apple couldn't repair it because it's considered "old". My HDD on the Mac was shoot and I was very disappointed that I maybe need to drop 500 to 900 to get it fixed . I googled about switching the HDD and I came to see OWC. I check the website and never looked else where. They have a well established website that directs you to the right upgrades for the right system. They also have a tutorial video to show you step by step on how to make the switch. I was scared but these guys gave me the confidence that I needed and now my iMac is like brand new. I will be back for more upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: vaaccess
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for iMac work March 10, 2017 This made replacing my iMac's hard drive a piece of cake! :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Fonz Location: Michigan Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Quick and Awesome January 25, 2017 The kit was deliver very fast and I was working on updating my memory on my iMac in no-time. I'm glad a place like this exist. I saved over $100.00 with MacSales. I'm also glad that there is a tutorial video for switching the memory on the computer. The only detail about all this is that, now, after switching the memory in my computer, I do not know what to do with this kit... I don't think I will open the computer again, that was a big challenge. What about the old memory? Somebody wants it? I don't know. Anyway, other than those two details, the product, delivery and reliability of MacSales beat all the expectations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LDee Location: NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent service and Kit December 30, 2016 This is an excellent Kitt. It was very easy to use and I was able to complete my project in less than an hour. I highly recommend this kid when replacing a new hard drive into your Mac .

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Radioman621 Location: Near Moorland, Iowa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nice set of tools December 6, 2016 Very nice set of tools. Already used them on 3 different computers.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: l2s7 Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 has all you need November 8, 2016 Makes installing easy, especially when following the associated product installation videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Newport News, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Had Everything that I needed. April 21, 2016 When I first decided to upgrade my Mac Mini I knew that I would most likely need some additional tools. I also know that if all went well with my Mac Mini then I would upgrade my iMac next, so I bought the took kit that would do it all, and I'm very satisfied with the purchase and it made a nice addition to the tools that I already had.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mtl, Qc, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Tool kit for installing a new hard drive in my iMac 7.1 April 4, 2016 Neat little kit

Impossible to do the job without those specific tool (penta screw and succion cup)

They look well made and did the job as intended

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Prosper, tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 IMac upgrade...A cinch September 18, 2015 I was very skeptical at the thought of me upgrading my iMac to a ssd. With owc's instructional videos and included tools I was amazed at the ease of installation. Great customer support ss well. I neglected to order a part and they were very helpful in dire ting me.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Useful tools August 16, 2015 These tools plus the online videos, saved me about $140. If you can follow a video you can use this.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Right tools for the job. August 12, 2015 This Servicing Kit comes fully stacked with all the right tools to open a 2007 IMac. It helped me swap a failing HD. I wouldn't have been able to open and service the iMac without this kit. Period.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 A necessity to open up iMACs July 13, 2015 Combined with OWC's awesome "how to" videos, this kit is a must. Everything fits, it's neat and its easy to store everything right where you need it. A "no brainer" for working on iMACs

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good value June 28, 2015 I bought this kit when i upgraded my iMac with an SSD. Truthfully i could have completed the job with standard tools i own, but the suction cup display removal tool was probably worth the cost of the kit.. Made the job much safer and easier.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Woodland Hills, CA. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Everything That You Need!! June 28, 2015 With this kit and their detailed Install video, I had no problem replacing the Hard Drive!! Kudos to OWC!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Payson, AZ. Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Necessary tools for any mac user June 22, 2015 If you're going to do anything on your mac, you'll need a good set of tools. These work well and weren't expensive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria, BC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good kit! June 21, 2015 Must have kit for servicing 2009 iMac. Everything you need is there!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, NSW Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Makes a scary job much less scary. June 12, 2015 The great thing with this kit - besides having all you need - is the accompanying OWC 'how to' video. Together, they made changing the HD on my 2009 24 inch something I could do with confidence, and quite quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Vey Good June 4, 2015 Very Good

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Excellent kit for iMac repair May 20, 2015 I bought this to replace a hard drive in an iMac. Pros: has all the special Torx wrenches, plus very useful tweezers and forceps. The suction cups worked perfectly to remove the screen glass. Only the spungers seemed a bit too thick to fit between some of the connectors, so weren't very useful.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC General Servicing Kit for Apple iMac 2007 and later Models Mfr P/N: DIYIMACGEN OWC SKU: OWCDIYIMACGEN Kit with installation tools to service all Apple iMac models released since 2007. Includes adhesive strips to properly re-attach your 2012 or later 21.5-inch or 27-inch iMac's screen. 30 Day OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $27.99
Add to CartOther World Computing DIYIMACGEN In Stock, Click to Buy Now