Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD » OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

OWC

1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD

Limited Edition Black Drive | 2.5" | Serial-ATA
A Legacy of Class-Leading Performance
The best performance and longevity in a 2.5-inch SATA SSD for every use
When the first Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was launched nearly a decade ago, it was built to be the fastest, most reliable, and longest enduring 2.5-inch SATA Solid State Drive on the market. The evolution of OWC’s premier 2.5-inch SATA SSD continues that legacy with up to 5x faster performance over the duration of its capacity versus other drives. If you have a Mac or PC with a 6G SATA drive bay, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD is the fastest 2.5-inch SSD available today.
Starts Fast, Stays Fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, these drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Get Your Money’s Worth
When a low-priced “commodity” built SSD’s performance drops off significantly, many users replace the drive far before all its storage capacity is used to regain that “like new” speed feeling. The Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was engineered to keep you working full speed ahead over the duration of the drive to deliver an overall lower cost of ownership.
Workhorse Revitalizer
With your investment in apps and time getting that beloved workhorse Mac or PC configured just the way you like; it makes sense to get all the use you can out of the machine before retiring it. By revitalizing your Mac or PC with a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD, you’ll transform your machine with like-new performance with the best performance upgrade available. From faster boots and application launch times to greatly improved system responsiveness, you’ll love using your “new” computer for a fraction of the cost of buying the latest model.
Go Big or Go Home
Want to use the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in a computer, dock, camera, or external storage enclosure with a 9.5mm height drive bay? Unlike other brand 7mm SSDs that either don’t include an adapter or have an edge spacer with limited adhesive surface, the Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD comes with a full-sized spacer for 100% secure and compatible use.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3D7P6G960 UPC#: 812437029390

Gallery



This OWC SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including: Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro4,1
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid/Late 2007)
(June, 2007)
Model ID: MacBookPro3,1
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,1
2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
(October, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro2,2
2.16GHz, 2.33GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch Glossy)
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (17-inch)
(April, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,2
2.16GHz
MacBook Pro
MacBook Pro (15-inch)
(January, 2006)
Model ID: MacBookPro1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Early 2008)
(February, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook4,1
2.1GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2007)
(November, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook3,1
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2007)
(May, 2007)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
2.0GHz, 2.16GHz
MacBook
MacBook (Late 2006)
(November, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook
MacBook
(May, 2006)
Model ID: MacBook1,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2007)
(August, 2007)
Model ID: Macmini2,1
1.83GHz, 2.0GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.06GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.6GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,3
2.8GHz i5, 2.93GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,2
3.6GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
(July 2010)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Mid 2009)
(April 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
This OWC SSD is compatible with the Mac Pro models listed below when mounted with:
- NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket only $14.25
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) 7mm – 9.5mm Spacer

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 107 out of 113 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Manimal Location: Boynton Beach, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Raised the dead!!! September 1, 2020 I got the 2.0TB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive for my wifes MacBook 2010 along with 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. It took an unusable piece of plastic and transformed it into a blazing rocket. She should be able to get a few more years of use out of it now. Installation was very easy thanks to the handy videos hosted by OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Puchol Location: Valencia, Spain Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great! August 26, 2020 Fanstastic SSD. Shipment to Spain (Europe) was very fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dane
Rating: 5/5 Fast and reliable August 21, 2020 You get what you pay for. This is the fastest and most reliable SSD/RAID setup that I've ever used.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bNelsonR Location: Rockford, Il Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fixed the Issue July 28, 2020 I have a iMac late 2015 with 8 GB ram that was running very slow. 15 seconds for "about this mac" to open. The ram can not be upgraded so I replaced the hard drive with a OWC solid state. It now runs much faster & opens apps like it should have been doing. So if you have a slow iMac, installing a OWC SSD might be the answer as it was for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Young4MyAge Location: Chicago Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD! July 25, 2020 I'm a senior citizen, hardly an IT guy, but I can follow instructions well enough. In 2013, I installed a 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD in my refurbished MacBook Pro 2012.. Served me quite well but after seven years I was running out of storage and decided to upgrade to this 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD. Installation was a fun, not too challenging science project but pretty easy thanks to the excellent OWC tutorial video. When I migrated from my old SSD, however, Apple forced a card on me to install Catalina. I'd been quite happy with High Sierra but figured, why not, it's the latest iOS, and went with it. Big mistake. Lot of apps wouldn't open and some I depended on became quirky. Worst of all my MacBook was running alarmingly hot doing routine tasks. I was afraid I'd gotten a bum SSD but, on a hunch, downgraded from Catalina to High Sierra. Not easily, I should add. Anyway, now my MacBook Pro runs smoother, quieter and COOLER than ever! Great SSD! Also, a phone call to OWC's tech support was quite helpful.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FredJ Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This is a great company July 4, 2020 Every thing I have order from you whether it has been used computer or upgrades has been great. The upgrades are easy to install and well thought out. I appreciate.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChairmanRao Location: New Zealand Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Performance for 4K/60p Video June 18, 2020 I have been testing this SSD on my Atomos Ninja V setup to record 4K/60p out of my Lumix G9. In 4 days of heavy testing I can report that there is not a single dropped frame. I am very happy with my purchase. Also the SSD came extremely well packed. It has the look and feel of a professional grade product and early testing bears this out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Reviewer: ScorpioSteve Location: San Diego Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Don’t hesitate, just get it and thank yourself later April 27, 2020 I upgraded my wife’s MacBook Pro with an SSD with the hopes it would speed up her boot times. There were many times she would be waiting for 5 minutes for it to load up. She was ready to throw it out the window.

After following the guides and installing the new ssd, her MacBook Pro now loads up in seconds. It’s literally night and day. I was blown away with what a difference having a high quality ssd would make. It’s been in her laptop for a little over a year and a half and it’s been solid. No issues whatsoever.

I called with a question during install of a ssd and memory upgrade on my iMac and OWC was quick to help me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MACuser5252
Rating: 5/5 Great SSD for Mac Mini 2012 December 8, 2019 Got 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD for $65 on Black Friday 2019. Gave new life to Mac Mini 2012, which is now blazing fast (also added 16 GB OWC RAM).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: otetz Location: Petah Tikva, Israel Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very good SSD October 23, 2019 I had trouble seeing the SSD with the Disk Utility while it was installed inside. As an external disk it had no problem being detected but as soon as it was stuck inside whatever I tried (cloning, internet recovery) wouldn't help. It wasn't recognized with the Disk Utility for some reason.

A support assistant suggested I needed a new internal SATA cable and I risked to purchase it. Now the SSD is alive and kicking. Works well and supports TRIM (not natively). Can't find the words to thank you enough. With Mecrury Electra SSD and 16 GB of RAM my Macbook feels really strong.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: JakeAntelis Location: NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This is a great and speedy reliable drive. September 30, 2019 This is an honest review, love this drive and just ordered another. After 6.7 years this drive started to fail on me and i just ordered another. I work in a heavy usage audio environment and reading and writing a ton of data almost every day of the year. I continue to buy OWC as opposed to other brands as i know had i had any issue in warranty they would have made it painless to replace whereas if it were say another huge company you need to go through hoops. Love their customer service also, great people. Also i was thinking about udpating to a new pcie based ssd instead of using the mac tray sata so this gave me an excuse to get another speed bump.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: TheParasite Location: TheParasite Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC = Quality! August 6, 2019 Decided to take the plunge and add this to my MBP 2010 model. I have NEVER regretted that decision. Super fast for the time it was made!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Wildcatt Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Great October 15, 2018 received drive quickly (to Canada) everything was as expected install into my Macbook Pro was straight forward Really enjoying the extra pep the computer has now

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Burner Location: Reno Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Reliable September 30, 2018 Swapped out an old HHD on my 2011 MBP. Start up times and launching programs seemed to take a rather long time. I looked at the reviews of this Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD and I did not read a bad review. I am curious as to how long these SSD last in terms of R/W, but so far I am greatly pleased by the speed. My old MBP operates so much faster these days. As simple install and a reasonable price is hard to beat.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, Call Center October 4, 2018 Hello! Glad to hear the SSD is working well for you. We use the highest quality NAND in our drives, so this should definitely outlast the computer it is in now, and possibly even the next one!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JackSparrow
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed! September 12, 2018 SSD arrived on time and was easy to configured and installed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ader0101 Location: Southern California Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 New lease on life.... August 28, 2018 This disk extended the life of my computer immensely, it was so fast, I can keep my Macbook Pro for a lot more years. A great upgrade!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TedL54
Rating: 5/5 easy install - Works great July 25, 2018 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HansR Location: Sebastopol, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 client is very pleased with this SSD July 4, 2018 This was added to one of my client's slightly older MacBook Pro. She was about ready to replace the whole laptop, because it was getting so slow. I convinced her to try an SSD upgrade, and she loves it! I like the fact that the TRIM function is handled by the drive itself -- there's no need to tweak settings in Mac OSX to enable TRIM, which is sometimes the case with other non-Apple SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MarkieMark Location: Orange, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Value! June 3, 2018 Very fast drive that was fully compatible with my friends Mac Mini that I upgraded.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: waynekhin Location: Singapore
Rating: 5/5 Mac Pro 2013 starts pretty fast April 23, 2018 With this drives, the startup time of the Mac Pro (2013) is pretty fast. I am extremely happy with the old machine now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SpiderSavvy Location: Newburgh, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Night and Day Difference March 29, 2018 My aging MacMini Server was essentially unusable due to how slow it had become. After following the simple video tutorial and replacing the old 500 GB HD with the new SSD HD, it was like I had a brand new computer. No joke. Very happy to breath new life into an older, but still very functional, machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 120GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WhyOne Location: Hollywood, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 When you need the best... March 26, 2018 These drives are dependable and fast. All you need to know.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JGSouthwest Location: Texas Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent March 5, 2018 I was so pleased with the first drive I bought another one. Works well. Perfect for my use in video projects. Easy to install in Thunder Bay with the adapter bracket.

This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: IAVI Location: Indio, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great results! December 15, 2017 To say the least, this hard drive is the best update to happen to my macbook pro! I love the speed and the response from my laptop. Thank you!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 240GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nuyorikan Location: Southern California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MBP 9,2 revived November 26, 2017 For the last few months my MacBook Pro 9,2 has been very slow at awaking from sleep and during a reboot, especially since a reboot first involves unlocking the drive. Since the upgrade that is no longer the case. I am so happy I performed this upgrade and would recommend it to anyone still with older generation hard disk.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G 2.5-inch 7mm SATA 6.0Gb/s Solid-State Drive. Customer Videos:

OWC 1.0TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Mfr P/N: S3D7P6G960 OWC SKU: OWCS3D7P6G960 Limited Edition Black Drive 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD featuring the best performance and longevity for every use… from performance enthusiasts to production professionals. Mac and PC compatible 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $199.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3D7P6G960 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Limited Edition Black
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $74.99
    • OWC Price $69.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $129.99
    • OWC Price $119.75
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.99
    • OWC Price $369.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $829.99
    • OWC Price $799.00