Home » External Drives and Enclosures » OWC Envoy Express

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $79.00, view our listing.

OWC

Envoy Express
Thunderbolt™ 3 Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD

New Condition | Open Box

World’s first Thunderbolt™ certified bus-powered ‘add your own drive' enclosure
History-Making DIY Pocket-Sized Storage Solution
While small in stature, the OWC Envoy Express is big news. For the first time ever in the history of Thunderbolt™, you can buy a bus-powered Thunderbolt™ certified enclosure and install your own drive in it. Finally…a DIY kit that lets you break free of pre-configured choice limits so you can build a pocket-sized storage solution to meet your specific needs. And rebuild it anytime those needs change. Equally revolutionary is the included slide mount. This surface-safe removeable drive holder allows you to slide the Envoy Express onto the back of your notebook’s screen for out-of-the-way mobile use convenience. More options. More usability. More functionality...only from OWC.
The Power of Build Your Own Options
Build your Envoy Express with a brand-new drive for a fast boot drive. Re-task an existing drive replaced during an upgrade for added storage and backup capacity. Or, use Envoy Express to regain access to files on a drive removed from an inoperable machine. Whatever the reason you want to build your own bus-powered Thunderbolt enclosure, Envoy Express gives you the power to make it happen.
Backup, Play, and Edit. Faster.
Whether you want to backup your growing photo and music libraries, need to share files, play more PS4/Xbox games, or even want to capture and edit up to 8K video, the Envoy Express can be used for a variety of needs. And it’s built to support super-fast sustained data transfer rates up to 1553MB/s…often faster than your machine’s internal drive performance!
Uses Today’s and Tomorrow’s Drives
Designed to support any NVMe M.2 2280 SSD, the Envoy Express gives you the freedom of flexibility to use any drive today - including the OWC Aura P12 Pro NVMe M.2 SSDs with capacities up to 8TB – as well as being ready for tomorrow’s 16TB and larger capacities without limit.
Gets Onboard with Macs and PCs
Today’s office is often a tiny bistro table, your lap in a remote location, or a cramped airplane seat. There’s no power outlet and not enough room for an external drive. Besides being the industry’s first Thunderbolt™ 3 bus powered (no power adapter required) enclosure, the Envoy Express is the first to include a notebook mounting system.
Removeable adhesive gel and a lightweight yet durable plastic holder secures the Envoy Express onto the back of your Thunderbolt™ 3-equipped Mac or PC notebook screen. Easy to add and easy to remove with no marking or marring.
Need to share the Envoy Express? It can work cross-platform with Macs and PCs using OWC's MacDrive software (sold separately). Peace between the platforms.
  1. Drive not included. Performance results will vary depending on user installed drive. 1553MB/s performance based on testing a 2.0TB OWC Aura Pro P12 equipped Envoy Express connected to an iMac Pro Late 2017 (iMacPro1,1) with 32GB RAM and 3.2GHz processor running AJA System Test (4K-Full resolution, 16GB file size, 10bit RGB codec, single file test).

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Mechanisms Supported
    • NVMe M.2 SSD (2280 Form Factor, M-key)
  • Bootable
    • Mac only
  • Chipset
    • Thunderbolt 3: Intel Alpine Ridge LP
  • Certifications
    • CE
    • FCC
    • VCCI
    • RCM
    • BSMI
  • Data Transfer Rate (Maximum)
    • Thunderbolt 3 : 40 Gb/s (or 5000 MB/s)
  • Plug and Play
    • Yes
Reliability
  • MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
    • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed
  • Contact Start Stops
    • Varies depending on drive mechanism installed
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Server 2016
  • Host Port Requirements
    • Thunderbolt 3
  • Driver Required
    • No
Power
  • Power Supply
    • Bus-powered
  • External Power Adapter
    • No
Physical
  • Number of Bays
    • 1
  • Device Ports
    • (1) Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) Port
  • Security Slot
    • No
  • Housing Color
    • Black
  • Housing Material
    • Aluminum
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 1.2 cm (0.5 in)
    • Length: 10.6 cm (4.2 in)
    • Width: 4.4 cm (1.7 in)
    • Captive Cable Length: 30.0 cm (11.8 in)
  • Weight
    • 88.0 g (0.19 lbs)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 41°F to 95°F (5°C to 35°C)
    • Non-Operating: -4°F to 140°F (-20°C to 60°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 8% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 5% to 95% non-condensing
  • Shock
    • Operating: Varies depending on drive mechanism installed
    • Non-Operating: Varies depending on drive mechanism installed
Acoustics
  • Noise
    • 0dB

Notes

  • Hynix Gold P31 and Samsung PM981a SSD’s are only compatible with Windows 10 when installed in this enclosure.
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCTB3ENVXP00

Gallery

Videos



This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac Pro
(27-inch Late 2017)
(December 2017)
Model ID: iMacPro1,1
3.2GHz 8-core, 3.0GHz 10-core, 2.3GHz 14-core, 2.5GHz 18-core
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4.5K display
(24-inch Mid 2021)
(May 2021)
Model ID: iMac21,1; iMac21,2
Apple M1
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2020)
(August 2020)
Model ID: iMac20,1; iMac20,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.8GHz i7, 3.6GHz i9
Detailed specs coming soon
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID:iMac19,2
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro17,1
Apple M1
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,3
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,2
2.0GHz i5, 2.3GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (16-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(November, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,1; MacBookPro16,4
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1; MacBookPro15,3
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(July, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,4
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.4GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1
2.2GHz i7, 2.6GHz i7, 2.9GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.3GHz i5, 2.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,3
2.8GHz i7, 2.9GHz i7, 3.1GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,1
2.3GHz i5, 2.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,3
2.6GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,2
2.9GHz, 3.1GHz, 3.3GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir10,1
Apple M1
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2020)
(March 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir9,1
1.1GHz i3, 1.1GHz i5, 1.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2019)
(July 2019)
Model ID: MacBookAir8,2
1.6GHz i5
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2018)
(November 2018)
Model ID: MacBookAir8.1
1.6GHz i5
Mac mini 2020
Mac mini (Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: Macmini9,1
Apple M1
Mac mini 2018
Mac mini (Late 2018)
(November, 2018)
Model ID: Macmini8,1
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
PC Desktop
PC Compatible
Compatible with Intel / AMD based desktop/laptop PCs with built-in Thunderbolt 3 ports.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 17 out of 18 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: NiceToucan-15216
Rating: 5/5 OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure June 18, 2021 Good product, Works well, Good Value !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: paulski
Rating: 4/5 What I needed June 10, 2021 Nice solid case that works as advertised. Does what I needed it to. Speeds are great. It does get hot, but I haven’t noticed any issues due to the heat.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for M.2 NVMe SSD - Special "CNC Edition".

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: res049nn
Rating: 5/5 This thing ROCK! June 2, 2021 Does every thing they say!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for M.2 NVMe SSD - Special "CNC Edition".

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LuckyButterfly-56889
Rating: 4/5 Works as intended, May 31, 2021 Rugged. easy install. Speed is great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LuckyToad-19789
Rating: 5/5 Fast May 21, 2021 Works well. Aluminum enclosure is very well made. Qualityproduct!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rodrigo
Rating: 5/5 Excelente producto May 14, 2021 El producto es excelente cumple al 100% mis expectativas, al escribir y leer información lo hace de una manera increíble. totalmente recomendado.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ClearJackal-32208
Rating: 4/5 Good case, nice speed, but not overly impressed May 12, 2021 From a case perspective, I liked the design, the heatsink transfer material, and the idea of the plastic holder that adheres to the top of my MBP. In reality, I found that the case heats up too much, causing the plastic holder to come unstuck from the MBP case, and falling off onto the table. Nice for transport, if you are in the habit of not disconnecting it when you are transporting your laptop. I used an Island Platinum 2TB NVMe which worked well. However, when I needed a larger size, the 4TB NVMe would not work in this case, and I had to buy an additional case. I'm not sure how you would check compatibility as it would seem that none of the vendors of this type of media do much testing. Overall I'd give it a good rating, tho not great. My other case, from GLOTRENDS, actually gave me better read/write numbers with the same NVMe cards, using BlackMagic Disk Speed Test.

This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HealthyMongoose-93309
Rating: 5/5 Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure May 11, 2021 Fast shipping, good product at a good price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for M.2 NVMe SSD - Special "CNC Edition".

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FamousWombat-9293
Rating: 5/5 Better than the alternatives May 5, 2021 I’ve tried three enclosures: the OWC, a Sabrent, and a Trebleet. The Trebleet is an outright failure. The Sabrent works but achieves half the speed of the Envoy. I’ll stick with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JOhnPeristeriGreece
Rating: 5/5 Great product fast and reliable April 24, 2021 Very fast and reliable,Great quality

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GiftedTiger-9158
Rating: 4/5 Great overall for a great price. Gets quite hot tho! April 24, 2021 Overall, it’s a great enclosure for the price. It does get quite hot during moderate to heavy usage (too hot to touch really), but so far that hasn’t affected performance in a noticeable way for me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ProudHamster-38465
Rating: 5/5 This is perfect for my macbook air. April 24, 2021 I use it for Dropbox and large files...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DennisBrown
Rating: 5/5 Worked perfectly with the Mac Mini M1 and 1TB SSD April 24, 2021 Put it together, plugged it in, and off to the races. Did exactly what was advertised at a reasonable price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeridotAardwolf
Rating: 5/5 OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for M.2 NVMe SSD April 23, 2021 This is a great piece of kit.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jsun Location: Washington
Rating: 5/5 This Thing Is Tiny October 21, 2020 So I just received OWC Envoy Express enclosure today with 1TB Aura P12 M.2 MVMe SSD. I'm posting this so everyone knows the actual size of the enclosure: 4.17" L x 1.73" W x .499" H (yes it's smaller than a "ballpoint pen") I don't know why OWC doesn't list the actual size. I was thinking the enclosure was much larger. BTW, it also looks like the attached cable can be replaced too it looks to have a plug in connection inside the case and just a matter of removing a couple screws and lifting the circuit board up to unplug cable...I did not try this but it looks like the cable just plugs in.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JWPhoto Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It just works. October 17, 2020 Easy to use, works perfectly as expected. Adding your on NVMe is as easy as it could be, even includes the appropriately sized screw driver.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KP2020 Location: NYC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Strictly only works with computers with Thunderbolt 3 October 17, 2020 This drive enclosure is fast, small, and built well. With a Samsung 970 Evo Plus it was able to get write speeds of ~1300 MB/s and read speeds of ~1000 MB/s on a new MacBook Air (see picture).

It would be nice to not have the cable hanging out of it, but I think they do this so that you don't try to use a non-genuine thunderbolt 3 cable or usb c cable, which won't work with the drive. You can however swap out the cable when you open it up if you need a longer length cable.

And for those wondering, this WILL NOT work with any computer that does not have a thunderbolt 3 host port. I was hoping if I used a genuine Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 cable, that it would work with my older computers with Thunderbolt 2, but it will not mount. They do mention this in the specs, but I was just too hopeful. For now this enclosure will sit empty for the next few years until I my home setup gets upgraded and as well as computers at my office studio.

Side Note: I ordered this in the pre-order phase and it was originally suppose to be delivered in early August, but did not end up getting officially shipped until mid October. Delays are understandable if there is clear communication. There was not a single update from OWC about the delays. Radio silence. Each time I reached out to customer service (4 times) they had absolutely no information to provide. The only way to tell that it was getting delayed was to check the product page that was continuing to get updated to say "Ships in last August" to "Ships in September" to "Ships in last October". After being customer of OWC through my work and personal life for at least 10 years now, I'm likely going to consider shopping elsewhere.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BLDG5Design Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exceeded My Expectations! October 14, 2020 When I purchased this enclosure, I wasn't sure what to expect. I also bought a 2.0TB OWC Aura P12 M.2 NVMe SSD (OWC SKU: OWCS3DN3P2T20) to go inside. Assembly was extremely easy. Once together, I did a test. I copied a 20GB file with my USB3 drive and it took 25 minutes. But, with my Envoy Express, it only took 25 seconds!. The main reason the that I bought this was the convenience of the Thunderbolt connection. Besides being light weight and having the ability to adhere to my laptop, this is hands down the best purchase that I've made in quite a long time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from OWC Envoy Express Thunderbolt 3 Bus-Powered Enclosure for NVMe M.2 SSD.