Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solutions for iMac (Late 2013 - 2017)

OWC

Aura Pro X2
240GB NVMe SSD Upgrade Solution
For select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - 2019)

Complete Upgrade Kit with Tools & Adhesive
Your Mac. More Space. X2 as Fast.
Keep On Innovating
Tight deadlines, long nights, and terabytes of media – your Mac has been with you through it all. If storage is tight, there's no reason to ditch the Mac you know and love. The Aura® Pro X2 SSD gives you up to 16 times more space and the speed to keep up with your imagination today and tomorrow. Upgrade your Mac with Aura Pro X2 SSD for a fraction of the cost of a new model and keep your Mac running for years.
Blazing Fast and Super Cool
Aura Pro X2 combines speed, stamina, and efficiency that will change the way you experience your Mac. With read speeds reaching 2979MB/s and write speeds of 1219MB/s, the 240GB Aura Pro X2 is up to twice as fast as the original SSDs, delivering performance on par with the latest models. It runs cooler and consumes less power than earlier SSD models, so you can run at peak for longer than ever.
Maintain Your Edge
When it's go time, getting off the line and maintaining a high level of performance are equally important. Aura Pro X2 is engineered with advanced SLC caching, providing instant full-speed write acceleration, meaning those media projects and games stream fluidly and respond without lag time. You might even forget what that beachball looks like.
Continuous Compatibility
Aura Pro X2 is designed for the latest macOS versions (macOS High Sierra 10.13 and later), taking full advantage of the advanced features of APFS including: strong encryption, copy-on-write metadata, space sharing, cloning for files and directories, snapshots, fast directory sizing, atomic safe-save primitives, and improved file system fundamentals.
Right-Sized for Work and Play
The smaller stock SSDs for Mac can fill up quickly, especially with photo and video files, games, or even your email. Aura Pro X2 SSDs are available in capacities up to 2TB, giving you more space to work and play. Newly calibrated to use less power and run cooler, Aura Pro X2 is the best way to upgrade your PCIe equipped Mac.
No Hassles or Hacks Compatibility
Aura Pro X2 PCIe-based flash storage upgrades are precisely engineered for your Mac, so you'll never need to compromise your data by relying on complicated software hacks or TRIM-enablers to get the most from your upgrade. Just install, migrate your data, and enjoy the great performance of flash storage with up to 16 times the capacity of the factory-installed drive.
7% Over Provisioning
OWC SSDs perform maintenance tasks in the background that optimize the health, performance, and endurance of your flash drive. These jobs take advantage of available, unwritten areas on the SSD. Aura Pro X2 PCIe-based flash storage reserves 7% of the overall capacity as free space. Always. With this allocated free space, Aura SSDs can perform these normal maintenance tasks making your drive more stable, dependable, and ultimately a safer place to store your data.
Quality That Lasts
Aura Pro X2 SSDs are proudly designed in Austin and are backed by a lifetime of free, award-winning USA-based support.

240GB Aura Pro X2 SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2262EN Series Processor with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
3D TLC Synchronous NAND Flash
Form Factor
Custom blade
Interface
PCIe 3.1 x4, NVMe 1.3
Capacity
240GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 256GB
16 GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity
224GiB
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3DAPT4MA02
OS Requirements
macOS 10.13 High Sierra or later
Host Requirements 3 5
Must upgrade to macOS 10.13 or later, prior to installation
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
.3cm (0.1″)
Width (max)
2.2cm (0.9″)
Length (max)
8.9cm (3.5″)
Weight
8.0g (.02lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery
Endurance
150TB total bytes written (TBW)
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
up to 2979MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
up to 1219MB/s

Power

Read Power
5.7 W
Write Power
5.7 W
Seek Power
5.7 W
Idle Power
0.3 W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500G / 1.0ms
Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
5% to 95%
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Notes

  • The Aura Pro X2 is a high performance PCIe 3.1 x4 NVMe SSD capable of performing in excess of 3000MB/s in Macs with PCIe3.0 x4 SSD slot. Performance can vary depending on many factors, including the Mac model and its drive bus specifications. Please check the compatibility section and the detailed specs for your Mac model's drive bus specifications.
  • Sequential read (max) performance numbers are based on testing with AJA System Test (4K-Full resolution, 64GB file size, 16bit RGBA codec, single file test) on a 2019 iMac 27" Retina 5K (iMac19,1).
  • Sequential write (max) performance numbers are based on testing with AJA System Test (4K-Full resolution, 64GB file size, 16bit RGBA codec, single file test) on a 2017 iMac 21.5" Retina 4K (iMac18,2).
  • Not compatible with Apple Boot Camp on late 2014 and later iMac models (15,1; 16,1; 16,2; 17,1; 18,1; 18,2; 18,3; 19,1; 19,2 model IDs)
  • When upgrading from an AHCI SSD used in some older Mac models (2013-2014), you may observe a slight increase in boot times. Read the Knowledge Base article to learn more.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3DAPT4MA02K UPC#: 810586032131

Note: Click here for details on macOS Sleep- and Standby-related behaviors.

Note: Aura Pro X2 SSDs can only be installed in 21.5-inch iMac models that came with a factory-installed SSD or Fusion drive. Hard Drive (HDD) only machines can be upgraded with a OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD or OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD.

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID:iMac19,2
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2015)
(May 2015)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
(June 2014)
Model ID: iMac14,4
1.4GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,3
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1
2.7GHz i5
iMac Intel
NOT COMPATIBLE
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID: iMac17,1
3.2GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac16,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.8GHz i5
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID: iMac16,1 or iMac16,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.8GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/ Retina 4K display (21.5-inch Late 2015)
(October 2015)
Model ID:iMac16,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i7

Includes

  • (1) Aura Pro X2 SSD
  • (2) OWC 2-1/4" Suction Cup Blue
  • (1) OWC Torx T10S Driver
  • (1) OWC Torx T8S Driver
  • (1) OWC Torx T5 Driver
  • (1) OWC Phillips PH00 Driver
  • (1) OWC Torx T25 Hex Key
  • (1) NewerTech Pry Tool
  • (1) OWC iMac Cutting Wheel for Display
  • (1) OWC Blue Microfiber Screen Cleaning Wipe
  • (1) Apple iMac A1418 21.5" Display Tape Set
  • (1) Apple iMac A1419 27" Display Tape Set

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.5 / 5 20 out of 23 (87%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HilariousGoose-28930
Rating: 5/5 Wonderful Service Delivery July 28, 2021 From ordering to delivering at my doorstep in South Africa I can only thank MacSales for their outstanding support and commitment to my order. You have made me feel like a customer with your only focus. I think all your customers feel this - well done….

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support July 28, 2021 Hello HilariousGoose! Thank you for your kind words! It's great to hear from happy customers, especially from so far away! Don't forget that Other World Computing has a sales site in the EU https://owcshop.eu/catalog/ and authorized resellers throughout the world. https://www.owcdigital.com/reseller/resellers
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SparklingToad-31579
Rating: 4/5 very fast July 27, 2021 Product works and was quite easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Response from OWC, Support July 27, 2021 Thank you for your review!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HelpfulGazelle-55229
Rating: 4/5 iMac 27 late 2013 July 19, 2021 The SSD disk is fine, but for the iMac late 2013 model it is an exaggeration because the controller will not allow the maximum speed of the disk anyway, the pluses are easy installation and the performance is about 760 mb / s maximum in the late 2013 model

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Response from OWC, Support July 20, 2021 Thank you for the review. We are so happy that you are happy with the performance increase to your iMac with our SSD. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CuriousPony-92032
Rating: 4/5 Some minor hiccups June 5, 2021 Use the video for SSD replacement for the iMac 19,1 not the 18,1 for replacing an SSD on the iMac 18,3. Also, the video does not mention a problem with the adhesive tape covering the microphone when assembling back the iMac so I had to do it twice. Everything else worked fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CuriousGecko-11486
Rating: 5/5 Great product. May 31, 2021 Great product and great instruction videos. Made the installation a breeze.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bmdennis
Rating: 5/5 Great May 29, 2021 Everything was great until I was done with the suction cups I didn’t know how to remove them. In figuring it out I damaged the display. So everything is on hold.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OpenSeal-8972
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to my iMac May 24, 2021 This is my second SSD purchase from Mac Sales and I am very pleased with both drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JoeyF.
Rating: 5/5 AWESOME! May 1, 2021 The tools, the price, the drive!! Everything was perfect. I was “this close” to trashing my late 2013 iMac. With standard HDD, it took 10 minutes to get to login screen, and was deadlocked for 5-10 minutes after logging in. So frustrating. I can now go from pressing the power button, to working in Live 11 in 1 minute! ONE MINUTE!!

It’s worth mentioning that my HDD was APFS format, which I learned (during this process) is a nightmare for spinning drives. So if you’re having similar issues, try reformatting hdd to Mac OS journaled. But if you want BLAZING fast boot/load times.. get one of these drives. I kept my original HDD in place and now use it as Time Machine backup.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OdoDave
Rating: 2/5 Great SSD, but really disappointed in OWC installation kit & instructions April 28, 2021 So far, the SSD is working well in my 2017 27" iMac18,3. As a bonus, I'm able to keep the original HDD as an additional internal drive (this should be advertised as a feature on your product page for the Aura!)

However, OWC's Install Videos section needs to be corrected: it links to an older version of the iMac that doesn't include instructions for replacing the SSD blade. So, I took my Mac apart and removed the HDD, then had no idea what to do next. While I waited on hold for tech support (27 minutes!), I went over to iFixit and discovered that I'd have to continue disassembling the innards to reach the underside of the logic board. Finally, Dan came on the line and was fantastic in helping me confirm the process, and apologetic for the inaccuracies on the site.

OWC: Take a look at the content on your site. Please. This would have saved me a lot of time and frustration. And please add the full instructions necessary to prepare the drive(s); I shouldn't be blindsided by more instructions in the packaging when I've already spent a week waiting for the thing to arrive and have watched the (incorrect) installation video multiple times. For instance, I didn't know about the need to prepare the original Fusion drive in Disk Utility until I opened the kit. I'm not new to the this, so I expect some hiccups, but this experience has really made me wary of OWC.

Now to the installation kit itself: a Torx T4 screwdriver is missing (needed for the wifi and bluetooth antennas). I had to drive to my friend's house and borrow his set of Torx drivers in order to complete this. Also, the instructions for the adhesive strips are wrong: the strip labeled 14 should NOT be trimmed for the mic. It's strip 15 that needs to be trimmed. Glad I caught that, or my built-in mic would've been covered.

In the past, OWC's installation kits and instructions have been top-notch. But I'll be much more cautious in the future.

This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MasterQuality
Rating: 5/5 Easy to fit, no extra work to do... April 24, 2021 The item come with everything needed to do the upgrade, just plug and play. Perfect!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mikejguitars
Rating: 5/5 Great iMac October 31, 2020 Great drive very fast you can do it yourself if you take the time

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BoatingGuy Location: Minnesota Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Unbelievable Performance... Really! No Joke! September 19, 2020 My Late 2013 21 1/2" iMac was a complete dog with the Fusion drive and 8 GB of RAM. I ordered this along with 16 GB memory upgrade and it is now incredibly fast. Probably the fastest computer I've ever owned and I've had many Apple computers. If you want to bring life back to your Late 2013 iMac and get rid of color wheels and lag then I highly recommend you invest in this PCI-e drive. There was some work to take the iMac apart but with the toolkit and the step by step video the job was done in about an hour.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nicknlame Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Needs a Part September 1, 2020 All good now, but it is shipped w/o a screw to fix it in place. I was, after some searching in my vast coffee can of bits & pieces, able to find a correct screw to finish the installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HybridOrbital Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Aura Pro X2 SSD: Beyond Expectations August 10, 2020 I recently installed a 1TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD in my late 2013 iMac (model 14,1). My iMac did not have a Fusion drive, just a 1TB HDD that was beginning to run slow, so I decided to upgrade. It is true that installing this SSD requires some careful fingers and a few hours, but it was well worth it. This computer is now the fastest computer I have ever used. I knew the SSD was going to be faster when opening apps, but I never thought it would be this fast. MS Word, iTunes, iPhoto, Safari, open in ~1 second--no joke. Boot up takes ~28 seconds, while restart takes ~55 seconds. Although I have only been using it for a few hours, I strongly recommend this drive to anyone looking to restore an aging iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tony75 Location: Detroit Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Kit worked perfectly August 3, 2020 Kit worked perfectly, i got the job done, OWG is very supportive on the phone, and instructional videos are great!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rodrigo Location: Sao Paulo/BR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quality and speedy upgrade for the iMac July 4, 2020 I have got 2TBAura Pro X2 SSD to replace my 128GB Apple factory one used in Fusion drive, and got a 5 year old iMac new life for 5 more years!

OWC also produces a very useful guide on taking the iMac part and back if you want to do it ourself. It took me about 3 hours for the whole process, and Aura drives have the tool kit to remove the display and adhesive tapes to remount the iMac.

I also got an Envoy external enclosure to reuse Apple original SSD as an external boot disk.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RealNail Location: Vietnam, Saigon Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing upgrade experience June 10, 2020 The whole upgrade process of my iMac was amazing! I ordered OWC SSD Aura Pro X2 1Tb and 32Gb of RAM. The order was shipped the same day I ordered and arrived from USA to Vietnam by DHL in 2.5 days! Vietnam customs kept the package for 4 more days for custom clearance. While the package was on the way I contacted the technical support by chat - and was really satisfied by very fast and precise answer to my questions. The package includes everything you need for the upgrade: screwdrivers, tools, etc. and they are very convenient.The instruction videos on OWC web-site are wonderful - very clear to understand and easy to follow. It took me 2 hours to finish the upgrade. I really enjoyed the process! The result is : my iMac is super fast. Read speed of SSD is about 2800 MB/sec, write speed is about 2100 MB/sec. Just compare to HDD around 100MB/sec. The only minor drawback - in the package there was printed instruction How to split the Fusion drive before installation. In fact the instruction is old and suitable only for older MacOS. The terminal command ‘diskutil cs list’ does not work and better to use this instruction: https://medium.com/@ObjSal/split-fusion-drives-in-macos-mojave-a10523f1819f

I surely recommend the upgrade with OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jackback52 Location: Southbay Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded my 2017 iMac for MAX performance May 21, 2020 decided that I wanted to get rid of my fusion drive, so bought this drive along with some other parts. Opening the iMac was easy, as was the disassembly In part cause I followed the step by step guide provided by OWC on YouTube. From there it was just a matter of swapping out parts and reassembly.

I now have a iMac that has 1.5TB of storage and 32GB of memory

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AboriginalGroundhog Location: Durham, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 huge improvement for iMac without Fusion drive March 29, 2020 Hard to believe I am the first, but here goes. iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Mid 2015, 24GB RAM) [15,1] with 1TB HDD (not Fusion) was getting slow, especially with my large Outlook mailbox. Installed 1TB Aura Pro X2 like this: turned off and unplugged iMac, watched install video via my laptop (22 min) while capacitors discharged, opened iMac and took all internals out (40 min). Hardest part by far is getting the screen off - be patient; the pizza cutter tool's circle did not go deep enough for some areas, so I used the other end of it to loosen those spots. Once the logic board was out, I plugged in SSD (1 min), and reassembled the machine (30 min). Again, getting the screen adhesive correct took the longest. Make sure you have the bottom edge of the screen as flush as possible. Booted up like a charm into Recovery Mode (cmd-option-R), formatted SSD using APFS, then installed latest OS to SSD (10.15.4), then booted to this fresh copy of Catalina on SSD. Used Migration Assistant to move everything from old internal HDD (was still on 10.14) to the SSD (this took the longest - at least 6h, but I let it work overnight, so not exactly sure). See attached old HDD and new SSD BlackMagic Disk Speed Tests (1GB stress, read/write MB/s: old = 166/112M, new = 734/772). So 5-6x improvement. Noticeably faster using Outlook search function in particular - no more hangups. Will easily get a couple more years out of this machine for just $300.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sergeysrnd Location: Russia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 iMac mooooree faster February 18, 2020 imac started to work much faster. The tutorial video is very detailed and useful. I will order again and tell my friends about OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: garyrh Location: PA. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Install went great on my late 2014 iMac 15.1 December 28, 2019 Replaced my 128GB PCIX fusion drive with this 480GB Aura pro X2. I broke the fusion configuration first. I have a SATA OWC 1TB Pro 6G as a storage drive. The 480GB Aura pro is my boot drive. One thing you must do after you restore from a backup is go to system preferences and select start up disk unlock with your password click the Aura pro X2 and click restart. If you don't it is very slow on boot up. This will fix that problem. Check OWC knowledge base for this problem with 2013 and 2014 iMac's. The PCIX drive is a little faster than the SATA but not by much. I trust OWC for my Mac upgrades.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Reviewer: Applehead80 Location: Glendora, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 1/5 Not compatible with iMac 19,1 + 19,2 Boot Camp Assistant December 2, 2019 The drive works great! However, after spending $200 to have my local Apple Certified Service repair store install the drive for me, as I did not wish to void my AppleCare +, 3 year warranty. I went to install Windows using Bootcamp Assistant. I get an internal error has occurred. OWC Tech support informs me that there is a known issue with using BootCamp Assistant and it will not work with iMac 19,1 and 19,2, the new iMac 2019. I review the product description page and can not find that noted as a buyer warning.

This review is from 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

Response from OWC, Call Center December 3, 2019 Hello. I'm very sorry to hear about any issues you were having with your Aura Pro X2 upgrade. We do have a note about the Boot Camp compatibility in the specs tab on the Product Page, and do apologize if this was not clear. Feel free to contact us at https://www.owcdigital.com/support or 800-275-4576 if you have any questions!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Capp Location: Ashburn, VA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade Experience October 2, 2019 I used the OWC tutorials to upgrade my 2019 iMAC 21.5in. My experience with fixing electronic items is practically nil, but following the tutorial video made it do-able so I decided to give it a try. My iMAC came with a fusion hard drive and I decided to change it out for solid state drive. I got the Aura Pro PCIe to swap with the 32gb blade SSD under the logic board and I got the Mercury Electra SSD to replace the hard drive portion of the Apple fusion setup. I also upgraded the RAM from 8gb to 32gb. Took my time and followed the tutorial and now my computer is amazing fast. Thanks, OWC, for making the upgrade possible.

This review is from 480GB OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for select 27" and 21.5" iMac models (Late 2013 - Current).

OWC Aura Pro X2 240GB NVMe SSD Upgrade Solution Mfr P/N: S3DAPT4MA02K OWC SKU: OWCS3DAPT4MA02K High performance NVMe flash solution, including tools, display tape, & installation components 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $99.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3DAPT4MA02K In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 240GB
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Bundle Priced for $139.00
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Bundle Priced for $229.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Bundle Priced for $429.00